View Full Version : 2013 Attendances
adamd164
22/03/2013, 10:19 AM
Supposing a local Cork celebrity, say Brendan O'Connor, donates some money to do up the local school.
I'd home school my kids before taking that p*ick's charity!;)
22/03/2013, 10:35 AM
There's part of me that really hopes ye end up back in Jackman after that rant
Thats silly.
Battery Rover
23/03/2013, 7:47 PM
Athlone Town vs Cobh Ramblers 311
bullit
23/03/2013, 8:13 PM
241 belfield bowl ucd v Dundalk
Dillonman
23/03/2013, 8:13 PM
241 in belfield tonight as per dfc twitter page.
adamd164
23/03/2013, 8:14 PM
2,311 at Sligo v Limerick.
gufcfan
23/03/2013, 10:39 PM
410 horrified individuals in the RSC according to Extratime.
White Horse
23/03/2013, 10:43 PM
241 in belfield tonight as per dfc twitter page.
Shocking. About 100 Dundalk fans there.
wonder88
24/03/2013, 11:14 AM
Very poor attendance at Belfield, I expected more at Atlone as well. My guess is that 40-50 people were watching the League of Ireland game between Salthill and Wexford last night. Great strike for the winning goal by the Youths player. Maybe a Wexford fan can give a better estimate, also had a few of them left before the end, and missed that goal?
White Horse
24/03/2013, 2:12 PM
Drogheda fans saying the need to get in over 1,000 on average to even have a chance of paying wages.
A Sunday afternoon kick-off with no English football will be a good test of how much the Drogheda public back their club and team.
24/03/2013, 2:49 PM
Happy with Harps attendances so far. They can only keep going up if the team keeps winning. Was delighted to get over 700 on a night as cold and blustery and wet as last night.
A good result in Mervue next week will hopefully see us closer to the 1,000 mark against Wexford. Been a few years since there was over 1,000 in Finn Park for a league game that wasn't against Derry, would be wonderful to see again.
Ezeikial
24/03/2013, 3:50 PM
Drogheda fans saying the need to get in over 1,000 on average to even have a chance of paying wages.
A Sunday afternoon kick-off with no English football will be a good test of how much the Drogheda public back their club and team.
Extratime:
Teams are in for this afternoon's game, both sides are playing a 4-5-1 formation. There are just over 250 hard souls here and when i say it's cold, it's very cold.
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/19100/1/
24/03/2013, 5:43 PM
2,334 at Cork v Derry
1,704 at Shels v Rovers.
I cant understand why Drogs didnt go for Sat night for this game v Bray. Sunday afternoon was just asking for trouble, unlike Shels, they had a choice.
patrickccfc
24/03/2013, 5:56 PM
2,334 at Cork v Derry
1,704 at Shels v Rovers.
Looked less at our game tbh but then im not good at estimating
24/03/2013, 5:57 PM
Week 3:
Missing Salthill v Wexford.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,684 (1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366; 1,993; 1,924; 1,463; 1,976)
Bray - 1,200 (965; 1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 2547 (2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1,825 (1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 825 (977; 811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 2,326 (949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Limerick - 2,735 (734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD; 517 FD; 670 FD; 364 FD; 669 FD)
Pat's - 1,706 (1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 4000 (3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1402 (1,187; 781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2,498 (3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 236 (506; 558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 346 (271; 200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cobh - 824 (2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403; 240)
Harps - 667 (429; 433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Longford - 320 (365; 315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 265 (243; 349; 123; 166)
SD Galway - 100 (182; 125; 122)
Waterford - 519 (453; 466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 149 (302; 216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,995 (1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 402 (372; 578; 682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,178 (1,101; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 8,534
OVERALL ATTENDANCE: 45,980
24/03/2013, 5:58 PM
I cant understand why Drogs didnt go for Sat night for this game v Bray. Sunday afternoon was just asking for trouble, unlike Shels, they had a choice.
The figure given was before kick-off. Had to be more than 250 at the game.
Don't know how credible source would be a new user with 7 posts, but I've been to United Park today and counted exactly 296 brave people, one by one, just before the kick off, and kept an eye at the gate for a few minutes after it, when about 100 people entered, giving a total of about 400 (let's believe there were 2 in the bathroom and 2 in the queue for a cup of tea). Even considering the awful weather, that this is probably the coldest stadium of Ireland, that until the noon people weren't even sure that this game was going to happen (there were no burger and chips in the stadium because according to the lady "this is too few people to bother with frying them") and that certain team isn't exactly the opponent people most want to watch (but to be fair, they brought a decent number of supporters. Actually there were two banners from Trabzonospor there, so possibly some turks came to try to improve the numbers), this is totally embarassing.
24/03/2013, 6:33 PM
Its embarrasing seeing our average gates is only fifth in the first division.. in fairness though its not good when our only home game in the first div so far is one of the top teams.. for gods sake ppl in longford come out and follow us!:o
ger121
24/03/2013, 7:45 PM
2,334 at Cork v Derry
1,704 at Shels v Rovers.
Must have been a load of Rovers fans in the Riverside coz from looking at the match, I'd say there wasn't even 700 Shels fans in the main/lego stands.
24/03/2013, 8:11 PM
, that this is probably the coldest stadium of Ireland,
I've got to pull you up on that comment.
You have clearly never been to Ferrcarraig or Carlisle grounds... They'ed by baltic in a heatwave.
gspain01
24/03/2013, 9:16 PM
You have clearly never been to Ferrcarraig or Carlisle grounds... They'ed by baltic in a heatwave.
Sligo last night was baltic it was genuinely colder than Stockholm the night before.
Lourdes Stadium (showing my age here) was notoriously the coldest ground in the league although I was only there once. Never thought United Park was a s bad although quite close by.
MeathDrog
24/03/2013, 9:16 PM
Extratime:
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/19100/1/
The attendance was poor but it was certainly more than 250.
250 + 1 man and a dog then.
24/03/2013, 9:33 PM
400 estimated by Extratime.ie. I'll probably go with that after the post by luiz and ET article unless I can get an official attendance.
Ezeikial
24/03/2013, 9:38 PM
The attendance was poor but it was certainly more than 250.
Sunday afternoon was a bad call by Drogheda (because of the ill-fated midweek Turkish friendly perhaps?). When you consider the direct clash with Louth intercounty GAA match right beside HD Park it appears completely mental.
A crowd of c 400 for a team that won a cup last season, finished league runners-up and making Setanta progress - it beggars belief
MeathDrog
24/03/2013, 10:54 PM
250 + 1 man and a dog then.
Nice one.
Sunday afternoon was a bad call by Drogheda (because of the ill-fated midweek Turkish friendly perhaps?). When you consider the direct clash with Louth intercounty GAA match right beside HD Park it appears completely mental.
A crowd of c 400 for a team that won a cup last season, finished league runners-up and making Setanta progress - it beggars belief
Was there a match on in the Gaelic grounds? Didn't even notice.
To be fair there was a large crowd in attendance for the Limerick game. That awful performance probably kept a lot of people away for the mean time.
Another consideration is that we have a ridiculous amount of fixtures in March. People are cherrypicking which games to go to and all LOI fans are guilty of this.
And finally, it was absolutely f*cking freezing. :) No conditions to be out at all.
El-Pietro
25/03/2013, 9:32 AM
Athlone Town vs Cobh Ramblers 311
about 20-30 teenaged Cobh fans, and 6 Cork City fans among that number.
Well, I've been to Carlisle and didn't find as bad as people say. Personally I think that Drogheda's stadium is much worse.
Well they were expecting to play Trabzonspor on Thursday in the friendly. I'd say that's 100% of the reason why
Bray Head
25/03/2013, 10:22 AM
Can't understand why Drogheda played at 3pm with the GAA match on beside it. A 4pm kick off and they may have gotten a few more when the GAA match would have been over then.
adamd164
25/03/2013, 1:49 PM
From ExtraTime.ie:
Home Team
Away Team
Attendance
Cork City
Derry City
Sligo Rovers
Limerick
Shelbourne
Shamrock Rovers
Finn Harps
Longford Town
Waterford United
Mervue United
Drogheda United
Bray Wanderers
est
Athlone Town
Cobh Ramblers
UCD
Dundalk
Salthill Devon
Wexford Youths
TOTAL
Dalymountrower
25/03/2013, 2:02 PM
Shels and Drogs crowds are pretty shocking.
Is getting 800-900 home fans for an important game against one of your historic rivals a measure of antipathy toward Matthew`s style of play or just apathy? I would have been counting on a 2,500 crowd for that game to meet the March wage bill.
The Drogs situation is a complete mystery, good team , good football, recent success. Mind you it is by far the worst ground to watch a match in the league.
redobit
25/03/2013, 2:06 PM
I dont know what the weather was like at the other games listed above, but in the Showgrounds it was fecking freezing. A cold a night as I can remember for a long time. Minus 5 with the wind chill apparently. I dont know how much (if any) effect it had on the attendance but I wouldnt be suprised to hear people stayed at home.
adamd164
25/03/2013, 2:06 PM
The Drogs situation is a complete mystery, good team , good football, recent success. Mind you it is by far the worst ground to watch a match in the league.
Could Drogs be in trouble this year if their crowds stay as poor as they have been? They have a some players who must be on a few bob.
Good crowd for Harps. As ever with them a bit of success adn they can get peopel out.
Drogheda crowd is unreal.
Surprised the Shels crowd is even that high from looking at it on TV.
White Horse
25/03/2013, 5:21 PM
Drogheda crowd is unreal.
It is unreal. There were less than 300 people there.
patrickccfc
25/03/2013, 7:28 PM
I dont know what the weather was like at the other games listed above, but in the Showgrounds it was fecking freezing. A cold a night as I can remember for a long time. Minus 5 with the wind chill apparently. I dont know how much (if any) effect it had on the attendance but I wouldnt be suprised to hear people stayed at home.
was baltic in the cross yesterday too
25/03/2013, 7:38 PM
Good crowd for Harps. As ever with them a bit of success adn they can get peopel out.
A win against Mervue this weekend and we'll be looking at pushing 1,000 people for the first time in years. It's good to see.
Have to say looked very less than 1,700 at tolka, main stand looked to have around 300 very cold souls, no one in ballybough end, and stand in corner looked to have around 200. This left riverside and could only tell from behind goal clips, looked a decent away support, but was there really 1,200 there? doubt it, but add whatever away support there was to (what looked like) 500 home fans and id say that was closer to the real crowd. The odd number was probably st holders added in.
But to be fair on all clubs, Sundays are a disaster and the sooner rte ends this madness the better, including Saturdays also, keep it simple and get back to picking Friday night games that suit the people who count most, the FANS.
A win against Mervue this weekend and we'll be looking at pushing 1,000 people for the first time in years. It's good to see.
I'd love to think you're correct Nigel, but I'd be delighted if we added another 100 to be honest.
25/03/2013, 9:40 PM
Yeah, If we kept the 700 or so every week I'd be well happy with that. Obviously if we keep winning and are up there at the top or top 2/3 then the bigger crowds will come in.
Dillonman
25/03/2013, 10:10 PM
about 400 or so in oriel tonight at the Irish u21 match with Portugal
gufcfan
26/03/2013, 12:45 AM
If you think you're going to make Mervue break stride in their march towards the FD title, you're off your rocker.
A lot of it seems to be down to your hard work/pestering Nige so fair play...
26/03/2013, 1:26 AM
about 400 or so in oriel tonight at the Irish u21 match with Portugal400? :eek:
Doubt they'll be back in Oriel anytime soon (I know it was meant to be in Tallaght originally).
Dillonman
26/03/2013, 7:42 AM
400? :eek:
Doubt they'll be back in Oriel anytime soon (I know it was meant to be in Tallaght originally).
Probably not, seemed to be plenty down from Dublin as well as few families cheering on their sons. Was a bitterly cold night and it never stopped snowing for the whole game.
S.E.P.1990
26/03/2013, 8:47 AM
Breakdown of the 1,704 at Tolka on Sunday:
890 Main and New Stand (Shels)
814 Riverside (Shamrock Rovers)
Shels are in trouble this season, apathy seems to have reached a new level. Some of it is anti-Matthews alright esp. the style of football. The other issue is the players who have left - crowd favourites (and good footballers) like Casso, Dawson - even Kavanagh! The one thing I will say is that the team has a lot more fight about it this season, the number of last ditch tackles and players throwing themselves at the ball is remarkable.
Must've been a helluva lot of Shels fans that styaed in the bars if 890 of them turned up