View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

adamd164
08/11/2012, 6:48 PM
FAO Limerick fans - is it true that players are paid during off-season?

Also rumours Limerick are talking to Sean Maguire of Waterford.

08/11/2012, 6:52 PM
Why would they be paid during the off-season? There's no benefit to club or player doing that.

adamd164
08/11/2012, 6:55 PM
Why would they be paid during the off-season? There's no benefit to club or player doing that.
Why is there no benefit to the players getting paid? Heard at least Gamble and Behan are paid 12 months of year...

Spudulika
08/11/2012, 6:58 PM

If the club want to keep a player under contract so that he doesn't wander off to another club there is.

08/11/2012, 7:02 PM
Why is there no benefit to the players getting paid? Heard at least Gamble and Behan are paid 12 months of year...
I mean if you're paying a player X amount a year, it's cheaper for the club to do it over 40 weeks rather than 52, and the player is free to sign on/seek alternative work over Christmas.

If the club want to keep a player under contract so that he doesn't wander off to another club there is.
No, there are players on multiple-year 40 week contracts. Ronan Finn for one.

adamd164
08/11/2012, 7:12 PM
I mean if you're paying a player X amount a year, it's cheaper for the club to do it over 40 weeks rather than 52, and the player is free to sign on/seek alternative work over Christmas.
I'm not sure, but maybe the club couldn't afford to pay it all in the 40 weeks?

08/11/2012, 7:14 PM
What revenue streams will they have in pre-season that'll allow them to pay in 52 weeks what they can't manage in 40 weeks?

adamd164
08/11/2012, 7:31 PM
What revenue streams will they have in pre-season that'll allow them to pay in 52 weeks what they can't manage in 40 weeks?
It's not like Limerick pay their wages based on their gate receipts anyway! Perhaps O'Sullivan prefers to pay it over the longer time frame based on his earnings..

08/11/2012, 7:34 PM
It's not like Limerick pay their wages based on their gate receipts anyway! Perhaps O'Sullivan prefers to pay it over the longer time frame based on his earnings..
But what's the benefit to him of paying 52 weeks PRSI when he could pay 40?

edit: actually maybe that doesn't matter, I'm not sure.

Spudulika
08/11/2012, 7:35 PM
It could come down to sponsors paying wages (on reduced terms) over the close season. But thanks for that CD, good way to get it done!

adamd164
08/11/2012, 7:36 PM
I dunno what his financial situation is or where he gets the money from, but maybe his income stream requires him to pay it over the longer timeframe. Not a clue.

Any Limerick fans confirm that players get paid in off-season?

08/11/2012, 7:43 PM
But what's the benefit to him of paying 52 weeks PRSI when he could pay 40?

edit: actually maybe that doesn't matter, I'm not sure.
It'd probably only come into consideration when considering social security stamps. But given that the majority of LoI players (including, I'd assume, Limerick players) are part-time, that's probably moot.

kingpin4
08/11/2012, 8:40 PM
I dunno what his financial situation is or where he gets the money from, but maybe his income stream requires him to pay it over the longer timeframe. Not a clue.

Any Limerick fans confirm that players get paid in off-season?

My source said he knows a few have worked their contracts that way. But it was the players who pushed for it, think it was a 40 week contract but spread out over 52 so they would have an income in off season.
The rest are paid from the 1st day of season until the last day. Don't even think they get paid for pre season.

08/11/2012, 9:01 PM
My source said he knows a few have worked their contracts that way. But it was the players who pushed for it, think it was a 40 week contract but spread out over 52 so they would have an income in off season.
The rest are paid from the 1st day of season until the last day. Don't even think they get paid for pre season.
If it's a 40-week contract they're basically paid from week one of the season to the final day, so they'd probably only be paid for one or two (max) weeks of pre-season.

Aaron
08/11/2012, 9:51 PM
Simon Madden been offered a contract at Shamrock Rovers. Wants to stay with us for European football but at the same time wants to be close to his family in Dublin. Will decide in next few days

08/11/2012, 9:53 PM
http://www.pfai.ie/transfer-list

Updated November 7th.

wonder88
08/11/2012, 10:00 PM
Did not know about the multi-year 40 week contract, thanks C Darwin. In the olden days in England and Scotland pre-Jimmy Hill players got paid all year but received a reduced wage wage during the summer (off-season). That is how the likes of Stanley Mathews got paid. Many players then had 'normal jobs' during the summer. Working during the close season may not be such a bad thing for the modern league of Ireland player as when you listen to some of them and Stephen Mcguinness of the PFAI talking, at times you wonder if they are in touch with reality at all.

bluewhitearmy
08/11/2012, 10:03 PM

Well Behan has no contract with us now so he isn't getting paid for sure.

08/11/2012, 10:09 PM
Limericks wage structure is very easy to understand.

Take Joe Gamble on 250 grand a year.

He can choose to have this at 6250 a week for forty weeks or 4807 a week for fifty two weeks.

Entirely up to him.

Some fellas like a wage in the off season I guess.

08/11/2012, 10:21 PM
Just came in to say Limerick are talking to no one.

We've not done it before Christmas for years, don't see why this year is any different.

Now there's your fair warning clubs, six weeks to get everyone signed up. :p

Also rumours Limerick are talking to Sean Maguire of Waterford.

:good:

08/11/2012, 10:24 PM
http://www.pfai.ie/transfer-list

Updated November 7th.

There's a few on there have already resigned for their last club. Deans and Hunt for us for starters, Browne for Pats I think. No point paying attention to the list until January or so.

08/11/2012, 11:42 PM
Harps to sign Richard Brush, John Dillon, Shaun Kelly and Conor Murphy. Big push for promotion next season.

bluewhitearmy
09/11/2012, 1:15 AM
Harps to sign Richard Brush, John Dillon, Shaun Kelly and Conor Murphy. Big push for promotion next season.

Cant see this one happening, he is keen to stay at Limerick from what i hear. If that post isnt serious ill take any abuse im due :o

Mark
09/11/2012, 9:13 AM
There's a few on there have already resigned for their last club. Deans and Hunt for us for starters, Browne for Pats I think. No point paying attention to the list until January or so.

Browne and Fagan have signed back with Pat's; Bermo and Kenna may have also/or very likely too. As others have said, ignore that list till January.

redobit
09/11/2012, 9:41 AM

On that pitch up there. He'd be crying himself to sleep every night ... :p

adamd164
09/11/2012, 1:49 PM
:good:
Grand so, let ye wait til after xmas and we'll mop up the better players around Munster in the meantime. Ta.

bluewhitearmy
09/11/2012, 2:42 PM
Grand so, let ye wait til after xmas and we'll mop up the better players around Munster in the meantime. Ta.

Like who?

09/11/2012, 2:49 PM
Cant see this one happening, he is keen to stay at Limerick from what i hear. If that post isnt serious ill take any abuse im due :o

Just showing how the rumour mill really works.

09/11/2012, 2:51 PM

Agree with this. Would be silly to lose out on a quality signing just because we won't do any business till after Christmas.

David BOHie
09/11/2012, 4:21 PM
Cork City: Gearóid Morrissey, Shane Duggan, Brian Lenihan, Kevin Burns, Daryl Horgan and Kalen Spillane.

http://www.corkcityfc.net/home/2012/11/07/tommy-dunne-on-transfer-targets-and-2013-season/

I don't accept that!

JC_GUFC
09/11/2012, 5:11 PM
Limericks wage structure is very easy to understand.

Take Joe Gamble on 250 grand a year.

He can choose to have this at 6250 a week for forty weeks or 4807 a week for fifty two weeks.

Entirely up to him.

Some fellas like a wage in the off season I guess.

Is it 250k net or gross?

bluewhitearmy
09/11/2012, 6:29 PM
Is it 250k net or gross?

Both, he has 2 contracts.

adamd164
09/11/2012, 9:02 PM
Like who?
I'd take Maguire from Waterford..

patrickccfc
09/11/2012, 9:30 PM
I'd take Maguire from Waterford..
is he gona get us 10-15 goals though? doubt it

09/11/2012, 9:32 PM
*Counting down until Waterford fans log on to say he's far too good for Cork and will be snapped up by an English team*

He probably will go over though he looks very promising for his age.

10/11/2012, 3:01 AM
For a lad that's only 17, he's very promising.

But I do worry that he's being well over-hyped. Didn't look particularly impressive against Harps this season, nor did he look particularly impressive against Dundalk on the telly. He has a hellova lot to learn, has huge potential, but is very predictive at times.

10/11/2012, 8:07 AM

But I do worry that he's being well over-hyped. Didn't look particularly impressive against Harps this season, nor did he look particularly impressive against Dundalk on the telly. He has a hellova lot to learn, has huge potential, but is very predictive at times.

The main worry for him next season I think if he stays in the LOI is he will be a marked man now. Most likely double teamed and being a youngfella teams will try get in his face to knock his confidence a bit. It's always harder the second season.

I still think he is a serious prospect though. Going to England though may ruin him.

White Horse
10/11/2012, 9:22 AM

He has quality. He did well in the first leg, tore our defence to pieces at times (although with 10 men we were unable to double up on him when he drifted into wide areas).

In the second leg, our formation was designed to keep him quiet. It worked a treat. If Waterford had more quality elsewhere, we couldn't have done that.

I hope he gets the move his talent merits. At his age, the next couple of seasons are critical.

10/11/2012, 9:29 AM
Personally I think he's the real deal his hattrick against us was one of the best individual perforamnces ive seen and he was unlucky not to score a couple in the second leg against dundalk.

I think he's England bound but Limerick might turn his head with a big offer.

qwertyger
10/11/2012, 9:36 AM
Personally I think he's the real deal his hattrick against us was one of the best individual perforamnces ive seen and he was unlucky not to score a couple in the second leg against dundalk.

I think he's England bound but Limerick might turn his head with a big offer.

Do you think a young player(in their right mind) would turn down an opportunity from England to sign for Limerick or any other LOI club?

God help us and save us..
Keep those thoughts for your blog.

10/11/2012, 10:32 AM
Its happened before where Englishclubs have come in and offered feck all thinking the attraction of football across the water is enough only to be turned down.

If Limerick offered him enough Im sure he's consider it. A good wage that's guarenteed every week, premier division football etc

qwertyger
10/11/2012, 12:35 PM
Its happened before where Englishclubs have come in and offered feck all thinking the attraction of football across the water is enough only to be turned down.

If Limerick offered him enough Im sure he's consider it. A good wage that's guarenteed every week, premier division football etc

Name the players? Maybe if his only offer was Morecambe or Gateshead he might consider but if any decent club comes in and offered full time football and a chance to develop himself, you honestly think he'll be considering staying in Ireland. Smarten up.

bluewhitearmy
10/11/2012, 12:37 PM
Name the players? Maybe if his only offer was Morecambe or Gateshead he might consider but if any decent club comes in and offered full time football and a chance to develop himself, you honestly think he'll be considering staying in Ireland. Smarten up.

Ronan Finn turned down Crystal Palace.

qwertyger
10/11/2012, 12:40 PM

What a surprise that you commented on this. Link/proof please?

bluewhitearmy
10/11/2012, 12:46 PM
What a surprise that you commented on this. Link/proof please?

Only seen it in a newspaper he said that he would rather stay in Ireland and play in Europe then go to lower leagues England. If i find any link ill throw it up.

There is no hope whatsoever of Maguire turning down the likes of Bristol City and that for Limerick though he would want to be mental.

Ezeikial
10/11/2012, 2:00 PM
Name the players?

Dermot Keely - Glasgow Celtic

Edit: Link - http://www.dundalkfc.com/history/lilywhite-legends/dermot-keely-interview/

10/11/2012, 3:34 PM
Paul Corry turned down Burnley a couple of years ago.

10/11/2012, 6:59 PM
Paddy Madden turned down TNS... :/

http://www.tnsfc.co.uk:7080/news/630-saints-are-just-mad-about-paddy.html

10/11/2012, 7:31 PM
One of the town players (can't say who) turned down a championship club a year or two ago as they only offered him 100 pound a week And he would have to pay his own way over there so he decided to stay at home.

born2bwild
10/11/2012, 8:37 PM
Hey - when he was with Fingal he 'turned down Crystal Palace' too...