View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures
17/04/2023, 5:32 PM
Paddy McLaughlin to the assistant role at Derry?
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/cliftonville-boss-paddy-mclaughlin-set-for-derry-city-assistant-role-4107809
Would be happy with that, big fan of his.
joey B
17/04/2023, 6:21 PM
Paddy McLaughlin to the assistant role at Derry?
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/cliftonville-boss-paddy-mclaughlin-set-for-derry-city-assistant-role-4107809
Would be happy with that, big fan of his.
Suprised someone hasnt taken a shot at him for a managers job down here,seems to have done a decent job at Cliftonville......
17/04/2023, 10:03 PM
Suprised someone hasnt taken a shot at him for a managers job down here,seems to have done a decent job at Cliftonville......
I'm suprised that he has taken what could be seen as a career step backward from manager to assistant - You'd have to think that money had a major influence on that, unless he was on unsteady ground at Cliftonville and has release clauses in his Derry contract if a good managers job was on offer.
Shinkicker
18/04/2023, 5:31 AM
I'm suprised that he has taken what could be seen as a career step backward from manager to assistant - You'd have to think that money had a major influence on that, unless he was on unsteady ground at Cliftonville and has release clauses in his Derry contract if a good managers job was on offer.
Possibly a sidestep. He'll have been brought in to assist, but if results don't improve greatly and soon, he could be in the hot seat.
18/04/2023, 2:22 PM
Reynolds is a highly rated assistant, he isnt long enough gone from Derry for any dip in form to be attributed to an assistants influence imo, leading to questions on the managers ability. So not convinved that Higgins position is under any more pressure than usual. I'd have seen Derry as one of the more patient clubs, too patient at times maybe, so whether this is an owner appointee or managers choice? - if its the former then Higgins is severely undermined, either way it cant have been cheap, not that it matters for Derry. Cliftonville may have been caught cold at season end and not having a contract sorted for whatever they're worth - maybe they thought an odd text message activated a cotract extension.
sbgawa
18/04/2023, 3:30 PM
Reynolds is a highly rated assistant, he isnt long enough gone from Derry for any dip in form to be attributed to an assistants influence imo, leading to questions on the managers ability. So not convinved that Higgins position is under any more pressure than usual. I'd have seen Derry as one of the more patient clubs, too patient at times maybe, so whether this is an owner appointee or managers choice? - if its the former then Higgins is severely undermined, either way it cant have been cheap, not that it matters for Derry. Cliftonville may have been caught cold at season end and not having a contract sorted for whatever they're worth - maybe they thought an odd text message activated a cotract extension.
The Derry owner isnt going to sack higgins at this point almost regardless of results as Derry have been very badly hit by injuries.
The worrying part of the Dundalk v Derry match for me as a Rovers supporter was seeing Duffy come off the bench and Whelan on the bench and clearly ready to start to play.
Two players like that being added to the mix is huge.
Now if they play a lot of minutes over the next 10 games and Derry are struggling then the time might have come for Higgins
lofty9
18/04/2023, 3:36 PM
Paddy was to take the job before Reynolds, but Cliftonville persuaded him to stay then. He's been Higgins no1 target since he took the job.
edit .. see link https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/61354615
18/04/2023, 3:44 PM
Possibly a sidestep. He'll have been brought in to assist, but if results don't improve greatly and soon, he could be in the hot seat.
It's felt inevitable for a while that McLaughlin will manage us eventually, but I don't think this is a case of him coming in now to take over from Higgins any time soon.
18/04/2023, 5:23 PM
It's felt inevitable for a while that McLaughlin will manage us eventually, but I don't think this is a case of him coming in now to take over from Higgins any time soon.
Derry fans should hope that he has patience in spades just 'cause if he has to wait an age it'll be because Higgins is a success!
The Bowler
19/04/2023, 8:13 AM
Sean Brennan was seen training with UCD this week, presumably on his way back to the Bowl in the next transfer window as it appears he is no longer with Drogs. Good news for the students
Burnsie
19/04/2023, 12:06 PM
David Sneyd reporting on Twitter that Rovers have turned down two bids from MLS for Byrne. Sounds like he might be off yet
ger121
19/04/2023, 1:55 PM
Stupid question time. How can Byrne transfer to the MLS if the window is closed here or is that he can transfer while their window is open until 24th April?
Burnsie
19/04/2023, 2:30 PM
that's just the way it works. Transfer windows everywhere apply to incoming transfers only. So for example Lewis O'Brien left Nott'm Forest and signed for an MLS club last month
Jack B
19/04/2023, 3:52 PM
Best for everyone that this gets wrapped up before Friday I think.
ger121
19/04/2023, 3:53 PM
You may get your wish according to 42.ie journo
sbgawa
19/04/2023, 4:00 PM
Apparantly he has asked to play against Pats so he can sign off with a hat trick :)
Dee Feckin Aster if this happens
edit: the transfer not the hat trick ;)
20/04/2023, 3:04 PM
Paddy McLaughlin confirmed.
https://www.derrycityfc.net/2023/04/paddy-mclaughlin-appointed-assistant-manager/
sbgawa
20/04/2023, 3:08 PM
Paddy McLaughlin confirmed.
https://www.derrycityfc.net/2023/04/paddy-mclaughlin-appointed-assistant-manager/
If Joe the goal follows i'll be very upset
Shearer
20/04/2023, 6:53 PM
If Joe the goal follows i'll be very upset
That Joe Gormley is a bit of a myth. A flat-track bully who, like Pat Hoban, couldn't buy a goal in England.
20/04/2023, 7:55 PM
That Joe Gormley is a bit of a myth. A flat-track bully who, like Pat Hoban, couldn't buy a goal in England.
To be fair, Gormley spent almost his entire time in England injured.
sbgawa
20/04/2023, 8:32 PM
Gormley played a grand total of 9 games in 2 years in England.
He could score goals anywhere but loves living up north
20/04/2023, 9:14 PM
He spent one season in England, injured for the full season early on, and about a month in Scotland.
20/04/2023, 9:41 PM
Bit too old at this stage, maybe.
Though, TBF, wouldn't turn my nose up at either him or Hoban.
ToberonaTornado
21/04/2023, 6:20 AM
What am i mis understanding here shearer? two excellent players.
ToberonaTornado
21/04/2023, 6:29 AM
North off where?
sbgawa
21/04/2023, 7:01 AM
North off where?
North of the wall, where the wildlings live
ToberonaTornado
21/04/2023, 7:23 AM
North of the wall, where the wildlings live
North wall? Probably the furthest north either you or ledgenz have managed.
The laffs that somebody could slag off Hoban or Gormley is crazy.
I await their career cv.
Another Bohemia
21/04/2023, 8:17 AM
North wall? Probably the furthest north either you or ledgenz have managed.
The laffs that somebody could slag off Hoban or Gormley is crazy.
I await their career cv.
If the ability to play football becomes a requirement to comment on the ability of footballers then every forum and sports newspaper may as well shut down
ger121
21/04/2023, 9:14 AM
Well that was short and sweet. (Maybe not so sweet for Byrne)
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/jack-byrne-set-to-stay-with-shamrock-rovers-after-fresh-mls-bid-is-rejected-42441219.html
Shearer
21/04/2023, 10:04 AM
What am i mis understanding here shearer? two excellent players.
Absolutely brilliant players in their own league, the two boys will go down in history at their respective clubs.
It's a slight black mark against them that it didn't work out in England, but there's nothing wrong with the legacy both have created in their respective leagues here.
21/04/2023, 2:12 PM
Absolutely brilliant players in their own league, the two boys will go down in history at their respective clubs.
It's a slight black mark against them that it didn't work out in England, but there's nothing wrong with the legacy both have created in their respective leagues here.
Or in Europe too of course. But not to take away from the rest of your post, which is spot on in my view.
Jack B
02/05/2023, 9:52 AM
Clancy resigns. Was the time to go tbh.
kksaints
02/05/2023, 9:58 AM
Slightly surprised at the timing but we've had too many dreadful performances this season. Don't have a clue as to who the replacement will be.
Glen Of Aherlow
02/05/2023, 10:02 AM
Slightly surprised at the timing but we've had too many dreadful performances this season. Don't have a clue as to who the replacement will be.
Glad they’ve done it now , we’ve got a few games coming up he could’ve scraped a run of wins in and then cling on for another while
02/05/2023, 10:30 AM
I’m a bit surprised too. Thought he’d get more time. Pats have traditionally been pretty patient with managers. I actually thought he did ok in the end last season, but too many poor performances this year. Not a clue who I’d even want in. Vinny Perth mentioned on the Pats forum, thanks but no thanks.
joey B
02/05/2023, 11:23 AM
Should be an attractive job with plenty of interest anyway,Pats seem to be doing alot of things right but of course on the pitch matters are the most important…..
Burnsie
02/05/2023, 11:42 AM
Jon Daly in as interim, and presumably he'd have to be bookies favourite to get it permanently provided he's able to oversee some kind of turnaround (has a Pro licence)
Not sure I see the logic in this, unless Clancy going was of his own accord and not the clubs doing. Otherwise you’d have to assume that Daly has had a fairly big input into what’s been going on, so if that warranted Clancy going, then why not his assistant ?
joey B
02/05/2023, 3:48 PM
Not sure I see the logic in this, unless Clancy going was of his own accord and not the clubs doing. Otherwise you’d have to assume that Daly has had a fairly big input into what’s been going on, so if that warranted Clancy going, then why not his assistant ?
Did it not say that Clancy resigned? I thought he packed it in on his own rather than he was pushed….
Jack B
02/05/2023, 3:53 PM
Yep apparently it was primarily Clancy's decision, in which case you can't exactly expect the club to have someone immediately lined up. If it wasn't Daly it would be Sean O'Connor and it's safe to say that wouldn't exactly go down well amongst the fans.
Wonder will Pats go to Drogs again for the replacement?
Did it not say that Clancy resigned? I thought he packed it in on his own rather than he was pushed….
I think the statement said mutual consent, which can cover a lot. The fact that Jon Daly is taking over does tend to suggest that Tim decided himself that it was time to go. I just wouldn’t be confident that things are going to improve much if that’s the case.
total hoofball
02/05/2023, 6:04 PM
Wonder will Pats go to Drogs again for the replacement?
Doherty works during the day for An Post I wouldn't be quitting a regular non-football job considering Pats managers limited shelf life in recent years
culloty82
02/05/2023, 6:45 PM
Kalen Spillane has left the Kerry squad due to work and family commitments - certainly, trekking back and forth from Cork city on a regular basis for an amateur squad would take its toll on anyone:
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/kerry/sport/soccer/experienced-defender-kalen-spillane-steps-back-from-kerry-fc/a612052516.html
legendz
02/05/2023, 7:00 PM
Defensive reinforcements will be required in the summer transfer window. Players capable of implementing a low block and parking the bus.
03/05/2023, 10:27 AM
Doherty works during the day for An Post I wouldn't be quitting a regular non-football job considering Pats managers limited shelf life in recent years
Not really fair. Pats board are traditionally quite patient with managers. Since Liam Buckley left we’ve had Harry Kenny, who didn’t work out, but was given a decent amount of time, Stevie O’Donnell, who walked, and now Clancy, who may well have chosen to go himself. The fact that Jon Daly is staying on would imply this to me anyway. If the Board sacked Clancy then I imagine they’d have let his assistant go as well. Anyway, I don’t imagine we’ll be chasing Kevin Doherty.
I’d like a Pats man to get it, but I’m not sure there is a viable contender on that front. Keith Long would probably have been in with a good shout if he hadn’t gone to Waterford.
Kiki Balboa
03/05/2023, 10:45 AM
Wont be Robbie Keane, he has gone into a coaching role at Leeds.
Richard Dunne and Stephen Rice were two intresting names that appeared for other jobs recently enough. Wonder if they will be linked here too.
Really, until Bradley leaves Rovers, it is as attractive as a job could be in the League. Good budget, big fanbase, and a lot of talent in the squad.
bohsmug
03/05/2023, 11:30 AM
If the Board sacked Clancy then I imagine they’d have let his assistant go as well. Anyway, I don’t imagine we’ll be chasing Kevin Doherty.
Keeping the assistant on really doesn't offer any insight into who made the decision to part ways. Still, may well have been Clancy's decision or mutual.
03/05/2023, 11:50 AM
Keeping the assistant on really doesn't offer any insight into who made the decision to part ways. Still, may well have been Clancy's decision or mutual.
Well, possibly. As I said though, you’d imagine if the Board wanted a change they’d have let the assistant go too. After all, you’d have to assume he had a reasonably big input into what’s gone on. I’ll admit, I am just surmising though.
joey B
03/05/2023, 2:12 PM
Liam Buckley appointed sporting director by Cork City...