View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures
JC_GUFC
02/08/2023, 2:02 PM
we're an absolute shambles. if you dont laugh at this point you'll cry.
I think the problem was recruitment in the off-season.
I reckoned Cork were the third best team in Division 1 last season but deservedly won the league because they were most consistent (fwiw I think Waterford were the best team). They added very few players to last season's team and even lost a couple, most notably the goalkeeper, which has led to problems this season.
Even last season when winning the league there were rumblings around Colin Healy's position. It's obviously not a great place to be to end up in the playoff and have a one-off match to achieve survival but from what I've seen of Waterford in the first half of the season they've gone way back on last season. They've a number of new players come in since the window, so who knows maybe they'll improve but given Cork are playing against much better opposition week-in week-out I'd favour them to win a playoff - and of course Waterford could easily come unstuck against Cobh or Athlone in the Division 1 playoffs.
joey B
02/08/2023, 2:24 PM
Doherty would only leave that Drogheda job if got brilliant money from Cork, had a transfer window to sign players which they don't now and alot of flexibility in terms travel down from Dublin since he has a young family and a long term job with An Post
Smacks of Cork making a terrible attempt to wound their biggest rivals to 8th place safety by a half hearted poach of their manager
I think Doherty is on record in saying he wants a full time position in football,which maybe looks even worse for Cork in that it’s not seen as a stable place to be working atm…..
thebronze14
02/08/2023, 2:33 PM
we're an absolute shambles. if you dont laugh at this point you'll cry.
Is it bad that I'm happy enough with this?? Ye had a good thing going owning yer own club and ye seemed to throw it away with the first person that flashed a bit of cash?
Jd2793
02/08/2023, 3:23 PM
I think the problem was recruitment in the off-season.
I reckoned Cork were the third best team in Division 1 last season but deservedly won the league because they were most consistent (fwiw I think Waterford were the best team). They added very few players to last season's team and even lost a couple, most notably the goalkeeper, which has led to problems this season.
Even last season when winning the league there were rumblings around Colin Healy's position. It's obviously not a great place to be to end up in the playoff and have a one-off match to achieve survival but from what I've seen of Waterford in the first half of the season they've gone way back on last season. They've a number of new players come in since the window, so who knows maybe they'll improve but given Cork are playing against much better opposition week-in week-out I'd favour them to win a playoff - and of course Waterford could easily come unstuck against Cobh or Athlone in the Division 1 playoffs.
we were pretty average last year alright. started well, a few flattering results but our performances tailed off massively. we struggled over the line in games against cobh athlone and wexford on multiple occasions. if waterford had a proper defence for the first half of the season they'd have walked the league.
we definitely didnt add enough in the off season and thats on Healy. we'd fellas who were struggling to stamp their authority on games in 1st division. we resigned all off them expecting they'd make the grade in PD. someone like coffey is prime example, a nothing player. all our defenders have been found out to differing degrees this season. Coleman is never ever a PD player. our signings in the summer window were awful aswell. no excuses for change in ownership this time though, we clearly weren't stumping up good wages IMO.
i cant see any way we stay up this year tbh with you. on and off the pitch we are a joke. with the way things are going i wouldnt be shocked to see buckley pack it in aswell.
total hoofball
02/08/2023, 4:35 PM
I think Doherty is on record in saying he wants a full time position in football,which maybe looks even worse for Cork in that it’s not seen as a stable place to be working atm…..
If Doherty was up a full-time role you would wonder why Cork didn't approach him alot sooner until exactly when the transfer window closed 3 months after parting ways with Healy. I think Doherty saw through the BS of that Cork job offer
02/08/2023, 9:02 PM
Bit of a mad one that,Usher not a popular owner down there so far anyway….
What's Tom Coughlan up to these days?
Jd2793
03/08/2023, 7:09 AM
What's Tom Coughlan up to these days?
https://www.irishexaminer.com/property/commercial/arid-41063399.html
joey B
03/08/2023, 12:12 PM
Max Mata confirmed to Shrewsbury…..
03/08/2023, 3:58 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/property/commercial/arid-41063399.html
Interesting. Things must have picked up for him since his "Tommy No Bobs" days.
ger121
03/08/2023, 6:44 PM
Max Mata confirmed to Shrewsbury…..
I hope they got six figures for a player who had 18 months left on his contract. Not sure if he had a release clause or not?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/08/2023, 9:23 PM
Release clause alright
Philosophizer
03/08/2023, 9:30 PM
Release clause alright
Any idea of the transfer fee?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/08/2023, 10:08 PM
Think around 100k with add ons but not fully sure
ger121
04/08/2023, 12:03 AM
Think around 100k with add ons but not fully sure
Probably as good as you were gonna get with a release clause in place.
AFunnyOldGame
04/08/2023, 10:45 AM
What’s happened to Justin ferizaj at Rovers this season?
oriel
04/08/2023, 12:50 PM
Seems to have dropped off a cliff, according to the stats. Wycombe loaned him out to Stevanage in League Two in January for the rest of his contract. 14 appearances but just 243 minutes on the pitch with no goals or assists. He's only 31 next week which is relatively young to be winding down his career. If he could get back to his former levels he'd be a brilliant signing for Dundalk.
Personally speaking, I would see Horgan as playing in the centre now, don't think he will be used on the wing (I could be wrong), he should be able to make a big difference to a very flat and stale MF that Dundalk currently have.
Turns 31 this week, looks in good shape, so a 2.5 year deal looks about right.
Another Bohemia
04/08/2023, 12:57 PM
I could be wrong but I recall reading on this thread a few pages back that he had some attitude issues? Something along the lines of he felt he deserved a bigger role but really hasn't pushed on or put the work in to push on. I'm open to correction on that because that's just what I remember reading.
Philosophizer
04/08/2023, 2:06 PM
I asked the same question a while ago and iirc one of the Rovers lads mentioned that he pushed Rovers to let him go on a trial with Spurs last winter, which they obliged, but then got annoyed when they wouldn’t allow a 2nd trial, or the trial to be extended, or something like that.
Seems like he might be a bit of a billy big boots. After all the headlines last year after he starred in some European matches maybe he thought he was a star and too good for Rovers??
Shearer
04/08/2023, 4:22 PM
His father is on social media a lot on about his kids, would be curious to see if he's played a role in the fallout.
Slight aside, there is a huge amount of nutty parents of underage LOI players especially girls. Absolute nutjobs ruining kids.
Philosophizer
04/08/2023, 5:13 PM
Slight aside, there is a huge amount of nutty parents of underage LOI players especially girls. Absolute nutjobs ruining kids.
It was ever thus.
Wouldn’t be surprised if Ferizaj’s Dad has been a part of the fallout.
ger121
05/08/2023, 9:34 AM
It was ever thus.
Wouldn’t be surprised if Ferizaj’s Dad has been a part of the fallout.
I thought I read his dad is his agent or advisor?
Gone to Italy according to this
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41197927.html
joey B
09/08/2023, 5:37 PM
Luke McNicholas the next Sligo departure it seems,100k bid from Wrexham....
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/wrexham-target-another-irish-signing-with-100k-bid-for-sligo-rovers-goalkeeper/a2098286600.html
ger121
09/08/2023, 7:13 PM
I see Skupi flogging some lad with 18 months left on a contract to Serbia for €400k. I see reasonable fees a lot in leagues similar to our own, in terms of size and ranking. When will these below average fees end in our league.
legendz
09/08/2023, 8:42 PM
I see Skupi flogging some lad with 18 months left on a contract to Serbia for €400k. I see reasonable fees a lot in leagues similar to our own, in terms of size and ranking. When will these below average fees end in our league.
When LoI clubs all agree no more cheap get out clauses?
ger121
09/08/2023, 9:22 PM
When LoI clubs all agree no more cheap get out clauses?
I wish cheap get out clauses was the only reason players go for less than they would in other similar markets.
SPXcyan
10/08/2023, 7:35 AM
Tunmise Sabowale came on as a sub at Elland Road last night in-front of 35,000, some step up that.
Another Bohemia
10/08/2023, 7:54 AM
Luke McNicholas the next Sligo departure it seems,100k bid from Wrexham....
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/wrexham-target-another-irish-signing-with-100k-bid-for-sligo-rovers-goalkeeper/a2098286600.html
This is a strange one can't say I've been overly impressed any time I've seen him. He's solid for this level but not convinced he has it in him to make the step up to a higher level. I suppose from wrexhams side he'd be 2nd or 3rd choice and young enough that they believe that with the right training he could be a number 1 in a couple of years but I find it hard to believe there's not a better keeper at one of the Premier youth academies in the UK available for similar money with similar potential.
redobit
10/08/2023, 1:38 PM
This is a strange one can't say I've been overly impressed any time I've seen him. He's solid for this level but not convinced he has it in him to make the step up to a higher level. I suppose from Wrexham's side he'd be 2nd or 3rd choice and young enough that they believe that with the right training he could be a number 1 in a couple of years but I find it hard to believe there's not a better keeper at one of the Premier youth academies in the UK available for similar money with similar potential.
From a Sligo Rovers point of view it is good money for an average keeper that has some potential. So the club would be mad not to accept.
There was always a bit of a comparison between him and MCGinty as they were coming through the Academy at the same time. Although both were seen as good prospects, Luke was considered as the one with the best chance to make it at a higher level. McGinty came in shaky to first team but to his credit he improved season on season and was the best keeper in the league at one stage. I've seem Luke play a lot and although he is talented he is not progressing. That said I would have liked to seen him leave at the end of the season but that's not how these things work unfortunately.
ger121
11/08/2023, 3:05 PM
Signed only till January. What sort of deal is that for him and Sligo?
https://twitter.com/wrexham_afc/status/1690013393502048257?s=46
sbgawa
11/08/2023, 3:24 PM
so much for the transfer , a 4 month trial and then a fee if they decide to buy him.
Youd hope Sligo at least got something for losing him now for the rest of the season.
Jack B
11/08/2023, 3:31 PM
According to McDonnell it's a loan with an option to buy, with an obligation to pay a "five figure sum" if they don't take that option up. Still a weird and a bit of a worrying one regardless, doesn't say much for whatever state Sligo are in if that's a deal worth taking.
joey B
11/08/2023, 3:48 PM
Bizarre deal that..
Are they relying on Richard Brush now?
2 Year Contract
11/08/2023, 4:03 PM
Bizarre deal that..
Are they relying on Richard Brush now?
It seems Dick Brush is their only proper option yeah. This season aside from McNicholas (23 years old), they’ve had Brush (38), Gabbidon (16), Vahey (18) and Walsh (18) on the bench for league games. Walsh played the last game of last season in a dead rubber against Bohs but that’s the only senior experience among the 3 of those young keepers.
Shearer
12/08/2023, 8:36 AM
Josh Coady, Josh Quinlivan, Darren Collins and Colin Kelly leave Treaty.
2 Year Contract
12/08/2023, 8:44 AM
It seems Dick Brush is their only proper option yeah. This season aside from McNicholas (23 years old), they’ve had Brush (38), Gabbidon (16), Vahey (18) and Walsh (18) on the bench for league games. Walsh played the last game of last season in a dead rubber against Bohs but that’s the only senior experience among the 3 of those young keepers.
Funnily enough Walsh played last night with Brush not making the bench so he’s presumably injured. Makes it even more risky to let McNicholas go although the way Cork are playing at the moment will put Sligo at ease more than any goalkeeper
joey B
12/08/2023, 11:43 AM
Noah Lewis departs Pats,not a suprise that one I think….
kksaints
12/08/2023, 11:48 AM
Noah Lewis departs Pats,not a suprise that one I think….
Not really, looked OK in some matches but was disastrous in others. Will probably float around the lower tiers in the Netherlands.
12/08/2023, 12:39 PM
Not really, looked OK in some matches but was disastrous in others. Will probably float around the lower tiers in the Netherlands.
Yeah, he was poor overall. The worry for us is that I think Norman is no better. Thankfully we have Joe Redmond back. You could see the difference he makes last night. Himself and McGrath should be first choice pairing for the rest of the season, which will be fine.
Was impressed with Kian Leavy last night. Seems good on the ball, and quite brave with it.
patsdad
12/08/2023, 1:09 PM
Noah had some good moments but ultimately was too prone to mistakes. They cost us quite a few points and with the return of Joe Redmond I couldn’t have seen Noah playing again this season. Redmond and McGrath looked a very solid pairing in Sligo and again last night and if we need cover Sam Curtis slots in with McLaughlin (or Sjoberg when fit) playing right back.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/08/2023, 6:33 PM
Funnily enough Walsh played last night with Brush not making the bench so he’s presumably injured. Makes it even more risky to let McNicholas go although the way Cork are playing at the moment will put Sligo at ease more than any goalkeeper
Brush was suspended. Back now but I’d imagine Walsh will stay in.
2 Year Contract
13/08/2023, 6:55 PM
Bristol City are after Adam Murphy. He’s been absolutely brilliant under Daly since nailing down a starting 11 spot. He’s out of contract at the end of the season (he’s obviously been offered a longer one by pats but I’d imagine his agent has advised against signing it as with most top young talents). Pats will now decide whether to reject and lose him for a 6 figure compensation fee in Jan or take a higher fee now. With Lennon out for another 5 weeks or so apparently, we can’t really afford to lose another important midfielder with the cup and european race still ongoing
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/bristol-city-make-move-for-st-pats-teenage-star-adam-murphy/a1205148928.html
Dermobohs
13/08/2023, 8:32 PM
Very impressive young man, young Melia also.
Curtis too, you lot are prime cherry picking targets for cheapskate Brit clubs
Jack B
14/08/2023, 7:51 AM
If we lost Murphy with Lennon also out for another 4/5 weeks I'd be pretty worried about even making top four to be honest. The squad would suddenly look dramatically light on quality.
Bunny Kelly
14/08/2023, 2:06 PM
If a few teams looking at Murphy I wonder could you sell him now but get him back on loan until the end of the season? For the buying club they make no one nips in ahead of them & it is probably better for his long term development. As promising as he isn't jumping into a first team squad of a champ side straight away
SPXcyan
16/08/2023, 4:42 PM
Eddie Nolan has announced his retirement today, he'll start a new job but he'll also stay on as a coach in the academy.
If a few teams looking at Murphy I wonder could you sell him now but get him back on loan until the end of the season? For the buying club they make no one nips in ahead of them & it is probably better for his long term development. As promising as he isn't jumping into a first team squad of a champ side straight away
I hope he doesn’t just jump at the first English club that comes along. Especially if he is in demand, I’d like to see our clubs and our players start to value themselves a little more. Arguably he’d be better off staying here for at least another season rather than going across the water and not getting a sniff of first team football.
The Bowler
16/08/2023, 9:29 PM
Managerial change next season at The Bowl has been confirmed iby internal sources. As previously predicted, Myler is stepping down for 'work reasons', my guy is pretty spot on in calling the exact story some months ago. Suggestion is that his number 2 Willie OConnor will take over. Myler will be missed by nobody at the club, he became a problem some time back.
Another Bohemia
17/08/2023, 5:17 AM
I hope he doesn’t just jump at the first English club that comes along. Especially if he is in demand, I’d like to see our clubs and our players start to value themselves a little more. Arguably he’d be better off staying here for at least another season rather than going across the water and not getting a sniff of first team football.
I'd imagine this is a hard choice for any young player in the league who is getting regular first team minutes. The risks in going are that you go to the wrong club, your career stalls and it never fully recovers but there are similar risks in staying here. If you stay here you could get a long term injury that derails your career or the next season you play might not be as the current one so good offers may just disappear so you end up going to a club which might not be a great fit but you see it as your last opportunity. Such a tough decision to make for so many reasons
Bunny Kelly
17/08/2023, 11:19 AM
If Bristol City were interested in him it would be a lovely landing spot for him as they have been excellent for giving young players a chance the last few years