View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures
Munster Saint
17/08/2023, 9:13 PM
Cork City have announced the signing of Andrii Kravchuk, a former Ukrainian U21 international. The name may be a bit familiar, he was in the news last year after Oleksandr Zinchenko (a friend from their time at Shakhtar) helped arrange for him to train with Man City after he arrived in the UK as a refugee.
https://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2023/08/17/andrii-kravchuk-signs-for-cork-city/
Cork City have also announced the signing of Malik Dijksteel subject to international clearance. Dutch Surinamese midfielder, a former Feyenoord youth team player most recently with Wrexham's reserves. Had a spell with Middlesbrough where his brother Anfernee plays previously.
https://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2023/08/16/malik-dijksteel-signs-for-city/
joey B
20/08/2023, 12:52 PM
Has Conor Levingston left Wexford or is he injured? Hasn’t been involved for a while and was a sub for a good while before that…..
20/08/2023, 1:57 PM
He's on the bench today per the FAI app
joey B
20/08/2023, 2:06 PM
He's on the bench today per the FAI app
Yeah he’s not listed on Wexford’s team they put up on Twitter so not sure what the story is….
kksaints
20/08/2023, 2:35 PM
Yeah he’s not listed on Wexford’s team they put up on Twitter so not sure what the story is….
He was injured for a while anyway.
Eddie Nolan has announced his retirement today, he'll start a new job but he'll also stay on as a coach in the academy.
Good career behind him, surprised he played on so long. all the best to him in WFC Academy.
joey B
22/08/2023, 10:51 AM
Adam Murphy leaving Pats for Bristol City…..
Jack B
22/08/2023, 11:05 AM
Lennon not being out for as long lessens the blow of Murphy leaving, assuming he manages to stay fit now.
It's an annoying one but was absolutely inevitable. Hopefully we've gotten a decent fee out of it given the circumstances.
2 Year Contract
22/08/2023, 11:21 AM
Article on it here,
Lennon not being out for as long lessens the blow of Murphy leaving, assuming he manages to stay fit now.
It's an annoying one but was absolutely inevitable. Hopefully we've gotten a decent fee out of it given the circumstances.
Agreed. On the plus side, Pats will get a higher fee now and will also be able to include a sell on clause which, for a player of Murphy's ability, could prove to be worth a decent bit in the future if he reaches his potential.
I think a midfield of Forrester Lennon and Leavy is what we're looking at going forward. Not much backup to that though, Timmermans and McCormack probably the only other options in midfield (as well as the Swiss Army knife Jay McClelland who was fancied over both while Lennon was out)
Jack B
22/08/2023, 11:55 AM
Article on it here,
Agreed. On the plus side, Pats will get a higher fee now and will also be able to include a sell on clause which, for a player of Murphy's ability, could prove to be worth a decent bit in the future if he reaches his potential.
I think a midfield of Forrester Lennon and Leavy is what we're looking at going forward. Not much backup to that though, Timmermans and McCormack probably the only other options in midfield (as well as the Swiss Army knife Jay McClelland who was fancied over both while Lennon was out)
Yeah that's the main thing really, it's just the nature of having an academy like ours I suppose. Won't be long before Curtis follows him.
Leavy has looked interesting so far, may well be the best option once he's actually up to speed. Looks a powerful runner and just more physical than the other options in there. McClelland more of a moments player and McCormack I've always been a fan of but just still hasn't really put it together yet. Was patient with Timmermans but he's proved to be a bit of a nothing player unfortunately.
joey B
22/08/2023, 2:43 PM
Justin Ferizaj joined Frosinone from Shamrock Rovers .
Philosophizer
22/08/2023, 3:21 PM
Justin Ferizaj joined Frosinone from Shamrock Rovers .
I suppose Rovers were resigned to losing him on a free at the end of the year so they’ve decided to take some cash for him. Any idea of the fee?
Pity about the falling out - that kid has talent. Interesting to see how it will pan out for him in Italy!
Yeah that's the main thing really, it's just the nature of having an academy like ours I suppose. Won't be long before Curtis follows him.
Leavy has looked interesting so far, may well be the best option once he's actually up to speed. Looks a powerful runner and just more physical than the other options in there. McClelland more of a moments player and McCormack I've always been a fan of but just still hasn't really put it together yet. Was patient with Timmermans but he's proved to be a bit of a nothing player unfortunately.
Early days, but Leavy does look like he might have something about him. Possibly he was signed with an eye on Murphy leaving. Jay McCelland has done well when he’s come in I think. Agree that Ben McCormack doesn’t really seem to have kicked on.a
22/08/2023, 8:44 PM
I suppose Rovers were resigned to losing him on a free at the end of the year so they’ve decided to take some cash for him. Any idea of the fee?
Pity about the falling out - that kid has talent. Interesting to see how it will pan out for him in Italy!
Never heard of Frosinore before where are they based?
Small city in Lazio province, about 75km south of Rome.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frosinone
2 Year Contract
23/08/2023, 12:06 PM
Some indicators on the figures of the Adam Murphy deal here. Pats were entitled to €220k compensation money if he went in January but selling him now will mean a "significantly larger initial fee, plus performance- related add-ons" from Bristol City. No word on the figure but it sounds like a good deal
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/11223916/st-patricks-athletic-sam-curtis-adam-murphy/
sbgawa
23/08/2023, 1:09 PM
cant see the compo being 220k for Murphy going to a non Premier league academy, think that is overstated tbh.
Doesnt mean they arent getting a good fee though. seperate issues
23/08/2023, 3:31 PM
cant see the compo being 220k for Murphy going to a non Premier league academy, think that is overstated tbh.
St Pats do have a bit of form on overstating details on club departures.
Burnsie
23/08/2023, 4:18 PM
as far as I know, the compensation level depends on the status of the academy, not the league standing of the first team. For example, I believe the likes of Southamoton, Reading and Sunderland have Category One academies, but some PL clubs like Brentford have Category 2
Bristol City have been paying big wages for a Championship club in recent years, and have a massive catchment area to recruit young players, so it woudln't shock me if they were in the top tier
sbgawa
23/08/2023, 5:02 PM
Bristol City academy is category 2. 0
Either way hopefully the kid does well
2 Year Contract
23/08/2023, 6:25 PM
St Pats do have a bit of form on overstating details on club departures.
Last time I checked journalist and Bohemians fan Neil O'Riordan had nothing to do with St Pats but hey, whatever you say
Another Bohemia
23/08/2023, 7:07 PM
as far as I know, the compensation level depends on the status of the academy, not the league standing of the first team. For example, I believe the likes of Southamoton, Reading and Sunderland have Category One academies, but some PL clubs like Brentford have Category 2
Bristol City have been paying big wages for a Championship club in recent years, and have a massive catchment area to recruit young players, so it woudln't shock me if they were in the top tier
I think there's also whether the player was on professional terms taken into account and I believe he was on a pro contract from the age of 16. Then there's 2 parts to the payment on is training compensation and the other is a solidarity payment. I don't think it's so straight forward that any of us here can say for sure whether or not 220k is correct but there's no real reason to doubt it. What I'm curious about is what pats would say is "considerably more" than that. Is an extra 25 grand considerably more? 50 grand? I doubt it's as much as a hundred grand given the value of other transfers from the league to the UK in recent years.
23/08/2023, 7:37 PM
Last time I checked journalist and Bohemians fan Neil O'Riordan had nothing to do with St Pats but hey, whatever you say
But sure there are so many in the know St Pats fans he has oodles of sources!
sbgawa
23/08/2023, 9:05 PM
I'd back any random person on here to have a better idea of the compensation money than o riordain.
Shearer
23/08/2023, 9:50 PM
Collie McCabe has departed Drogs. Seems he threw his hat at it after being stuck on the bench behind a teenager.
23/08/2023, 10:32 PM
Collie McCabe has departed Drogs. Seems he threw his hat at it after being stuck on the bench behind a teenager.
Was never good enough anyway
joey B
25/08/2023, 1:27 PM
James Finnerty departed Sligo Rovers
D24Saint
25/08/2023, 1:58 PM
But sure there are so many in the know St Pats fans he has oodles of sources!
We will never have your level of in depth knowledge so still only in the ha’penny place.
Jd2793
25/08/2023, 2:12 PM
James Finnerty departed Sligo Rovers
any sligo fans shed a light on this? was he left go due to being bad, was it fitness related or a bit of both? i cant understand his quick fall off. thought he was good in '19 with bohs
25/08/2023, 2:23 PM
We will never have your level of in depth knowledge so still only in the ha’penny place.
Nice of you to say but on things like this (or court cases) the default is nobody is really in the know, with the exception of patsdad maybe.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/08/2023, 2:29 PM
any sligo fans shed a light on this? was he left go due to being bad, was it fitness related or a bit of both? i cant understand his quick fall off. thought he was good in '19 with bohs
Fitness I would say. Played one game for us. Did play well in it but got injured.
Robbie Burton has signed back for us
2 Year Contract
25/08/2023, 2:39 PM
Fitness I would say. Played one game for us. Did play well in it but got injured.
Robbie Burton has signed back for us
Strange one with Burton, I looked him up to see where he went after his loan with Sligo ended at the end of last season. Turns out he left Dinamo Zagreb in January and hasn’t played anywhere since. I’d imagine Sligo would’ve taken him back earlier in the season, seems a waste of 8 months of his career probably holding out for a better offer elsewhere that never came
Shearer
26/08/2023, 11:38 AM
Matt Keane has departed Kerry.
Billy Dennehy's mask will soon slip with regard to how he has treated players, not just Matt. By no means was he a world beater, but he's better than the minutes he got on a side at the foot of the First Division and I mean no disrespect in that.
legendz
26/08/2023, 12:50 PM
Matt Keane has departed Kerry.
Billy Dennehy's mask will soon slip with regard to how he has treated players, not just Matt. By no means was he a world beater, but he's better than the minutes he got on a side at the foot of the First Division and I mean no disrespect in that.
I don't think there can be any complaints about Matt dropping down the pecking order. He hasn't delivered and other players have come in and played well, despite the continued poor run of results.
redobit
26/08/2023, 1:25 PM
Strange one with Burton, I looked him up to see where he went after his loan with Sligo ended at the end of last season. Turns out he left Dinamo Zagreb in January and hasn’t played anywhere since. I’d imagine Sligo would’ve taken him back earlier in the season, seems a waste of 8 months of his career probably holding out for a better offer elsewhere that never came
He was saying on his Socials that after he left the Showgrounds, when his loan deal was up, that he got really sick with meningitis. In an out of hospital for 3 months and then another 6 months to build back up his fitness. Sounds like he has had a tough road and hopefully eager to get going again.
culloty82
26/08/2023, 2:55 PM
I don't think there can be any complaints about Matt dropping down the pecking order. He hasn't delivered and other players have come in and played well, despite the continued poor run of results.
Perhaps, but the game last night, for instance, was still tied at 1-1 in the 70th minute, and bringing on a player with his experience would have held see things through to the finish, instead of which the side just seemed to run out of steam, and Treaty won comfortably in the end.
legendz
26/08/2023, 3:10 PM
Perhaps, but the game last night, for instance, was still tied at 1-1 in the 70th minute, and bringing on a player with his experience would have held see things through to the finish, instead of which the side just seemed to run out of steam, and Treaty won comfortably in the end.
Ideally he would come in like that. Has Matt come in in games like that this season to steady the ship?
2 Year Contract
26/08/2023, 4:06 PM
He was saying on his Socials that after he left the Showgrounds, when his loan deal was up, that he got really sick with meningitis. In an out of hospital for 3 months and then another 6 months to build back up his fitness. Sounds like he has had a tough road and hopefully eager to get going again.
Jesus that’s a tough break for the lad. I wish him the best of luck to him getting the career back on the road again
Shearer
26/08/2023, 4:20 PM
I don't doubt that but he was cut out after the first trip to Longford for silly reasons, not to mention how he banished Andy Quaid, Trip & Sean O'Connell (the latter has since returned). Wayne Guthrie was declared injured for ages but was playing for Stacks as soon as he was released.
Billy Dennehy has thrown players under the bus on occasion but can only blame himself because many know some of those lads were not good enough.
I've no issue with Kerry but there's a stench from Billy.
legendz
26/08/2023, 5:23 PM
I don't doubt that but he was cut out after the first trip to Longford for silly reasons, not to mention how he banished Andy Quaid, Trip & Sean O'Connell (the latter has since returned). Wayne Guthrie was declared injured for ages but was playing for Stacks as soon as he was released.
Billy Dennehy has thrown players under the bus on occasion but can only blame himself because many know some of those lads were not good enough.
I've no issue with Kerry but there's a stench from Billy.
Experienced players were given a chance. Before the start of the season, experience would have been seen to be key. From the opening night it was the younger players who were stepping up. None of the players dropped during the season can have any arguments. O'Connell as you say did return showing there is a pathway back. The continued poor return of results is frustrating. 3 months of competitive performances with only 2 points to show for their efforts.
cláirseach
26/08/2023, 8:51 PM
With the pitch in Tralee the way it is it would be best to do your measuring on away performances.
Shearer
27/08/2023, 6:25 AM
Experienced players were given a chance. Before the start of the season, experience would have been seen to be key. From the opening night it was the younger players who were stepping up. None of the players dropped during the season can have any arguments. O'Connell as you say did return showing there is a pathway back. The continued poor return of results is frustrating. 3 months of competitive performances with only 2 points to show for their efforts.
Some of the players signed were never going to be good enough, I said same about some players on here. Dennehy needs to take ownership of this.
On the other side, I don't know if he feels obligated to use him due to him being on loan but Cian Barrett is really poor and spends a lot of time kicking lads.
Dermobohs
27/08/2023, 11:41 AM
Or maybe bawling Billy is just a poor manager?
joey B
27/08/2023, 2:03 PM
Or maybe bawling Billy is just a poor manager?
Seems to be good at deflecting blame onto the players,very similar to our current management team....
culloty82
27/08/2023, 2:42 PM
After his work with the U19s, he was always going to get one full season, the question being whether a successor should come from within the county, or the club should cast its net further afield.
culloty82
27/08/2023, 3:32 PM
Looking at Killarney Celtic's win today in a Munster champions cup competition, Keane was the captain, Stephen McCarthy scored a hat-trick and Tryp Vrljicak was also on the score-sheet, so evidently man-management reasons were partly to blame for none of them excelling in a Kerry jersey, even if the standard here would be significantly below the First Division.
legendz
28/08/2023, 9:06 PM
A local article suggests Matt leaving the squad was amicable enough and down to the lack of game time. It is acknowledged alright that losing the captain like that isn't good optics. If the first team were actually converting performances into results, dropping down the pecking order mightn't look so bad.
29/08/2023, 5:22 PM
Interesting article on The Athletic currently. The main focus is around an England-Italy u16 game a few weeks back and the scouts and agents that descended on it. But there's a little bit about Adam Murphy and Sam Curtis as apparently the English scouts were talking about how they can't sign them yet, and giving out about Brexit. They reckoned Curtis could be off to "one of the big Dutch clubs". I think he was linked with Feyenoord wasn't he?
culloty82
29/08/2023, 7:47 PM
Ryan Kelliher has signed a contract extension, keeping him at Kerry until the end of the 2025 season.
culloty82
29/08/2023, 8:18 PM
Just noticed the deal is described on the website as a "professional contract", though presumably that just means part-time, rather than amateur, so you'd imagine other players will ultimately be re-signed on similar terms:
https://kerryfc.com/ryan-kelliher-commits-long-term-future-to-kerry-football-club-by-signing-professional-deal/