View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33

27/06/2013, 12:10 PM
Big rumblings in cork as regards unhappy players and people unhappy with Dunnes comments about being glad to see the back of the players for two weeks. Watch this space.

So worth sticking a few quid on UCD tomorrow then?

27/06/2013, 2:08 PM
Philly Hughes to Pats, I hear. Any truth?

27/06/2013, 2:27 PM
Never rated mcdaid and proved right. He should have stayed were he was instead of being greedy

So you never rated him but you wanted him to stay at Derry. Interesting

gufc2000
27/06/2013, 2:34 PM
Never rated mcdaid and proved right. He should have stayed were he was instead of being greedy
Can't blame a fella for seeking a better deal elsewhere. I think what was more surprising is that a club across channel took a punt based on one good season. Don't remember him being too prolific for Derry in the years previous

27/06/2013, 7:37 PM
Philly Hughes to Pats, I hear. Any truth?
saw that in the paper too!

David BOHie
27/06/2013, 10:11 PM
5 out for Bohs since the start of the season. One or two further players may be leaving too. Busy July ahead for Bohs!

Lorcan Shannon has been rumoured to be coming to us from Rovers. Any info on him?

27/06/2013, 10:14 PM
Dundalk fans would know more about Shannon but from what I've seen he's a real talent. He was in the first team squad this season but Croly's policy of not playing any wide midfielders except when he grudgingly calls on Dennehy meant he'd never really get a look in. Impossibly to predict how good he'll be but would definitely fit in at a young Bohs team right now. Unfortunately :)

Flexy
27/06/2013, 10:55 PM
So you never rated him but you wanted him to stay at Derry. Interesting
Hes a decent squad player dodge but wudnt be in the starting 11 every week. I think seeing he never scored for York in his time there shows hes not as good as he think he is

27/06/2013, 10:58 PM
How good does he think he is?

Ezeikial
27/06/2013, 11:26 PM
5 out for Bohs since the start of the season. One or two further players may be leaving too. Busy July ahead for Bohs!

Lorcan Shannon has been rumoured to be coming to us from Rovers. Any info on him?

Lorcan Shannon was hit and miss during his loan period with Dundalk in the 2nd half of last season.

It could hardly have been easy for him, coming into a young and struggling team where confidence was very low, but that did present him with lots of opportunities to get game time. He clearly has potential, is very direct and has decent pace, but I can'to say that he developed significantly over the 4 months he was at Dundalk.

While Bohs may also have a young side, they have a big squad and are certainly not struggling to the extent that Dundalk were last season. Shannon would probably need to make a pretty big improvement to be any real addition to Bohs.

Louth4sam
28/06/2013, 8:29 AM

He didn't seem up to much. Struggled to get in to the worst Dundalk side in years.

White Horse
28/06/2013, 9:39 AM

His attitude was always 100%. Played out wide in a clueless team.

He had to go win the ball and then take on 2-3 defenders in order to get into a position to do any damage.

This years Bohs team is miles better than we were last season. They can pass the ball and if Shannon is used correctly, he could do very well for you.

oriel
28/06/2013, 12:16 PM
I think comments are a little unfair on Shannon, I thought he did really well towards the end. Scored in the play off win at home v Waterford, he just needs games, he's full of energy, I`d say would be a really good move for him and Bohs.

Señor Willy
28/06/2013, 11:13 PM
So the Cork City ship lists even further. From my sources, Tommy won't leave(too proud and all that rubbish) and it will be far too expensive for the club to sack him. Tommy admitted during the week some players easily dislike him and I think a lot came to a head tonight. It's unbelievable how the situation unfolds. Many consequences may lie ahead eg. Very bad league finish, embarrassment, player issues, arguments, bad media, and worst of all either go broke sacking him or go broke keeping him with low attendance.

I foresee the bad times returning to City. It's sad but this is just the tip of the iceberg. You heard it here first.

29/06/2013, 12:29 AM
I only found out the other day that Tommy Dunne is a cousin of Richard's. Comes from a good LOI family too, shame to see him in trouble at Cork because I always thought he was a good manager, but perhaps it's just one of those situations where it's a bad fit.

29/06/2013, 1:04 AM
Problem with fan owned clubs #1: Unrealistic Expectations. *

All the people get to have a moo when common sense dictates at least 90% of people are terrible.

Limerick are in the same rickety form boat as Cork and you could count the number of people calling for Taylors head on the.fingers of.one hand.

I expect the messiah Dolan to wash up any day now on Leeside :bulgy:

Much better off with a series of boom bust benevolent dictators imo.

*see also Stephen Kenny era Shamrock Rovers/The history of Bohemian FC.

29/06/2013, 1:13 AM
Problem with fan owned clubs #1: Unrealistic Expectations. *

All the people get to have a moo when common sense dictates at least 90% of people are terrible.

Limerick are in the same rickety form boat as Cork and you could count the number of people calling for Taylors head on the.fingers of.one hand.

I expect the messiah Dolan to wash up any day now on Leeside :bulgy:

*see also Stephen Kenny era Shamrock Rovers/The history of Bohemian FC.
To be fair, there was nothing unrealistic about the expectations that were placed on Kenny. If he'd actually tried to play decent football like I'm told he is at Dundalk, he'd have got a lot more time at the club, like Croly has. He's a great manager but it was the wrong job for him. And privately-owned clubs aren't immune to the whims of supporters either, as you can see in the sack-happy English Premier League.

29/06/2013, 1:17 AM
Roddy said in todays Westmeath he is hopeful of keeping Coughlan. He also dismissed trying to sign Brian Gartland

Going by Garbhans twitter he played his last game for ye tonight.

peterc1992
29/06/2013, 1:44 AM
Going by Garbhans twitter he played his last game for ye tonight.

Yeah he is gone back.

Ye have a good player on your hands there. Great first touch and passing. Inteligent on the ball and calm with a bit of pace too.

He has won us two penalties in the last two games and he gets in between the lines very well. We will miss his creativity in the second half of the season.

ATFC-1887
29/06/2013, 1:45 AM
Yeh. Hes going back to yerselves. Big big loss for us but Roddy has promised 4 quality signings so things are looking up for us big time.

Bosco
29/06/2013, 11:11 AM
I see Conor Meade has tweeted saying this is his last game for Cobh tonight, who is he going to? I know it's rumoured that Waterford are signing him but they're surely not 2 weeks before a winding up petition is put before a Court?

29/06/2013, 11:20 AM
Have heard cork have made a move for him.

gufcfan
29/06/2013, 12:14 PM
I know it's rumoured that Waterford are signing him but they're surely not 2 weeks before a winding up petition is put before a Court?
Hello Bosco, you seem new to the League of Ireland. Welcome to our community.

29/06/2013, 1:15 PM
Yeh. Hes going back to yerselves. Big big loss for us but Roddy has promised 4 quality signings so things are looking up for us big time.

Going by the rumors you'd imagine 3 of them they are Enda Curran, Derek O'Brien and Jordan Keegan (loan) if ye get them I fully expect ye to win the league. Curran and Gorman would be a class front 2 and with Sweeney playing behind them that team would be full of goals and since ye have the best defence in the league that would be a great mixture.

ATFC-1887
29/06/2013, 1:20 PM
Roddy said in an interview yesterday Longford have entered the race to get curran. Curran himself said he has spoken to roddy a good few times on the phone but hasnt made his mind up yet.

29/06/2013, 1:29 PM
Roddy said in an interview yesterday Longford have entered the race to get curran. Curran himself said he has spoken to roddy a good few times on the phone but hasnt made his mind up yet.

Hmm that explains his tweets :)

ATFC-1887
29/06/2013, 1:32 PM
I don't see anything in his tweets to suggest he is signing for either team haha

29/06/2013, 1:38 PM

Hmm, I thought Tony Cousins was being quite effusive about him on the radio the other day. You'd imagine Athlone would be handier for him if he's Galway based.

ATFC-1887
29/06/2013, 1:40 PM
This is not a dig at Longford but i reckon ye will throw stupid money at him to sign.

29/06/2013, 1:43 PM
Here's the article in question and we will never throw stupid money at a player, we learnt our lessons.

http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2013/06/28/4016483-coughlan-to-sign-out-with-a-bang--roddy/ (http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2013/06/28/4016483-coughlan-to-sign-out-with-a-bang--roddy/)

29/06/2013, 1:48 PM
Here's the article in question and we will never throw stupid money at a player, we learnt our lessons.

http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2013/06/28/4016483-coughlan-to-sign-out-with-a-bang--roddy/ (http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2013/06/28/4016483-coughlan-to-sign-out-with-a-bang--roddy/)

Roddy appears to think we're offering him more than Athlone in any event judging by that article. Whether that's stupid money I don't know. If the paper is saying he's unlikely to sign for Athlone they must have heard that from Roddy. We'll see, he'd be a good addition, would take some of the burden off Davy O'Sullivan.

ATFC-1887
29/06/2013, 1:56 PM
Well id imagine yer highest paid player is alot more than ours. Some of our lads barely get paid 50 euro a week. Curran will be good for whichever one of us he signs for. Any truth to O'Sullivan leaving? Heard Sligo are interested now along with Limerick

bluewhitearmy
29/06/2013, 1:59 PM
Well id imagine yer highest paid player is alot more than ours. Some of our lads barely get paid 50 euro a week. Curran will be good for whichever one of us he signs for. Any truth to O'Sullivan leaving? Heard Sligo are interested now along with Limerick

Was told we were interested alright.

29/06/2013, 2:09 PM
No Sully won't leave he's only focused on promotion, would philly gorman not be getting a reasonable wage up there?

bluewhitearmy
29/06/2013, 2:14 PM
No Sully won't leave he's only focused on promotion, would philly gorman not be getting a reasonable wage up there?

In fairness if Sligo came in for him that could change very quickly.

ATFC-1887
29/06/2013, 2:14 PM
Philly be on 250

29/06/2013, 2:33 PM

Why would he got to sit on the bench at Sligo?

29/06/2013, 2:33 PM
Philly be on 250

Is he the highest earner?

29/06/2013, 2:38 PM

Would they be willing to pay what we'd want for him? Not sure he'd be willing to go full time either. He has a decent, pensionable job with BOI.

bluewhitearmy
29/06/2013, 2:54 PM
Would they be willing to pay what we'd want for him? Not sure he'd be willing to go full time either. He has a decent, pensionable job with BOI.

Ah now that makes a big difference.

Town Legend
29/06/2013, 4:58 PM
Heard Hanley would sell Sully for no less than €100,000. Was talking to Tony Mannion after the game last night and he said Salthill offered Curran to Longford but Cousins turned him down saying he wasn't good enough to get in our team. Mannion said he'll more than likely sign with Athlone. O'Brien to Athlone is unlikely as he said he's just got a new job and has a young family and is happy out playing locally. If true about Cousins turning down Curran I think that will come back to haunt him as from the outset it was plain to see we needed another goalscorer up top with Sully as he can't do it for us every game.

ATFC-1887
30/06/2013, 2:16 AM
Is he the highest earner?
He is indeed

Enruoblehs
01/07/2013, 9:36 AM
Philly Hughes goes out 'on loan' to St. Pats http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=2538

01/07/2013, 9:44 AM
Eamon Zayed was working on his fitness doing the Park Run in Marlay on Saturday. Must be in decent shape too as he was sub 20 minute pace. Will be interesting to see where he ends up, could have a big impact for one of the top clubs.

gormacha
01/07/2013, 10:42 AM
Eamon Zayed was working on his fitness doing the Park Run in Marlay on Saturday. Must be in decent shape too as he was sub 20 minute pace.

That is a decent pace for a non-specialist runner, especially one with such a big frame. 6 minute mileing over 5k.

01/07/2013, 1:13 PM
Jordan Keegan to Dundalk all but confirmed I'm told.

01/07/2013, 1:34 PM
Eamon Zayed was working on his fitness doing the Park Run in Marlay on Saturday. Must be in decent shape too as he was sub 20 minute pace. Will be interesting to see where he ends up, could have a big impact for one of the top clubs.

Was in the Herald last week saying he had offers from both Rovers here and Valetta.

gormacha
01/07/2013, 2:05 PM
Was in the Herald last week saying he had offers from both Rovers here and Valetta.

He doesn't appear to be in any great rush, does he? I didn't think he'd have that luxury. I don't mean that as a reflection on him, just don't expect many to have the financial resources to wait around...

01/07/2013, 2:09 PM
If Shamrock Rovers are in for him I'd imagine it would be more ideal for him to be living back in Dublin.

01/07/2013, 2:15 PM
He doesn't appear to be in any great rush, does he? I didn't think he'd have that luxury. I don't mean that as a reflection on him, just don't expect many to have the financial resources to wait around...
The window only opened today sure.