View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours
adamd164
19/01/2013, 1:27 PM
Apologies if this has been posted but Dave O'Leary signed a new deal at Limerick, as expected http://www.limerickfc.ie/dave-oleary-signs
No way either us or Derry were going to pay compensation fee.
bullit
19/01/2013, 1:30 PM
Apologies if this has been posted but Dave O'Leary signed a new deal at Limerick, as expected http://www.limerickfc.ie/dave-oleary-signs
Derry wouldnt pay a compo fee if we where to be here all day.Stingy B'stards holding up Griffins signing.Tight in Derry
19/01/2013, 1:37 PM
Delighted with this.
The clubs must have thought about paying a fee otherwise they never would have even considered signing him.
Pat Purcell also re-signed http://www.limerickfc.ie/terms-agreed
thomas72
19/01/2013, 6:55 PM
Dave o leary is a top top player delighted he resigned i think he will be twice as good next season been givin more time on the ball in the premier. That's Stephen Bradley Joe gamble Dave o leary done good strong midfield keep um coming :-)
19/01/2013, 6:58 PM
Stingy B'stards holding up Griffins signing.Tight in Derry
Damn right too. IMO, we shouldn't be paying fees to anyone.
19/01/2013, 6:59 PM
Damn right too. IMO, we shouldn't be paying fees to anyone.
No club in this League should be paying fees for players.
19/01/2013, 7:12 PM
I've heard hes not at all happy in Limerick, and that is why he switched from UL to UCC and would much rather be in Cork.
report limerick to the pfai there for snatching a child off the streets of cork as a 16 yo and signing him first as an amateur then on pro terms and now and extension to his existing contract. Dont think he ever went to UL either always been at UCC since he went to college. Maybe now that DOL has signed with Limerick maybe the cork lads will relax with the posts about them :) i mean Denis Behan being released has freed up two grand a week to Taylors 2.2 million daily budget
adamd164
19/01/2013, 7:24 PM
Please god let us not sign Behan. Since the day he left us I've been hoping there'd be enough mugs out there to take him on. Waste of space.
19/01/2013, 11:49 PM
Please god let us not sign Behan. Since the day he left us I've been hoping there'd be enough mugs out there to take him on. Waste of space.
Did a job for us. Scored plenty for the rest of the season when he signed for us first and was workman like in a lot of games doing the crappy work no-one else noticed last season.
bullit
20/01/2013, 9:05 AM
Mark Rossiter tweeted that he's signed for Dundalk.
Mark Rossiter @rossi3234
(https://twitter.com/rossi3234)Have just signed for Dundalk :-)
Nailor
20/01/2013, 12:01 PM
A nice pic for Pat's fans :)
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/72952_10152433726175858_1186019732_n.jpg
noddy102
20/01/2013, 12:07 PM
A nice pic for Pat's fans :)
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/72952_10152433726175858_1186019732_n.jpg
Whats going on with Fahey exactly? Still on leave from Birmingham? Is he likely to move home?
Nailor
20/01/2013, 12:24 PM
Whats going on with Fahey exactly? Still on leave from Birmingham? Is he likely to move home?
Not sure really, I heard he's just training with the Hoops to get fitness back before he heads back over. Strange one alright.
colonelwest
20/01/2013, 2:21 PM
He's back over in Birmingham now, probably just keeping his fitness up while he was home.
20/01/2013, 5:01 PM
He's back over in Birmingham now, probably just keeping his fitness up while he was home.
According to Birmingham he's doing a full pre-season with Rovers.
20/01/2013, 5:28 PM
Ye Birmingham released a statement the other day to say he was returning to England after personal leave due to a family Emergency but he would train with Rovers first to get back up to speed.
20/01/2013, 5:36 PM
You sir.....
According to Birmingham he's doing a full pre-season with Rovers.
Ye Birmingham released a statement the other day to say he was returning to England after personal leave due to a family Emergency but he would train with Rovers first to get back up to speed.
...have, according to the internet kids, just been pwned.
colonelwest
20/01/2013, 7:29 PM
You sir.....
...have, according to the internet kids, just been pwned.
Eh... No. You musn't get out of foot.ie much if you consider that a pwning, try broadening the auld horizons. Also who even uses that term anymore? Need to get with the times, the internet kids as you call them have moved on, you should have checked with them first. Try urban dictionary to update your internet vocabulary there fella. I was considering calling you a n00b but seeming as it's not 2005 anymore I'll not bother. Keep trying though, maybe one day you'll figure it out.
20/01/2013, 8:20 PM
Eh... No. You musn't get out of foot.ie much if you consider that a pwning, try broadening the auld horizons. Also who even uses that term anymore? Need to get with the times, the internet kids as you call them have moved on, you should have checked with them first. Try urban dictionary to update your internet vocabulary there fella. I was considering calling you a n00b but seeming as it's not 2005 anymore I'll not bother. Keep trying though, maybe one day you'll figure it out.
Shut up nerd.
20/01/2013, 8:21 PM
Nerdfight!!!!!
bullit
20/01/2013, 8:40 PM
Hate that 'Pwned' word with my life.Same way as i hate people who tag words with # even when their not on Twitter or on Facebook i hate the 'oh i'm dying.com' crap too !
Hate that shoite .com #Pwned
20/01/2013, 8:47 PM
#getaroom #nerds #soooolame
20/01/2013, 9:30 PM
Hate that 'Pwned' word with my life.Same way as i hate people who tag words with # even when their not on Twitter or on Facebook i hate the 'oh i'm dying.com' crap too !
Hate that shoite .com #Pwned
For the record, I hate that word too. As with 99% of internet and text language.
I did get a giggle out of colonelwest lecturing me on it though. Lolz.
The clubs must have thought about paying a fee otherwise they never would have even considered signing him.
I'm sure they tried negotiating with Limerick but if nothing was agreed the fee set by a tribunal would have been too high.
Nathan Murphy to sign for a bigger Division 1 team this week. I suspect Athlone.
21/01/2013, 7:11 AM
I suspect Athlone.
That's usually wise.
They are only bigger this year because of Roddys ego and spending power.
21/01/2013, 12:00 PM
Davy McDaid saying in today's Derry News that he's leaving us. Doesn't say to where though. Sligo maybe?
dcfc_1928
21/01/2013, 12:45 PM
The Sentinel reckons he's heading to York City
Davy McDaid saying in today's Derry News that he's leaving us. Doesn't say to where though. Sligo maybe?
Flexy
21/01/2013, 12:54 PM
Hes over rated. Let him go to England or where ever hes just not good enough, Thanks for the Loyality David
21/01/2013, 1:46 PM
I'm sure they tried negotiating with Limerick but if nothing was agreed the fee set by a tribunal would have been too high.
Ya thats what I was saying. To say neither club was never going to pay compensation was wrong as they knew from the get go some kind would be due to Limerick and College Corinthians if they signed O'Leary.
El-Pietro
21/01/2013, 2:04 PM
Pretty sure City were looking for loopholes
21/01/2013, 2:29 PM
Pretty sure City were looking for loopholes
I'd say a year out of LOI is about the only way around it.
El-Pietro
21/01/2013, 3:00 PM
I'd say a year out of LOI is about the only way around it.
well it is now, there was hope that Limerick might have messed up (not in the offer) and that hed be allowed move for free.
Biggest rumour of the pre-season. Maxi has come full circle!
Guess who has just been made a Fire safety officer for his block of apartments !!
http://i45.tinypic.com/chmqb.jpg
21/01/2013, 3:08 PM
Hes over rated. Let him go to England or where ever hes just not good enough, Thanks for the Loyality David
If he's not good enough why is leaving disloyal?
21/01/2013, 3:16 PM
From Twitter:
Gavin McLaughlin @McLaughlinGavin
Ex @DundalkFC striker Marc Griffin's proposed move to @derrycityfc is in doubt. Sligo Rovers and Limerick are now in discussions to sign him
Jordan keegan re-signs for Pats after spells with monaghan and scunthorpe
21/01/2013, 4:04 PM
Good signing for yous. Thought he had the talent to make it in England but maybe there were other things going on.
Predator
21/01/2013, 5:07 PM
Hes over rated. Let him go to England or where ever hes just not good enough, Thanks for the Loyality DavidAh come on, 17 goals isn't a bad return by any standard. McDaid's decent. He is a worker.
21/01/2013, 5:09 PM
Jordan keegan re-signs for Pats after spells with monaghan and scunthorpe
I thought Roddy said that in his column in the star today that he was comin to Athlone town??:confused:
21/01/2013, 5:51 PM
Ah come on, 17 goals isn't a bad return by any standard. McDaid's decent. He is a worker.
Funny, compared to how lazy and uninterested he was at Harps. Potential, but his attitude stinks.
21/01/2013, 6:06 PM
I thought Roddy said that in his column in the star today that he was comin to Athlone town??:confused:
Roddy says a lot of things. He might be going on loan I suppose.
adamd164
21/01/2013, 11:59 PM
Darren Meenan of Pats said on Twitter that he's meeting us on Wednesday for talks..
ATFC-1887
22/01/2013, 12:19 AM
Presuming this is a joke ??
Roddy's a big fan of Keegan, but he won't be going on loan to Athlone.
Hope Meenan picks up a club soon. As long as he's available there's the nagging doubt he'll come back
adamd164
22/01/2013, 9:57 AM
Has Vinny Faherty re-signed for Pats? Probably irrelevant as I doubt we can afford him, but I remember he was due to train with us last summer at one stage.
22/01/2013, 10:14 AM
No, he hasn't signed for anybody. Hasn't been training with us either
He's an OK player that can doa job for most teams in the league IMO
Aaron
22/01/2013, 10:29 AM
Thomas Crawley to sign a 1 year deal with us today
adamd164
22/01/2013, 10:30 AM
I'd certainly take Faherty over Behan. Tommy Dunne, if you're listening.:)