View Full Version : 2013 Attendances
bluemovie
27/07/2013, 6:00 PM
Spud, at this stage I know very few people WITH a job in Waterford (and a couple of dozen more jobs look like they'll be lost on Monday!)
671 wasn't too bad. 'Online campaign' only started yesterday morning so probably a bit late to persuade too many more.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/07/2013, 2:21 AM
2,840 in The Showgrounds. Probably 3 or 4 hundred Shams fans.
28/07/2013, 11:42 AM
395 at CCS last night, not bad for a game against Mervue we'd usually have 140 people at that game so its obvious people realised what a big game it was for us, lose next week and we'll be out numbered for the clasico.
Spudulika
28/07/2013, 12:50 PM
Spud, at this stage I know very few people WITH a job in Waterford (and a couple of dozen more jobs look like they'll be lost on Monday!)
671 wasn't too bad. 'Online campaign' only started yesterday morning so probably a bit late to persuade too many more.
It's shocking and it should be completely different. I really hope that everything is going to be okay and will send money to the paypal account myself. While I know the Board have their failings, in such an environment it must be very easy to be unable to lift your head and look around. No club should go out of business, in any manner, and I hope that the other league clubs rally around too.
Poor enough turnout for a Shams game but the level of entitlement that seems to be prevalent after winning our first league in 35 years is staggering.
It seems its not enough to be challenging anymore for some types, you must be top and more that do come are only there to moan and abuse.
I was at a few games in Tallaght last season towards the end of Kennys reign and some of our fans are as bad now as Shams were then.
poster
28/07/2013, 3:59 PM
Shams not the draw (LOL) they once were.
28/07/2013, 5:51 PM
288 in Finn Park v Wexford.
Weather was absolutely horrid and flash floods and thunderstorms would have kept a lot of people away, totally ignoring the fact that many roads were destroyed because of the weather.
Hopefully the win combined with a good result against Athlone next will see that double at very least next time out.
28/07/2013, 6:04 PM
Week 19.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,552 (1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366; 1,993; 1,924; 1,463; 1,976)
Bray - 959 (965; 1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 1,979 (2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1,588 (1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 893 (977; 811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,760 (949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Limerick - 1,942 (734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD; 517 FD; 670 FD; 364 FD; 669 FD)
Pat's - 1,368 (1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 2,927 (3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1,041 (1,187; 781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2,621 (3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 425 (506; 558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 460 (271; 200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cobh - 493 (2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403; 240)
Harps - 532 (429; 433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Longford - 364 (365; 315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 249 (243; 349; 123; 166)
Salthill Devon - 129 (182; 125; 122)
Waterford - 435 (453; 466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 240 (302; 216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,593 (1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 364 (372; 578; 682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,145 (1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 9,966
OVERALL ATTENDANCE: 234,798
28/07/2013, 6:12 PM
Just passed the 200 game mark.
Interestingly, St. Pat's official attendance for the weekend was 1,095...the exact same as their last home game.
1,083 at Limerick v Derry today.
28/07/2013, 6:47 PM
288 in Finn Park v Wexford.
Weather was absolutely horrid and flash floods and thunderstorms would have kept a lot of people away, totally ignoring the fact that many roads were destroyed because of the weather.
Hopefully the win combined with a good result against Athlone next will see that double at very least next time out.
Plus the fact that half of Donegal was in Carrick on Shannon at the GAH. Summer soccer, my arse.
28/07/2013, 8:14 PM
Your second biggest crowd of the year.
679 v Wexford in May was your highest of the season.
There was also 628 v Harps first game of the season.
29/07/2013, 9:44 AM
1083 at Limerick - Derry last night.
legendz
29/07/2013, 7:47 PM
1083 at Limerick - Derry last night.
If they're looking for wider members of the sporting public to go to the game, clashing it with the hurling quarter-finals wasn't the best idea. They were unlucky with the weather though, thunder and lightening around the time of the game, probably affected numbers as well. I hope Limerick get a big crowd next week. It's a Munster derby, ye'd expect support. Only thing that might affect a bigger crowd is people do tend to head away for the long weekend, especially the August bank holiday weekend with the number of events on around the country and people who generally head to coastal areas on these weekends!
NeverFeltBetter
29/07/2013, 9:23 PM
If they're looking for wider members of the sporting public to go to the game, clashing it with the hurling quarter-finals wasn't the best idea. They were unlucky with the weather though, thunder and lightening around the time of the game, probably affected numbers as well. I hope Limerick get a big crowd next week. It's a Munster derby, ye'd expect support. Only thing that might affect a bigger crowd is people do tend to head away for the long weekend, especially the August bank holiday weekend with the number of events on around the country and people who generally head to coastal areas on these weekends!
I've never gotten this with Cork City and Limerick. I see people call it a "derby", but I've genuinely never seen any kind of notable atmosphere or feeling around this fixture, any more than a game against Waterford, Longford or a visiting Dublin team. Don't really expect a big crowd to be drawn by painting this as a derby game, because you're more casual fan just won't buy that.
30/07/2013, 1:46 AM
We'll hopefully have around 1700 ish, depending on 300-400 coming from Cork.
Be interesting as it's actually our first Friday game of the season!
30/07/2013, 1:49 AM
I've never gotten this with Cork City and Limerick. I see people call it a "derby", but I've genuinely never seen any kind of notable atmosphere or feeling around this fixture, any more than a game against Waterford, Longford or a visiting Dublin team. Don't really expect a big crowd to be drawn by painting this as a derby game, because you're more casual fan just won't buy that.
I've maintained since the start of the season that the way to market Limerick v Cork games would have been to plaster the town in:
MUNSTER!! LIVE!! AT THOMOND PARK!! FOR A TENNER!!
posters. By the time people realised twas the wrong code we'd have their money, one or two might have even stayed. :ball2:
Buller
31/07/2013, 1:10 PM
I've maintained since the start of the season that the way to market Limerick v Cork games would have been to plaster the town in:
MUNSTER!! LIVE!! AT THOMOND PARK!! FOR A TENNER!!
posters. By the time people realised twas the wrong code we'd have their money, one or two might have even stayed. :ball2:
Funny as it is, I totally agree with this.
Get the guy who makes Cork City's advertising posters on the case. It could possibly add a few hundred people.
02/08/2013, 8:22 PM
1,248 official limerick vs cork.
Thought there would be more with visiting support. We seem to have hit around 900-1,000 regulars.
Battery Rover
02/08/2013, 8:23 PM
Athlone Town vs Finn Harps
Attendance 981 official
02/08/2013, 8:50 PM
Super attendance in Athlone. Around 20-30 Harps fans travelled supposedly, considering our form, still decent.
Battery Rover
02/08/2013, 9:14 PM
Super attendance in Athlone. Around 20-30 Harps fans travelled supposedly, considering our form, still decent.
Brilliant crowd. Loads of posters around the town. Plenty in the press and on radio along with Facebook and Twitter all week in the build up. Two tough matches on the road the next two weeks against Longford and Mervue and if we get results in them we could add another 600+ easily onto tonight's crowd.
Only thing that worries me is we could bring 500 to Longford next Saturday and unfortunately we can't put them all on the guest list :-)
White Horse
02/08/2013, 9:36 PM
2,179 in Oriel Park this evening.
ATFC-1887
02/08/2013, 10:47 PM
Fantastic night in Athlone. 1000 people on their feet singing Stand up for the Athlone Town. Come on the Town
02/08/2013, 10:52 PM
Ah here. You're just taking the **** now.
There were at least 2 million Athlone fans there.
02/08/2013, 10:56 PM
Athlones official attendances have always been a bit iffy and since theres no pictures it didnt happen imo.
Also thought there was at least six thousandty bajillionty in thomond tonight.
02/08/2013, 10:57 PM
How many of those were comittee members though?
da bishop
02/08/2013, 11:06 PM
1248 disappointing att at thomond tonight,would have expected to hit the 2000 mark,around 150 from cork i would say.
ATFC-1887
02/08/2013, 11:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXOdZqEBVVI
ATFC-1887
02/08/2013, 11:12 PM
Athlones official attendances have always been a bit iffy and since theres no pictures it didnt happen imo.
Also thought there was at least six thousandty bajillionty in thomond tonight.
Serious question. What proof or anything do you have that our attendances are "iffy". Just cause ye cant get the crowds in yer big lovely stadium doesnt mean we cant
02/08/2013, 11:15 PM
Absolutely impossible to tell from that angle tbf.
You'd need footage from the far side showing the whole stand to fully satisfy people imho.
ATFC-1887
02/08/2013, 11:16 PM
Do ya really think we care what you think about our attendances. The attendance was given and thats what it was. Dont see you questioning anyone elses without any proof or reason
02/08/2013, 11:29 PM
Serious question. What proof or anything do you have that our attendances are "iffy". Just cause ye cant get the crowds in yer big lovely stadium doesnt mean we cant
Limerick's attendances have been brilliant this season. The club has done an excellent job of bringing in new fans.
02/08/2013, 11:29 PM
Very defensive
Theres more to this than meets the eye i think
Myself and my fellow foot.iers just want JUSTICE
ATFC-1887
02/08/2013, 11:31 PM
Wouldnt call 1200 aginst Cork in the Premier Division brilliant. But anyways it doesnt matter. Athlone won. Athlone are 2 clear at the top and the crowds are coming back. Happy days
02/08/2013, 11:40 PM
I am delighted Athlone's attendances are picking up but if you think they've tripled in the space of a few weeks, you're quite frankly dreaming. I know between you have a few hundred committee members and volunteers, but I'm still scepitcal about your plans to sell out the Aviva next week.
02/08/2013, 11:41 PM
Mainly because if you ever saw 1200 at a game you'd immediately call it 8000 and post a video of the dug out as proof imo.
We just want the TRUTH.
ATFC-1887
02/08/2013, 11:46 PM
ok :)
NeverFeltBetter
02/08/2013, 11:49 PM
Are we really playing a game of "Our mediocre attendance is better than your mediocre attendance?"
The numbers at Thomond tonight are disappointing, but its not hard to see why the fall-off has come from that last home a game against Cork at the very start of the season. Playing some unattractive football at times, plenty of poor results, the more casual fan looking at the league table and wondering what's the point in a mid-table clash etc etc. But then again, this time last year we were getting what, half that number at Jackman unless it was Longford/Waterford?
As for Athlone, great about the attendances, even the more, ahem, conservative estimates.
02/08/2013, 11:55 PM
I was playing the wind up ATFC-1887 game tbf.
And you kinda ruined it. :-(
For the record in my fairly large experience all attendances in the first division and a lot of attendances in the premier are diddled.
We actually didnt do it last year but then we were actively looking to leave jackman.
ATFC-1887
02/08/2013, 11:57 PM
I know you were. Nothing can **** me off tonight haha. In fairness i think we all wish we could all have proper good crowds. Cant see it happening for a long long time, if ever
NeverFeltBetter
02/08/2013, 11:57 PM
The only club I absolutely don't trust for attendances is Salthill. I don't think anyone else is ever very far off the mark.
03/08/2013, 12:01 AM
Also the attendances in thomond certainly arent disappointing to me.
There now seems to be about a thousand people in the midwest willing to turn up to watch any ol ****e (tonights great entertainment not withstanding.)
I would have took it in rathbane and jackman and pike and rathbane again and jackman again!
Senior football in Limerick has came from uniquely low roots in the last two decades. Plenty of jam today and the promise of more jam tomorrow these are the good times as far as im concerned. :)
03/08/2013, 12:02 AM
I know you were. Nothing can **** me off tonight haha. In fairness i think we all wish we could all have proper good crowds. Cant see it happening for a long long time, if ever
To be fair, if 50,000 showed up in Tallaght for a league game I'd be in a good mood too.
ATFC-1887
03/08/2013, 12:06 AM
Charlie your ehh jokes are getting a bit stale. Shush :)
03/08/2013, 12:09 AM
Who's joking? :confused:
peterc1992
03/08/2013, 1:31 AM
I am delighted Athlone's attendances are picking up but if you think they've tripled in the space of a few weeks, you're quite frankly dreaming. I know between you have a few hundred committee members and volunteers, but I'm still scepitcal about your plans to sell out the Aviva next week.
Surely you are not serious? I'm not about the aviva but they have tripled if thats the case.
Official Attendance was 981 and Battery Rovers confirmation should be enough for ye.
03/08/2013, 1:33 AM
Surely you are not serious? I'm not about the aviva but they have tripled if thats the case.
Official Attendance was 981 and Battery Rovers confirmation should be enough for ye.
I was referring to yer man's claim that there were 1000 Athlone fans on their feet singing.
ATFC-1887
03/08/2013, 3:10 AM
Yer man? Video shows everyone on their feet singing and clapping. Why does it bother you so much. Get over yourself.
Spudulika
03/08/2013, 7:16 AM
Also the attendances in thomond certainly arent disappointing to me.
There now seems to be about a thousand people in the midwest willing to turn up to watch any ol ****e (tonights great entertainment not withstanding.)
I would have took it in rathbane and jackman and pike and rathbane again and jackman again!
Senior football in Limerick has came from uniquely low roots in the last two decades. Plenty of jam today and the promise of more jam tomorrow these are the good times as far as im concerned. :)
Knowing that there are 4 figure attendances in Limerick is good, and knowing that there is a 4 figure base/core support is even better. It's been along time since Limerick were growing like this and long may it last.
On another topic, I know this sounds a bit ott, but I've gotten the feeling (from posts and exchanges on here) that Athlone are performing like Monaghan, much as I like their fans and those of Athlone too. I know it looks like good times, but such attitude is not going to endear if it goes t s up. I'd love to see Athlone go up, any match I've seen them play has been entertaining (even under Brendan Place), but give it a wee rest on the self-righteous outrage at times.
prince20
03/08/2013, 8:08 AM
The attendance for the Athlone game is an exaggeration. I counted and only got 980. Hope this clarifies the matter.
On a serious note though its great to see such a big attendance, proving once again that Irish people will support any sport as long as the team is winning.