View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours
26/10/2012, 10:32 AM
You're deluded if you think Limerick will be offering better wages than Cork.
Joey didn't come back to Limerick for pittance but I did hear he has spoken to Tommy.
I know Joe is involved in coaching with College Corinthians, wasn't he doing something similar at UL?
Tommy is given a budget and it's up to him to work within that.
As for Behan :D , ye can keep him.
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2012, 11:46 AM
Joey didn't come back to Limerick for pittance but I did hear he has spoken to Tommy.
I know Joe is involved in coaching with College Corinthians, wasn't he doing something similar at UL?
As for Behan :D , ye can keep him.
No he came to Limerick to actually get paid and he will never be owed a cent by us which cant be said for his time at Cork.
26/10/2012, 11:48 AM
From what i've heard most of Bray's players want to re-sign for next season, a few will be leaving though. Mulroy has been offered a scolarship to Florida so think he is taking up the offer. Waters has been linked to Shamrock Rovers but IMO he would be mental to move to them, if he wants games then Bray is the place for him for at least another season.
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2012, 11:51 AM
Is Gavin Kavanagh at Cork any good this season?
26/10/2012, 12:27 PM
Is Gavin Kavanagh at Cork any good this season?
Nah, brutal .... Dan Murray on the other hand ...
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2012, 1:56 PM
Nah, brutal .... Dan Murray on the other hand ...
Ah na ye won Dan fair and square this season ye should hold onto him. Hows Davin O'Neill doing?
26/10/2012, 3:20 PM
More deluded cultists.
Joe was bitten about nineteen times by various Cork Citys in that past.
A choice between Pat O'Sullivans Limerick and FORAS's second year at Cork was absolutely no choice for a fella with his history.
A budget which he used to outbid massive, huge money spending Limerick for Vinny Sullivan and Derek O'Brien at the start of last season. (TRU FACTZ)
Not to mention Dan Murray and Colin Healy at the start of this season. (God help us)
As for Behan :D , ye can keep him
Not sure on the smiley face, 16 goals in 36 starts was far better than I expected from him and he served a purpose this year, won us a crucial game in Longford.
As for ye can keep him - Ya we can if we want. Or we can let him go. Choice is a beautiful thing.
In summary - It's clear to anyone who cares to have eyes to see that Cork have a bigger budget than Limerick. Tommy Dunne chooses to spend it on rubbish ----- Tommy Dunne once cribbed in the paper about Limerick ----- Cork fans crib about Limerick.
Because it's like a cult innit. :ball:
26/10/2012, 7:16 PM
Looks like Simon Madden is leaving us.
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/simon-s-cup-final-swansong-1-4415499
bluewhitearmy
26/10/2012, 7:19 PM
Looks like Simon Madden is leaving us.
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/simon-s-cup-final-swansong-1-4415499
Another one for Rovers maybe.
26/10/2012, 11:46 PM
No he came to Limerick to actually get paid and he will never be owed a cent by us which cant be said for his time at Cork.very true, very true. Can't blame Joey for wanting guaranteed wages.
27/10/2012, 10:17 AM
Joe was bitten about nineteen times by various Cork Citys in that past.
A choice between Pat O'Sullivans Limerick and FORAS's second year at Cork was absolutely no choice for a fella with his history.
Don't know what the cult references are all about but it does seem like i've hit a nerve.
Again as I said previously no problem with a guy with a young family getting the best deal for himself.
Guaranteed wages should be a given in any walk of life, no matter who is guaranteeing them.
A budget which he used to outbid massive, huge money spending Limerick for Vinny Sullivan and Derek O'Brien at the start of last season. (TRU FACTZ)
Not to mention Dan Murray and Colin Healy at the start of this season. (God help us).
Dan Murray had a poor year and is probably finished but Healy proved this year what a class act he is.
Injured for a bit but still one of the top players in the league.
I'll take your word on the outbidding bit.
Does the fact you only put capital letters after the Vinny & Derek bit mean we didn't outbid you for Murray and Healy?
Not sure on the smiley face, 16 goals in 36 starts was far better than I expected from him and he served a purpose this year, won us a crucial game in Longford.Oh well if he's that vital you should defniitely keep him. "CLASS ACT"
In summary - It's clear to anyone who cares to have eyes to see that Cork have a bigger budget than Limerick. Tommy Dunne chooses to spend it on rubbish ----- Tommy Dunne once cribbed in the paper about Limerick ----- Cork fans crib about Limerick.
I don't know what Limericks budget is.
I don't know what Cork Citys budget is.
Nor do I care.
Interesting that you know Tommy has spent his money on rubbish, have you seen many City games this or last season?
I have never cribbed about Limerick and am delighted you got promotion, looking forward to a few derbies next season.
patrickccfc
30/10/2012, 11:28 AM
looking forward to the games against limerick.. limerick at home first game would be great now
30/10/2012, 5:46 PM
Another one for Rovers maybe.
I'd be surprised if he wasn't being lined up, especially as he's a local boy and ex-player. The fact Kenny didn't sign him when he was obviously already on Derry's radar when he left is baffling, but then again so is everything else he did.
bluewhitearmy
01/11/2012, 4:10 PM
Story in the sun that Limerick after Evan McMillan, Keith Ward, Derek Pender and Dave Mulcahy any Bohs fans tell me what they have been like recently? Ive only seen them on all 5 or 6 times properly.
01/11/2012, 4:38 PM
Guaranteed wages should be a given in any walk of life, no matter who is guaranteeing them.
Agreed.
Does the fact you only put capital letters after the Vinny & Derek bit mean we didn't outbid you for Murray and Healy?
Outbid for Healy AFAIK, didn't make Murray an offer after having a look at him.
Oh well if he's that vital you should defniitely keep him. "CLASS ACT"
He'll be doing well I'd say.
Interesting that you know Tommy has spent his money on rubbish
I was refering to the "spine"of Murray, Healy and Parker.
I was under the mistaken impression that Healy was still crocked.Cheerfully withdrawn.
looking forward to the games against limerick.. limerick at home first game would be great now
I never thought I'd see the day. :p
Story in the sun that Limerick after Evan McMillan, Keith Ward, Derek Pender and Dave Mulcahy any Bohs fans tell me what they have been like recently? Ive only seen them on all 5 or 6 times properly.
There was a story in the sun about Gaffney moving to Derby for eleven puonds during the summer aswell.
Garbage.
Anyway, rumours, rumours......
A carload of Pats players to Shamrock.
Shaun Kelly to Sligo.
Mark Griffin to Shels.
bluewhitearmy
01/11/2012, 4:49 PM
There was a story in the sun about Gaffney moving to Derby for eleven puonds during the summer aswell.
Garbage.
Anyway, rumours, rumours......
A carload of Pats players to Shamrock.
Shaun Kelly to Sligo.
Mark Griffin to Shels.
Tis only rumours no harm in asking.
01/11/2012, 4:51 PM
I'm not giving out to you at all man.
Like those three rumours I posted for example - completely made up. :ball:
bluewhitearmy
01/11/2012, 4:54 PM
I'm not giving out to you at all man.
Like those three rumours I posted for example - completely made up. :ball:
I'm just bored in the off season so any chance to talk about us ill take it :p. Wouldn't mind of the McMillan and Pender bit was true being honest.
Another doing the rounds was Aidan Price to Limerick.
01/11/2012, 4:58 PM
Another doing the rounds was Aidan Price to Limerick.
Now there's a likely one. :frown:
bluewhitearmy
01/11/2012, 5:04 PM
Now there's a likely one. :frown:
Slow immobile centre back, just what we need :cool:.
Have to wait another week or two to see who gets Cork player of the year too.
Dalymountrower
01/11/2012, 6:00 PM
Probably Scully winding up Bohs fans.Mc Millan allegedly gone to Tallaght, wouldnt think that the other three would be in demand
total hoofball
01/11/2012, 6:27 PM
Word on the (LOI) streets, may contain bull****
Christy Fagan and Luke Byrne to Shamrock Rovers
Marty Waters and Ryan Brennan to Pats
Dean Kelly and Pat Flynn to Bohs
Marc Griffin and Derek Pender to Drogs
Stephen Rice to Shels
Tadgh Purcell to Limerick or back to Cork
01/11/2012, 6:37 PM
Tadgh Purcell to Limerick or back to Cork
I smell a ten page thread.
02/11/2012, 12:46 AM
Crolly gets the nod at Shamrock.
Major belt tightening coming up??
Or a clever ploy to steal some lovely cheap Pats players??
Or both??
02/11/2012, 1:05 AM
Where did you hear that?
bluewhitearmy
02/11/2012, 1:09 AM
Where did you hear that?
Heard from a Rovers player that there is strong talk of Croly and Hawkins being the management team myself.
02/11/2012, 1:09 AM
A buddy in Dublin.
He's generally fairly good, knows a few agents and the like.
02/11/2012, 1:13 AM
I had heard the Croly/Hawkins rumour alright but didn't know it was confirmed. I assume nothing will be announced before the Cup Final. Seems slightly odd that the club would be unsettling the Pats coaching staff ahead of the match considering European football depends on them winning.
02/11/2012, 1:18 AM
That was my reaction as well to be honest.
Could be being put about by someone to upset Pats for their own agenda.
Adopted son of Derry Stephen Kenny maybe. :)
02/11/2012, 12:06 PM
Just came across this interview with danny ventre where he says he is in talks with sligo and a number of other clubs, wonder who they could be? http://www.facebook.com/notes/football-news/danny-ventre-exclusive-interview/548563455169146
Henry
02/11/2012, 12:12 PM
I heard Croly got the job in rovers. But dont know when they will announce it. But knowing rovers they will probably do it before Sunday. Not thinking of Europe. But heard there is trouble in the Pats camp.
02/11/2012, 2:01 PM
Sligo Rovers manager Ian Baraclough has confirmed that John Dillon, Liam Buchanan and Mark McGoldrick have left the club.
Are any of those lads any good? McGoldrick was poor when with us on loan if I recall correctly.
02/11/2012, 2:34 PM
Russell was always good anytime I saw him for Sligo. Maybe with Lynch and Cawley (presumably) on board the club doesn't see a need for him anymore. I didn't see much of Buchanan but I was under the impression he was brought in with a view to next season, but perhaps he sees himself getting a better deal in Scotland. I don't know anything about McGoldrick.
PartySaint
02/11/2012, 2:36 PM
Russell was always good anytime I saw him for Sligo.
Even better with Pats
redobit
02/11/2012, 2:42 PM
Russell was always good anytime I saw him for Sligo. Maybe with Lynch and Cawley (presumably) on board the club doesn't see a need for him anymore. I didn't see much of Buchanan but I was under the impression he was brought in with a view to next season, but perhaps he sees himself getting a better deal in Scotland. I don't know anything about McGoldrick.
His contract was only until the end of the season. He was brought in to replace North but never got the chance with Quigley playing so well and manger playing only one up front.
02/11/2012, 2:43 PM
Even better with Pats
Oops. Dillon even. I always confuse them.
redobit
02/11/2012, 2:43 PM
Even better with Pats
Easily one of my favourite Rovers players. Did he play much for Pats. The ankles could be better.
02/11/2012, 3:07 PM
Buchanan looked decent when I saw him play perhaps lacking slightly in match fitness but could do a job for someone in this league I think.
atfconline
02/11/2012, 3:09 PM
Are any of those lads any good? McGoldrick was poor when with us on loan if I recall correctly.
I'd say you recall correctly, hope he doesn't think he's staying with us!
PartySaint
02/11/2012, 3:18 PM
Easily one of my favourite Rovers players. Did he play much for Pats. The ankles could be better.
Has been injured for the last 2 months but was absolutely class before that. He's our Iniesta.
shellyriver
02/11/2012, 6:44 PM
Sligo Rovers manager Ian Baraclough has confirmed that John Dillon, Liam Buchanan and Mark McGoldrick have left the club.
Genuinely sorry to hear that John Dillon is leaving. A gifted player with wonderful guile on ball, elusive and swift, and terrific at threading through seemingly impossible passes.
His main problem was that he would give ball away too easy. In short he was a flair-player and very often players weren't on his wave-length. Further he had to contend for a place in midfield with Ritchie Ryan at his best and didn't get a deserved run-out. As for the current squad I would have him ahead of Cawley, Connolly, Lynch and Joe N'Do or Millien. He is a vastly superior player to Ventre, who though honest doesn't have anything like Dillon's talent.
Dillon's goal against Shams last season was pure class and why he didn't get more of a run this season, baffled me.
It was his dynamic play (when we were utterly without ideas against St Pats) that resulted in the penalty.
He was imo the only player who could come off the bench and create a bit of buzz.
I hope he can get into a decent side in Ireland or UK and does well into future - a guy with his talent deserves better recognition of his ability.
While we have won the League this season, the quality of play was no where near as good as last season's, and it was North and Quigley that were the difference.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/11/2012, 11:04 PM
Well written John.....
roversforever
03/11/2012, 8:25 AM
Genuinely sorry to hear that John Dillon is leaving. A gifted player with wonderful guile on ball, elusive and swift, and terrific at threading through seemingly impossible passes.
His main problem was that he would give ball away too easy. In short he was a flair-player and very often players weren't on his wave-length. Further he had to contend for a place in midfield with Ritchie Ryan at his best and didn't get a deserved run-out. As for the current squad I would have him ahead of Cawley, Connolly, Lynch and Joe N'Do or Millien. He is a vastly superior player to Ventre, who though honest doesn't have anything like Dillon's talent.
Dillon's goal against Shams last season was pure class and why he didn't get more of a run this season, baffled me.
It was his dynamic play (when we were utterly without ideas against St Pats) that resulted in the penalty.
He was imo the only player who could come off the bench and create a bit of buzz.
I hope he can get into a decent side in Ireland or UK and does well into future - a guy with his talent deserves better recognition of his ability.
While we have won the League this season, the quality of play was no where near as good as last season's, and it was North and Quigley that were the difference.
Ah here what team have you been watching...better than Ndo,Lynch,Cawley??JD is a good footballer but he seems to be lacking drive at times.He's the sort of player that has loads of ability but needs a kick up the ass at timesHe's been here i think 3 seasons now?And still hasn't delivered on his potential.He's hardly played this season,he did well in the pats game but out from that he was poor in the few outings he had and I don't think it was a surprise to anybody that he was let go.
shellyriver
03/11/2012, 12:51 PM
Ah here what team have you been watching...better than Ndo,Lynch,Cawley??JD is a good footballer but he seems to be lacking drive at times.He's the sort of player that has loads of ability but needs a kick up the ass at timesHe's been here i think 3 seasons now?And still hasn't delivered on his potential.He's hardly played this season,he did well in the pats game but out from that he was poor in the few outings he had and I don't think it was a surprise to anybody that he was let go.
I am not surprised he has gone but not for the reasons which you feel are important, indeed, it is possible the only reason he stayed on probably this season was the prospect of a decent run out.
In truth, we have been poor, lethargic and lacking any creative football in latter half of this season. As I said North and Quigley have papered over the fundamental cracks with this side.
The team's reputation hangs on their wonderful football of the previous two seasons.
As stated Cawley only plays back-ways, N'Do is completely self indulgent, holds up play and allows opposition to reform and Lynch is ok going forward but is clueless in defence, and will never, ever, turn a game on its head. Young Connolly was getting in ahead of him, which can hardly have done much for Dillon's morale.
Baraclough simply stuck to Cook's formula - but his has imploded this season with players simply playing without cohesion - without the likes of Keane and/or Davoren the engines giving you basically extra men in midfield and solid defenders.
The only time Rovers are a potent threat is when Gavin Peers is at half way line and we have actually pushed up -- left open to counter-attack with probably 80% of goals coming through pi+s-poor "defending" involving Ventre or God Help Me Gaynor.
We simply don't have a real midfield presence - with Quigley expected to link from midfield to upfront and considering he is mercurial ie blows hot or cold, you won't get the engine that Dillon had.
I would imagine it was Dillon who decided to leave and Baraclough and Committee (ie Mr Kelly) considering they won't up the stakes will do well to find a player of Dillon's quality -- particularly compounded if Quigley decides he wants to leave.
As there are good players in LOI, now that we are in a position to bring in domestic talent, I didn't like Baraclough talking shipping them in from England etc, etc.
Dillon -- who came to the club when it was a virtual non-entity, imo, was class in the said game against Shamrock Rovers, and for him its a pity that the game was at the end of the season and not the beginning - such is life and I hope, as stated, things work out for him elsewhere.
I mean Ventre gets rave reviews from the ill-informed commentators on MNS -- he is dreadful and will soon be found out [I will accept he is a grafter and a very hard-working honest players, but a star of the league he aint] whereas players of genuine talent simply don't fit in and are dispensed off, that's whats happened here.
I wish him the very best.
I've never seen such a beautiful post about such an average footballer
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/11/2012, 4:19 PM
I wish him him the best as well but absolutely no way we should have been killing ourselvea to hold onto him. Been here 3 seasons, under 2 different managers and never established himself in the team fully. His performance in Belfield this year was woeful beyond belief and the main reason he never saw much time on the pitch afterwards.
We played some great football this season at times. We also dug in when needed to to pick up valuable points at other times. The league winning game had bits of both on it.
You sound like you were happier when we were never really threatening for the title like we were the last few seasons but able to play great football cause there was no pressure on us. The only real time we were really in the reckoning under Cook was when we went to Inchicore last season. And lost.
Cook deserves great credit for getting the squad together. Barraclough deserves great credit for moulding them, along with the players he brought in, into league winners.
Dillons lack of any sort of physicality was always a huge issue i think. I don't think you could question his ability on the ball but you need a lot more than that.
The fact is he never did anything to address that either and was the same weed getting pushed around as he was three years ago.
shellyriver
03/11/2012, 6:00 PM
You sound like you were happier when we were never really threatening for the title like we were the last few seasons but able to play great football cause there was no pressure on us. The only real time we were really in the reckoning under Cook was when we went to Inchicore last season. And lost.
Although its ancient history - for me the home game with Derry before the Shams game - was the game inn which Cook essentially bottled it. A frustrating 1-1 when we needed to go for broke and Cook simply caved in and refused to go for broke.
The following game was versus Shams when Dillon played a stormer - that was when the real pressure was on, and in fairness to Dillon he came up trumps. Based on that game alone he deserved a first team place but didn't get it.
I know he played poorly at Belfield and had his critics - but I don't think if fair to rule him out on the basis of one game and I know there were a few boo-boys on his case. The lad has a lot of skill and is a cut-above most when in possession - Baraclough will have done a master-stroke to get a better player, for the same money - I have a feeling that we won't.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/11/2012, 8:13 PM
Sure he didn't even start that game against Shams!
I thought his best performance was up in Tolka in the very first game of this season. Barracloughs first game. He was outstanding that night. That was his chance to nail down a starting spot there and then. He started the next few games but didn't impress and was replaced on a team.