View Full Version : 2013 Attendances
16/04/2013, 10:17 AM
There looked more than 1,216 there. I would have said along the lines of 1,800.
I think 1,216 as the official crowd. Why would an estimate get so precise? As I said, it looked about right to me
fionnsci
16/04/2013, 10:47 AM
I think 1,216 as the official crowd. Why would an estimate get so precise? As I said, it looked about right to me
I didn't say it was wrong, I said that I had perceived it to be more.
16/04/2013, 11:33 AM
I didn't say it was wrong, I said that I had perceived it to be more.
And as a rule, don't take extratime's estimates as gospel. I wrote for them a bit, any non-official attendances are simply those of the reporter who doesn't necessarily know the ground better than any fan nor does he likely have the best view of the crowd from the press box.
You essentially called in their estimate.
1,216 is an official crowd. Whether it seemed like more or less. It's very rare in this League that you'd agree with either an estimate or official crowd.
fionnsci
16/04/2013, 11:49 AM
I didn't think it was an estimate, I presumed it was official. Who the hell estimates to the nearest 16?! I was surprised by the figure because I had thought there were more from being at the match and I was sharing that view. The point I made was in regard to extratime's estimates, not specific figures such as the one cited.
PartySaint
16/04/2013, 11:52 AM
It's fairly easy to guess the numbers in Richmond, the stands holds 1,800 and most of the fans are usually in there. If everyone at the game last night was in the stand (people from the shed and camac) would there have been 600 empty seats? I was in the stand and the half I was in was fairly full.
16/04/2013, 12:05 PM
Easily 600 free seats.
16/04/2013, 4:46 PM
Anyone else feel like banging their head against the table when reading this thread??
Maybe it's just me. Maybe Im just a bit mad. Maybe I think too much. Maybe I've said maybe too many times already maybe?
48 at Salthill -v- Waterford
16/04/2013, 6:53 PM
48 at Salthill -v- Waterford
thats a horrendous crowd that approx how many from Waterford were at it?
16/04/2013, 8:25 PM
Well if you take out the players (35), officials (4), Backroom staff (12), extratime.ie guy (1), I would wager there were -4 Waterford people there.
In saying that ET have the attendance down as 119.
http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/19398/2/
ForzaForth
16/04/2013, 8:28 PM
226 at Wexford Youths v Longford.
thomas72
16/04/2013, 8:48 PM
1,781 at thomond park limerick v bohs
16/04/2013, 9:03 PM
THought we would only get 1,500 max tonight so delighted again with the attendance. Everyone left buzzing after the final whistle which will hopefully bring a crowd back for the Shels game. A draw or loss tonight and I think the attendance vs Shels would have plummeted.
NeverFeltBetter
16/04/2013, 9:44 PM
Good crowd given the circumstances.
legendz
16/04/2013, 9:50 PM
THought we would only get 1,500 max tonight so delighted again with the attendance. Everyone left buzzing after the final whistle which will hopefully bring a crowd back for the Shels game. A draw or loss tonight and I think the attendance vs Shels would have plummeted.
I was expecting over 2000 but yeah, still a decent crowd. Been a few too many home midweek games of late. Good buzz alright at the end. I'd like to see a bounce from that with a bigger crowd for Shels.
16/04/2013, 10:38 PM
226 at Wexford Youths v Longford.
Where did the 323 on Extratime come from?
16/04/2013, 10:41 PM
Where did the 323 on Extratime come from?
97 Waterford fans got lost on the way to Galway.
wonder88
16/04/2013, 11:25 PM
Went down to the game in Limerick to see what the Thomond experience would be like and to visit another LoI ground. Great stadium, and I enjoyed my evening. As already stated there was a great buzz amongst the home fans at the end due to the dramatic finish, but Bohs could easily have won the game as well, which would be a major setback in getting good crowds into Thomond in future. Also it was a beautiful day/evening here in the west so for an outsider an attendance below 2k is a bit dissappointing. There was 80-90 Bohs fans there who gave their team great support and also expressed their opinion on some witch who has died. Bohs had the same number of supporters in Limerick on a tuesday night as Drogheda had at Tolka last friday, not a great sign for the club that finished 2nd last year.
17/04/2013, 12:02 AM
Good few junior games on tonight, well pleased with that crowd.
FAO Bohs fans if thats what passes for fashion in Dublin im glad to be a culchie :p
17/04/2013, 1:54 AM
FAO Bohs fans if thats what passes for fashion in Dublin im glad to be a culchie :p
Nah, nobody wears Bohs jerseys in Dublin.
Sean South
17/04/2013, 8:05 AM
Was no one wearing Nike air max runners, white socks outside their tracksuit bottoms, a hoody, and a plastic bag on their head?
Well if you take out the players (35), officials (4), Backroom staff (12), extratime.ie guy (1), I would wager there were -4 Waterford people there.
I heard there was about 20-25 from Waterford at it.
17/04/2013, 11:20 AM
I heard there was about 20-25 from Waterford at it.
Is that out of the 48 attendance or the ET 119 attendance?
If 25/48 were from Waterford then you have to wonder!
Also I said -4 (minus 4).
17/04/2013, 11:46 AM
Was no one wearing Nike air max runners, white socks outside their tracksuit bottoms, a hoody, and a plastic bag on their head?
Nope. :good:
Bawnville Hoop
17/04/2013, 12:45 PM
In fairness, they've been very kind to Rovers this season. 3,500, 4,000, 2,800 and now 1,800.
New estimate of 2,500! http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10065/
oriel
17/04/2013, 12:55 PM
Not recorded on here as its Setanta Cup, but a little better from Drogs last night with 756 at the Sligo match. ET go with another estimate for Rovers v Cork at 1,250
Bawnville Hoop
17/04/2013, 1:34 PM
1,250 was accurate, very disappointing but when its obvious there are going to be less than 3000 for a televised game only 1 stand should open.
Gareth
17/04/2013, 1:39 PM
Hi folks, each week we (Extratime.ie) ask every club for their official attendances. Where we don't have (est) beside the number, the figure has been sourced from a club official. Our estimates are done by our reporter or reporters at the games, but we have always sought out an official to provide a correct figure. When a club state that this is an official figure, we have no option but to go with that. That is the figure you are getting on the site. As fionnsci stated, estimates are from our reporters at the game, which we state very clearly in the articles we write are only guesstimates and to be treated that way.
There was exactly 16 Waterford fans counted at the game.
I would say 119 if you counted players and staff and the lads playing on the all weather 5-a-side pitches over at the other side of the clubhouse.
Quayman
17/04/2013, 4:25 PM
Many at the Limerick Bohs game last night?
Nailor
17/04/2013, 4:52 PM
Many at the Limerick Bohs game last night?
17/04/2013, 7:32 PM
1 more than Dundalk vs Derry, glad I brought a mate now.
TommyT
17/04/2013, 8:17 PM
This is going in ever decreasing circles, but there's no way there was 1,250 in Tallaght last night. Extratime's estimates for Tallaght are awful
17/04/2013, 8:33 PM
Update after weekend corrections, and midweek.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,952 (1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366; 1,993; 1,924; 1,463; 1,976)
Bray - 933 (965; 1,121; 952; 1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Cork - 2,390 (2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681; 3,142; 2,897; 2,941; 3,644)
Derry - 1,450 (1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436; 3,363; 2,614; 3,229; 2,698)
Drogheda - 750 (977; 811; 859; 1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 2,039 (949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Limerick - 2,651 (734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD; 517 FD; 670 FD; 364 FD; 669 FD)
Pat's - 1,342 (1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3,200 (3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Shels - 1,295 (1,187; 781 FD; 737 FD; 972 FD; 986 FD; 888 FD; 1,690; 1,949)
Sligo - 2,594 (3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
UCD - 426 (506; 558; 610; 272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 437 (271; 200; 354; 462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cobh - 614 (2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403; 240)
Harps - 681 (429; 433; 644; 480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) -
Longford - 320 (365; 315; 230; 260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 333 (243; 349; 123; 166)
Salthill Devon - 113 (182; 125; 122)
Waterford - 461 (453; 466; 619; 434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 277 (302; 216; 343; 494; 767; 810)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,812 (1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 400 (372; 578; 682; 417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,106 (1,101; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 12,277
OVERALL ATTENDANCE: 92,972
18/04/2013, 12:15 PM
This is going in ever decreasing circles, but there's no way there was 1,250 in Tallaght last night. Extratime's estimates for Tallaght are awful
The 2 Rovers estimates I read were 750 and 1,000
I'm only pointing this out to say that in a crowd of (roughly) 1,000 people, you can have estimates varying by 50%
bluemovie
18/04/2013, 1:44 PM
There was exactly 16 Waterford fans counted at the game.
I could name more than 16 who were there if you'd like :D There were 14 on the supporter's bus and a few carloads. Mightn't all have been standing in the one spot. Couple of lads doing internet commentary and the like. Not that it matters much in the greater scheme of things!
wonder88
19/04/2013, 9:54 AM
Should be bumper crowds at Pats/Sligo and Derry/Rovers tonight, both over 4k?
19/04/2013, 9:57 AM
4k? I'd be surprised if we even get near 3k at the Rovers game.
Flexy
19/04/2013, 11:25 AM
4k? I'd be surprised if we even get near 3k at the Rovers game.
Kev if Derry dont get over 3k for tonights game then its a disgrace for everyone in the City. The public were crying out for attacking football to be played by the team. The team and Manager are really producing at the moment but the local public still dont turn up. Look at the amount of fans who went to Aviva 6 months back to watch a great cup final, but cant afford £12 every fortnight to help support the only league team ( apart from institute ) in the area. These people should be ashamed of themselves, instead they support the crap across the water. A season ticket at the Club is less than a weekend away watching a Premier club. Should be a great series of games though this weekend
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/04/2013, 12:28 PM
Would be surprised if there was even 2k in Inchicore tonight
PartySaint
19/04/2013, 12:55 PM
We don't even get 4,000 when we play Rovers and they bring 1,500 with them. There will be 1,200 Pats fan there and then whatever Sligo bring.
19/04/2013, 1:37 PM
When's the last time there was anything close to 4k in Inchicore?
Dalymountrower
19/04/2013, 1:39 PM
TV coverage seems to take a chunk out of expected attendances, so Pats would be doing well to get 2,000 tonight. I would be shocked if Derry don`t get 2-2,500 tonight, and they deserve many more for the way they are playing.
PartySaint
19/04/2013, 1:55 PM
When's the last time there was anything close to 4k in Inchicore?
A few games against Rovers over the last few years would have had over 3,000 at them. Cup semi-finals against Rovers, Bohs and Shels had good crowds as well in the last 5 years, none would have been 4,000 tho.
EAFC_rdfl
19/04/2013, 2:16 PM
maybe the lad meant 4k between the two - so 2k at derry and 2k at pats?
We don't even get 4,000 when we play Rovers and they bring 1,500 with them. There will be 1,200 Pats fan there and then whatever Sligo bring.
That should be about right IMO.
adamd164
19/04/2013, 8:25 PM
Cork City vs Shels 2275
bullit
19/04/2013, 8:32 PM
1405 dalyer