View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures
11/02/2023, 8:01 AM
Think it was mentioned on here somewhere that amateur clubs are unable to sign players on loan, even if the parent club covers the wage. Would make sense as to why he’s at Harps now and not back at Kerry
That's correct
culloty82
11/02/2023, 1:07 PM
Leo Gaxha, who had been with Sheffield United Reserves for a number of seasons, returns home to Kerry:
The significance being less in the transfer itself, more in players having confidence in the project if things don't work out abroad.
Town Legend
11/02/2023, 8:22 PM
Has Dylan Barnett signed for anyone? I'm very surprised he is not playing senior football. In my opinion he was player of the season for us.
11/02/2023, 8:26 PM
Has Dylan Barnett signed for anyone? I'm very surprised he is not playing senior football. In my opinion he was player of the season for us.
Was certain when Wexford were announcing player after player from us he'd end up there, can't see him going back to Bray, was talk of Bohs but he'd be second fiddle to Kirk, probably not many options after that but surprised someone like waterford didnt move for him.
11/02/2023, 9:13 PM
Yeah cracking player. Unless he's gone travelling or work is getting in the way, I'd be shocked if he didn't have plenty of offers.
Rumours of a decent loan arrival for the Town to be announced soon allegedly/apparently etc. Be surprised to see it happen but be good to see him return if true...
legendz
12/02/2023, 7:30 AM
Leo Gaxha, who had been with Sheffield United Reserves for a number of seasons, returns home to Kerry:
The significance being less in the transfer itself, more in players having confidence in the project if things don't work out abroad.If going across the water doesn't work out, hopefully players can reignite their careers by returning home. It's good for Kerry to be able to bring someone on board like that so early in the club's voyage, and after circumstances dictated that Daniel Okwute couldn't link up with Kerry for the season. Kerry seem to have brought in a good blend of experience and Dennehy knows the league very well. It'll be interesting to see how it all comes together in the heat of league battle.
sbgawa
12/02/2023, 7:44 AM
The first match against cobh is important, even with Keegan down there and a supposed increase in budget youd still have them as on of the treams likely to be at the very bottom so a win on opening night would show Lerry have higher ambitions than just existing
12/02/2023, 5:38 PM
Yeah cracking player. Unless he's gone travelling or work is getting in the way, I'd be shocked if he didn't have plenty of offers.
Rumours of a decent loan arrival for the Town to be announced soon allegedly/apparently etc. Be surprised to see it happen but be good to see him return if true...
Yeah heard that too late last night it would be great to see him back he has fallen out with his manager apparently.
The Bowler
12/02/2023, 10:26 PM
When does the transfer window close ?
culloty82
13/02/2023, 11:00 AM
Aaron O'Sullivan becomes the third Kerry goalkeeper, moving up from the U19s, and Tralee native Kevin Williams returns after a few seasons in the German lower divisions.
2 Year Contract
13/02/2023, 11:20 AM
22nd February I think it is
legendz
13/02/2023, 11:27 AM
Aaron O'Sullivan becomes the third Kerry goalkeeper, moving up from the U19s, and Tralee native Kevin Williams returns after a few seasons in the German lower divisions.
How many players in the first team squad now and are more signings expected to be announced this week?
Candystripe
13/02/2023, 12:07 PM
I make it a squad of 23 they have so far I would consider that a minimum for a team expected to play up to 50 games, challenge for a title and cup/European runs playing on an artificial home pitch
Exactly, Derry have at least 5 players and all first team regulars injured right now. Fats, Dummigan, Boyce, Mc Jannitt and Harkin so that brings the squad down to 18. All 7 subs would be on the bench so a 23 man squad would be necessary for a team competing in 3 competitions.
culloty82
13/02/2023, 12:56 PM
How many players in the first team squad now and are more signings expected to be announced this week?
I make it 27 altogether - granted, you'd imagine some of the younger lads will also play with the U19s, but even over a 36-match season, you'd wonder how they'll all get game time!
legendz
13/02/2023, 2:36 PM
I make it 27 altogether - granted, you'd imagine some of the younger lads will also play with the U19s, but even over a 36-match season, you'd wonder how they'll all get game time!
With the amateur status of the club, will situations arise where some players might not make long away trips?
I think the U19s can field some over age players. Allowing for injuries etc. 27 or there abouts is probably a suitable extended panel for training.
Shinkicker
13/02/2023, 4:12 PM
I can be corrected, I believe its 22nd Feb.
RealJohn91
13/02/2023, 5:12 PM
Bohs sign Polish defender Kacper Radkowski on loan from Slask Wroclaw till the end of the season
Jd2793
13/02/2023, 9:43 PM
Who is it longford are signing then?
culloty82
14/02/2023, 8:15 AM
And Shane Guthrie does join his brother at Mounthawk Park - he has still been regularly playing for Dynamos, so evidently felt even one season would be some contribution.
D24Saint
14/02/2023, 8:53 AM
Jay McGrath - Defender - Under-23s - Coventry City (ccfc.co.uk) (https://www.ccfc.co.uk/teams/Under-23s/defender/jay-mcgrath/)
We have signed Coventry underage age player Jay McGrath on loan. He will provide defensive cover.
A N Mouse
14/02/2023, 10:12 AM
Over the course of a season 30+ players will be named in matchday squads. 3 to 5 might not see game time. Similar numbers won't start a game, so 23 to 25 different players will start at least one game. Then core 15-18 players will start 10+ games. Maybe one or two ever presents.
So sure keeping everyone happy becomes a problem with bigger squads. But you're not carrying 23 senior pros. Half the squad are competing for the for or five spots that aren't nailed on if everyone is fit.
The tricky bit then becomes managing that squad depth over multiple season. Something Bradley has done well. But now with players in the league tied down and having to look outside the league to try and bring in like for like it gets harder again and that's where Dundalk fell down.
joey B
14/02/2023, 12:26 PM
Waterford sign Ryan Burke and Ronan Coughlan
14/02/2023, 12:40 PM
Who is it longford are signing then?
Aodh Dervin coming back apparently. Town Twitter account just hinted at it too.
dundalkfc10
14/02/2023, 12:51 PM
I thought he was very good anytime I seen Shels (v Dundalk 4 times and watched them once or twice)
Very surprised he's dropping down to 1st Div
total hoofball
14/02/2023, 12:58 PM
Loan or permanent do you know?
I thought it was a strange one Duff randomly throwing him into the starting XI for the Cup final when he had been mostly on the bench in the 2nd half of last season and then he was probably our best player in that game albeit in an overall poor team performance. He is technically very good energetic but he can be quite careless with possession which is not great if you are team in the lower half of the Premier
Bunny Kelly
14/02/2023, 1:20 PM
If Coughlan stays fit then he is a massive signing at that level, I had wondered would Sligo have gone back there to replace Keena
14/02/2023, 1:22 PM
I thought he was very good anytime I seen Shels (v Dundalk 4 times and watched them once or twice)
Very surprised he's dropping down to 1st Div
I can only assume he doesn't want to play full time any more and it suits to play for us. It won't be because we're offering good money anyway. Good to see that all appears to be forgiven for the way that he left.
Jd2793
14/02/2023, 1:58 PM
dervin is a weird one, he bring massive energy and bite to midfield but hes not disciplined enough for the PD imo. reminds me a bit of mccormack in his last season with city, covered a lot of ground but was mostly chasing shadows and giving away the ball. tactically dont think hes at the level for a side with aspirations of pushing up the table.
14/02/2023, 2:06 PM
You'd have to presume he's been told he'll be a bit part player at Shels and is free to leave? Strange decision to leave otherwise.
D24Saint
14/02/2023, 3:05 PM
Don’t rate Coughlan , he appears to have a bit of talent but his application leaves a lot to be desired.
Jack B
14/02/2023, 3:22 PM
Coughlan never seemed to fully recover from a knee injury he got in his first season with Pats a couple of years ago. He started that year great and then for the rest of his time was either out or more or less languishing on the bench. Ability wise you can see he's still a good PD player as he had some lovely - albeit infrequent - moments of quality in tight quarters (and one of the best penalty takers going to go along with it) in his fleeting appearances last season against the likes of Waterford (fittingly) and Mura IIRC, but he's looked miles off it athletically whenever he's gotten his chance to play. Will be interesting to see how he gets on.
Paddy Barrett ending up being a similar story with us as well. Key player to a cast off in a relatively short period of time.
2 Year Contract
14/02/2023, 4:45 PM
Coughlan never seemed to fully recover from a knee injury he got in his first season with Pats a couple of years ago. He started that year great and then for the rest of his time was either out or more or less languishing on the bench. Ability wise you can see he's still a good PD player as he had some lovely - albeit infrequent - moments of quality in tight quarters (and one of the best penalty takers going to go along with it) in his fleeting appearances last season against the likes of Waterford (fittingly) and Mura IIRC, but he's looked miles off it athletically whenever he's gotten his chance to play. Will be interesting to see how he gets on.
Paddy Barrett ending up being a similar story with us as well. Key player to a cast off in a relatively short period of time.
Agree with all of this. I really feel Coughlan could’ve done with a pre-season under his belt but he’s now missed that boat too by signing this late. I’m sure (Waterford will hope to god) he’ll have done his own fitness programme in the off season but that wouldn’t compare to doing it with a club. Reportedly he was looking for a move to the UK as his partner is from there but he obviously wasn’t offered anything at an attractive enough level so the gamble to wait until now appears to have backfired as he'll be on the back foot fitness wise now. I do think he'll do well in the first division though once he gets up to speed on fitness
The Bowler
14/02/2023, 5:31 PM
Aodh Dervin back to Longford on loan
14/02/2023, 6:02 PM
Big blow for Treaty. Ryan Connolly has left them before the season starts due to work commitments.
da bishop
14/02/2023, 9:28 PM
Big blow for Treaty. Ryan Connolly has left them before the season starts due to work commitments.
Crikey ,that didnt last long,expect him to turn up at a new club in a few weeks.
joey B
14/02/2023, 9:49 PM
Crikey ,that didnt last long,expect him to turn up at a new club in a few weeks.
Theres a fairly obvious candidate for that I'd say!
14/02/2023, 10:32 PM
There's rumours he's been approached by Galway, Ollie is a big fan as well, but unless he's allowed to train a couple of days a week and not full-time with the rest, then I don't see it being a runner. Stranger things have happened though.
He's supposed to have wanted to come back to Harps again this season, but again schedules wouldn't work, and Rogers wants everyone located locally permanent, so again that's a non-runner.
dundalkfc10
14/02/2023, 11:39 PM
Paddy Barret was excellent with us, especially in 2016
I was actually thinking we should have signed him back once he returned to Ireland
Was loved by the fans, a lovely lad
Jack B
15/02/2023, 12:04 AM
Paddy Barret was excellent with us, especially in 2016
I was actually thinking we should have signed him back once he returned to Ireland
Was loved by the fans, a lovely lad
Was fantastic for Pats in his first season with us as well when he came back to the league. Was a massive signing at the time to then tie him down for another two years only for him to get injured in pre season and barely kick a ball for us last year after a couple of surgeries. He seemed to be crocked was all the talk about him and as Pats then just allowed him to leave with a year left on his contract that would have seemed to be the case. Great player there though if Shels can manage his firness and get him anywhere near his best again.
sulywaterfordfc
15/02/2023, 12:27 AM
Agree with all of this. I really feel Coughlan could’ve done with a pre-season under his belt but he’s now missed that boat too by signing this late. I’m sure (Waterford will hope to god) he’ll have done his own fitness programme in the off season but that wouldn’t compare to doing it with a club. Reportedly he was looking for a move to the UK as his partner is from there but he obviously wasn’t offered anything at an attractive enough level so the gamble to wait until now appears to have backfired as he'll be on the back foot fitness wise now. I do think he'll do well in the first division though once he gets up to speed on fitness
He won’t be a guaranteed starter by any means either, so he’ll definitely have to work for his spot. We signed Aouachria mid season I think he went on to score 10+ in all competitions in short spell. It’ll be interesting to see how Aouachria gets on over a full season.
joey B
15/02/2023, 10:28 AM
Ibrahim Keita signed for Galway,played for us in 2017,did'nt do much but not many did that season,might do well in the first division though,spent time in the Czech top flight since.....
15/02/2023, 10:40 AM
Mohamed Boudiaf has signed for LTFC. It appears he may have spent some time with Prison F.C. last year. Hopefully he's smartened up since.
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/dublin/fingal/professional-footballer-jailed-for-two-months-after-abusing-local-gardai-41727797.html
Town Legend
15/02/2023, 1:21 PM
That doesn't make for great reading. To be caught once fair enough but several times in the space of a couple of months and then some of the abusive language used doesn't look good. For a club that is heavily family based I am surprised at the signing.
We have a few supporters who attend our games with disabilities and for them to see us signing a lad who uses language like that?!!
He's only young and but he's also old enough to know what he's saying and then to throw on top of it his lack of respect to the guards!
I have to say, I'm not fully behind this signing.
15/02/2023, 3:27 PM
I certainly have reservations. Whatever about the driving offences and the lack of respect for the Gardai, language like he used is not acceptable. But at least he apologised for his behaviour and presumably he served his sentence. If he behaves himself while he's with us he's entitled to a chance.
2 Year Contract
15/02/2023, 4:08 PM
Aodh Dervin back to Longford on loan
Interesting one considering last summer he was a part of Damien Bluff's self proclaimed best midfield in the country :D
15/02/2023, 9:04 PM
Interesting one considering last summer he was a part of Damien Bluff's self proclaimed best midfield in the country :D
This is a season long move for us.
15/02/2023, 11:12 PM
This is a season long move for us.
It's a loan deal until the summer
16/02/2023, 3:54 PM
Harps have signed Cian Lynch, ex-Cabinteely forward who has spent the last couple of years in USA and Canada.
RealJohn91
16/02/2023, 4:03 PM
Defender Drew Baker on loan to Bohs from Fleetwood till the summer
Jack B
16/02/2023, 4:07 PM
Lincoln and Fleetwood seem to have an endless supply of players to send on loan to Ireland.