View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures
total hoofball
12/07/2023, 6:09 PM
Went on loan from Longford to Galway in 2021. Signed for Treaty in 2022 and was gone by the summer before joining Bray.
He is a woejus player.
Yes you're right lost track more clubs than Tiger Woods player
12/07/2023, 6:25 PM
Portadown. That was between him leaving Galway and signing for Treaty!
That's who I thought it was. Cheers!
The Bowler
12/07/2023, 6:51 PM
Yoyo Mahfy yo Bray. Reunited either Isn Ryan. Proven goalscorer in Div1, but been away for a year or so. Nice lad, recently lost his father, hope it works out for him.
The Bowler
12/07/2023, 8:42 PM
Try to type this one with less typos ! Sean Quinn also to Bray, that's a really good signing, he was good at UCD, think he may have been in America , but couldn't be certain on that. I think you are going to increasingly see Ryaner dipping into his old pool of UCD players to build out a currently underwhelming Bray side.
Olander
12/07/2023, 8:54 PM
I think you are going to increasingly see Ryaner dipping into his old pool of UCD players to build out a currently underwhelming Bray side.
He signed most of them himself.
ger121
12/07/2023, 9:53 PM
Looks like Danny Grant is more likely to join Bohs now, who knows at this stage though.
The amount of cryptic **** on SM the last day or two does make it seem like it could be a runner but who the hell knows.
total hoofball
12/07/2023, 11:25 PM
Try to type this one with less typos ! Sean Quinn also to Bray, that's a really good signing, he was good at UCD, think he may have been in America , but couldn't be certain on that. I think you are going to increasingly see Ryaner dipping into his old pool of UCD players to build out a currently underwhelming Bray side.
Yes Sean left Shels early in 2021 to go to the the states on a scholarship, he was well liked Shels fans very hard working physical defensive midfielder but technically limited similar to Luka Lovic who is already there
If Mahdy gets service he will score goals in first division, if he is randomly dumped out on the wing like he was by Ian Morris at Shels he won't do much.
Sorry to hear about his Dad, I remember a man infront of me enthusiastically cheering for Yoyo during a UCD match against Cork a few years back pre-Covid and Yoyo scored he was hugging everyone during the celebrations presume it was him
SPXcyan
13/07/2023, 7:08 AM
Dean Larkin joins Cobh Ramblers on loan for the rest of the season.
joey B
13/07/2023, 11:19 AM
Drogheda signed Kyle Robinson from Shelbourne
13/07/2023, 11:35 AM
Drogheda signed Kyle Robinson from Shelbourne
Could be a cracking signing but also shows where Drogs are budget wise
SPXcyan
13/07/2023, 2:16 PM
Tunmise Sabowale has transferred to Shrewsbury Town for an undisclosed fee.
Best of luck to him, disappointed to see him leave, Keith Long simply didn't fancy him which has me slightly baffled.
joey B
13/07/2023, 2:21 PM
Best of luck to him, disappointed to see him leave, Keith Long simply didn't fancy him which has me slightly baffled.
I’m shocked he got a move to League One,decent athlete no doubt but never looked a decent footballer,to me anyway….
ger121
13/07/2023, 2:27 PM
Long has form in that department.
sulywaterfordfc
13/07/2023, 2:51 PM
I’m shocked to see him leave too because the LoI first division is just about his level. Unbelievable power and pace but his defending, positioning and decision making is very poor imo. He’s prone to mistakes too, making the same mistakes consistently for years now and hasn’t kicked on. His awareness around his own penalty area is shocking to say the least. It seems like his hit his ceiling and tbh if it wasn’t for his pace nobody in the LOi would have even taken note of his name. Personally I’ve felt for the last couple years we needed to move Timi on and bring in a better defender. Best of luck to him.
sulywaterfordfc
13/07/2023, 2:53 PM
Long has form in that department.
There’s no agenda by Long. I think Long hasn’t brought into the hype because he’s made out to be a far better player then what he actually is. Honestly we’ve needed to bring in someone better to replace him for a couple seasons now.
ger121
13/07/2023, 3:31 PM
And he’s back. Ah-ha!
RealJohn91
13/07/2023, 3:45 PM
And he’s back. Ah-ha!
Really hope Danny can hit the ground running now. Seems like he had a pretty miserable time in England with injuries but if can find his form from before he left Bohs he'll be an amazing player.
JC_GUFC
13/07/2023, 3:48 PM
I’m shocked to see him leave too because the LoI first division is just about his level. Unbelievable power and pace but his defending, positioning and decision making is very poor imo. He’s prone to mistakes too, making the same mistakes consistently for years now and hasn’t kicked on. His awareness around his own penalty area is shocking to say the least. It seems like his hit his ceiling and tbh if it wasn’t for his pace nobody in the LOi would have even taken note of his name. Personally I’ve felt for the last couple years we needed to move Timi on and bring in a better defender. Best of luck to him.
Yeah - useless defender in my view. It was no surprise when he didn't play against us in the first meeting in Waterford this season. When we played in Galway he started and many people said our left winger that day was our best player that day because of the joy he got.
I don't know why he doesn't play further forward - there's absolutely no way he's going to make it as a defender in League 2.
Another Bohemia
13/07/2023, 5:17 PM
And he’s back. Ah-ha!
Potentially a great signing. We've really lacked a direct winger who can take on a player & has end product. Let's hope we can manage his minutes and keep the injury bug at bay.
SPXcyan
13/07/2023, 5:47 PM
Tunmise Sabowale is a midfielder, not a defender, he was found out too many times at full back and I just can't understand why he was always used as one, an excellent attacker and I have a feeling Shrewsbury will use his attacking power correctly.
13/07/2023, 6:02 PM
Tunmise Sabowale is a midfielder, not a defender, he was found out too many times at full back and I just can't understand why he was always used as one, an excellent attacker and I have a feeling Shrewsbury will use his attacking power correctly.
He was very poor in midfield at Harps. Feel that a right wing back spot is the only place for him really.
Shocked that he got a League one move.
SPXcyan
13/07/2023, 6:49 PM
He stated in his interview at Shrewsbury that he had been working hard on his position in training etc, perhaps he's finally beginning to think that he needs to improve? ah sure best of luck to him, League 1.. just.. I'm still surprised.
total hoofball
13/07/2023, 7:29 PM
I have doubts if Robinson will be a cracking signing unless Doherty unearths something I haven't seem from him. Duff was clearly reluctant to play him despite Boyd being injured and then Gbemi Aurbi overtaking Robinson in the pecking order with sub appearances upfront lately
Saying all that Drogheda have had a good track record in recent years with players discarded at some point by Shels
sulywaterfordfc
13/07/2023, 7:56 PM
Waterford In
Harry Nevin (Free Agent formerly Preston)
Cameron Cresssell (Free Agent formerly IK Start in Norway)
Much needed additions. Not sure what their ability is like but we’ve a very thin squad at the minute. I think we’ll find it hard to sign anyone of note as the rest of the season is essentially a dead rubber until the play offs.
SeanDrog
13/07/2023, 8:54 PM
Fair point but as a result Drogheda are finding/developing great young talent (can argue it’s out of necessity). Hopefully Kyle flourishes with the game time.
joey B
14/07/2023, 9:52 AM
Daniel Okwute signed back at Kerry on a permanent basis from Stockport County,spent the first half of the season on loan with us…..
culloty82
14/07/2023, 9:56 AM
Fair to say he didn't make much impression in Ballybofey, even though he got no shortage of game time, so can only hope that a return to home turf can help rekindle his form from the U19 league.
joey B
14/07/2023, 10:03 AM
Fair to say he didn't make much impression in Ballybofey, even though he got no shortage of game time, so can only hope that a return to home turf can help rekindle his form from the U19 league.
Not many made an impression with us tbf but his last game with us summed up his time here,subbed on at half time,booked on 60 minutes and subbed off again 10 minutes later,not great……
SPXcyan
14/07/2023, 10:46 AM
Thomas Oluwa loaned out to Wexford for the rest of the season.
joey B
14/07/2023, 10:52 AM
Thomas Oluwa loaned out to Wexford for the rest of the season.
His 7th club at the age of 22…..
Shearer
14/07/2023, 10:53 AM
Nice to see Okwute go back to where he came from. Must have been a dose for Billy Dennehy to see him lining out against him for Harps.
He didn't last very long at Stockport, just 9 months. Hopefully he kicks on now.
legendz
14/07/2023, 12:15 PM
Nice to see Okwute go back to where he came from. Must have been a dose for Billy Dennehy to see him lining out against him for Harps.
He didn't last very long at Stockport, just 9 months. Hopefully he kicks on now.
Hopefully he can kick on. Coughlan and Okwute are decent signings for Kerry.
Bunny Kelly
14/07/2023, 4:52 PM
On the Shrewsbury website they say they have signed him to be a wing back which I always thought he had great potential to play that role, he isn't a good enough defender to play full back but at wing back you can use all his best qualities & hide some of his flaws.
It is bugbear of mine when full backs get shoved into a wing back role as if its the same, it is a very specialist role. Just look at Matt Doherty for example, his career crumbled when he was forced to be a full back at Spurs after being an excellent wing back at Wolves
legendz
14/07/2023, 6:39 PM
Former Brentford FC goalkeeper Lee Axworthy has also signed for Kerry.
2 Year Contract
14/07/2023, 8:43 PM
Former Brentford FC goalkeeper Lee Axworthy has also signed for Kerry.
Ah no wonder Brentford let him go, brilliantly apt surname for any player that gets dropped ;)
Shearer
15/07/2023, 11:07 AM
Bastien Hery signs for Longford
joey B
15/07/2023, 2:47 PM
Luke Wade Slater joined Drogheda from Warrenpoint.
15/07/2023, 3:24 PM
Bastien Hery signs for Longford
Jaysus what a signing! Where was Hery last Shearer?
15/07/2023, 8:29 PM
Came on on 89 minutes, sent off on 92 minutes. Nice few games off for him now.
Neish
16/07/2023, 10:22 AM
Never looked interested when he played for Harps
16/07/2023, 10:23 AM
Jaysus what a signing! Where was Hery last Shearer?
Harps first half of last season, Galway second half of the season. Total disaster for us. Had zero interest.
16/07/2023, 6:26 PM
Harps first half of last season, Galway second half of the season. Total disaster for us. Had zero interest.
Bit worried after his 3 mins on pitch. Noone my side of the ground has an idea of why Hery was sent off!
Shearer
16/07/2023, 6:44 PM
Bit worried after his 3 mins on pitch. Noone my side of the ground has an idea of why Hery was sent off!
He buried a fella with an elbow.
Jd2793
16/07/2023, 7:44 PM
hery is a disgrace. wouldnt see lads in lsl/msl in the nick hes in. fella is robbing longford for whatever money they are giving him!
2 Year Contract
16/07/2023, 9:54 PM
Matt Healy who was on loan at Cork from Ipswich, has signed for Royal Francs Borains, a club that have just been promoted to the second tier in Belgium
17/07/2023, 10:59 AM
hery is a disgrace. wouldnt see lads in lsl/msl in the nick hes in. fella is robbing longford for whatever money they are giving him!
He walked by me in the tunnel the other night , doesn't look like a fella carrying weight. He's obviously not going to be at peak fitness after 6 months off, red card looked harsh to me, Hery has been through a tough time personally over last year or so, I'm willing to give him a chance, he's probably on buttons with us.
Calcio Jack
17/07/2023, 3:31 PM
Shane Robinson leaving us to take up a position with the FAI - it was his vision with Bradley that was turned into the reality that is our Academy and successful senior team .
Huge loss for us but a great signing by the FAI ( assuming he’s given support and finance). Will be interesting to see who replaces him.
Anyway always better to have a top notch individual for a few years before they move on to something bigger/better …. Than be stuck with ‘deadwood’ Thanks Shane
sbgawa
17/07/2023, 4:08 PM
This 100% , really dissapointed to see him leave.
Hopefully he can bring his ability to an organisation very short on ability.
Start with the fact that none of their coaches are available Sat/Sun when the kids play because they are on Monday to Friday contracts.......
Worst mistake the FAI made during the crises was not getting rid of them all and giving the clubs the saleries saved (or even 50%).
If they were any good they would get jobs with the clubs....but it wouldnt be Monday to Friday.
sulywaterfordfc
17/07/2023, 11:20 PM
Brilliant news by Waterford FC in recent days. Academy players Romeo Akachukwu (16) and Irish Youth international Jason Healy (17) signed long term contracts.
joey B
18/07/2023, 12:24 PM
Bogdan Vastsuk confirmed to have left Sligo Rovers,judging by the reaction on Twitter he was a bad egg…..