View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36

culloty82
27/07/2023, 6:24 PM
Kerry have had an eclectic record, to put it mildly, when it comes to keepers - now Callan Scully has left the club, replaced by Arthur Nganou from Midleton:

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/kerry/sport/soccer/kerry-fc-sign-goalkeeper-arthur-nganou-as-callan-scully-departs-the-new-league-of-ireland-club/a933236614.html

27/07/2023, 6:48 PM
Think one of Doyle's kids has been unwell and that's played a part in his decision, as far as I know he's been omitted from a couple of match day squads recently because of it.

All the best to him anyway. On a footballing level I think he did better than he was given credit for last season, but obviously just didn't live up to expectations. This season has been a write off though and he's really looked like age has caught up with him, even though he had a contract up until the end of next season I was expecting him to be off at the end of this year as he can barely move anymore.

Thought it strange that he didn’t see out the season, but if there is family issues then it makes more sense. Jon Daly said after the Dudelange game that he didn’t travel because his mother in law wasn’t well. Whatever the issue is, I wish him all the best. I agree he didn’t do too badly last season. Didn’t really live up to the expectations we had for him, but maybe we were expecting too much given his age. I wouldn’t fault his attitude anyway.

27/07/2023, 11:36 PM
He goes by Ollie. We've literally signed Ollie Byrne the day before we play Shels. He'll be the 5th keeper to start a game for us this season, and this will mean Jimmy Corcoran gets dropped for the 4th? time this season.

It'd be incredibly fitting if ye fecked up his registration somehow and ended up losing points.

ToberonaTornado
28/07/2023, 3:15 AM
Almost afraid to log in here lest Finn harps might sign me up so fingers not crossed?

28/07/2023, 7:24 AM
Almost afraid to log in here lest Finn harps might sign me up so fingers not crossed?

Okay.

joey B
28/07/2023, 12:28 PM
Matt Connor signed for Bray until the end of the season....

2 Year Contract
28/07/2023, 12:32 PM
Conor Kane gone back to Drogheda on loan

Jack B
28/07/2023, 1:01 PM
Yet another Hull loanee in for Shels, striker Will Jarvis this time. See some of their fans aren't best pleased by it.

Another Bohemia
28/07/2023, 1:11 PM
Yet another Hull loanee in for Shels, striker Will Jarvis this time. See some of their fans aren't best pleased by it.

Lad looks to have little or no senior football experience so I can certainly understand their frustration but based on Hulls managers comments before any deal was struck you can hardly be surprised deals like this are being done.

joey B
28/07/2023, 1:46 PM
Corey Chambers and Adam Lennon signed for Treaty…

2 Year Contract
28/07/2023, 2:00 PM
Ryan McLaughlin has signed for Pats. Former Northern Ireland international last with Morcambe in League One

D24Saint
28/07/2023, 2:05 PM
Ryan McLaughlin has signed for Pats. Former Northern Ireland international last with Morcambe in League One

Looks a decent signing even if we are overloaded at RB & short at LB.

2 Year Contract
28/07/2023, 2:39 PM
Looks a decent signing even if we are overloaded at RB & short at LB.

You'd wonder if it means Sam Curtis could be on his way before the end of August. Either way he'll be gone at the end of the season once he turns 18 in December so he’s got a maximum of 11 league games + whatever games in the cup until he leaves

joey B
28/07/2023, 5:17 PM
Dean O'Shea joined Treaty,3rd signing of the day for them.......

28/07/2023, 6:51 PM
Charles Mutawe signs for us from Athlone Town. Never heard of him before!

joey B
29/07/2023, 9:52 AM
Fabrice Hartman back to Sligo until next June,looked a good player earlier in the season….

D24Saint
29/07/2023, 11:52 AM
You'd wonder if it means Sam Curtis could be on his way before the end of August. Either way he'll be gone at the end of the season once he turns 18 in December so he’s got a maximum of 11 league games + whatever games in the cup until he leaves

He would have to be heading to the continent if he is as he isn’t 18 until December. My hope is that an agreement is put in place for him to see out the season here if he signs for another club.

Shearer
29/07/2023, 1:58 PM
David Parkhouse continues to fall further.

Just signed for Irish Championship side H&W Welders

cláirseach
29/07/2023, 7:14 PM
Re: Curtis, none of the other options at RB are up to it, imo. If you have identified McLaughlin as a good replacement for Curtis then this gives him plenty of time to bed in, which is especially important seeing as he has been out of competitive action for so long. In the meantime it is not as if Brockbank hasn't seen plenty of minutes this year, for one reason or another.

Re: Parkhouse, I presume that he knows Paul Kee fairly well so that might explain the move. If he was willing to travel then perhaps there were better landing spots out there for him.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/07/2023, 10:23 PM
Fabrice Hartman back to Sligo until next June,looked a good player earlier in the season….

He is but injured a lot. Like most of the rest of them.

2 Year Contract
30/07/2023, 2:55 AM
In the meantime it is not as if Brockbank hasn't seen plenty of minutes this year, for one reason or another.

Brockbank has played in 6 of the 25 league games this season, starting 4.

cláirseach
30/07/2023, 10:20 AM
Brockbank has played in 6 of the 25 league games this season, starting 4.

Why just choose the league games? He started all four European games and had a role to play in ending that run, as he did last year. I should have added an 'etc. after Brockbank however, as unfortunately Lewis has also played at right back this year.

I like the idea of bringing McLaughlin in, he's there if you need him this year it helps get him up to speed for replacing SC next season and, as I was initially replying to, despite having lots of options on paper for RB, there are none outside of Curtis who can perform to an acceptable level imo.

joey B
30/07/2023, 11:09 AM
Emmanuel Adegboyega close to joining Norwich City…..

2 Year Contract
30/07/2023, 11:25 AM
Why just choose the league games? He started all four European games and had a role to play in ending that run, as he did last year. I should have added an 'etc. after Brockbank however, as unfortunately Lewis has also played at right back this year.

I like the idea of bringing McLaughlin in, he's there if you need him this year it helps get him up to speed for replacing SC next season and, as I was initially replying to, despite having lots of options on paper for RB, there are none outside of Curtis who can perform to an acceptable level imo.

Ok then, adding in the two European games (not 4, don’t know where you got that from), he's played in 8 of the clubs 28 league, cup and European games this season, starting 6 of them. Whatever way you spin it that wouldn’t be classed as 'plenty of minutes this season' in my book. I agree he had a role in ending the European run, he was poor in Luxembourg and got absolutely roasted in the return leg and was correctly taken off at half time. Also having been at every game this season, I can tell you that Noah Lewis has never played at right back for pats.

I agree with everything in your last paragraph.

2 Year Contract
30/07/2023, 11:41 AM
Emmanuel Adegboyega close to joining Norwich City…..

Good move for him, he looked class most times I’ve seen him play. Apparently Motherwell are in for Conor Keeley also, that’d be a distasteful for Drogheda trying to replace both centre halves in the situation that they’re in at the moment in the league fighting off Cork

cláirseach
30/07/2023, 12:52 PM
Ok then, adding in the two European games (not 4, don’t know where you got that from), he's played in 8 of the clubs 28 league, cup and European games this season, starting 6 of them. Whatever way you spin it that wouldn’t be classed as 'plenty of minutes this season' in my book. I agree he had a role in ending the European run, he was poor in Luxembourg and got absolutely roasted in the return leg and was correctly taken off at half time. Also having been at every game this season, I can tell you that Noah Lewis has never played at right back for pats.

Yeah, no bother, had wildly overestimated the minutes played in my head.

DCWA
30/07/2023, 1:11 PM
David Parkhouse continues to fall further.

Just signed for Irish Championship side H&W Welders

Such a rapid decline. When he joined Derry on loan from Sheffield Utd he was fantastic, when we signed him back permanently I thought we had a guaranteed goal scorer. Oh so wrong (hardly for the first time). His career trajectory since pretty alarming. He is now a barber in the town and playing at an extremely poor level. Hard to pinpoint how this has come about.

30/07/2023, 10:06 PM

I think most (if not all)Pats fans would agree that Brockbank isn’t up to it. I’d expect him to go at the end of the season. Same goes for Lewis. Im far from convinced by Norman either. Probably makes sense to sign a replacement for Sam now. Sam will possible continue in the middle, with Joe Redmond, with the new guy slotting in at right back. Sjoberg has been unfortunate with injury, he looked decent to me when he played. Certainly better than Brockbank or Lewis. We can only speculate as to the difference Redmond and Grivosti would have made if they’d not been injured. I personally think we’d be closer to Rovers, and maybe even still in Europe.

31/07/2023, 6:47 PM
Such a rapid decline. When he joined Derry on loan from Sheffield Utd he was fantastic, when we signed him back permanently I thought we had a guaranteed goal scorer. Oh so wrong (hardly for the first time). His career trajectory since pretty alarming. He is now a barber in the town and playing at an extremely poor level. Hard to pinpoint how this has come about.

Is David a relation to Stephen Parkhouse DCWA?

cláirseach
31/07/2023, 8:00 PM
Uncle & Newphew iirc.

2 Year Contract
31/07/2023, 8:57 PM
Shrewsbury Town are interested in Max Mata and Nando Pijnaker

https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/shrewsbury-town-eyeing-transfer-swoop-for-internationally-capped-duo/

joey B
01/08/2023, 9:31 AM
Shrewsbury Town are interested in Max Mata and Nando Pijnaker

https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/shrewsbury-town-eyeing-transfer-swoop-for-internationally-capped-duo/

Nearly a done deal for Mata according to Neil O’Riordan….

yurt
01/08/2023, 9:55 AM
Really intrigued to hear what the details coming out this deal will be. Says in the piece he has 18 months left on his contract. You'd have to imagine that the max Shewsbury would be paying for a player like this would be similar-ish to Cheltenham's record fee of 85K for Keena.

Fair play to Sligo for investing in him and having him on the long term deal hopefully for them it's something well over 100k because losing yet another goal scorer without having time to replace them for a second time this season will have fans tearing their hair out. They will need the money though knowing any European related windfalls are years away.

2 Year Contract
01/08/2023, 10:46 AM
Nearly a done deal for Mata according to Neil O’Riordan….

If they could hurry up and get it done before Friday night I’d be grateful ;)

Another Bohemia
01/08/2023, 10:53 AM
Really intrigued to hear what the details coming out this deal will be. Says in the piece he has 18 months left on his contract. You'd have to imagine that the max Shewsbury would be paying for a player like this would be similar-ish to Cheltenham's record fee of 85K for Keena.

Fair play to Sligo for investing in him and having him on the long term deal hopefully for them it's something well over 100k because losing yet another goal scorer without having time to replace them for a second time this season will have fans tearing their hair out. They will need the money though knowing any European related windfalls are years away.

FWIW Shrewburys record fee is £383,000. I doubt that will factor in to things much but it would seem that Shrewsbury have a bit more financial power than Cheltenham so from sligos point of view hopefully it's a bit north of 100k. Especially since they are drifting closer to a relegation battle and getting out of that will be made much more difficult if they lose their top scorer.

Link to the record article for anyone interested https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/every-league-one-clubs-record-27457763?int_source=amp_continue_reading&int_medium=amp&int_campaign=continue_reading_button#amp-readmore-target

joey B
01/08/2023, 12:41 PM
Keith Cowan departs Harps.

JC_GUFC
01/08/2023, 3:07 PM
Keith Cowan departs Harps.

Is Katlego Mashigo still at the club?

thebronze14
01/08/2023, 3:09 PM
Is Katlego Mashigo still at the club?
No. Announced he left last week. Tried hard but wasn't at the level required

Yossarian
01/08/2023, 8:15 PM
Daryl Horgan returns to Dundalk.

ger121
01/08/2023, 8:17 PM
https://twitter.com/dundalkfc/status/1686469268995440640?s=46

Some signing

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/08/2023, 8:44 PM

Most of these lads have release clauses and that’s what is paid. Keenas was something like 110-120.

01/08/2023, 8:47 PM
Daryl Horgan returns to Dundalk.

Wow wasnt expecting this at all!

oriel
01/08/2023, 9:38 PM
Wow wasnt expecting this at all!

You were not alone sir, don't think anyone local was, yes there were links, but Statsport led owners made it clear they were running things on a strict budget, so this is a big surprise, and a very welcome one.

I think he can easily play in the middle, no 10 role or so.

01/08/2023, 9:49 PM
No. Announced he left last week. Tried hard but wasn't at the level required

Quite a bit of turnover in the summer for Harps. Off the top of my head, and maybe missing one or two outgoings;

Incomings:

Max Hutchison (Larne)
Matty Makinson (Colne FC)
Scott Wara (Leek Town)
Daniel Stokoe (Cheshunt FC)
Tony McNamee (Bonagee United)
Patrick Ferry (Ballinamallard)
Rory Kelly (Buncrana Hearts)
Jamie Watson (Cape Breton University)
BJ Banda (Larne)
Stephen Doherty (Dergview)

Outs:

Keith Cowan (Dergview)
Katlego Mashigo (released)
Filip Da Silva (released, signed for some club in Cyprus)
Cian Lynch (released)
Daniel Okwute (loan cancelled, since signed for Kerry)
Oisín Farrell (released)
Michael Harris (Institute)

Jack B
01/08/2023, 9:53 PM
Fun signing from Dundalk, good to have some more higher profile names in the league. I do wonder how much Horgan has left though, his level seems to have dropped right off in the last couple of seasons. Was looking him up out of curiosity a couple of weeks ago and think it's something like 2 seasons since he's gotten a goal or assist in the league. Might just be he hasn't quite got the pace he used to have which restricted him at the level he was playing.

patsdad
02/08/2023, 10:03 AM
Fun signing from Dundalk, good to have some more higher profile names in the league. I do wonder how much Horgan has left though, his level seems to have dropped right off in the last couple of seasons. Was looking him up out of curiosity a couple of weeks ago and think it's something like 2 seasons since he's gotten a goal or assist in the league. Might just be he hasn't quite got the pace he used to have which restricted him at the level he was playing.

Seems to have dropped off a cliff, according to the stats. Wycombe loaned him out to Stevanage in League Two in January for the rest of his contract. 14 appearances but just 243 minutes on the pitch with no goals or assists. He's only 31 next week which is relatively young to be winding down his career. If he could get back to his former levels he'd be a brilliant signing for Dundalk.

2 Year Contract
02/08/2023, 11:36 AM
Kevin Doherty has become the latest manager to turn down the Cork job

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/drogheda-united-manager-kevin-doherty-turns-down-cork-city-move/a362531638.html

joey B
02/08/2023, 12:08 PM
Bit of a mad one that,Usher not a popular owner down there so far anyway….

Jd2793
02/08/2023, 12:11 PM
we're an absolute shambles. if you dont laugh at this point you'll cry.

total hoofball
02/08/2023, 12:52 PM
Doherty would only leave that Drogheda job if got brilliant money from Cork, had a transfer window to sign players which they don't now and alot of flexibility in terms travel down from Dublin since he has a young family and a long term job with An Post

Smacks of Cork making a terrible attempt to wound their biggest rivals to 8th place safety by a half hearted poach of their manager