View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

20/11/2012, 6:00 PM
I assumed it was as manager tbh..unless Roddy takes over.

20/11/2012, 6:03 PM
I assumed it was as manager tbh..unless Roddy takes over.

Touché.

20/11/2012, 6:05 PM
I saw David Batty being linked to Dundalk, on Twitter I think. That might have been somebody taking the **** mind you, I wasn't paying full attention, I was supposed to be working.
Martin Dahlin and Thomas Brolin to Sligo.

Fivesilver
20/11/2012, 7:42 PM
Bowyer? I doubt it - he'd be far too pleasant and personable to fit in in the corpo ground in Tallaght.

redobit
20/11/2012, 8:25 PM
Off topic but for fixtures next year is it a home and away swap from this season. Or is it a random draw again.

20/11/2012, 8:29 PM
It alternated the last time it was 12 teams, didn't it? It would be silly to do it otherwise, although I suppose we can't rule that out.

dublinred
20/11/2012, 8:40 PM
yes, Lee Bowyer to Rovers can only be a good thing! :D :D
Can't see that one happening get the impression over at Shams that Croly is going to be the head coach, its obvious the board are buying the players expect Roche will be picking the team next season similar to the setup they used to operate at Real Madrid pre-mouriniho.

20/11/2012, 8:44 PM
Being reported that Stephen Kenny to be announced as new Dundalk manager tomorrow.

White Horse
20/11/2012, 8:49 PM
Being reported that Stephen Kenny to be announced as new Dundalk manager tomorrow.

Dundalk fans already expressing disappointment with him. His days are numbered ;)

placid casual
20/11/2012, 8:54 PM
Can't see that one happening get the impression over at Shams that Croly is going to be the head coach, its obvious the board are buying the players expect Roche will be picking the team next season similar to the setup they used to operate at Real Madrid pre-mouriniho.

is the 63.00 in your sig your IQ ?

20/11/2012, 9:21 PM
It alternated the last time it was 12 teams, didn't it? It would be silly to do it otherwise, although I suppose we can't rule that out.

A couple of years ago the first division fixture were to be reversed but for some reason they reversed some and left some the same.

20/11/2012, 9:32 PM
I see from Twitter Shane McFaul is sorting out his new club tonight. Shamrock Rovers?

Edit: St.Pats

20/11/2012, 11:04 PM
Signed for Pats.

patsdad
20/11/2012, 11:06 PM
I see from Twitter Shane McFaul is sorting out his new club tonight. Shamrock Rovers? Confirmed signed for Pats. Some squad being put together - midfield from Russell, Carroll, McFaul, Forrester, Conan Byrne and Brennan, with Bolger, Coombes probably signing and Dawson possibly.

adamd164
21/11/2012, 12:01 AM
A couple of years ago the first division fixture were to be reversed but for some reason they reversed some and left some the same.

It's cos it's the FAI running things.. The same has definitely happened before with Premier fixtures too.

They'll just arrange them whatever way they want. Just be thankful if we see the fixtures in good time, don't push your luck expecting consistency!

White Horse
21/11/2012, 7:33 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/hoops-compensation-opens-oriel-park-doors-for-kenny-3301280.html

DUNDALK are on course to unveil Stephen Kenny as their new manager before the end of the week .

The Dubliner is close to agreeing a compensation package with his former employers, Shamrock Rovers, which will leave him free to take the role. It's anticipated that the process will speed up today. Kenny (right) has already held extensive discussions with the Louth club regarding their plans for 2013.

Spudulika
21/11/2012, 9:14 AM
Projects? i'm intrigued. Please tell us more.

Projects I can't be ott on as they're in negotiation stage (one will come to serious light in January) but the main one is not close to home - and in a place where he's regarded as a god.

He was in the final 3 for the Maltese head coach job but when you realise that the head coach doesn't actually pick the team there, it's not the place to go. He'd been in the final shake up for another international job and turned down an offer, though I'm not sure why he did so.

Pats are building quite the side for 2013!

Conroy
21/11/2012, 10:09 AM
Derry's fans opinons on Stephen Kenny? No point asking the Rovers lads as we know there view but he seemed to be somewhat succesfull with Derry? How was his relationship with the under age set up?

Just looking back at his previous league standing when in charge in the LOI (bar last season) and to me its pretty impressive and its a bit of a coup for us, given the managers we had flaoting about this time last year (Gormely & McCaffery).

A few Home wins, a decent standard of football and a mid table finish will have me happy next season.

21/11/2012, 10:47 AM
Derry's fans opinons on Stephen Kenny? No point asking the Rovers lads as we know there view but he seemed to be somewhat succesfull with Derry? How was his relationship with the under age set up?

It's mixed.
I'm a big fan of his. He done well when he was here.
Some people weren't happy with the manner in which he left the first and second time, but he was looking after his own interests and we'd all have done the same, IMO.

Regarding the underage, we've a few great coaches responsible for them. It's those coaches who have nutured the talent. Kenny did give the younger lads a chance, especially during his second spell, but then again, he didn't really have much of a choice as we'd no money to buy.

He's a good catch for Dundalk and should do well. Just don't let him dictate the budget and ye'll be fine.

colonelwest
21/11/2012, 2:07 PM
Coombes linked with Blackpool in the football 365 gossip column today!

21/11/2012, 3:26 PM
Kenny has agreed compo with Rovers and Dundalk are set to announce a new gaffer anytime now, they just invited all supporters and media to meet the new manager tomorrow afternoon at 2pm.

colonelwest
21/11/2012, 3:36 PM
Kenny has agreed compo with Rovers and Dundalk are set to announce a new gaffer anytime now, they just invited all supporters and media to meet the new manager tomorrow afternoon at 2pm.

Meet and greet in the lilywhite at 7:30pm tomorrow evening. Gary O'Neill rumoured to be heading to us too.

wonder88
21/11/2012, 3:38 PM
Kenny did well at Derry, but it is important to remember that he had the benefit of players who had two contracts for a lot of the time there. Bad move by Shamrock R to sack him so early, before he had a chance to get rid of some of the senior pros there. Next season could be a very competitive league; Pats are putting a good squad together, Tallagh will be full of senior PFAI members, Cork will improve further and both Dundalk and Limerick should have full-time squads. Then you have the two teams who have won the major titles this year and Drogheda. Shelbourne and Bray, along with UCD could struggle. But there might not be any relegation next year to worry about. When was the last time that a team was actually relegated (leave Galway Utd aside since they did not compete the following year) ?

21/11/2012, 3:51 PM
I'd say Waterford Utd were the last team to be relegated and compete in the first division the next season.

21/11/2012, 3:52 PM
all that european money p!ssed away by Rovers yet?

- has been players on big wages
- manager contract
- manager contract settlement
- new short term director of football contract
- new manager & coaching staff contracts
- new players
- decreased crowds
- no European cash this season...

colonelwest
21/11/2012, 3:54 PM

- manager contract
- new players
- decreased crowds

Maybe so but sure they can always get work pulling pints in the Maldron Stu!

21/11/2012, 3:56 PM
how are they for groundskeeping staff? :)

Nailor
21/11/2012, 3:57 PM

- manager contract
- new players
- decreased crowds

It would still be only a fraction of what yous squandered, difference being of course, Rovers spent/wasted/****ed away money they actually have , not borrowed from all and sundry.

colonelwest
21/11/2012, 3:58 PM
I don't think the SDCC parks dept would let them away with that one!

21/11/2012, 4:02 PM

- manager contract
- new players
- decreased crowds
Laws was paid by a sponsor supposedly. It's hard to know how much of the European money has been spent on current expenses, but I think it's obvious this year has taken out a good chunk of it. The club's day to day running is not based on European income though, so the only major unforeseen expense is Kenny's sacking, which isn't going to cost anything close to the figures that have been bandied about.

21/11/2012, 4:08 PM
he probably settled for 50% of what he was owed (one year) or thereabouts. Given that he was rumoured to have been on a fairly hefty wedge that still wont come cheap. Forgot that Laws was sponsored by one of the Woodies lads. Fair enough on that one (still a shocking waste of his money given his achievements vs what Kenny would have done).

Howya Nailor! You have to love the off-season eh?

21/11/2012, 4:16 PM
50% would seem fair, and against the backdrop of falling attendances and no European money won't be easy to cover, but like I said the club's finances are not dependent on European football so it's hardly terminal. It just means the club will have to cut its cloth a little tighter, hence the rookie manager.

The sponsor, as far as I'm aware, is a VW director who's been on the Scunthorpe board, hence the Laws connection. I'm sure he made sure Laws did a bit of promotion for his brand as well.

21/11/2012, 4:26 PM
No, im not saying its terminal - nor would i want it to be. Just a combination of curiosity and wummery...

bullit
21/11/2012, 6:31 PM
Kenny confirmed for Dundalk.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/stephen-kenny-appointed-dundalk-fc-manager/

oriel
21/11/2012, 7:11 PM
Very happy with this. Also good intent by new owners giving a two year deal. At last some hope for progress now for a PD season.

Trainee
21/11/2012, 7:37 PM
Very happy with this. Also good intent by new owners giving a two year deal. At last some hope for progress now for a PD season.

OUt of the squad Dundalk had, it will be interesting to see how many Kenny will resign

jinxy lilywhite
21/11/2012, 7:56 PM
OUt of the squad Dundalk had, it will be interesting to see how many Kenny will resign

Cherrie, Griffin and maybe Stephen Maher

a few of the younger guys would be kept for their cheapness.

Overall i am happy with the appointment and the term of the contract. Get some much needed stability to 1st team affairs anyway

bullit
21/11/2012, 7:57 PM

I would hold on to Cherrie,Foran,Mountney,Burns,Griffin and(a fit)Rafter from last season.

White Horse
21/11/2012, 8:09 PM
I would hold on to Cherrie,Foran,Mountney,Burns,Griffin and(a fit)Rafter from last season.

I'd agree with that. Probably Osborne as well as there are so few decent left backs in the league. I think Shanahan could play a part and continue his development.

21/11/2012, 8:19 PM
that is a very wise appointment of stephen kenny lads. whos ur no two and gk coach goin to be as the rumours around longford were that Vinny Perth and Stephen O'Brien were going to be no 2 and goalkeeping coach respectively!

bullit
21/11/2012, 8:21 PM
I think Shanahan could play a part and continue his development.

Yep defo keep the young lad too,came on leaps and bounds as the season went on.

21/11/2012, 8:28 PM
Gary O'Neill rumoured to be heading to us too.Thank feck for that, saw him being linked with us.

ATFC-1887
21/11/2012, 8:54 PM
Roddy Collins new Athlone Town manager

21/11/2012, 8:59 PM

No wonder he went from praising us to complaining about us in the space of two days.

DaveyPats
21/11/2012, 9:01 PM

You'll either be promoted or go bust!

21/11/2012, 9:02 PM
You'll either be promoted or go bust!

Or do a Monaghan.

ATFC-1887
21/11/2012, 9:15 PM
Lets hope its the former and not the latter haha

21/11/2012, 9:22 PM
Any link? Back to another of his old stomping grounds eh? Good lad Rodster.

21/11/2012, 10:27 PM
A good day for Limerick all round

ATFC-1887
22/11/2012, 12:38 AM
Any link? Back to another of his old stomping grounds eh? Good lad Rodster.

No its to be confirmed tomorrow