View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures
Wassim Aouachria is leaving Waterford. He hadn't started many games under Keith Long. Rumours on social media that he will be joining Galway.
SPXcyan
01/07/2023, 6:23 AM
Pity for Wassim that Coughlan came good. he hasn't had a chance since the start of the season, would rather he stayed as Coughlan is sure to disappear soon.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/07/2023, 7:41 AM
Are Vastsuk and Atakayi gone from Sligo and Pats respectively?
Neither has appeared in squad or injury lists in the last weeks.
Vastsuk is training with the under 19s. Waste of space. Offered a bit of money just to leave but still staying around.
Kiki Balboa
01/07/2023, 8:03 AM
Vastsuk is training with the under 19s. Waste of space. Offered a bit of money just to leave but still staying around.
To be fair, if yous did sign him to a contract, why would he leave? Esp if he has no other options lined up. Its his livilhood. That's football - bigger blame should be on the lack of due diligence by the club if he is not good enough (unless the player has done something egregious).
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/07/2023, 8:19 AM
The waste of space was about his football ability and attitude. Not that he didn’t take a pay off.
01/07/2023, 8:41 AM
To be fair, if yous did sign him to a contract, why would he leave? Esp if he has no other options lined up. Its his livilhood. That's football - bigger blame should be on the lack of due diligence by the club if he is not good enough (unless the player has done something egregious).
I suppose if he's contracted to the end of next year and Sligo offer to pay him to the end of this year, and he finds a new club in the current transfer window offering a similar contract, that'd be a win-win scenario.
But yeah, if he wants Sligo to honour his contract, he gets that of course.
2 Year Contract
01/07/2023, 10:02 AM
Are Vastsuk and Atakayi gone from Sligo and Pats respectively?
Neither has appeared in squad or injury lists in the last weeks.
Serge loaned out to Waterford. Very limited technically and doesn’t have any interest in defending but his sheer pace alone got him some important goals last season, none more so than the winner in Sofia. That pace could easily tear apart some first division defences so it’s a good signing for Waterford
Jd2793
01/07/2023, 10:06 AM
Pity for Wassim that Coughlan came good. he hasn't had a chance since the start of the season, would rather he stayed as Coughlan is sure to disappear soon.
any rumours of clubs being in for him?
Jack B
01/07/2023, 10:16 AM
Serge Atakayi to Waterford on loan for the remainder of the season. Been a weird one for him, he was quite effective when he came in last season but it's been a complete write off this season and he's barely played.
Incoming for us is David Norman Jr, Canadian centre back who was last with Northampton in League Two. Can't say I've seen anything of him but definitely an area of the pitch we needed another body in.
01/07/2023, 10:32 AM
His father played for UCD in the 80s and also in the 1986 World Cup for Canada.
Was banned for match-rigging a few months after the World Cup
joey B
01/07/2023, 10:36 AM
Vladislav Kreida confirmed to have left Pats……
kksaints
01/07/2023, 11:16 AM
Vladislav Kreida confirmed to have left Pats……
Wasn't up to the pace of the game here at all, OK at taking corners but awful apart from that.
Serge Atakayi was good last season and got us some fairly important goals but he never got going with us at all this season, his pace alone is a very dangerous threat so he should be good for Waterford.
D24Saint
01/07/2023, 12:31 PM
Three lads in this morning , Jay McGrath on permanent contract , Matt Boylan a goalkeeper that was last with Bromley , David Norman Jr a Canadian centre half last with Northampton.
Shearer
01/07/2023, 1:28 PM
Coughlan is sure to disappear soon.
Could understand a lower Premier team coming in for him but would be shocked at anything higher or abroad.
He and Waterford are, with the greatest of respect, flat track bullies in the First Division.
Jd2793
01/07/2023, 2:34 PM
Could understand a lower Premier team coming in for him but would be shocked at anything higher or abroad.
He and Waterford are, with the greatest of respect, flat track bullies in the First Division.
would take him at city in a heartbeat. his brother is still playing in NZ, wonder would one of the bigger clubs over there be looking at him
joey B
01/07/2023, 2:37 PM
Serge Atakayi should make hay in the First division,not sure they need him but I suppose he'll be handy against the Premier division team in the play off.....
SPXcyan
01/07/2023, 2:54 PM
Atakayi is an odd one for me, both Idowu and Parsons are on form for us atm and Thomas Oluwa is sharp when he gets his chance, although the big RSC pitch would be ideal for Atakayi but that's about it.
Coughlan was rumoured to be Fleetwood bound but I just can't see him making much of an impact there considering Promise is a better striker overall for them.
But Wassim has left the club and moved to Galway United so I can see Coughlan handily moving to the premier league here which would leave us with virtually no strikers again if that were to happen.
2 Year Contract
02/07/2023, 9:01 AM
Cheers , was something I saw on FB that gave me a panic attack
Starting to see one or two people saying Lyness could be on his way also. He is in contract (said this himself on an interview on the LOI Central podcast recently) but if he needs to head home for family reasons I’d imagine the club won’t stop him from doing so. With Boylan signing it looks like at least 1 possibly 2 of the 4 goalkeepers could be on their way. I know Danny Rogers was linked with heading down to Cork but I’d say he could be kept on it Lyness was to leave
02/07/2023, 11:29 AM
Rogers never really did anything wrong as far as I can remember, think he was injured in early part of the season? If I was pat's I'd definitely be keeping him around regardless of Lyness staying or going. Look at a lot of even the top clubs in the league they've one decent keeper and then no competition. Rovers a prime example. If you can have two solid keepers you're in business
2 Year Contract
02/07/2023, 11:33 AM
Rogers never really did anything wrong as far as I can remember, think he was injured in early part of the season? If I was pat's I'd definitely be keeping him around regardless of Lyness staying or going. Look at a lot of even the top clubs in the league they've one decent keeper and then no competition. Rovers a prime example. If you can have two solid keepers you're in business
Yeah Rogers came in in August last season and did well in the run in. He had a few mistakes in pre-season and Clancy opted to start the first 2 games with Odumosu in goal, then Rogers broke his finger in the warmup vs Shels and Odumosu was the only option for the next 3 games which he continued to be poor in, so they managed to bring in Lyness who was a free agent and he’s played every minute since and been great (bar the odd goal he could’ve done better for like Dundalk’s on Monday)
Jack B
02/07/2023, 1:46 PM
Rogers is extremely average for me, and just can't play football at all which you need your keeper to at least be somewhat comfortable with it you're a top side. Think Odumosu has a higher ceiling of ability but makes far more howlers so we couldn't really win either way when they were the two options. Praying we don't lose Lyness, he's been a big part of the improvement.
The waste of space was about his football ability and attitude. Not that he didn’t take a pay off.
Still a fair point by Kiki, and trust me we had plenty of these Utube / P6 signings in 2021. I still think of our ex GK Abibi at times, not even a FD club would have taken him and he played 6 games in europe that season.
Olander
02/07/2023, 5:50 PM
It's sort of gone under the radar a bit, but am I right in saying that Finn Harps have made eight new signings since the start of the transfer window?! That's a bit mad.
It seems quite a few of them are linked by the same agency, stuff like that makes me nervous. It's obvious that this Harps team needed reinforcements but Rogers has nearly signed a new team and we're only two days into the window, I'm sure he'll sign a few more as well.
17 goals conceded against Waterford in three games, it's hard to get away from the feeling that he's a bit of a spoofer. Surely if you get tanked twice you put men behind the ball, make it difficult, adapt your tactics... say what you want about Kerry, we tanked them 9-1 in Terryland earlier in the season and albeit it was our poorest displays of the season, they made it difficult for us. They came with a much better shape and organisation and only lost 1-0, and they should've got something from the game.
Rogers seems to talk the talk big time but so far, he looks like a bit of a bluffer.
joey B
02/07/2023, 6:07 PM
There’s players leaving,kids are playing minutes that are not near ready and our captain Keith Cowan is pretty clearly done and can’t do it anymore….
They’re all signed up for next season so I don’t really have a problem if he’s got an eye on next year already,this season is pretty much written off anyway…
I’ve written pretty much the same as your comments on Rodgers tactics and management in this week’s fixtures thread ,no arguments there,he’s proven nothing so far and looks well short of what’s needed….
cláirseach
02/07/2023, 6:08 PM
Well you can send them a DM (https://twitter.com/PathwaysPro/status/1674447332228714498) if you would like a move overseas!
02/07/2023, 8:01 PM
It's all about next season for Harps. It always was, from before a ball was kicked this season. I'm not sure there's anyone particularly happy about how some results have gone, but, willing to give the project a chance yet. At the very least, it's the second youngest squad in the entire League of Ireland, and they're trying to play football the right way rather than setting 11 men behind the ball to not get beat. We watched enough poor football and negative tactics over the past decade, and Rome wasn't built in a day.
The new players incoming are bigger, stronger, and have a little bit of experience behind them at least, and in the case of Tony McNamee, Patrick Ferry and Stephen Doherty, and I suppose to a lesser extent Max Hutchison, they've been around the LOI and know the league and should settle fairly quickly into the pace of the game here.
For a lot of supporters, the jury is still out on Dave Rogers management, but I think most are willing to see how the rest of this season goes at the very least and see if we can turn around our year.
02/07/2023, 10:04 PM
Cian Byrne who was on loan with us gone back to Bohs. Thought it was meant to be for the season so maybe Bohs recalled him/cut it short? Either way, it's a big loss for us at the back as he's been very good despite being very young.
Another Bohemia
03/07/2023, 5:26 AM
Cian Byrne who was on loan with us gone back to Bohs. Thought it was meant to be for the season so maybe Bohs recalled him/cut it short? Either way, it's a big loss for us at the back as he's been very good despite being very young.
Well Bohs have fairly limited numbers in defence with at least 3 of them being in on loan themselves. If Byrne was recalled and it wasn't just a short term loan it could be one or more of Bohs loan players is being recalled which is possible with preseason starting for most leagues soon.
legendz
03/07/2023, 12:15 PM
https://twitter.com/KerryFC/status/1675838021055270913?t=-s5kXZVh5di_MqNFzRMYTQ&s=19
Kerry FC can confirm Kalen Spillane, Mark Carey, Cormac Buckley and Junior Ankomah have left the club
Everyone at the club would like to wish Kalen, Mark, Cormac and Junior all the best in the future and we thank them for their hard work during their time with us
culloty82
03/07/2023, 1:19 PM
In truth, the other three departures are largely injury-related, which limited their appearances during the season, so would presume it was mutually agreeable.
JC_GUFC
03/07/2023, 1:55 PM
Is Wayne Guthrie still at the club (possibly also injured - I thought he and his brother had left but Shane was on the bench the last couple of weeks).
Also any sign of Sean Kennedy or Trpimir Virlicjak?
culloty82
03/07/2023, 2:01 PM
Wayne is a long-term injury, and Tryp has been involved with the U19s in recent weeks as an overage squad player. Not sure what's happening with Kennedy, TBH.
joey B
03/07/2023, 2:28 PM
Not confirmed by the club but at least 5 departures so far from Harps is the word on the club forum….
culloty82
03/07/2023, 2:39 PM
As well as Martin Coughlan, Kerry also plan to sign Ethan Kos, who apparently is currently at UCD, but has yet to feature for any of their teams.
legendz
03/07/2023, 2:46 PM
Treaty made a transfer announcement for Kerry a few weeks ago. Will be interesting to see if there is an official announcement this week.
culloty82
03/07/2023, 2:47 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-ie/sports/football/kerry-fc-hopeful-of-signing-two-players-in-time-for-home-game-against-treaty-united-on-friday/ar-AA1dmQO2
legendz
03/07/2023, 3:02 PM
https://www.msn.com/en-ie/sports/football/kerry-fc-hopeful-of-signing-two-players-in-time-for-home-game-against-treaty-united-on-friday/ar-AA1dmQO2
Good. Hopefully they can dot the i's and cross the t's in time for Friday!
ger121
03/07/2023, 3:54 PM
Wonder was it because we are short at the back and he has done well with you.
03/07/2023, 7:36 PM
Finn Harps in:
BJ Banda (Larne).
Takes our total incomings to 9 this summer.
03/07/2023, 7:43 PM
Finn Harps in:
BJ Banda (Larne).
Takes our total incomings to 9 this summer.
Was wonderin where Banda had disappeared to Nigel! What other loi clubs has he being with?
joey B
03/07/2023, 7:48 PM
Was wonderin where Banda had disappeared to Nigel! What other loi clubs has he being with?
Was playing for Ballinamallard for a couple of years,decent goal scoring record but I’d doubt the standard is very good in that league,was never good enough for Larne but should be better than what is leaving us…..
joey B
03/07/2023, 8:46 PM
Jordan Adeyemo signed back at Longford.
HarveyHD
04/07/2023, 6:39 AM
Not confirmed by the club but at least 5 departures so far from Harps is the word on the club forum….
Sales or loans? Or unknown? The departure of 5 players at the same time is an indication of the poor state of affairs within the club.
04/07/2023, 7:43 AM
Jordan Adeyemo signed back at Longford.
We've struggled for goals all season but now have a high class looking front 3 (if they can stay fit). Midfield still a huge issue though and the loss of Cian Byrne is a killer.
Olander
04/07/2023, 1:35 PM
Conor Drinan who isn't even a regular at Cobh Ramblers is after signing for Cork City. Strange one?
Jd2793
04/07/2023, 1:41 PM
Conor Drinan who isn't even a regular at Cobh Ramblers is after signing for Cork City. Strange one?
yeah , usher is a tight you know what. we are goosed.
joey B
04/07/2023, 1:45 PM
Waterford signed Sam Perry and Christie Pattisson from Walsall and Welling United,they're not resting on their laurels anyway!
joey B
04/07/2023, 4:20 PM
Wassim Aouachria joined Galway.
legendz
04/07/2023, 4:43 PM
https://twitter.com/KerryFC/status/1676260076795965442?t=dWVABGHRl1f8aHhaGKW-YQ&s=19
4th of July signing for Kerry FC! ??
pateen
04/07/2023, 6:51 PM
Baffling alright. Confirmed by the club.