View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

ped_ped
03/01/2013, 5:02 PM
what do you mean got back in the game? He's been with limerick for the past 2 seasons.

Ready for it:

WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOSH

03/01/2013, 6:44 PM
I believe he has finished his studies now
He started working in October 2009 (his first week was the day we won the league, and he couldn't out of work early, so he changed in work and his dad gave him a backer on the motorbike out to Athlone!) Must have been doing a Masters if he's only finished studies now?

He's trying to get fit and get the best deal for himself. same as everyone else.
Yeah, I know that, but everyone else isn't on the PFAI team. Always had the PFAI team down as the half-decent players who've usually been released and should be able to get a club but may need to persuade managers that bit more. Didn't think that was the case with Evan.

03/01/2013, 6:45 PM
Do English and Scottish clubs scout the PFAI games?

poster
03/01/2013, 7:21 PM
I think it was a bit of crossed wires. He tweeted something like he'd never go back to his former club and Sligo fans jumped on this thinking he was referring to them.

Of course he was referring to Rovers. He was linked with us in a tabloid a few days after North did his knee, said he'd rather stick needles in his eyes. Tried to fob it off that he wasn't talking about us.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/01/2013, 8:56 PM
I did love someones reply to him when he said he rather stick needles in his eyes

"you'd probably miss"

bluewhitearmy
03/01/2013, 9:40 PM
Didnt know where to put this. Saw this on Twitter Waterford Utd chairman John O'Sullivan talking about Sean Maguire: "I'm a great fan of Lionel Messi. When I look at Seanie, he really reminds me of him." did he actually say that?

03/01/2013, 9:56 PM
Sadly: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20899354

03/01/2013, 10:14 PM
Sadly: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20899354

When's the last time Waterford played in front of 1,800 regularly?

blue til i die
03/01/2013, 10:30 PM
Dont see the problem with the comparison when taken in context.
It would take about three matches to get 1,800.
The funniest though was from the West Ham website saying Maguire finished as joined top scorer "helping Waterford to gain promotion as runners-up".

bullit
04/01/2013, 1:53 AM
Maguire reminded me of Messi in the play-off matches v us alright,he fairly whacked the worst defence in the LOI and got his side promoted....but hey,hype it up like fook.

04/01/2013, 2:08 AM
I'm fairly sure he meant he reminds him of Messi in that he's 3 feet tall and looks about 13.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/01/2013, 6:19 AM
Rory Gaffney heading to us

04/01/2013, 9:46 AM
Maguire reminded me of Messi in the play-off matches v us alright,he fairly whacked the worst defence in the LOI and got his side promoted....but hey,hype it up like fook.

Every club does it. I'm sure we can pick a few from dundalk fans hyping up the likes of Kearns in recent years. No big deal.

04/01/2013, 10:53 AM
Dont see the problem with the comparison when taken in context.
It would take about three matches to get 1,800.
The funniest though was from the West Ham website saying Maguire finished as joined top scorer "helping Waterford to gain promotion as runners-up".

Maybe the BBC were onto the FAI and know something we don't.

Limerick, watch yer gaff!

galwayhoop
04/01/2013, 10:58 AM
Limerick, watch yer gaff!

It appears they didn't and he signed for Sligo...

04/01/2013, 11:09 AM
It appears they didn't and he signed for Sligo...

Still, who knows. The BBC are all-knowing. I would never doubt the veracity of anything from them.

kingpin4
04/01/2013, 11:36 AM
Rory Gaffney heading to us
If that's true, ye have a gotten an unbelievable player. On his day, he is a beast!

dong
04/01/2013, 12:07 PM
I'd like to see how he does in the Premier divison though. It's easy to be a beast in the First division.

04/01/2013, 12:14 PM
I'd like to see how he does in the Premier divison though. It's easy to be a beast in the First division.

Not when you are up against defensive teams all the time. The space in the premier will suit him better. He was at his most dangerous when teams came out and tried to attack.

kingpin4
04/01/2013, 12:17 PM

He battered the rovers centre halves in the cup. We still lost but he beasted the 2 of them all game. Massive loss for Limerick

bluewhitearmy
04/01/2013, 12:27 PM

He will be fine I'm a great fan of Zlatan Ibrahimovic. When I look at Rory, he really reminds me of him.

bluewhitearmy
04/01/2013, 1:11 PM
Just been told now that Gaffney is going on trial with Ross County.

dong
04/01/2013, 1:59 PM
Not when you are up against defensive teams all the time. The space in the premier will suit him better. He was at his most dangerous when teams came out and tried to attack.

Playing for the league champions against more motivated, fitter, stronger and technically better players will allow him more space? Have you seen how teams set up against us in the last couple of years?

bullit
04/01/2013, 2:01 PM
Every club does it. I'm sure we can pick a few from dundalk fans hyping up the likes of Kearns in recent years. No big deal.
No big deal and no ones saying it is,no one at Dundalk ever compared Kearns to Messi ffs,dry up:loser:

Dillonman
04/01/2013, 2:33 PM
loi blog saying there should be addtionsto our playing and non playing squad later today!

04/01/2013, 3:07 PM
No big deal and no ones saying it is,no one at Dundalk ever compared Kearns to Messi ffs,dry up:loser:

No, but quite a few reckoned he was destined for the very top level...

http://foot.ie/threads/148393-This-Years-Crop-(Next-Batch-Bound-For-Cross-Channel-Clubs)

04/01/2013, 3:16 PM
Kearns has stalled but he still has the talent to make the top league over there. Of all the players who've gone from the league to England in recent years, he was always the one who stood out to me.

peterpan
04/01/2013, 6:27 PM

Rory is a class act, lightning fast quality finisher and has a massive throw used properly is worth a couple of goals a season to any team.

04/01/2013, 6:45 PM
Playing for the league champions against more motivated, fitter, stronger and technically better players will allow him more space? Have you seen how teams set up against us in the last couple of years?

Really? You completely forget the First Division that quickly?

colonelwest
04/01/2013, 7:16 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/new-signing-kurtis-byrne/

Ex Hibs striker Kurtis Byrne joins us, cracking signing for the club!

04/01/2013, 8:38 PM
Rory is a class act, lightning fast quality finisher and has a massive throw used properly is worth a couple of goals a season to any team.
Got totally confused and thought you were talking about Rory Delap.

edit: Byrne is a good signing for Dundalk if past LOI strikers who've previously taken a step down to ressurect their careers at Brechin City are anything to go by.

NeverFeltBetter
04/01/2013, 9:22 PM
Gaffney's throwing ability is impressive, but it seemed like Limerick didn't really make the most of it throughout the season. A team that could would have a big advantage.

bullit
05/01/2013, 3:00 AM
No, but quite a few reckoned he was destined for the very top level...

http://foot.ie/threads/148393-This-Years-Crop-(Next-Batch-Bound-For-Cross-Channel-Clubs)

Honestly dude,Ya pick that thread out?No one quotes "Messi" on it.
I think once you see the words "Hype" and "LOI" in a sentence you believe you are free to rampage against what you read.Yes build up the LOI BUT slow down about players.
I remember you saying that Kearns scared the **** out of you and every Pats fan when he went forward,i dont need to quote a thread or a post for that one?

FWIW Kearns has been fooked around by Ferg at Peterboro,sent him on loan to York City and plays well and recalled to Peterboro and then with one only 89th min sub action while there.

liamoo11
05/01/2013, 9:57 AM
Shane murray due to sign for bohs ex sheffield utd fullback played against utd in the fa youth cup final 2 years ago

thomas72
05/01/2013, 11:21 AM
Rory gaffney signs two year contract with limerick

bluewhitearmy
05/01/2013, 12:36 PM
Rory gaffney signs two year contract with limerick

Nothing has been confirmed yet on the radio they said he had signed it a month ago, he hadn't so i wouldn't be taking that as true yet.

05/01/2013, 12:49 PM
Limerick's new Manager

Neil O'Riordan‏ @noriordan

Ex @DroghedaUnited player Stuart Taylor has agreed deal to become @LimerickFCie manager. See @IrishSunSport for details

NeverFeltBetter
05/01/2013, 12:51 PM
Nothing has been confirmed yet on the radio they said he had signed it a month ago, he hadn't so i wouldn't be taking that as true yet.

So weird anyone from the club would say that publicly when it wasn't true. Signing it a month ago I mean.

bluewhitearmy
05/01/2013, 1:06 PM
So weird anyone from the club would say that publicly when it wasn't true. Signing it a month ago I mean.

Ya there has been no mention that the fact he signed a deal isnt true just that the month ago bit isnt.

05/01/2013, 2:24 PM
Limerick's new Manager

Mike Kerley his assistant??

05/01/2013, 2:36 PM
Mike Kerley his assistant??

Mike Kerely assistant and Tommy Barrett Coach supposedly. Having the two of them involved in the first team setup sounds like a good idea to me. Kerely knows the league well and Tommy is a well liked guy amongst players and fans.

It's not the experienced coach we saw them advertise for so it will be interesting to see how they came across Stuart Taylor when they officially announce it.

NeverFeltBetter
05/01/2013, 2:51 PM
I just had a quick glance at Gaffney's Twitter account, when asked if he was being signed by Ross County he said no "I've been injured since September!" I don't know why, but I completely forgot about his injury in all the talk of him heading here or there. It must have been a factor for any club looking to pick him up, what with medicals and all.

05/01/2013, 3:02 PM
He has said he is back running now though which is great. Hopefully it's true about him signing for two years. Finally the ball is rolling now.

thomas72
05/01/2013, 4:49 PM
Pat o Sullivan said on limerick radio this morning that they have agreed term with gaffney a month ago for a couple of seasons and that he will be 100% staying at the club.

bluewhitearmy
05/01/2013, 4:52 PM
Pat o Sullivan said on limerick radio this morning that they have agreed term with gaffney a month ago for a couple of seasons and that he will be 100% staying at the club.

And Rory Gaffney said last week that he had no contact from the club and today that the month ago thing isnt true. So until it is announced officially that he signed it means nothing.

thomas72
05/01/2013, 5:05 PM
And Rory Gaffney said last week that he had no contact from the club and today that the month ago thing isnt true. So until it is announced officially that he signed it means nothing.

gaffney said that to you? well our chairman so just lied on limerick radio.

thomas72
05/01/2013, 5:06 PM
john sullivan @sullo11
If its true what Loi blog is saying about the next limerick manager!! watch out!! Great coach and brilliant man manager !!

bluewhitearmy
05/01/2013, 5:17 PM
gaffney said that to you? well our chairman so just lied on limerick radio.

He didn't say that he the part about him signing wasn't true which is the important bit. He didn't say he had signed either.

Dillonman
05/01/2013, 5:19 PM
john sullivan @sullo11
If its true what Loi blog is saying about the next limerick manager!! watch out!! Great coach and brilliant man manager !!

they said that about sean mccaffrey last year too!

05/01/2013, 5:25 PM
Who is John Sullivan (a LOI player I think?) and how would he know what Stuart Taylor is like?