View Full Version : Covid 19 - LOI Ramifications

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32

placid casual
15/06/2021, 1:24 PM
https://www.shamrockrovers.ie/2021/06/14/pilot-test-match-success/#.YMd4-PlKhPY

Aww everyone`s against them.!

Interesting that you picked that post, and not the one that rubbishes the mandriou payment farce that took place, as well as claiming that the financial figure published by both the lazy journalist and boez themselves was not even close to the eventual agreed settlement figure.

15/06/2021, 1:36 PM
That statement is actually very restrained considering the downright petty and amateur antics of every single other club towards Rovers - whether it be over Rovers II or the pilot events. The days of trying to hold back progress for reasons of jealousy and bitterness are very much still with us.

No one likes us, we don't care (but we will now call it out when it's based on nothing other than hatred and jealousy)

15/06/2021, 1:45 PM
It'd be very restrained on a fans' forum. On the official website, it looks like you let a halfwit post whatever he likes.

15/06/2021, 1:48 PM
Interesting that you picked that post, and not the one that rubbishes the mandriou payment farce that took place, as well as claiming that the financial figure published by both the lazy journalist and boez themselves was not even close to the eventual agreed settlement figure.

Nah the post picked was far more interesting and amusing!!

Keep circling the wagons WAR as nope you obviously dont care at all... ah here thanks lads, I needed a good laugh considering the current Dundalk FC thing!!

Dalymountrower
15/06/2021, 1:50 PM

I confine myself to quoting one piece of on line rubbish a day.

15/06/2021, 2:31 PM
Lads, all of your clubs would prefer that no fans are allowed back this season if it meant stopping Rovers having 1,000 at pilot events. Just have a think about that while you're scrambling about looking for absolutely anything to have a pop at us about. Nothing to do with circling the wagons just growing frustration at the small-minded and ultimately self-defeating attitudes that still prevail.

2 Year Contract
15/06/2021, 2:34 PM
Lads, all of your clubs would prefer that no fans are allowed back this season if it meant stopping Rovers having 1,000 at pilot events. Just have a think about that while you're scrambling about looking for absolutely anything to have a pop at us about. Nothing to do with circling the wagons just growing frustration at the small-minded and ultimately self-defeating attitudes that still prevail.

Probably best to give the tinfoil hat a rest, I haven’t seen 1 club complain about rovers being used as a pilot event, or Cork being used for one either for that matter

Calcio Jack
15/06/2021, 2:46 PM
That statement is actually very restrained considering the downright petty and amateur antics of every single other club towards Rovers - whether it be over Rovers II or the pilot events. The days of trying to hold back progress for reasons of jealousy and bitterness are very much still with us.

No one likes us, we don't care (but we will now call it out when it's based on nothing other than hatred and jealousy)

As a Rovers member I have to totally disagree - when I read the official club response I have to say I was very unimpressed - sure others may be bitter etc. towards us .

But that’s always been their way and it has always reinforced how small minded jealous they are of our success over the last 100 years

So for us to officially reply using ‘small minded’ language for me on this occasion meant that we stooped to the begrudgers level and that’s a pity as we’re way better than that.

I sincerely hope that whoever wrote and published it did so as a solo run is reprimanded for it and that in future a better editorial oversight is in place.

Dalymountrower
15/06/2021, 2:52 PM

Nobody had a problem with Tallaght being used as a pilot site, but using it three times for big attendances and not piloting a smaller venue,like the Showgrounds for example, makes no sense. If anyone could post what can be learned from three pilots on one site, I will cheerfully accept any logical rationale.

placid casual
15/06/2021, 3:37 PM
As a Rovers member I have to totally disagree - when I read the official club response I have to say I was very unimpressed - sure others may be bitter etc. towards us .

But that’s always been their way and it has always reinforced how small minded jealous they are of our success over the last 100 years

So for us to officially reply using ‘small minded’ language for me on this occasion meant that we stooped to the begrudgers level and that’s a pity as we’re way better than that.

I sincerely hope that whoever wrote and published it did so as a solo run is reprimanded for it and that in future a better editorial oversight is in place.

We don't always agree CJ, but I fully agree with what you've said there. Don't get me started on the subject of who wrote it...

15/06/2021, 4:25 PM
It is up to us fans to have a whinge and a moan about each others cubs, especially the petty digs which is part and parcel of football rivalries. Clubs, their official websites and other social media really should be rising well above this sort of stuff. I would expect it of Dundalk even as rudderless as we are as a club currently. There are things to have a go at SRFC on but testing for the return for fans isnt too high up the list.

I think its vaild to question how procedures implemented in Tallaght can be applied to United Park, thats not anti Rovers stuff. Why 3 test events, maybe to try different protocols after initial reviews showed up issues, training up different groups of stewards possibly even guest stewards from other clubs?!

15/06/2021, 7:47 PM
I have no issue with Tallaght hosting the trial events. It was very well run, stewarding was excellent, all was clear and no hassle.
My issue was that Harps weren't even allowed to have as little as 20 or 30 tickets out of the 1,000. That wasn't an FAI call either, that was Rovers. And it was a little bit sh!t.

D24Saint
16/06/2021, 6:27 PM
https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/fully-vaccinated-can-go-on-holiday-abroad-from-july-19-without-pcr-test-says-holohan-40547346.html

Looks like the go ahead from the chief medical officer for 500 next month. It’s mentioned towards the end of the article.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/06/2021, 6:47 PM
200 people in Inchicore all crammed into a few sections

18/06/2021, 7:56 PM

Which makes so much more sense than say 500(or more with the multiple tester events we've had as a league) spread throughout the ground!:rolleyes:

2 Year Contract
19/06/2021, 11:12 AM

The main stand remained for media, substitutes and club officials while there was 120 people in the stand behind the goal (which has a capacity of 900) and 80 people on the terrace below the camera. Everyone at least 2 metres apart and staggered entry and exit of the ground of small groups. 'Crammed' is the last choice of words anyone that was actually at game last night would use to describe it.

D24Saint
19/06/2021, 1:02 PM
The main stand remained for media, substitutes and club officials while there was 120 people in the stand behind the goal (which has a capacity of 900) and 80 people on the terrace below the camera. Everyone at least 2 metres apart and staggered entry and exit of the ground of small groups. 'Crammed' is the last choice of words anyone that was actually at game last night would use to describe it.

No I wouldn’t class it as crammed myself. It was all very laid out I thought. You had to fill out a form online to get in. They you got your temperature taken and cleaned your hands. We then had to wear our masks for the 90mind in an open air stand. I thought the club did a great job. I felt totally safe. Having groups in certain sections helped create some sort of an atmosphere, not easy with only 200 souls.

NeverFeltBetter
30/06/2021, 9:08 AM
NPHET a very easy target, and the government is the main offender in painting that target. It was the government who introduced a levels system and then instantly changed it, it was the government that put someone as unfit to just be a TD as Stephen Donnelly in the Health portfolio at a time of medical crisis and it was the government that decided we needed a "meaningful Christmas", which killed over 400 people in one week in February. Meanwhile Tony Hoolohan, whose expertise absolutely trumps the "I was elected, therefore I know what I'm doing" sentiment that gave us Harris, Donnelly and Foley as Ministers, gets called a fascist after he worked to keep the country safe while his wife was dying.

I can't edit this post presumably as it's too far gone, but was reading this thread back and realised I mis-typed something here (or maybe mixed-up case-numbers with fatalities) that should be corrected, there was over 100 deaths from COVID in one week in February, not 400.

DCWA
30/06/2021, 9:26 AM
Lads, all of your clubs would prefer that no fans are allowed back this season if it meant stopping Rovers having 1,000 at pilot events.

Surely can’t be the case. I know Derry are always going to be in a slightly different situation but every club would be looking toward Rovers trial crowds thinking the more the better would they not?

As the natural follow up would then be larger crowds permitted all round.

Probably the only time in my life part of me ever has or will be glad of partition atm ha.. as free state govt /NPHET really doing a number on sports, hospitality etc. Surely going to get to the stage where the latter industry especially are going to have to en masse completely ignore the govt. to survive.

sbgawa
30/06/2021, 9:31 AM
We should start serving food in the stadiums and have a bit of outdoor dining ;)

NeverFeltBetter
05/08/2021, 10:04 PM
Does anyone know if/how away fans can get into the Carlisle Grounds right now? Was half thinking of heading to the Treaty game if I could.

joey B
05/08/2021, 10:10 PM
I’m pretty sure they said on Twitter it was pay at the gate,just turn up early with no Treaty gear on and you’ll probably get in..

Bunny Kelly
06/08/2021, 11:06 AM
Shels have COVID issues tonight against UCD? Drifted massively in the betting markets today

LOI101
06/08/2021, 8:55 PM
Does anyone know if/how away fans can get into the Carlisle Grounds right now? Was half thinking of heading to the Treaty game if I could.

i hope you didn’t go the Carlisle grounds. Treaty were playing Cabinteely

LOI101
06/08/2021, 9:01 PM
Shels have COVID issues tonight against UCD? Drifted massively in the betting markets today

Had a look at the betting when the team was named. UCD were even money. You’d think with the team Shels had to name UCD would have been odds on.

D24Saint
09/08/2021, 10:42 AM
How many was there in Oriel Park yesterday. I thought the numbers allowed was up to 1000 in August with social distancing rules applied.

2 Year Contract
09/08/2021, 11:21 AM
How many was there in Oriel Park yesterday. I thought the numbers allowed was up to 1000 in August with social distancing rules applied.

200 people at Oriel yesterday I believe, 25,000 at Croke Park. Guess which sport the politicians care about

D24Saint
09/08/2021, 11:33 AM
200 people at Oriel yesterday I believe, 25,000 at Croke Park. Guess which sport the politicians care about

It had a behind closed doors feel to it alright when I was watching on LOITV.

09/08/2021, 12:54 PM
The one with the bigger crowds? The one playing a national semi-final rather than just another league match?

Don't get me wrong, the GAA are awful, but I'm tired of everything in the reopening being micro-analysed for bias.

2 Year Contract
09/08/2021, 2:09 PM
The one with the bigger crowds? The one playing a national semi-final rather than just another league match?

Don't get me wrong, the GAA are awful, but I'm tired of everything in the reopening being micro-analysed for bias.

Just find it pretty bizarre that 25k were allowed into the circa 69k seats at croke park (hill 16 not in use for some reason) meaning the ground was at around 36% capacity compared to Oriel being at as low as 4% capacity of the total capacity of 6% of seating capacity. On your point about it being just another league match, Bohs were allowed 8k at the aviva for their big European game a few days previous, 15% of capacity. 5%-10% extra at the GAA would be strange but maybe understandable but you’re talking 30% extra on Oriel and 20% extra on the aviva which are ridiculous figures

sbgawa
31/08/2021, 2:30 PM
Seeing two alternatives being floated 50% capacity anyone can get in or 75% capacity for vaccinated people.
I'm assuming the vaccinated thing will be like for pubs so an adult with two kids can get the kids under 18 in without having passes if they havent got them yet.
If that was the case then id be for the 75% capacity limit.

Dalymountrower
31/08/2021, 2:41 PM
Seeing two alternatives being floated 50% capacity anyone can get in or 75% capacity for vaccinated people.
I'm assuming the vaccinated thing will be like for pubs so an adult with two kids can get the kids under 18 in without having passes if they havent got them yet.
If that was the case then id be for the 75% capacity limit.
I see some of the ultra groups on the continent are boycoting games over vacceine requirements.
Hopefully the equivalent here follow suit.

sbgawa
31/08/2021, 2:50 PM
I see some of the ultra groups on the continent are boycoting games over vacceine requirements.
Hopefully the equivalent here follow suit.

The knuckle draggers are the types to be anti vaxxers alright.
Similar IQ settings

Calcio Jack
31/08/2021, 3:53 PM
90% of adult population will be vaccinated by mid Sept so clubs should go for the 75% option.

31/08/2021, 4:17 PM
When that level of vaccination happens it should be 100% return, if not it will never happen as that would probably be about as good as you'd get. It had crossed my mind too about dirtbag types not bothering with vaccination. Imagine what theyd think about having anything on them that could indentify them!

31/08/2021, 6:42 PM
Realistically, how many clubs will require more than 50% capacity at the minute?

El-Pietro
31/08/2021, 7:18 PM
90% of adult population will be vaccinated by mid Sept so clubs should go for the 75% option.

The issue with that is the cost/time of administrating vaccine checks. For most clubs it may not be worth the effort. Bohs might be the only club who would be in danger of selling out given their limited capacity to begin with?

sidewayspasser
31/08/2021, 7:42 PM
The issue with that is the cost/time of administrating vaccine checks. For most clubs it may not be worth the effort.
Depends on how thoroughly the check is done. If you just have to show the certificate on the phone or on paper without actually scanning and validating it, it won't be much slower than taking your temperature, as it is currently done.
From recent travel, my experience is that even at airports (Cork and Frankfurt), no one scanned the certificate. Just showed the cert and the passenger locator form, and that was all.

31/08/2021, 7:49 PM
When I was at Dungannon Swifts Glentoran game at the weekend so long as I had a valid ticket I was allowed through without a PCR test. Could see this happening here. Reckon attendance was 2-3k. Interesting part was stadium announcer when he noticed something untoward he would tell a particular person other side of the ground to move back to where they originally were ie if they were sticking their leg out over advertising hoarding.

31/08/2021, 8:02 PM
Depends on how thoroughly the check is done. If you just have to show the certificate on the phone or on paper without actually scanning and validating it, it won't be much slower than taking your temperature, as it is currently done.
From recent travel, my experience is that even at airports (Cork and Frankfurt), no one scanned the certificate. Just showed the cert and the passenger locator form, and that was all.
It has to be much slower than no checks at all though, surely? And involve more (paid?) stewards.

I think there's a strong argument for 50% capacity alright. Certainly for the First Division clubs anyway!

sbgawa
31/08/2021, 8:21 PM
If we keep pushing on in the league youd have to hope we need more than 50% for the last couple of matches.
Wo have bohs at home so that should be 75% at least although i reckon a good lot of the bohs lads arent vacinated yet :eek:
Seriously though with the lack of football over the last 18 months hopefully all clubs get a bumper attendance and a few bob

Calcio Jack
31/08/2021, 8:44 PM
It has to be much slower than no checks at all though, surely? And involve more (paid?) stewards.

I think there's a strong argument for 50% capacity alright. Certainly for the First Division clubs anyway!

I’m for the argument that anyone that chooses not to take the vaccination shouldn’t be allowed to potentially pass covid to others…. It’s beyond me as to why as a society we even consider pandering to the needs of the non vaccinated rather than the needs of the vast majority of the population ( the 90% that have chosen to take the vacine) - they’ve made their choice so should also accept that with choice comes consequences.. be it exclusion from events, workplace etc.

So let them be free to choose but let’s cut out the crap about discrimination etc.

31/08/2021, 8:53 PM
Yeah, I agree anti-vaxxers should bear some personal consequences alright. But if the rules are 75% with checking certs, etc, or 50% without checking, then the latter is going to be far less bother at the turnstiles.

31/08/2021, 9:10 PM
If we keep pushing on in the league youd have to hope we need more than 50% for the last couple of matches.
Wo have bohs at home so that should be 75% at least although i reckon a good lot of the bohs lads arent vacinated yet :eek:
Seriously though with the lack of football over the last 18 months hopefully all clubs get a bumper attendance and a few bob

You'd end up with the last two or three games at full capacity anyway with all restrictions being lifted in mid October. 4,000 at 50% in Tallaght should be more than enough for the time being.

31/08/2021, 10:46 PM
It may be hassle in different way but advance sales where covid certs and iD are presented then with no ticket sales on the night could work well and stop the delays on match night. Or something like emailing in documentation and then just pick them up on match Nights after showing ID. Were's there a will theres a way and temps can be taken without rummaging for stuff as it can be assumed that people past a certain point have been already vetted for vaccines

31/08/2021, 11:27 PM
I think we're going to be ok with staying at 50% capacity for our remaining games.

total hoofball
21/01/2022, 5:50 PM
Hopefully this is the one last final bump of this thread with closed door games, restricted capacities, 3-0 walkovers, 18 game seasons and state subsidised player wages consigned to LOI history

https://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2022/0121/1275107-restrictions-on-attendances-abolished-from-tomorrow/

21/01/2022, 6:51 PM
It will undoubtedly be a relief across the board and nice to be able to grab a pint at a bar and even sit at a bar - the novelty!! But just to pish on the parade, I really dont think we've totally heard the last of enhanced restrictions and even in the last few days a new omicron based variant of concern has been sequenced in the UK. But from a LoI point of view there will be minimal disruption to a summer season imo unless something comes seriously out of left field. Maybe October/November has some small risk but hopefully by then we are dealing with an endemic virus or by that stage the decision will be made to just take any hits. There are also a bunch of anti-viral pills due to be licensed to be taken if covid 19 is caught which will help mitigate against the gaps of non vaccinated so yeah lots of reasons to be positive, but need to continue to have some things held in reserve and keep a public willingness to hit the short 'n sharp breaker switch when needed.

2 Year Contract
29/01/2022, 1:08 PM
Any word on the number of substitutes allowed this season? Is it going to remain at 5 subs in 3 stoppages or is it returning to 3 subs?

29/01/2022, 1:18 PM
Should go back to 3 subs, favours big squads and takes a good chunk of the tactics out of tactical substitutions. Too much like rugby where it seems like half a team is just replaced against tiring legs. Not that that answers the question!