View Full Version : 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures
15/11/2022, 8:57 PM
Ian Ryan confirmed as new Bray Manager
Bray are such a strange club no press announcement about Pat devlin going?
The Bowler
15/11/2022, 9:03 PM
Bray are such a strange club no press announcement about Pat devlin going? A total joke of an outfit since Cabo took over (well to be fair, not much better under ODriscoll). What class of an announcement is that. The implication is therefore that Devlin perhaps isn't gone, but moved upstairs, and that will 100% end in tears, Collie ONeill tried that and walked out after about a month
Loifan_76
15/11/2022, 9:03 PM
I'd say devo stays as director of football. Which will be a pain for Ryan.
Loifan_76
15/11/2022, 9:09 PM
The article also suggests Evan Caffrey is on the move from UCD. If he leaves UCD that will be him, Dylan Duffy and John Ryan all former Rovers B players using UCD as a hopping on/off product.The club have a handy relationship going with Rovers these days, but the players don't stay around, they aren't students at the college. But we have to get our players from somewhere as our own academy product has been pretty poor of late. Hopefully Rovers will send us three or four more of their best youngsters for next season.
Bowler, did ucd get any new scholarship players in at the start of the academic year? Wondering if there are decent replacements to hand or if their places will be filled by the better LSL players. Will be a shame to lose all our attacking players after a good end to the season.
The Bowler
15/11/2022, 9:25 PM
Bowler, did ucd get any new scholarship players in at the start of the academic year? Wondering if there are decent replacements to hand or if their places will be filled by the better LSL players. Will be a shame to lose all our attacking players after a good end to the season. I haven't heard a single name, but not sure they are losing too many either. And it doesn't matter any more anyway, they just backfill with players who aren't in the college. Probably only a handful of the LSL players are up to being squad players at best, they arent even in the top LSL Division any more. And as noted earlier, expect the new found special relationship to yield some Rovers academy product. I see they fielded a LOI 1st team against IT Sligo today, Lonergan got 5 goals, that's not really a fair fight in any man's language. Can't see us hanging onto Lonergan, he surely has a move to UK coming his way, and he's only just started college, so can't imagine he would sacrifice the opportunity if a pro deal across the pond comes knocking
sbgawa
15/11/2022, 9:45 PM
We’re just unlucky that a rich club without a proper youth academy cherry picks our best lads, but our time is coming
You should take a trip out to Roadstone, all age groups from under 8 up to under 19's
Two full size pitches with flood lights and 3 small size pitches.
Its as proper as it gets
Dermobohs
16/11/2022, 5:45 AM
Keep telling yourself that?
Someone’s humour button is set to serious sensitive. Twist it a bit.
Dermobohs
16/11/2022, 5:46 AM
You should take a trip out to Roadstone, all age groups from under 8 up to under 19's
Two full size pitches with flood lights and 3 small size pitches.
Its as proper as it gets
See reply to pc!!THATS THE JOKE. **** sake, you are a sensitive shower!!
sbgawa
16/11/2022, 7:39 AM
Fair enough ,
have to say its very quiet on the transfer front i had expected some announcements from the club re resignings etc.
I suppose its only last Sunday week the season finished for most people.
ger121
16/11/2022, 2:21 PM
Fair enough ,
have to say its very quiet on the transfer front i had expected some announcements from the club re resignings etc.
I suppose its only last Sunday week the season finished for most people.
I think it is quiet because the league has gradually been moving to multi-year contracts, resulting in less players looking for a move as soon as the season ends. It’s a good thing sure but less entertaining in the off-season. I do think we could seen some interesting moves between now and February and maybe some bigger than usual transfer fees between clubs.
sbgawa
16/11/2022, 3:00 PM
Lots of talk about Rovers paying a big fee to Sligo for Keena but i cant see it tbh.
He looks like a decent player for sure but he has 18 goals and 3 assists with a few penos thrown in there.
Gaffney has 10 goals and 8 assisys with no penos.
I m not saying i wouldnt like Keena but he has had 1 good season, i would nt be paying a big fee for him.
Colm Whelan is out of contract from UCD but i have no idea when he would be back from his cruciate.....
I think it was May when he did it so should be ok for start of next season if hes lucky maybe
16/11/2022, 3:05 PM
Colm Whelan is out of contract from UCD but i have no idea when he would be back from his cruciate.....
I think it was May when he did it so should be ok for start of next season if hes lucky maybe
Probably not out of the question that he re-signs for UCD and looks to move in the summer I guess.
sbgawa
16/11/2022, 3:28 PM
Probably not out of the question that he re-signs for UCD and looks to move in the summer I guess.
Fair point i hadnt considered that as all the talk was about where he was going but that might be a way for him to prove himself and get a better long term deal
Glen Of Aherlow
16/11/2022, 3:29 PM
Lots of talk about Rovers paying a big fee to Sligo for Keena but i cant see it tbh.
He looks like a decent player for sure but he has 18 goals and 3 assists with a few penos thrown in there.
I m not saying i wouldnt like Keena but he has had 1 good season, i would nt be paying a big fee for him.
Gaffney has 10 goals in the best team in the league , Keena got 18 in a mid table side you'd expect him to get at least 7 or 8 more over a season if playing for Shamrock Rovers , plus he's a lot younger . If he did well at Rovers they could recoup there money in a season or two if he moved back across the water.
Jd2793
16/11/2022, 3:41 PM
keena isnt as well rounded aa gaffney.
Jd2793
16/11/2022, 5:04 PM
clarke gone from shels. wonder where he'll end up
joey B
16/11/2022, 5:21 PM
clarke gone from shels. wonder where he'll end up
Be a good back up option for Dundalk if Cherrie finishes up…..
kksaints
16/11/2022, 6:31 PM
Be a good back up option for Dundalk if Cherrie finishes up…..
He had issues with O'Donnell with us in 2020 and O'Donnell pretty much drove him out of the club. While I'd never say it won't happen but it'd be unlikely.
Thinking about this earlier, at the peak of DFC under Kenny, he never really paid a fee for too many players and never overboard for a striker. Possibly Kilduff was 20k from Rovers but came via on loan at Pats, 20k again I think for Horgan from Cork City, Hoban was free, McMillan out of contract and also free, but bizarrely 40k for Dylan Connolly, and even more crazy made that back on the transfer to AFC Wimbledon.
2 Year Contract
17/11/2022, 12:29 AM
Thinking about this earlier, at the peak of DFC under Kenny, he never really paid a fee for too many players and never overboard for a striker. Possibly Kilduff was 20k from Rovers but came via on loan at Pats, 20k again I think for Horgan from Cork City, Hoban was free, McMillan out of contract and also free, but bizarrely 40k for Dylan Connolly, and even more crazy made that back on the transfer to AFC Wimbledon.
Kilduff was never on loan at Pats, he signed permanently at Pats on a free from rovers ahead of the 2015 season and was sold to Dundalk that summer after struggling for form/minutes behind Fagan
Sorry my bad then, but still say the transfer fee was modest, def under 20k. His 2 goals alone in the EL group stage earned around 750k, he had a great 2016.
2 Year Contract
17/11/2022, 11:30 AM
Sorry my bad then, but still say the transfer fee was modest, def under 20k. His 2 goals alone in the EL group stage earned around 750k, he had a great 2016.
Yeah you’re right there, think I remember hearing at the time that it was either 20 or 15k. Worked out for all parties as he’d have been on his way out of pats for free a couple of months later regardless. Just one of those transfers that didn’t work out. There was a number of underwhelming strikers at pats around that time, Dinny Corocoran was signed as Kilduff's replacement the following season and through his performances ended up restricting himself to substitute appearances, scoring a grand total of 0 league goals, off the back of being one of the league's top goalscorers with Sligo the previous year. On the topic of Corcoran, he announced his retirement from LOI football the other day, he was great for Bohs and is a member of the LOI 100 goals club
17/11/2022, 11:59 AM
Fair point i hadnt considered that as all the talk was about where he was going but that might be a way for him to prove himself and get a better long term deal
Extratime have Whelan as resigned for UCD on their transfers summary now.
thebronze14
17/11/2022, 12:29 PM
Yeah you’re right there, think I remember hearing at the time that it was either 20 or 15k. Worked out for all parties as he’d have been on his way out of pats for free a couple of months later regardless. Just one of those transfers that didn’t work out. There was a number of underwhelming strikers at pats around that time, Dinny Corocoran was signed as Kilduff's replacement the following season and through his performances ended up restricting himself to substitute appearances, scoring a grand total of 0 league goals, off the back of being one of the league's top goalscorers with Sligo the previous year. On the topic of Corcoran, he announced his retirement from LOI football the other day, he was great for Bohs and is a member of the LOI 100 goals club
Would love to see that list if it's available anywhere
joey B
17/11/2022, 3:26 PM
https://wexfordfc.ie/latest-news/1390-wexford-fc-appoint-james-keddy-as-new-senior-manager
James Keddy appointed Wexford manager…..
joey B
18/11/2022, 1:07 AM
https://shelbournefc.ie/five-players-depart-the-reds/
5 players depart Shels, Brendan Clarke, Aaron O’Driscoll, Dan Carr, Josh Giurgi, and Dan Hawkins.
The Bowler
18/11/2022, 7:37 AM
Interesting to note on Extratime squad signing tracker that Colm Whelan is listed as re-signed by UCD. That's really unusual, as normally UCD publish nothing until about a week before the new season starts
culloty82
18/11/2022, 9:54 AM
https://shelbournefc.ie/five-players-depart-the-reds/
5 players depart Shels, Brendan Clarke, Aaron O’Driscoll, Dan Carr, Josh Giurgi, and Dan Hawkins.
Interesting - thought Giurgi was considered one of their highest-regarded prospects?
2 Year Contract
18/11/2022, 9:58 AM
Interesting - thought Giurgi was considered one of their highest-regarded prospects?
They only signed him from Norwich in the summer but he was only given 2 starts in the league (and was subbed on 5 times)
FTA-1895
18/11/2022, 10:47 AM
Giurgi never got much of a look in since he signed. Brendan Clarke will be a big loss but won't be upset over the others going especially Carr. Did very little all season and never looked like he cared when he was on the pitch.
Luke Byrne has been confirmed as signed up for 2023.
Jack B
18/11/2022, 11:24 AM
Interesting to note on Extratime squad signing tracker that Colm Whelan is listed as re-signed by UCD. That's really unusual, as normally UCD publish nothing until about a week before the new season starts
I know that just from a Pats perspective some aspects of that list is inaccurate, so may be the case for other clubs too.
joey B
18/11/2022, 12:04 PM
Shelbourne sign Conor Kearns,he was shocking in the play off against Waterford but not sure how he played in general last season......
Glen Of Aherlow
18/11/2022, 2:47 PM
Kyle Robinson off to Shels , Ben MCcrmack probably out the door next
Jd2793
18/11/2022, 2:48 PM
Kyle Robinson off to Shels , Ben MCcrmack probably out the door next
pls send him down the m8 to cork
Glen Of Aherlow
18/11/2022, 2:49 PM
pls send him down the m8 to cork
If he leave he'll be a great signing for someone , be gutted to see him go
Jack B
18/11/2022, 3:43 PM
Robinson apparently had awful attitude issues this season, didn't even feature for the u19s for the rest of the season after he'd caused some kind of falling out. Shame as he looks a talent.
McCormack seems a bit inevitable, doesn't look like Clancy hugely took to him over the course of the season despite having his moments here and then. Would love for him to stay though as there's a serious player there.
total hoofball
18/11/2022, 7:28 PM
Robinson along with Moylan both impressed with Wexford in 2021 and the rest is history for us with Moylan. Jack and a number of others would have vetted Robinson's character and ability to Duff happy with that signing as a prospect
Not sure about the Kearns signing if he is going to be number 1 replacing Clarke. From the times I seen him at UCD one of these keepers who can pull off eye catching saves one minute and giving fans a panic attack the next minute
Tyreke Wilson is a decent predictable signing with his brother JR with us and being a left back with Conor Kane recovering from his injury
total hoofball
18/11/2022, 7:32 PM
Didn't see much of him but didn't look developed enough yet to suggest he was ready for Premier Division. I think he would be a worthwhile signing for a number of First Division teams
Kiki Balboa
18/11/2022, 7:49 PM
Interesting pick ups by Shels... Dont know too much about Robinson, but I like that Shels have other options than Boyd. Boyd scores goals ,but isnt a footballer - his touch is terrible and struggles to bring others into the game, and then spends whole games diving on the floor anytime the ball comes close to him.
I think there is a real player in Wilson. One bad season at Bohs - I wouldnt write him off at all. Wouldnt have minded him at Dundalk. I thought Kane was Shels best player last season, so maybe getting game time will tough for him.
Still, those transfers dont suggest a lot of money is on the way in Shels.
joey B
18/11/2022, 8:51 PM
Chris Lyons departs Drogheda,hes from Bray and played there before so I'd say that would be an obvious pick up for them........
https://twitter.com/DroghedaUnited/status/1593578517253345282
total hoofball
18/11/2022, 8:51 PM
Andrew Quinn latest signing by Shels tonight from Drogheda, heard that one rumoured on Sunday. Duff certainly not wasting time and sticking with developing young players
Another Bohemia
18/11/2022, 8:53 PM
I think there is a real player in Wilson. One bad season at Bohs - I wouldnt write him off at all. Wouldnt have minded him at Dundalk. I thought Kane was Shels best player last season, so maybe getting game time will tough for him.
Wilson had 2 bad seasons at Bohs. Just didn't suit playing in a back 4. In his first season He ended up being beaten for his starting position by Breslin who he was brought in to try to improve on. He only won his position back after it was all but confirmed Breslin was going to pats and even then Breslin started ahead of him frequently enough. As for his general play over the 2 years he was constantly beaten at the back post for headers, positioning was poor and he wasn't pacey enough to recover from it. Combine that with being weak in a tackle he was far from an ideal fullback. He has a decent left foot but that's the extent of the positives I saw from his time at Bohs. Maybe the switch to playing in 5 at the back will suit him but I think Bohs are in a better place with Kirk as their left back.
Jd2793
18/11/2022, 9:23 PM
quinn is a good pick up for shels. dont rate kearns at all , decent first division keeper imo.
SeanDrog
19/11/2022, 6:17 AM
Andrew Quinn latest signing by Shels tonight from Drogheda, heard that one rumoured on Sunday. Duff certainly not wasting time and sticking with developing young players
Damn - great player - sooner the better we bottom out if we have investors or not so we can begin signing players - Quinn is a brilliant lad and annoyed to see him gone.
culloty82
19/11/2022, 1:25 PM
The first Kerry update here - Billy Dennehy stated in an interview with Radio Kerry that Matt Keane attended the first senior training session this week, and he'll become a free agent on the 1st of December.
sbgawa
19/11/2022, 2:57 PM
Chris Lyons departs Drogheda,hes from Bray and played there before so I'd say that would be an obvious pick up for them........
https://twitter.com/DroghedaUnited/status/1593578517253345282
Surely Lyons is to good for Bray ??
Id almost have him at Rovers to offer us something different
The Bowler
19/11/2022, 3:08 PM
Id almost have him at Rovers to offer us something different can't see Bray paying what he would want. In fact, I'm still damn confused by what Ian Ryan is doing at Bray, they have no money, and Devlin hanging around like a bad smell. If he's still there by seasons end I will be amazed.
joey B
19/11/2022, 3:40 PM
I’m not sure,always thought of him as a good First division striker that wasn’t quite good enough for the Premier division….
Dermobohs
19/11/2022, 7:24 PM
You did have him at rovers
Glen Of Aherlow
21/11/2022, 3:22 PM
Jamie Lennon signed up on new deal