View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

18/11/2012, 7:59 PM
Two good signings for Cork in the last week. Two players I wouldn't have minded seeing with ourselves.

redobit
18/11/2012, 8:19 PM
Will North be fit for start of season

Yes, all going well. ACL is 5 to 6 months after an operation and it happened in July.

wonder88
18/11/2012, 9:28 PM
I expect the Sligo manager will bring in a few players from England, but where will St Pats get their players from ? not Bohs again Two good signings for Cork, both non-Dubs so no danger of them being homesick.

adamd164
18/11/2012, 9:50 PM
Any Rovers fans know what the story with Aaron Greene is? Supposedly going to be our next signing.

PartySaint
18/11/2012, 10:08 PM
I expect the Sligo manager will bring in a few players from England, but where will St Pats get their players from ? not Bohs again Two good signings for Cork, both non-Dubs so no danger of them being homesick.

We've dropped Bohs as our feeder club and have replaced them with Shels, Dawson, Conan Byrne and Cassidy all rumoured to be coming to us.

Signed up so far we have
Ger O'Brien
Conor Kenna
Kenny Browne
Jake Carroll
Chris Forrester
Anto Flood

99% done deals are
Conan Byrne
Christy Fagan
Killian Brennan
Shane McFaul

Other strong rumours
Dawson
Cassidy
Jake Kelly
Vinny Faherty

Still not sure about
Russell
Bermo
Bolger
Barry Murphy

Oh and Keith Fahey is back in Ireland.....

L.T.F.C.
18/11/2012, 10:18 PM
And? He is on compassionate leave from Birmingham.

Fivesilver
18/11/2012, 10:40 PM
That has the makings of a good squad - and your man to bang the drum.

bluewhitearmy
19/11/2012, 12:28 AM
Peter Taylor in Limerick today with Pat O'Sullivan anyone know what he has been at recently?

19/11/2012, 1:05 AM
Peter Taylor in Limerick today with Pat O'Sullivan anyone know what he has been at recently?

Sacked by the Bahrain national team a few weeks ago.

19/11/2012, 9:34 AM
Andrew Quinn of the Derry Journal reports that Davy McDaid is going on trial with Fleetwood Town of League Two.

He has been sensational this season in the absence of experience up front, but it's a step down ultimately. He'll be playing in the Europa League if he stays.

Step down in your eyes as a LOI fan. What he might see is regular full time football with pretty much guarenteed pay, with proper training facilities. There's not many clubs here who'll match that.

Europa League qualifiers don't mean much to LOI footballers.

19/11/2012, 10:35 AM
Step down in your eyes as a LOI fan. What he might see is regular full time football with pretty much guarenteed pay, with proper training facilities. There's not many clubs here who'll match that.

Europa League qualifiers don't mean much to LOI footballers.

Thats it in a nutshell for any player over 22-23 i think. They want stability and you cant blame them for that. LOI Clubs will always suffer unless they can offer the correct conditions.

Pablo Escobar
19/11/2012, 10:55 AM
Yes, all going well. ACL is 5 to 6 months after an operation and it happened in July.

I've done the ACL and it's a horribly unpredictable injury. One thing that is certain is there's not a hope you'd be back on the field 5/6 months after the op without incident. You need to build it up and all going well you'd be back 8/9 months on, but it will more than likely take another 8/9 moths before you're 100%, if you ever get there.

wonder88
19/11/2012, 11:09 AM
Important for Pats that they hold on to Russell and Barry Murphy, them two along with the others mentioned by Partysaint above will give them a strong squad. Most of the senior players in the LOI find european football a burden as Pats fans will tell you. A player needs to be really determind to make it in England as it is much more competitive and those who wants to be close to their family in Dublin are more suited to the part-time fare of the LOI. Good luck to McDaid if he goes over, I see Bocco is doing ok at Accrington.

Predator
19/11/2012, 11:10 AM

Europa League qualifiers don't mean much to LOI footballers.Aye, I get that, of course. Wishful thinking on my part, I suppose.

poster
19/11/2012, 11:13 AM
Any Rovers fans know what the story with Aaron Greene is? Supposedly going to be our next signing.

God help you.

19/11/2012, 11:38 AM
Sligo have held talks with Davy McDaid.
http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/sport/football/round-up/city-duo-on-trials-1-4499063

19/11/2012, 1:35 PM
Would make any Harps fan sick to their stomach. McDaid never put in a tap of effort in Finn Park and was ultimately one of the worst players to have played for Harps in recent years.

McLaughlin on the other hand, I really hope succeeds as a top class footballer. Cracking player with a great attitude to the game. On the other side of the card, he's one of the best players to come through Finn Park in recent years.

Spudulika
19/11/2012, 2:07 PM
Is it just me or do clubs in Ireland seem to rotate the same faces season to season, club to club. Only saying having read through the Pats list and there are a number who'd been at SFFC who've ended up (after detours) again with Bucko. A little concerned about Rovers, I know it was obvious that if TC got the job the Board were going to throw money at him to try win the league, but they are recycling the same bodies and not looking outside the closed circle for some quality. Makes Keano at Sunderland and Ipswich look positively cosmopolitan!

pateen
19/11/2012, 2:24 PM
We've dropped Bohs as our feeder club and have replaced them with Shels, Dawson, Conan Byrne and Cassidy all rumoured to be coming to us.

Signed up so far we have
Ger O'Brien
Conor Kenna
Kenny Browne
Jake Carroll
Chris Forrester
Anto Flood

99% done deals are
Conan Byrne
Christy Fagan
Killian Brennan
Shane McFaul

Other strong rumours
Dawson
Cassidy
Jake Kelly
Vinny Faherty

Still not sure about
Russell
Bermo
Bolger
Barry Murphy

Did I miss something? When did Killian Brennan sign for pats?

pateen
19/11/2012, 2:26 PM
Roddy first up wanting limerick fc job

http://m.limerickleader.ie/sport/soccer/i-want-limerick-job-says-roddy-1-4495766

Ha ha....Shoddy is at it again.
Limerick should lead him on for as long as possible. You’ll get great publicity from his rants.

19/11/2012, 2:39 PM
Limerick should lead him on for as long as possible. You’ll get great publicity from his rants.

They could advertise it as the Xmas pantomime :)

19/11/2012, 2:52 PM
Decky Devine is after Raf Cretaro, according to today's Derry News.
We came close to signing him back in 2011, iirc.

Spudulika
19/11/2012, 3:13 PM

Seems he was in Cyprus, not Malta, a reflection on the Leader's level of journalism, or how much they reckon the plasterer has a chance of getting the job. I don't think the main man in Limerick would be so mad, then again.......... :-)

PartySaint
19/11/2012, 3:17 PM
Did I miss something? When did Killian Brennan sign for pats?

The rumour started on Friday night. Anto Flood said on twitter then that Brennan had signed.

Dillonman
19/11/2012, 3:31 PM
PFAI tweeted that Sives is away to Oz.

19/11/2012, 5:37 PM
Roddy is in our local saying it would be a match made in heaven then in the Star giving out about us not trusting in Irish managers that 3 top quality Irish managers are out of jobs, himself, Rico and Dolan. He must have been shot down early ha ha.

adamd164
19/11/2012, 6:53 PM
Dolan would be an amazing appointment for Limerick, whatever anyone thinks of his rants about 20,000 seater stadiums, he would give the club unrivalled PR and is an excellent manager.

adamd164
19/11/2012, 7:03 PM
Just to say as well (and I'm not winding up Limerick fans) but I actually think Roddy Collins is a genuinely nice guy, I'd like to see him get a shot. He's missed in the league, there are very few characters around.

19/11/2012, 7:35 PM
Just to say as well (and I'm not winding up Limerick fans) but I actually think Roddy Collins is a genuinely nice guy, I'd like to see him get a shot. He's missed in the league, there are very few characters around.

I agree he is a character, seems like a bit of craic and missed around the league but leaving his personality aside his track record in the league is poor so I hope we stay clear.

19/11/2012, 7:43 PM
I agree he is a character, seems like a bit of craic and missed around the league but leaving his personality aside his track record in the league is poor so I hope we stay clear.

Never relegated ;)

19/11/2012, 8:06 PM
You're welcome to that Dolan/Collins dream team yourself Adam. :D

adamd164
19/11/2012, 8:09 PM
Whatever about Collins, I think the only reason Dolan wouldn't get the job is he doesn't want it himself!

19/11/2012, 10:02 PM
Madden has re-signed for us. Delighted.

PartySaint
19/11/2012, 10:16 PM
Confirmed tonight that John Russell has re-signed for next season after turning down offers from both Rovers worth more money. Huge signing for us.

Also confirmed that Killian Brennan has signed for us. I'm personally delighted with this.

More announcements on www.stpatsfc.com tomorrow

19/11/2012, 10:38 PM
Confirmed tonight that John Russell has re-signed for next season after turning down offers from both Rovers worth more money. Huge signing for us.

Also confirmed that Killian Brennan has signed for us. I'm personally delighted with this.

More announcements on www.stpatsfc.com (http://www.stpatsfc.com) tomorrow
So is everyone else.

19/11/2012, 11:25 PM
In fairness, I'm sure Buckley will take no s**t from Brennan and might get a bit of football out of him. There's no questioning his ability, it's his attitude that stinks and it might take the right manager to get the football out of him.

dong
20/11/2012, 6:27 AM
In fairness, I'm sure Buckley will take no s**t from Brennan and might get a bit of football out of him. There's no questioning his ability, it's his attitude that stinks and it might take the right manager to get the football out of him.
To be honest I've seen Brennan a few times at Shams apart from our own games with them and I would question his ability to actually beat a player these days. He seems to have lost a yard of pace since his days at Bohs when he could skin a player with a trick or a burst of pace almost at will.
Hes no central midfielder either no matter what Kenny seemed to think. Can't tackle and doesnt see when opposition players break behind him.

pateen
20/11/2012, 8:48 AM

More announcements on www.stpatsfc.com tomorrow

Quality signing

pateen
20/11/2012, 8:49 AM
Dolan would be an amazing appointment for Limerick, whatever anyone thinks of his rants about 20,000 seater stadiums, he would give the club unrivalled PR and is an excellent manager.

Would have to agree. Prob wouldnt say the same about Rico though

20/11/2012, 9:01 AM
Would have to agree. Prob wouldnt say the same about Rico though

Wouldn't mind seeing Rico but is there any particular reason he has stayed out of management? Surely he would have been in line for either of the rovers jobs recently.

Spudulika
20/11/2012, 10:03 AM
Wouldn't mind seeing Rico but is there any particular reason he has stayed out of management? Surely he would have been in line for either of the rovers jobs recently.

He's been working on projects outside of Ireland and turned down 2 International jobs (and a couple of clubs) in the last 2 years. Would be great for Limerick, though I don't know if he'd want to get back into the maelstrom of LOI. Roddy would be a disaster, not a nice person, though can motivate a team on a very short term basis, he just doesn't have it to step up.

Pat Dolan would be good in a GM role, though I don't know about him as a coach.

Nailor
20/11/2012, 10:42 AM
Gary McCabe signed a two year extension with the Hoops:
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/3052-mccabe-signs-new-two-year-deal-

PartySaint
20/11/2012, 1:51 PM
Confirmed this morning on the Pats website:

Ger O'Brien
Conor Kenna
Kenny Browne
Ian Bermingham
Jake Carroll
Chris Forrester
John Russell
Conan Byrne
Killian Brennan
Anto Flood
Christy Fagan

dong
20/11/2012, 2:05 PM
He's been working on projects outside of Ireland and turned down 2 International jobs (and a couple of clubs) in the last 2 years. Would be great for Limerick, though I don't know if he'd want to get back into the maelstrom of LOI. Roddy would be a disaster, not a nice person, though can motivate a team on a very short term basis, he just doesn't have it to step up.

Pat Dolan would be good in a GM role, though I don't know about him as a coach.

Projects? i'm intrigued. Please tell us more.

20/11/2012, 4:32 PM
http://i48.tinypic.com/w0hl77.jpg

nicked from the Bohs mb...

20/11/2012, 4:40 PM
Rumour on Facebook that Lee Bowyer is in talks with Shamrock Rovers to be player/coach. This rumour mill is getting out of hand. But it sure shows, that even with any remote sort of truth, that at least the league is being noticed across the water now, with Laws and Barraclough in the past season, and now Peter Taylor and Lee Bowyer being linked to the league.

It can only be a good thing really.

patsdad
20/11/2012, 4:41 PM
Confirmed this morning on the Pats website:

Ger O'Brien
Conor Kenna
Kenny Browne
Ian Bermingham
Jake Carroll
Chris Forrester
John Russell
Conan Byrne
Killian Brennan
Anto Flood
Christy Fagan

A lot of Croly targets staying put, it seems.

20/11/2012, 5:04 PM
yes, Lee Bowyer to Rovers can only be a good thing! :D :D

20/11/2012, 5:08 PM
I saw David Batty being linked to Dundalk, on Twitter I think. That might have been somebody taking the **** mind you, I wasn't paying full attention, I was supposed to be working.

20/11/2012, 5:57 PM
A 43 year old who's been retired since 2004. ;P