View Full Version : Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

13/12/2012, 4:06 PM
No he didn't.

https://twitter.com/kdkilbane

bluewhitearmy
13/12/2012, 4:09 PM
No he didn't.

https://twitter.com/kdkilbane

That twitter page even looks fake. There is another Kevin Kilbane one too.

thomas72
13/12/2012, 4:13 PM
Go to limerick junior soccer on Facebook one of lads has his tweet up please be fake :-(

13/12/2012, 4:47 PM
Fake alright.

Strongbow10
13/12/2012, 4:56 PM
philly gorman signing for athlone

any word on any other signings Roddy will make?

Heard he was less than impressed with the open trials at AIT last week.

Also heard rumours he signed Niall Lanigan from Pats, and Paul Skinner and Barry Clancy from Shels.

13/12/2012, 5:03 PM
Lanigan left Pats after the 2011 season. Moved to Shels u19s and elft there pretty quickly too. last wtih Moyle Park in the LSL

peterpan
13/12/2012, 7:01 PM
Heard that Roddy is in talks with his old pal Bisto about spearheading the promotion push next year.

13/12/2012, 7:52 PM
That twitter page even looks fake. There is another Kevin Kilbane one too.

Saw it at the weekend advertised on the TV how he got some sort of predictions right and some sort of bet right. Seems those tweets were since removed though.

EDIT: Just noticed, it seems to be an old account, his new one is https://twitter.com/kdkilbane77

peadar1987
13/12/2012, 7:55 PM
Caption competition?

Talk balls?

14/12/2012, 12:00 AM
Any news on whether McLaughlin and McNamee are leaving Derry?

Nothing yet.

ATFC-1887
14/12/2012, 2:26 AM
ye them lads are confirmed as signings last week in the star . so far he has signed clancy, gorman, lanigan, skinner and aidan collins . all good so far. have to be challenging promotion this year

14/12/2012, 7:22 AM
Collins is only ok, but probably a step up from what ye had all the same. The Clasicos could be tasty this year if the games are more important.

whistleblower
14/12/2012, 10:15 AM
Phil Brown doesn't want the job now according to the Limerick Post. Have Limerick shotthemselves in the foot getting rid of Scully and still waiting on a new man with a number of other clubs appointing managers and signing players? I hope not. I'm hoping for a good year in the premier division.

bullit
14/12/2012, 10:54 AM
Phil Brown doesn't want the job now according to the Limerick Post. Have Limerick shotthemselves in the foot getting rid of Scully and still waiting on a new man with a number of other clubs appointing managers and signing players? I hope not. I'm hoping for a good year in the premier division.

I would reckon that Lims will be top loaded with a rake of English or foreign signings to add to the 4/5 already signed regardless of what nationality the manager in charge is.Just my own opinion

Blue Bear
14/12/2012, 10:56 AM
any word on any other signings Roddy will make?

Heard he was less than impressed with the open trials at AIT last week.

Also heard rumours he signed Niall Lanigan from Pats, and Paul Skinner and Barry Clancy from Shels.

Any idea if Roddy is holding anymore open trials? Collins is a very good signing, was very consistent at Monaghan, but only when kept fit!

14/12/2012, 11:11 AM

Seems to have been plenty of applications so I wouldn't say shot in the foot but definitely a manager needs be in place by next week.

Fivesilver
14/12/2012, 11:14 AM
I'd highly recommend getting a new manager the day before the season starts. :)

Strongbow10
14/12/2012, 3:06 PM
Any idea if Roddy is holding anymore open trials? Collins is a very good signing, was very consistent at Monaghan, but only when kept fit!

The next trials are being held down at AIT but its just for third level students there. A couple of scholarships are on offer for any talent that catches the eye

Exciting times

14/12/2012, 4:09 PM
I'd highly recommend getting a new manager the day before the season starts. :)

That made me laugh more than it should have.

Well played sir.

15/12/2012, 4:05 PM
Mod Edit: Possibly random, possibly libellous comments with no attribution is not acceptable.

bullit
16/12/2012, 2:43 PM
Mick Cooke connected with the Lims job according to Wednesdays Irish indo.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/exhull-boss-brown-rules-himself-out-of-limerick-job-3323995.html

16/12/2012, 4:05 PM
Mick Cooke connected with the Lims job according to Wednesdays Irish indo.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/exhull-boss-brown-rules-himself-out-of-limerick-job-3323995.html

Mick Cooke has been mentioned the last week or so. Don't see any reason he would leave Drogheda unless we offered him a nice bit more than what he is on.

Ezeikial
16/12/2012, 4:11 PM
Mick Cooke has been mentioned the last week or so. Don't see any reason he would leave Drogheda unless we offered him a nice bit more than what he is on.

Thats a very obvious and compelling reason

16/12/2012, 4:27 PM
Thats a very obvious and compelling reason

As in way more and not just offering him 100-200 more.

Battery Rover
16/12/2012, 5:35 PM
I feel the Kevin Kilbane story more than just a rumour.

cornflakes
16/12/2012, 5:44 PM
I feel the Kevin Kilbane story more than just a rumour.

I was told he didn't rule it out on the Late Late Show on Friday night.

I also heard that Gary Dempsey is going back to Bray

Edit: Mentioned here that he has signed (http://foot.ie/threads/174321-Any-Rumours-on-players?p=1649990&viewfull=1#post1649990)

16/12/2012, 6:11 PM
Maguire and Dempsey if he has gone, are huge losses to Waterford.

GCdfc
17/12/2012, 7:36 AM
Maguire and Dempsey if he has gone, are huge losses to Waterford.

Sure they are not meant to be entering the league next season!

17/12/2012, 7:52 AM

True, it wouldn't be like a LOI club chairman to say one thing and do another.

17/12/2012, 12:18 PM
Stephen McLaughlin on the way to Forest

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2012/1217/359331-mclaughlin-hopeful-of-forest-switch/

17/12/2012, 1:58 PM
Gary Dempsey (Waterford) and Hugh Douglas (UCD) both on there way to Bray if rumors are to be believed. Pretty sure the Dempsey one will happen, if it already hasn't happened and Douglas is from Bray so another strong possibility of it happening.

Dillonman
17/12/2012, 3:00 PM
Stephen McLaughlin on the way to Forest

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2012/1217/359331-mclaughlin-hopeful-of-forest-switch/

Typical British reporters:

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12691/8339050/Derry-City-winger-Stephen-McLaughlin-to-have-Nottingham-Forest-medical-on-Tuesday

Hes a "non league" player!

17/12/2012, 4:59 PM

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12691/8339050/Derry-City-winger-Stephen-McLaughlin-to-have-Nottingham-Forest-medical-on-Tuesday

Would sicken your s**te.

I'm actually, thoroughly surprised that Sky Sports haven't picked up a bit more on the League of Ireland players to England thing.

Battery Rover
17/12/2012, 5:32 PM

Trials on the 5th January are open to anyone with scholarships one of the rewards. More details http://www.athlonetownfc.ie/?p=5701 and on the poster below.

http://www.athlonetownfc.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/Scholarship400.jpg

17/12/2012, 8:25 PM

It's Sligo I feel sorry for. There they were thinking they'd won a league last season ;)

blue til i die
17/12/2012, 8:54 PM

True, it wouldn't be like a LOI club chairman to say one thing and do another.

The chairman not wanting to be involved and the club not being in the league are two completely different things. He doesn't own the club and has no authority to pull the club from the league.

Regarding Maguire, I'm delighted for the lad, deserves his move and hopefully will do well. Not too bothered with Dempsey tbh, was good in games and scored a few goals, quality is there for sure but poor in too many other games, severe lack of effort in others imo.

Fivesilver
17/12/2012, 8:58 PM
It's Sligo I feel sorry for. There they were thinking they'd won a league last season ;)

35 feckin years chasing that only to find out now...

17/12/2012, 9:27 PM
The chairman not wanting to be involved and the club not being in the league are two completely different things. He doesn't own the club and has no authority to pull the club from the league.

Regarding Maguire, I'm delighted for the lad, deserves his move and hopefully will do well. Not too bothered with Dempsey tbh, was good in games and scored a few goals, quality is there for sure but poor in too many other games, severe lack of effort in others imo.

From what I saw of Dempsey he stepped it up for ye in all the big games and he was up for first division player of the year also. He is a massive loss to ye and I'd be surprised if any other Waterford fan isn't too bothered like yourself. Himself and Maguire were the stand out players for ye and I feel if they had been out injured for any sustained period last year ye might have struggled to get the promotion playoff spot.

Only thing going against Dempsey is he struggled through a few games with injuries from what I was hearing, especially in one game against us in the RSC but pulled out performances for ye. I don't think he could do that in premier.

blue til i die
17/12/2012, 9:39 PM
From what I saw of Dempsey he stepped it up for ye in all the big games and he was up for first division player of the year also. He is a massive loss to ye and I'd be surprised if any other Waterford fan isn't too bothered like yourself. Himself and Maguire were the stand out players for ye and I feel if they had been out injured for any sustained period last year ye might have struggled to get the promotion playoff spot.

Only thing going against Dempsey is he struggled through a few games with injuries from what I was hearing, especially in one game against us in the RSC but pulled out performances for ye. I don't think he could do that in premier.

Have spoken to quite a few waterford supporters since the season ended who would feel the same. Not saying he hadnt a good season, he played very well in games and scored some great goals, but lack of effort in a number of games really peed people off. Saw quite a lot of games last season to judge him. Seani by far the bigger loss.

From his own point of view, it's a no brainer to go back to the premier surely, better players around him will let him sit in the middle and need to cover less ground.

17/12/2012, 10:48 PM
Heard that Roddy is in talks with his old pal Bisto about spearheading the promotion push next year.

Played with Athlone under Liam Buckley before

17/12/2012, 10:56 PM
Signed back for Pats has he not?

Yep..http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=5272#.UM-ylW_ZaSo

18/12/2012, 4:12 PM

what yr did anto flood play for athlone ash?

18/12/2012, 4:15 PM
2005 according to Wiki.

Battery Rover
18/12/2012, 5:07 PM
what yr did anto flood play for athlone ash?

2005 under John Gill on loan from St Pats. Scored 8 goals.

18/12/2012, 5:17 PM
And there's a romour that 1/2 more Pats players will be heading to Athlone on loan this season

18/12/2012, 5:34 PM

They changed it. Now reads "Irish winger". Also, my comment underneath was deleted stating that 'Non-league' was wrong.

peterpan
18/12/2012, 6:39 PM
David o Leary from limerick to cork by the end of next week, will be a big loss to limerick, one of there more consistent players of last season.

Strongbow10
18/12/2012, 6:45 PM
And there's a romour that 1/2 more Pats players will be heading to Athlone on loan this season

Who are the players in question?

Strongbow10
18/12/2012, 6:46 PM

would Flood do a job for us in the first division ?

peterpan
18/12/2012, 6:56 PM
Bisto will run riot in the first division, quality player