View Full Version : 2013 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34

16/03/2013, 4:42 PM
Have to say I did think there was a little more than the figure announced but if it didn't include ST holders what the point announcing it by DFC? Hopefully they can get the correct figure for Sligo, even it means adding on 80% of ST sales.

So based on this the revised figure v Rovers was prob 2,900 but 2,598 will have to the figure recorded.

I'll probably just stick with the 2,598 myself. It was the official figure given. If the club knew there was more there, they should have released that number instead.

oriel
16/03/2013, 6:12 PM
Agreed Nigel. Have to go with what was announced on the night.

bullit
16/03/2013, 8:14 PM
2,684 Sligo Showgrounds

patrickccfc
16/03/2013, 10:45 PM
2,684 Sligo Showgrounds
a bit disappointing isnt it?

16/03/2013, 10:51 PM
Only 320 at the CCS (via extratime)

red bellied
16/03/2013, 10:52 PM

Yeah probably should of been looking at over 3,000 for this as reigning champions. On the plus side it was 500 more than the first fixture against UCD last season.

17/03/2013, 11:01 AM
After the first two weeks of matches, and everyone now played a home game, we can weigh a few things up.

1) 4 teams had a better first home attendance than the reigning Champions, while the team almost relegated were only a mere 100 behind.

Shamrock Rovers - 4,000
Limerick - 3,758
Derry - 2,850
Cork - 2,760
Sligo - 2,684
Dundalk - 2,598

2) Top 6 attendances all looking fairly healthy, (albeit something we usually say at this time of year) good for the league, a couple of good results might see most of them back. That's not to say Fran Gavin won't be too happy Limerick didn't reach his estimate of 10,000 in Thomond.

3) The return of Cobh saw the highest First Division attendance with an impressive 824. Waterford and Harps the only other teams posting reasonable attendances with both 600+.
Disappointingly, a couple of teams saw very poor attendances. Longford and Athlone can feel aggrieved, while Wexford must be scratching their heads at to why only 149 people came in the gates.

4) In 2012 with 2 rounds of games played, and each team playing one home game, there was a total overall attendance of 28,717.
In 2013, at the same point, that figure has increased, by a grand total of 63. 28,780 people have attended a League of Ireland match this season. 25,504 of that in the Premier, 3,287 in the First division.

17/03/2013, 11:06 AM
Only 320 at the CCS (via extratime)

What in utter feck has happened to Longford town?

dong
17/03/2013, 11:14 AM
Certainly is.

17/03/2013, 11:27 AM
What in utter feck has happened to Longford town?

Er.. check our averages for the last few years, I'd say we will have to literally win every game this season to get near 500.
Theres a good deal of lads I know my age who don't live at home any more (myself included) who won't get to many games.

PartySaint
17/03/2013, 11:42 AM
A bit lower than expected from Sligo, Cork and Rovers in their first home league games of the season.

Rovers fans, any reason why there was 4,000 at the game the other night? Would I be right in saying your last 2 or 3 first home games of the season were close to sell outs?

17/03/2013, 12:21 PM
There was a lot more than 4,000 at it from what I could see. They didn't announce an official attendance as far as I remember.

redobit
17/03/2013, 12:27 PM

Ya it is a bit. I was expecting/ hoping for the 3000. It wasnt a million miles away from that and no disrespect to BW but they arent a big draw for our fans (first league game or not). Also they brought very little travelling support. Shams, Derry and Limerick all had the boost of good traveling fan numbers for their first home game. We had the guts of 500 in Derry. Pats had a great crowd in Tallaght. But as redbellied said our gate up 500 on the first home game against UCD, so a positive I suppose.

adamd164
17/03/2013, 12:28 PM
After the first two weeks of matches, and everyone now played a home game, we can weigh a few things up.

1) 4 teams had a better first home attendance than the reigning Champions, while the team almost relegated were only a mere 100 behind.

Shamrock Rovers - 4,000
Limerick - 3,758
Derry - 2,850
Cork - 2,760
Sligo - 2,684
Dundalk - 2,598

2) Top 6 attendances all looking fairly healthy, (albeit something we usually say at this time of year) good for the league, a couple of good results might see most of them back. That's not to say Fran Gavin won't be too happy Limerick didn't reach his estimate of 10,000 in Thomond.

3) The return of Cobh saw the highest First Division attendance with an impressive 824. Waterford and Harps the only other teams posting reasonable attendances with both 600+.
Disappointingly, a couple of teams saw very poor attendances. Longford and Athlone can feel aggrieved, while Wexford must be scratching their heads at to why only 149 people came in the gates.

4) In 2012 with 2 rounds of games played, and each team playing one home game, there was a total overall attendance of 28,717.
In 2013, at the same point, that figure has increased, by a grand total of 63. 28,780 people have attended a League of Ireland match this season. 25,504 of that in the Premier, 3,287 in the First division.
Overall the picture looks decent given those top 6 attendances, I am disappointed with our figure though. Beating Bohs should help for our crowd at home to Derry next week.

It must be remembered that a good 7/800 of the Rovers attendance will have been Pats fans.

oriel
17/03/2013, 5:36 PM
Some good points there Nigel. Just imagine the difference if we had a single 'super league'. Likes of rovers, Sligo. Derry. Cork. Dundalk etc all visiting. ballybofey. Athlone. Longford. Etc......then again would the home support last if heavy defeats were common?

gufcfan
17/03/2013, 5:50 PM
Just imagine the difference if we had a single 'super league'. Likes of rovers, Sligo. Derry. Cork. Dundalk etc all visiting. ballybofey. Athlone. Longford. Etc......then again would the home support last if heavy defeats were common?
Imagine how badly the weaker First Division teams would get beaten by some of the top Premier teams?

People don't come out to see the opposition, they come out to see the home team compete against them. If they are not competing, they might as well be in a division where they have a chance of competing and improving over time. Getting battered every few weeks does far more damage than the boon people perceive a single division would bring could compensate for.

One big division removes a load of teams from promotion pushes, relegation battles and playoffs. If there is no consequence to finishing last, over say, higher mid-table, why give a damn about it? I wouldn't.

17/03/2013, 5:51 PM
its yrs since we had an av gate of over 500 you have to go back to 2005 for the last av gate over a 1000 ppl. with Longford being a GAA county in the early yrs 2000-2003, with winter soccer a lot of our fan base were GAA fans and we got reg gates of over 3000 a lot but that disappeared with the summer season! we will never get gates now like in the early days again unless we go back to winter football!

red bellied
18/03/2013, 12:22 PM
Attendance at the Drogheda against Limerick was 716 according to the report of the game on the http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/9792/drogheda-united-2---2-limerick/ website.

adamd164
18/03/2013, 12:39 PM
Attendance at the Drogheda against Limerick was 716 according to the report of the game on the http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/9792/drogheda-united-2---2-limerick/ website.
Horrendous if true.

White Horse
18/03/2013, 2:16 PM

Sometimes I wonder what they want down there. A good team, going strong in the Setanta Cup, Euro football to come, and only 700 bother to go to the game?

Financial problems loom if this continues.

patrickccfc
18/03/2013, 4:22 PM
Just seen the extratime.ie report of todays game.. top of the page says the attendance was 2,785 while the bottom says 4000.. any bohs or rovers fans able to tell which was more correct?

18/03/2013, 4:31 PM
Well a significant number of late arrivals were turned away from the ground after kick off as they were told that the game had sold out. 4000 is far closer to a sell out of Dalymount than 2785.

MiniMourinho
18/03/2013, 4:43 PM
No white horse. We are financially prudent. We budget for a small income! Crazy idea I know!

dong
18/03/2013, 4:49 PM
Jodi stand about eighty percent full, there was definitely a good few empty seats there and a full Des Kelly stand. Whatever that equates to.

ger121
18/03/2013, 10:10 PM
Jodi stand about eighty percent full, there was definitely a good few empty seats there and a full Des Kelly stand. Whatever that equates to.
Jodi holds 2742 and the Des Kelly around 1400. Not sure if either attendance figure given is correct. One seems too low and the other probably too high.

citybone
18/03/2013, 10:26 PM
There were people whose tickets weren't scanning at the gate so I'm not sure the official figure is right.

There were some people saying that there was one of the scanners not working, This may account for a difference of maybe 250 and 3,000 might be more accurate. Better than Limerick only printing 300 tickets for Cork fans in Thomand. Id say there were another 300 city fans queing to get in with one turnstile open and one ticket boot without any more tickets. wont be the same problem vs UCD 30 away tickets might do. imagine how bad that will look on MNS. Might aswell let them in on the same stand. no point having several stewards a bar man a food person for such a small away support.

18/03/2013, 10:27 PM
Jodi looked more or less full from what I could see, but then again I wasn't looking very closely.

Dalymountrower
19/03/2013, 2:51 PM
Jodi looked more or less full from what I could see, but then again I wasn't looking very closely.

About 800 Hoops in the Des Kelly ,about 2,300 Bohs fans in the Jodi, about 100 other hanger ons and stray Hoops in the Jodi. 3,200 would be my best estimate. Hopefully the 40 Mongs who were "clashing" outside didn`t get in.

19/03/2013, 3:02 PM
I'll probably go with the 2,785 to be honest. Just don't see it being 4,000.

19/03/2013, 3:26 PM
There was a lot more than 4,000 at it from what I could see. They didn't announce an official attendance as far as I remember.

I don't there was a 'lot' more. Pats section fairly full but loads of space over on the far side. From TV there was plenty of space in the mainstand too

Dalymountrower
19/03/2013, 3:57 PM
I'll probably go with the 2,785 to be honest. Just don't see it being 4,000.

That would mean nearly 800 empty seats in the Jodi stand, there were a max of 300 empty.. So 2,400 in the Jodi ,800 in the Des Kelly, it`s not difficult to estimate an accurate figure plus or minus 100 in a two sided ground.
I have no idea where the 2,785 came from*. Might make sense if it excludes members, season ticket holders and assorted freebies

* Irish Times Journo.apparently

adamd164
19/03/2013, 4:30 PM
That would mean nearly 800 empty seats in the Jodi stand, there were a max of 300 empty.. So 2,400 in the Jodi ,800 in the Des Kelly, it`s not difficult to estimate an accurate figure plus or minus 100 in a two sided ground.
I have no idea where the 2,785 came from*. Might make sense if it excludes members, season ticket holders and assorted freebies

Why don't Bohs release official attendance figures? Ticketing is mandatory by licensing requirements, so releasing official figures should be very easy for all clubs to do.

19/03/2013, 4:37 PM
Why don't Bohs release official attendance figures? Ticketing is mandatory by licensing requirements, so releasing official figures should be very easy for all clubs to do.

although i agree with Dalymountrower's estimation (just based on what people who actually were there were saying), here is my guess...

We do release official attendances, my guess is that 2785 is the official attendance for yesterdays game i.e. how many tickets were sold. This wouldnt necessarily include members which would very easily bump the actual attendance well over 3000. Just a hunch, i could be wrong. I usually am.

19/03/2013, 7:43 PM
From official website;

It was billed as a Bank Holiday Blockbuster – but the first big Dublin Derby of the season failed to live up to expectations as Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers played out a goalless draw in front of a strong 4,000 crowd at a bitterly cold Dalymount Park.

that said, id say the paying customers were 2785.

bullit
19/03/2013, 7:57 PM
2054 att in OP

patrickccfc
19/03/2013, 7:59 PM
2054 att in OP
brilliant crowd for a mid week game.. good to see dundalk getting good crowds

patrickccfc
19/03/2013, 8:01 PM
1,712 at thomond

adamd164
19/03/2013, 8:24 PM
1,712 at thomond
That's actually not as bad as I had feared for Limerick.

19/03/2013, 8:51 PM

4,000 just seems to be too much. Guessing a figure doesn't work for me. Everyone is going to have different guesses. 2,785 seems to be the official figure, so I'll go with that, just the same as Dundalk last week where I had to go with the official figure when 99% of Dundalk fans reckon there was more there.

I'm sorry if that offends you. Tell the club to give more accurate figures and I'll then use that.

ger121
19/03/2013, 9:05 PM
I thought 800 in Des Kelly, with Jodi @ 80% full, would equate to 2200ish so around 3000. Say the official figure excludes members/season tickets. Understand going with official attendance, just it was most likely more than that...

Good attendance for Limerick considering it's a Tuesday and the opposition.

thomas72
19/03/2013, 9:13 PM
Good attendance for limerick UCD had zero support there also with all junior clubs training Tuesdays alot of players who would of gone

NeverFeltBetter
19/03/2013, 9:18 PM
1,712 at thomond

Considering the day, weather and unglamourous opposition, I'd say that's a great crowd to get in the gate.

legendz
19/03/2013, 9:43 PM
Good attendance for Limerick alright. It'll be interesting to see if that could be the lowest attendance over the course of the season. I'd imagine it was a night a core group of true blue supporters to be there. I was not, waiting for LoI football in Kerry and all that. ;) Looking forward to the games coming up in the next few weeks though.

oriel
19/03/2013, 9:44 PM
Considering the day, weather and unglamourous opposition, I'd say that's a great crowd to get in the gate.

I would agree, also and no offence to UCD, but its usually a good game to gauge your core support due to the limited away crowd.

Mid week, and not an easy game to market, they should be reasonably happy with that.

As we are for keeping the crowd (just) over 2,000 for the second game, and with Drogs up next home, hopefully we can increase it more, especially as the game has been moved to Holy Thursday from Good Friday.:party:

Dalymountrower
19/03/2013, 10:08 PM
4,000 just seems to be too much. Guessing a figure doesn't work for me. Everyone is going to have different guesses. 2,785 seems to be the official figure, so I'll go with that, just the same as Dundalk last week where I had to go with the official figure when 99% of Dundalk fans reckon there was more there.

I'm sorry if that offends you. Tell the club to give more accurate figures and I'll then use that.
Not remotely upset, keep up the good work.

wonder88
19/03/2013, 10:29 PM
Thats a decent crowd for Limerick considering the factors already noted. Hope they can achieve an average of 3k for the season, which would re-establish soccer back in the treaty city.

redarmyfaction
19/03/2013, 10:33 PM
Only 800 at the Brandy well according to ET, disaster if true.

patrickccfc
19/03/2013, 11:09 PM
Only 800 at the Brandy well according to ET, disaster if true.
even for a tuesday that is bad.. thought the 6-0 win the other night would of caused a bit of optimism

bullit
19/03/2013, 11:25 PM
even for a tuesday that is bad.. thought the 6-0 win the other night would of caused a bit of optimism

Drogs would've had their usual 400+ up the road to Derry with them if it wasn't for the big massive friendly v Trabsponzor on Thursday night in TALLAGHT :eek: They held the presser for the Trab match on Monday in MALAHIDE :D
Malla a fooking Hide.:rolleyes:

19/03/2013, 11:31 PM

The piece i quoted from the official site quotes 4000. Would assume that would put the matter to rest?