View Full Version : 2013 Attendances
Sean South
12/07/2013, 8:35 AM
2,900 Pat's v Zalgiris
There must be be some awful yahoos on Pats gate or else they were pocketing cash themselves. I heard some people with tickets got turned away too.
Ezeikial
12/07/2013, 9:33 AM
There must be be some awful yahoos on Pats gate or else they were pocketing cash themselves. I heard some people with tickets got turned away too.
Classic Sean South wind-up
Sean South
12/07/2013, 9:50 AM
No it's not. The terrace beside the Shed end had a couple of hundred on it, along with over crowding in the away section in the main stand. Some with tickets who showed up close to kick off got turned away (maybe they got in after a while I don't know) It reeks of pure yahooisim at least they should have issued those who got in with cash with raffle tickets. :D
12/07/2013, 10:38 AM
No it's not. The terrace beside the Shed end had a couple of hundred on it, along with over crowding in the away section in the main stand. Some with tickets who showed up close to kick off got turned away (maybe they got in after a while I don't know) It reeks of pure yahooisim at least they should have issued those who got in with cash with raffle tickets. :D
No cash taken at stiles.
About 50 Lithuanians on the terrace as they turned up at kick off and gardai didn't want to have to sit them in individual empty seats dotted around the ground. Not away fans, just Lithuanians living in Dublin who turned up and bought tickets like everyone else.
A friend worked the turnstile and said no one was turned away with a ticket when he left the gate at 8pm. If they turned up after that then I don't have too much sympathy
Dillonman
12/07/2013, 1:00 PM
Has there been an official figure given for Drogs v Shels yesterday. Seems to be only extra time figure of 'approx 700' available.
Nigel, hopefully this weekend will see some really decent crowds as these 3 should be well attended.
Sligo v Pats
Rovers v Derry
Dundalk v Bohs
I wouldnt be so sure if our game will be well attended. Bar One's annual big dual race day is on today in the Dundalk stadium and will take a chuck of floating fans away. Also somebody said over on Orielweb that there is some sort of charity boxing night in the Fairways so that too could hamper us. Add in a certain % of people away abroad on holidays.
Sean South
12/07/2013, 3:54 PM
No cash taken at stiles.
About 50 Lithuanians on the terrace as they turned up at kick off and gardai didn't want to have to sit them in individual empty seats dotted around the ground. Not away fans, just Lithuanians living in Dublin who turned up and bought tickets like everyone else.
A friend worked the turnstile and said no one was turned away with a ticket when he left the gate at 8pm. If they turned up after that then I don't have too much sympathy
Oh right, a few Pats fans had contradicting statements on twitter but they most talking rubbish. Hope your "mate" has a good holiday in Florida ;)
bullit
12/07/2013, 8:13 PM
Dundalk/bohs 1848
peadar1987
12/07/2013, 8:15 PM
25 at sdg v wy
Including the players?
mightaswell
12/07/2013, 8:27 PM
25 at sdg v wy
oh dear god....
Battery Rover
12/07/2013, 8:29 PM
Athlone Town vs Cobh Ramblers 544 official. Paying customers up on previous weeks.
oriel
12/07/2013, 10:28 PM
Dundalk/bohs 1848
The dual race/dogs day did take a lot away, as the races started in the afternoon, but I think the club should be reasonably happy with this figure in the circumstances. This dual race day was planned for the NI bank hol, and I heard there were thousands at it, very hard to compete against that.
Still, there was a very good buzz around the ground, perfect night for a match.
12/07/2013, 10:31 PM
Including the players?
Take away the committee and volunteers (estimate based on Athlone's attendances) and there were roughly -197 people at Salthill tonight.
Sounds about right.
bullit
13/07/2013, 7:59 AM
The dual race/dogs day did take a lot away, as the races started in the afternoon, but I think the club should be reasonably happy with this figure in the circumstances. This dual race day was planned for the NI bank hol, and I heard there were thousands at it, very hard to compete against that.
Still, there was a very good buzz around the ground, perfect night for a match.
The raceday Took about 50 off maybe? 100 most but i would say about 20.
When Dundalk played Bohs after they(Dundalk) achieved promo the attendance was 2100.
Anyway Knock off the away attendance - 100 = 1748 home fans.It's good but it ain't spectacular.
Not that it matters much Bullit, but when we played Bohs in 2009, first game in PD after 7 years in the FD, I think there was close to 4k at the match, and I think it was live on TV. Last night almost everyone I spoke to knew someone at the races, so I'd say a good few hundred were missing.
However such are the changed times, you still have to consider close on 2,000 for a crowd to be good these days, its just the way it is, besides there was a terrific atmosphere inside the ground with this amt.
bullit
13/07/2013, 9:40 AM
Not that it matters much Bullit, but when we played Bohs in 2009, first game in PD after 7 years in the FD, I think there was close to 4k at the match, and I think it was live on TV. Last night almost everyone I spoke to knew someone at the races, so I'd say a good few hundred were missing.
However such are the changed times, you still have to consider close on 2,000 for a crowd to be good these days, its just the way it is, besides there was a terrific atmosphere inside the ground with this amt.
Chuckle (4000)
oriel
13/07/2013, 10:10 AM
Chuckle (4000)
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/11305/2/
It probably was over estimated, but this was the figure that was given after the game, novelty factor too as it was our first game back, prob took more out.
bullit
13/07/2013, 10:22 AM
Let's not beat about the bush here.You and i both know that that figure is stupid but fair play to you for digging it up.
3850 (Another chuckle :) )
Bosco
13/07/2013, 12:06 PM
25 at sdg v wy
Jesus
gufc2000
13/07/2013, 12:25 PM
25 at sdg v wy
Surely an outstanding candidate for the lowest attendance ever at a competitive fixture in Irish football, or has anyone managed to better that?
ATFC-1887
13/07/2013, 12:40 PM
The sooner Salthill leave the league the better. 25 people. wow. Definitely a record low
Let's not beat about the bush here.You and i both know that that figure is stupid but fair play to you for digging it up.
3850 (Another chuckle :) )
I would agree a lot of our 2009 figures did not seem correct, and were over estimated, compare the crowds the following season under Foster, around the same as now, they didnt look too reduced from 2009.
Whatever about the past, it is good to see exact figures being released by the club now. I think all clubs should report exact attendances, no reason to hide the truth, if its bad so what, just report it.
jinxy lilywhite
13/07/2013, 3:12 PM
to be fair lads I thought the DFC promotion of matches this season has been absolutely desperate. With the exception of here, orielweb, dfc.com and the dfc facebook page there was sweet f all advertisement and promotion of the game. throughout town I never saw any posters up around town, considering what else was on in town and the middle of summer and a heatwave I thought our crowd was around 400 better than my est prior to the game. we seriously need to drive our promotions of the matches. especially if we want to show Sk that we have the same ambition as him in developing & growing the club
Straightstory
13/07/2013, 3:57 PM
Surely an outstanding candidate for the lowest attendance ever at a competitive fixture in Irish football, or has anyone managed to better that?
Maybe the worst attendance ever for a league match in Europe? Worth investigating.
Spudulika
13/07/2013, 3:59 PM
Maybe the worst attendance ever for a league match in Europe? Worth investigating.
How could it be when there have been matches played behind closed doors. Plus there are matches in similar level leagues with almost nobody at it. It's depressing but goes solely to show that fans are a) event junkies, or b) not fans of football.
I remember reading one of the record low attendance for a Premier Div game in Europe was held by Newry Town, at the time they were in the IL PD, and less than 100 were at a game, 89 I think was the crowd. Cant recall who it was against, but it was around 3 years ago.
Sean South
14/07/2013, 7:40 AM
25 at sdg v wy
How many Galway fans turned up to count the attendance?
JC_GUFC
14/07/2013, 8:10 AM
How many Galway fans turned up to count the attendance?
23. The two other people took a wrong turn.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/07/2013, 4:56 PM
3180 in The Showgrounds
14/07/2013, 4:57 PM
Week 16:
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,588 (1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366; 1,993; 1,924; 1,463; 1,976)
Bray - 875 (965; 1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 2,010 (2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1,588 (1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 893 (977; 811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,767 (949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Limerick - 2,028 (734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD; 517 FD; 670 FD; 364 FD; 669 FD)
Pat's - 1,395 (1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 2,990 (3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1,067 (1,187; 781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2,599 (3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 407 (506; 558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 465 (271; 200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cobh - 511 (2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403; 240)
Harps - 559 (429; 433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Longford - 360 (365; 315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 255 (243; 349; 123; 166)
Salthill Devon - 130 (182; 125; 122)
Waterford - 408 (453; 466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 224 (302; 216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,601 (1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 366 (372; 578; 682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,160 (1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 11,095 (including Limerick v Bray from midweek)
OVERALL ATTENDANCE: 216,938
14/07/2013, 4:59 PM
For those interested, Salthill gave 96 as official attendance. Their second worst official attendance of the year as they had a 48 earlier in the season.
LMFM reported 253 at UCD v Drogs, which just about pushes the weekly figure over the 10k mark, but 8,000 came from 3 games.
14/07/2013, 7:47 PM
First time the weekly figure has gone over 10k for a good few weeks. First time this side of the mid-season break for certain. That's obviously in large thanks to the 3,000+ in Sligo today but good to see once again nevertheless.
Nigel, the total weekly attendance (10,181) is for the PD only right?
Lim'k 1.2?
Dlk, 1.8
Rovers 3
Sligo 3.2
UCD 0.25
Shels 0.8
Approx 10.2k
Maybe update the wording to say PREMIER ?
14/07/2013, 9:03 PM
Limerick was 914
14/07/2013, 10:31 PM
Nigel, the total weekly attendance (10,181) is for the PD only right?
Lim'k 1.2?
Dlk, 1.8
Rovers 3
Sligo 3.2
UCD 0.25
Shels 0.8
Approx 10.2k
Maybe update the wording to say PREMIER ?
Didn't include the Limerick figure actually. Just the weekend games. I'll add it in now however. Good spot.
The 10,181 is all 9 games played at the weekend. 11,095 would be all 10 including Limerick.
Breaks down as follows.
Limerick 914
Dundalk 1,848
Shamrock Rovers 2,712
Sligo 3,180
UCD 253
Shels 805
Athlone 544
Harps 400 (est)
Salthill 96 (official..supposedly)
Waterford 343.
On another note, if I can obtain an official figure from Harps, it'll be the first time every club has given an official attendance since I started doing this two years ago.
oriel
14/07/2013, 11:19 PM
The FD is showing really poor figures this year and is on target for the worst since records were recorded on here around 2005. Disappointingly not even 1,400 combined at the 4 games, you can see where the overall avg of 366 comes from. Waterford and Harps having average/poor seasons is not helping matters.
15/07/2013, 1:08 AM
First Division is barely breaking 1,000 each week. It's disappointing indeed. Athlones attendances are starting to rise slightly and should see out the rest of the season around the 600 mark, which is okay considering how poor their attendances have been consistently for the past few years.
Should Waterford and Harps start a push for play-off places toward the end of the season, attendances there will rise over 700+ which should raise the average again.
I've no doubt it'll beat last years average come the end of the season, but whether it reaches around 500 remains to be seen unless there's some pretty big attendances to come.
ATFC-1887
15/07/2013, 1:16 AM
I really have to laugh how anti-athlone you are nigel. Why would Waterford and Harps rise to 700+ and ours wont? If we are still close to top or top in the next few weeks we will easily get 800-1000 for games.
red bellied
15/07/2013, 9:34 AM
3180 in The Showgrounds
Around 350 Pats supporters amongst the attendance.
15/07/2013, 3:16 PM
I really have to laugh how anti-athlone you are nigel. Why would Waterford and Harps rise to 700+ and ours wont? If we are still close to top or top in the next few weeks we will easily get 800-1000 for games.
Probably because historically those sides always get higher attendances than Athlone.
ATFC-1887
15/07/2013, 4:11 PM
Because the have been near the top of the league each year whereas we have been bottom 3-4. Look at Waterford premier division crowds. Really think we wont get more than that if we go up? Why would people come watch us if we are bottom few. Saying our crowds will stay around 600 are a bit off in fairness
15/07/2013, 4:15 PM
Uh, they've been getting higher attendances than you for years. Because they have bigger floating fanbases, meaning if they're achieving roughly the same results as yourselves they can be expected to hit higher numbers on account of their being more blow-ins.
15/07/2013, 5:03 PM
Wind yourself in. There's no anti-Athlone agenda. As I've explained to you before, I lived in Athlone for two years and regularly visited Lissywollen. I've always had a fondness for Athlone and you seem to be the only one with the agenda.
I'll happily eat my words if Athlone reach 800-1000 regularly for games, but it's just not going to happen.
Because the have been near the top of the league each year whereas we have been bottom 3-4. Look at Waterford premier division crowds. Really think we wont get more than that if we go up? Why would people come watch us if we are bottom few. Saying our crowds will stay around 600 are a bit off in fairness
Uh, they've been getting higher attendances than you for years. Because they have bigger floating fanbases, meaning if they're achieving roughly the same results as yourselves they can be expected to hit higher numbers on account of their being more blow-ins.
Exactly what CD has said here. Take a bit of a reality check before posting next time.
ATFC-1887
15/07/2013, 5:20 PM
So Nigel you think if we are still fighting for the league our crowds wont get bigger haha
bluewhitearmy
15/07/2013, 5:22 PM
So Nigel you think if we are still fighting for the league our crowds wont get bigger haha
As far as i can see he has not said that anywhere.
15/07/2013, 5:26 PM
Nobody said that. What I'm saying and I assume Nigel is too, is that Athlone's crowds won't grow to the same size as Waterford or Finn Harps' all things being equal, because the latter are just bigger clubs. If Harps were bottom and Athlone top, sure, Athlone would get bigger gates but if they're both on similar form and similar points, you'd expect the bigger club to have bigger gates.
ATFC-1887
15/07/2013, 6:40 PM
Can i ask in what way are Finn Harps a bigger club than Athlone haha They have 1 First Division Title and one Fai cup in their history.
bullit
15/07/2013, 7:36 PM
to be fair lads I thought the DFC promotion of matches this season has been absolutely desperate. With the exception of here, orielweb, dfc.com and the dfc facebook page there was sweet f all advertisement and promotion of the game. throughout town I never saw any posters up around town, considering what else was on in town and the middle of summer and a heatwave I thought our crowd was around 400 better than my est prior to the game. we seriously need to drive our promotions of the matches. especially if we want to show Sk that we have the same ambition as him in developing & growing the club
There were ad's all week on LMFM & DundalkFM(Always just after the sports news,there could have been more? but i only listen to the sports news).The Dundalk Democrat had four pages of reports/articles on DundalkFC last week(Indirect advertising imo)
The F/B pages and Twitter pages also encouraged people to download the online poster and to put it up at work or in the "local" .
IMO, everyone that needed to know that there was a LOI match in OP on Friday knew that there was a LOI match in OP on Friday !
15/07/2013, 8:40 PM
Interesting choice of words Bullit in needed to know. Everyone needs to know of course, people who are regular supporters will already know so trying to pick up floating customers like visitors to the town, those in the hinterland eg Carrick is the difference between 1800 and over 2000. There is too much focus on preaching to the already converted imo. It is regularily asked of us up town after a match what the score was followed by who were we playing, so the message is falling short somewhere. Those roadside signs going in and out of every major route in town were a great job in the past assuming they are updated first thing on the saturday with the following home fixture! There are times when you can be sure that the town knows that there is a big night in Oriel and feel the buzz, 1st European match couple of years ago and cup semi 2002 are standouts where even non Dundalk based family were seeking info and tickets