View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

shellyriver
03/11/2012, 9:13 PM
I thought his best performance was up in Tolka in the very first game of this season. Barracloughs first game. He was outstanding that night. That was his chance to nail down a starting spot there and then. He started the next few games but didn't impress and was replaced on a team.

Re the Shams game that was my point (being so influential when he came on) despite being a star turn two games later v Shams in the Cup he didn't start as a first 11 selection.

This season if he was brilliant at the Shels game then shortly afterwards (three games) he wasn't starting as a sub and Raff, Cawley and Lynch given the nod and was effectively shut out. Can he have slumped so badly within these games - I don't believe so.

God know's what was going on in Baraclough's mind when he selected the first 11 against Shelbourne, he hardly knew the players name but my basic point is Dillon didn't get a deserved run-out - as Bara have reinvested his faith in Raff.

On the wider point, the quality of Sligo Rovers this season is far behind the brand of football played in the last two seasons (with the likes of Ryan gone, Doyle in SPL, Green gone, plus Boco, without Keane and Davoren for large sections). This year's side was poorer that last season's and Dillon couldn't even get a sniff. It's not that we were any better but that the opposition were poorer that previous seasons. At least he ended his career with Rovers, playing a key role, ie influential in setting up the league winning goal in a game we should have lost 4-3.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/11/2012, 9:40 PM
He couldn't get a sniff cause he wasn't good enough. Cook didn't think so. Either did Barraclough.

shellyriver
04/11/2012, 5:46 PM
He couldn't get a sniff cause he wasn't good enough. Cook didn't think so. Either did Barraclough.

Cheers for that was wondering what the story was:rolleyes:

04/11/2012, 7:54 PM
I read an interview with Dillon a couple of years back where he basically admitted he couldn't hack it in England because he wasn't strong enough. It seemed to me a remarkably lazy and defeatist attitude for a football to have. When you're given a chance at a (basically) professional set-up like Sligo there should be no excuse for not bulking up while maintaining the technical side of your game.

El-Pietro
05/11/2012, 8:14 AM
Slow immobile centre back, just what we need :cool:.

Have to wait another week or two to see who gets Cork player of the year too.
Vincent Sullivan won it on Saturday night.

shellyriver
05/11/2012, 11:11 AM
I read an interview with Dillon a couple of years back....

Cheers for update, nice to be kept informed:rolleyes:

05/11/2012, 12:49 PM

Abort!! ABORT!!

JC_GUFC
05/11/2012, 1:20 PM
Cheers for update, nice to be kept informed:rolleyes:

More interesting than some of the sh**e you've been spouting! It also is one of the reasons I feel Dillon hasn't made much of an impact at Sligo. I always felt he was a good player against a bad team where he was being given time and space on the ball but was less effective in tight battles and often went missing on the pitch. That said he did make a difference in that game in Tallaght last season and he has enough quality to play in the league so there may be something other than his ability and physicality for him leaving. It will be interesting to see if he stays in LoI or joins a non-league club in England.

El-Pietro
05/11/2012, 2:53 PM
Abort!! ABORT!!
I can tell you he didn't get my vote! I'll drive him to limerick myself if you want him, and that would involve me first learning to drive!

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2012, 2:58 PM

A cunning plan from the lads at Cork after reading my post i see.

El-Pietro
05/11/2012, 3:01 PM
anything to get him out of the first team, which is the same reason we're hoping to get a new first division team.

05/11/2012, 4:19 PM
Croly to be named new Shams boss as per RTÉ in the last 15min so no doubt that news is hours old.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2012/1105/344361-hoops-set-to-name-croly-as-boss/

JC_GUFC
05/11/2012, 5:12 PM
Croly to be named new Shams boss as per RTÉ in the last 15min so no doubt that news is hours old.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2012/1105/344361-hoops-set-to-name-croly-as-boss/

It's strange that they've gone for someone with no managerial experience at all. He'd know most of the players from a couple of seasons though but still taking a bit of a chance.

06/11/2012, 9:24 AM
It's strange that they've gone for someone with no managerial experience at all. He'd know most of the players from a couple of seasons though but still taking a bit of a chance.

Sign of budgetary contraints I'd imagine.

shellyriver
06/11/2012, 11:12 AM
More interesting than some of the sh**e you've been spouting! It also is one of the reasons I feel Dillon hasn't made much of an impact at Sligo. I always felt he was a good player against a bad team where he was being given time and space on the ball but was less effective in tight battles and often went missing on the pitch. That said he did make a difference in that game in Tallaght last season and he has enough quality to play in the league so there may be something other than his ability and physicality for him leaving. It will be interesting to see if he stays in LoI or joins a non-league club in England.

Wow, how insightful:rolleyes:

06/11/2012, 11:20 AM
Wow, how insightful:rolleyes:

Wow, you're taking this John Dillon stuff personally!

Maybe he asked to leave Sligo to get away from you?

thomas72
06/11/2012, 12:04 PM
Limerick in talks with Sean mcguire of waterford (sorry for spelling)

White Horse
06/11/2012, 12:07 PM

Decent player, when he stays on his feet.

CraftyToePoke
06/11/2012, 1:04 PM
Has anyone heard that Kevin Feely (Bohs) is heading for Peterborough?

06/11/2012, 1:11 PM
Feely is still on Everton's radar apparently, along with Forrester: http://efcfeelinblue.com/moyes-hoping-to-bring-in-two-more-irishmen/

Shelsred
06/11/2012, 2:52 PM
Heard rumours that Kevin Dawson and Philly Hughes are heading to Drogs next season. Not sure how true it is tbh, if Daws was to leave we'd be rightly f***ed though

poster
06/11/2012, 5:29 PM
I mean Ventre gets rave reviews from the ill-informed commentators on MNS -- he is dreadful and will soon be found out

Yep, just here the six season now. He'll get found out any day.

Calcio Jack
06/11/2012, 6:32 PM
Sign of budgetary contraints I'd imagine.

Sorry to disappoint you but it's not...we've still buckets of money by LOI standards in the bank -albeit another couple of seasons like the one just finished and even we'd struggle.

06/11/2012, 6:34 PM
Sorry to disappoint you but it's not...we've still buckets of money by LOI standards in the bank -albeit another couple of seasons like the one just finished and even we'd struggle.
That'd be two whole buckets then.

redobit
06/11/2012, 6:40 PM
shellyriver. Do you remember the Cork game at home? Dillon came on and gave away the ball 3 or 4 times when all that had to be done was to give a simple pass, and distribution is the best part of his game. He's grand when players stand off him but for tackling, marking and heading he's sadly lacking. Ian gave him a good few chances mid season when we had injuries and he was found wanting most of the time. It must be remembered that he didnt even want to sign for us at the start of the season and came back when nothing else happened for him.

That said Id still like to thank him for his service to the club. He has done pretty well overall and has scored some important goals for the club. Goals against Athlone in the Cup, away to Shams and and pitched in with a few at the start of last season come to mind.

06/11/2012, 7:04 PM
Heard rumours that Kevin Dawson and Philly Hughes are heading to Drogs next season. Not sure how true it is tbh, if Daws was to leave we'd be rightly f***ed though

The way I hears it told on the pitch is the least of your worries.

Crolly gets the nod at Shamrock.

Major belt tightening coming up??

Or a clever ploy to steal some lovely cheap Pats players??

Or both??

Try days old. :cool:

Stay tuned for more exclusives.

06/11/2012, 7:22 PM
Sorry to disappoint you but it's not...we've still buckets of money by LOI standards in the bank
How many buckets is Stephen Kenny suing ye for?

Calcio Jack
06/11/2012, 7:46 PM
How many buckets is Stephen Kenny suing ye for?

What he'll settle for is what counts - and we'll still have the type of funds left the rest of the league can only dream of - but we'll still maintain prudent conservative budgets for the very reason we've experienced this year with that villiage idiot Kenny .

oriel
06/11/2012, 8:01 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-part-company-with-kierans/

I think he would have made a great coach with us, but I wasn't really expecting him to be in contention for the main job, deep down I don't think he was either.

Still I was surprised at the speed of the announcement though.

06/11/2012, 8:25 PM
What he'll settle for is what counts - and we'll still have the type of funds left the rest of the league can only dream of
What was it he was on - three year contract? So ye'll be paying out for the last two years. Basically three manager wages next season.

Rolling in cash, so ye are alright.

redobit
06/11/2012, 8:39 PM
What he'll settle for is what counts - and we'll still have the type of funds left the rest of the league can only dream of - but we'll still maintain prudent conservative budgets for the very reason we've experienced this year with that villiage idiot Kenny .

Building a training ground. Paying off SK. No League prizemoney. No European money. Attendances down.

Loads of funds left, ya right.

shellyriver
06/11/2012, 9:05 PM
shellyriver. Do you remember the Cork game at home? Dillon came on and gave away the ball 3 or 4 times when all that had to be done was to give a simple pass, and distribution is the best part of his game. He's grand when players stand off him but for tackling, marking and heading he's sadly lacking. Ian gave him a good few chances mid season when we had injuries and he was found wanting most of the time. It must be remembered that he didnt even want to sign for us at the start of the season and came back when nothing else happened for him.

That said Id still like to thank him for his service to the club. He has done pretty well overall and has scored some important goals for the club. Goals against Athlone in the Cup, away to Shams and and pitched in with a few at the start of last season come to mind.

Fair, point re Cork game and I had conceded at beginning he had a tendency to give ball away cheaply etc, etc.

Anyways, onwards and upwards. Looking forward to Baraclough signing a creative, hard-tackling midfield, obviously a few at Pats would come to mind.

As for the rest of the t*ats whining on about Dillongate, sad, fevered, minds, I truly pity some of you!

Calcio Jack
06/11/2012, 9:11 PM
What was it he was on - three year contract? So ye'll be paying out for the last two years. Basically three manager wages next season.

Rolling in cash, so ye are alright.

Do you seriously think we'll settle for two years salary with him ? If that was the case then why would he be taking a case against us ? Come on now get real, anyway whether you or others want believe we don't have lots of cash is up to you - but the reality is that we do have it- anyway proof will become clear as we over the next few weeks put together a top class squad , we may have had an expensive set back last season but we're still best placed of all clubs financially, support wise and off field structures- anyone who thinks different is kidding themselves and gooduck to them

Ezeikial
06/11/2012, 9:56 PM
Do you seriously think we'll settle for two years salary with him ? If that was the case then why would he be taking a case against us ? Come on now get real, anyway whether you or others want believe we don't have lots of cash is up to you - but the reality is that we do have it- anyway proof will become clear as we over the next few weeks put together a top class squad , we may have had an expensive set back last season but we're still best placed of all clubs financially, support wise and off field structures- anyone who thinks different is kidding themselves and gooduck to them

You could be mistaken for a Bohs fan from the post Sean Conor era

06/11/2012, 10:12 PM

If he gets any kind of an offer from England he will be gone. I'd be shocked if someone over didn't pick him up, especially at his age.

NeverFeltBetter
06/11/2012, 10:18 PM
I have to agree. He must have gotten attention from someone across the water, and he'll only stay if he's a home bird.

If he does stay I can see him coming to Limerick and it would be great - him and Gaffney upfront? Fantastic stuff, start talking about upper table finishes. But I just don't think it's on the cards.

07/11/2012, 2:19 AM

The only idiots are the ones dishing out 3 year managerial contracts in the League of Ireland.

The laundry services of Dublin will be looking over their shoulders...

07/11/2012, 9:17 AM

Thats not what was said at your EGM...

And I've no doubt you'll have the highest wage bill next year too.

But you've still gone for a man with no managerial experience who's walked out on your club before. We'll see how it pans out

Partizan
07/11/2012, 9:56 AM
Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post

Silly season starting early in Limerick.

There is no way he will go there. He will be gone to Everton.

noddy102
07/11/2012, 11:32 AM
could it be possible to put in here or start a new thread showing who has already signed up for each club for next season just to get a rough idea of who is staying where and then who is available? i know there is the transfer thread but perhaps one which shows full squad lists for 2013 as they start to assemble

Hitman
07/11/2012, 11:49 AM
could it be possible to put in here or start a new thread showing who has already signed up for each club for next season just to get a rough idea of who is staying where and then who is available?

Cork City: Gearóid Morrissey, Shane Duggan, Brian Lenihan, Kevin Burns, Daryl Horgan and Kalen Spillane.

http://www.corkcityfc.net/home/2012/11/07/tommy-dunne-on-transfer-targets-and-2013-season/

07/11/2012, 1:28 PM
Silly season starting early in Limerick.

There is no way he will go there. He will be gone to Everton.

Why is it silly season in limerick because its mentioned that Seanie Maguire is in talks with us?

Two comments below it mention he is most likely going to head abroad.

It would be more silly for limerick not to approach a talent like that.

07/11/2012, 1:30 PM
Just came in to say Limerick are talking to no one.

We've not done it before Christmas for years, don't see why this year is any different.

Now there's your fair warning clubs, six weeks to get everyone signed up. :p

07/11/2012, 1:32 PM
I wonder does Partizan find the carry on below in Waterford "silly"?? :bulgy:

07/11/2012, 1:37 PM
Rumours up here that Kenny is talking to Dundalk.

07/11/2012, 1:42 PM
If Kenny wants to get anything from Rovers he'd be wise not to talk to anyone.

GCdfc
07/11/2012, 1:47 PM

Bit harsh on his family and mates.

Partizan
07/11/2012, 1:50 PM
I wonder does Partizan find the carry on below in Waterford "silly"?? :bulgy:

http://www.wlrfm.com/news-and-sport/waterford-sport/166580.html

07/11/2012, 1:51 PM

Only asking really but, let's say his contract was for €1000 a week with Rovers for 3 seasons. Whilst looking for his compensation from Rovers of around €104,000, he takes a job at Dundalk for 2 seasons at €500 a week.
Is he still not entitled to the remaining €52,000 that he would have got had he still been in charge at Rovers?

07/11/2012, 1:57 PM
Only asking really but, let's say his contract was for €1000 a week with Rovers for 3 seasons. Whilst looking for his compensation from Rovers of around €104,000, he takes a job at Dundalk for 2 seasons at €500 a week.
Is he still not entitled to the remaining €52,000 that he would have got had he still been in charge at Rovers?
No. He'd be entitled to some settlement for loss of earning power but not the whole amount, and by talking with other clubs he's showing an intention not to fulfill his contract with Rovers.

Common sense would dictate he make a settlement for part of the amount with Rovers and then speak to other clubs, but if these rumours are true then he's harming his own claim.