View Full Version : 2013 Attendances
MiniMourinho
02/04/2013, 1:35 PM
I believe so. Fingers crossed our next home game in over two weeks time against UCD brings a massive crowd!
Whoever dreamt up the fixture list of only one normal home gate (friday @7.45pm) in the opening 7 weeks of the season should think again!
It's tough enough out there as it is!
Haven't checked but I bet the midseason break will coincide with away fixtures either side too!
thomas72
02/04/2013, 2:32 PM
Another big crowd expected in thomond park tonight girl in club shop was saying tickets selling very very well also huge support expected from rovers 3586 v cork 1756 v ucd count was at 2,203 until scanners went haywire hundreds more weren't counted against pats club said in and around 3000. Hopefully the attendance will be called out tonight hopefully we can match cork game attendance anything from 3000 is a unbelievable attendance for us thomond park facilities are bringing people to Limerick games again families are coming back first time since markets field.
MiniMourinho
02/04/2013, 2:40 PM
Apples and oranges though. A small crowd of 1000 can finance the drogs. A crowd of 3000 doesn't necessarily mean limerick are rolling in it. 3000 is a lot for any Loi club, but don't forget the costs of using Thomand Park. Long may the crowds be good though!
adamd164
02/04/2013, 2:58 PM
UCD v Sligo - 624
Drogs v Cork - 465
Wow, can't ever remember seeing a club have a lower attendance than UCD. Hats off to Drogs.
Dalymountrower
02/04/2013, 3:05 PM
i think it has more to do with historically drogheda have always had a badly supported side throughout their history. the only difference to this was during the noughties but other than that drog attendances have been on a par with ucd or bray levels whether in the 1st or the premier.
The biggest away (support outside of a final) that I have ever seen in the LOI was in the cup semi v St Pats in the year Harps won the FAI cup. At least 10.000 Drogheda fans in Dalymount that day.
Drogheda always had a decent enough support but also had a lot of "up for the cup" crowds, a bit like Derry really.
I blame the downturn in crowds up there on the closure of the club-house bar/ shebeen with the view of 80 % of the pitch. The advantage was you could have a pint and get to see twice the pitch area than you can see from the away cow-shed.
White Horse
02/04/2013, 4:16 PM
Apples and oranges though. A small crowd of 1000 can finance the drogs. A crowd of 3000 doesn't necessarily mean limerick are rolling in it. 3000 is a lot for any Loi club, but don't forget the costs of using Thomand Park. Long may the crowds be good though!
You are right. It is relative to the attendance that was budgeted. I heard that Drogheda's budget assumed an average attendance of 1,000. Whether that is reliable or not, I don't know.
It is hard to see how a squad capable of competing in the LOI, Setanta, and Europe could be put together on a budget derived from a smaller attendance figure. However, if anyone could do it, Mick Cooke could.
adamd164
02/04/2013, 6:08 PM
Drogheda always had a decent enough support but also had a lot of "up for the cup" crowds, a bit like Derry really.
I blame the downturn in crowds up there on the closure of the club-house bar/ shebeen with the view of 80 % of the pitch. The advantage was you could have a pint and get to see twice the pitch area than you can see from the away cow-shed.
Why did that close? Myself and a friend were trying to get a half-time pint. Stewards said they wouldn't allow us back into the ground if we left. So we thought we were smart going to the main stand clubhouse......only to find a little old lady serving tea, coffee and biscuits up there.
MiniMourinho
02/04/2013, 7:42 PM
It closed permanently because it made constant losses. Simples.
02/04/2013, 8:11 PM
3,006 in Thomond.
02/04/2013, 8:16 PM
Is that slightly disappointing for Limerick? From what I can gather, there were at least 700 more away fans expected than Pats brought. Even allowing for a Tuesday night with Barcelona on TV, that may be a little underwhelming.
mastermind1
02/04/2013, 8:59 PM
I think that is a very good crowd tonight, afterall it is a tuesday night with champions league on the box and most junior clubs around would have training with their clubs this evening. Last year limerick were averaging crowds of about 600/700 I d say so if they got an average rise of about 300% increase for the season that would be excellent.
Dillonman
02/04/2013, 9:01 PM
terrible crowd in inchichore this evening. about 800 id make it.
legendz
02/04/2013, 9:02 PM
3,006 in Thomond.
The gardai wasted no time leading the rovers supporters out of limerick. On the way back after the game, the short walk it is for me, they had all the rovers buses escorted out of the city in double quick time.
I'd put it down as a good crowd for a mid-week game.
02/04/2013, 9:02 PM
Delighted with that attendance. As people say it was a Tuesday night, a lot of junior teams had training and there was junior soccer fixtures on tonight also. If that was last year in the first division we would be lucky to get 306 not to mind 3,006.
adamd164
02/04/2013, 9:13 PM
I would say that's a fantastic attendance for a Tuesday night. Well done to Limerick.
NeverFeltBetter
02/04/2013, 9:14 PM
Despite local radios attempt to dissuade some people going to the match, that's a great turn-out for a Tuesday night.
da bishop
02/04/2013, 9:25 PM
Despite local radios attempt to dissuade some people going to the match, that's a great turn-out for a Tuesday night.was that 95fm?great crowd at the game and all well behaved i might add.
bullit
02/04/2013, 9:27 PM
1105 Pats v Dundalk
NeverFeltBetter
02/04/2013, 9:28 PM
was that 95fm?great crowd at the game and all well behaved i might add.
Yeah. They'd want to be behaved with the legion of security.
02/04/2013, 9:34 PM
Despite local radios attempt to dissuade some people going to the match, that's a great turn-out for a Tuesday night.
What happened here?
thomas72
02/04/2013, 9:40 PM
Great attendance tonight for Limerick about 400 rovers id say huge security around rovers they were escorted to there buses which were parked beside the stadium but no trouble out of them ( iv seen anyway )
legendz
02/04/2013, 10:26 PM
Great attendance tonight for Limerick about 400 rovers id say huge security around rovers they were escorted to there buses which were parked beside the stadium but no trouble out of them ( iv seen anyway )
Yeah, they didn't half not hang around in getting them out of the city!
oriel
02/04/2013, 10:39 PM
Delighted with that attendance. As people say it was a Tuesday night, a lot of junior teams had training and there was junior soccer fixtures on tonight also. If that was last year in the first division we would be lucky to get 306 not to mind 3,006.
Yep decent crowd, excellent actually for a tues night. Impressive also if Rovers took 300-400.
Also Im sure you're enjoying away support for a change, that was the one big thing we missed in most games for the 7 years we were in the FD, often there would be home games with zero away support.
Dlk are playing in Limerick in late July I think, already mention of groups planning a trip and Jurys overnight stay, as I think the match has been moved to a Sat night.
05/04/2013, 11:56 AM
Belated after midweek games:
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,251 (1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366; 1,993; 1,924; 1,463; 1,976)
Bray - 775 (965; 1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 2,547 (2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1,450 (1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 750 (977; 811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 2,283 (949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Limerick - 2,869 (734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD; 517 FD; 670 FD; 364 FD; 669 FD)
Pat's - 1,406 (1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3,750 (3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1,377 (1,187; 781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2,498 (3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 365 (506; 558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 427 (271; 200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cobh - 765 (2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403; 240)
Harps - 667 (429; 433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Longford - 320 (365; 315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 333 (243; 349; 123; 166)
Salthill Devon - 113 (182; 125; 122)
Waterford - 519 (453; 466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 303 (302; 216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,828 (1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 438 (372; 578; 682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,133 (1,101; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 7,279 (prem only)
OVERALL ATTENDANCE: 67,309
bullit
05/04/2013, 8:00 PM
1566 here in oriel tonight
adamd164
05/04/2013, 8:04 PM
Cork City v UCD - 2,076
05/04/2013, 10:42 PM
664 in Finn Park, with I believe, 3 Wexford fans.
Bawnville Hoop
06/04/2013, 12:34 AM
About 3,500 at Tallaght Stadium
345 at Waterford United v Athlone as per extra time match report.
White Horse
06/04/2013, 10:10 AM
664 in Finn Park, with I believe, 3 Wexford fans.
I hope ye looked after those three lads.
LOI heroes.
06/04/2013, 10:27 AM
711 at Finn Park according to treasurer and Chairman.
Lower attendance figure but higher gate income. Happy days.
06/04/2013, 11:03 AM
I wonder where the 664 came from then. Strange one that.
Bray Head
06/04/2013, 2:18 PM
About 1100 at Bray/St Pats
MiniMourinho
06/04/2013, 2:39 PM
1566 here in oriel tonight
1566?? Why a drop off of about 700 from the last game and 1000 from the game before that?
White Horse
06/04/2013, 2:49 PM
1566?? Why a drop off of about 700 from the last game and 1000 from the game before that?
Fans are scratching their heads at the reduction of 600 from the Drogheda game. There seemed to be a similar number of home fans. Drogheda bought 200-300 whereas Limerick brought 50.
Rovers brought a lot of fans to the first game which accounted for higher attendance than the Drogheda game.
1800 in Tallaght according to The Star and a few on TrampTalk.
The wheels are coming off...
(A popular Tallaght pastime)
Yes, 1.5 was poor, and still the fans have not seen a home win this season, but to be fair its the first game in 4 that we dipped below 2,000 and less than 50 away fans were there.
However it is disappointing all the same as taking away the Drogs away support that is 500 people who decided not to go compared to last Thursday. Derry at home next Friday will hopefully be better attended, but then again, 2 homes in 7 days could be a factor?
PS Thought it looked well below 1,000 for Bohs v Derry, especially as only one stand was open.
Comic Book Guy
06/04/2013, 6:19 PM
For what its worth, salthill v ramblers attendance 65, about 25-30 from Cobh.
MiniMourinho
06/04/2013, 6:25 PM
Yes, 1,566 was poor, and still the fans have not seen a home win this season. Disappointing all the same as taking away the Drogs away support that is 500 people who decided not to go compared to last Thursday. Derry at home next Friday will hopefully be better attended, but then again, 2 homes in 7 days could be a factor?
PS Thought it looked well below 1,000 for Bohs v Derry, especially as only one stand was open.
Strange. Don't get me wrong 1500 is a lot compared to some, but 500 is a massive drop. Hopefully just an anomaly.
bullit
06/04/2013, 6:37 PM
Strange. Don't get me wrong 1500 is a lot compared to some, but 500 is a massive drop. Hopefully just an anomaly.
Well you've just wiped 66 off right there ;)
There was about 25 Lims fans.
bullit
06/04/2013, 7:59 PM
3,158 Sligo v Shels
gufc2000
06/04/2013, 8:09 PM
319 in Longford
redarmyfaction
06/04/2013, 9:17 PM
3,158 Sligo v Shels
ET estimated 2000, sums not a strong point over there.
adamd164
06/04/2013, 9:37 PM
Great crowd for Sligo. That must be a decent fraction of the population of Sligo town.
redarmyfaction
06/04/2013, 10:33 PM
About 1 in 6, though a few do travel from as far as West Port.
07/04/2013, 5:01 PM
319 in Longford
embarassin shame on the ppl of longford who r more obsessed with paper talk than doin somethin about it..:angry2: a top of the table clash..
Town Legend
07/04/2013, 5:24 PM
We'd only get a decent crowd if we were playing Man U's youth team every second weekend.
redarmyfaction
07/04/2013, 6:39 PM
I think I seen a figure of 1500 but ET gave 2800 For the Trampcamp.
07/04/2013, 8:26 PM
For what its worth, salthill v ramblers attendance 65, about 25-30 from Cobh.
179 according to Extratime.