View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

Dines
22/02/2009, 7:36 PM
Mungret Regional 9 8 1 0 25 9 25
Geraldines 11 7 3 1 33 17 24
Shannon Town 7 5 2 0 17 7 17
Charleville 10 5 3 2 12 9 18
Summerville Rvs 9 4 4 1 20 12 16
Star Rvs 9 4 2 3 22 17 14
Hill Celtic 12 3 1 8 19 30 10
Ballynanty Rvs 9 2 2 5 14 21 8
Prospect Priory 8 2 1 5 11 20 7
Herbertstown 10 2 1 7 14 25 7
Croom Utd 6 1 2 3 6 12 5
Cappamore 9 0 2 7 14 23 2

Results 22/02/09
Herbertstown v Croom Utd,
Mungret Reg 2-0 Star Rvs,
Cappamore v Ballynanty Rvs,
Summerville Rvs v Prospect Priory,
Hill Celtic 2-4 Geraldines,

Cappamore V Balla B off no ref

dines08
22/02/2009, 8:08 PM
charleville and shannon other way round...17 points 3rd and 18 in 4th...as far as i know summerville won 2 nil today. That puts them third

Pike B
23/02/2009, 10:01 AM
Played Geraldines in a training game last Thursday out in De Villiers.
They were excellent. Young team with loads of ability. Fancy them to do well in Premier if they go up this season.
Christy O' Neill particularly good in the middle.

Carrot head
23/02/2009, 10:31 AM
did ye have a full team out?

ya pretty much. we were missing 2 lads but not sure if they would have started

CCCeltic
23/02/2009, 10:41 AM
Delighted to see Mungret won at the weekend with all the crap that was on here last week about the team and individual Mungret players. They are easily the best team in the league and should go on to win it.

dines08
23/02/2009, 3:46 PM
Played Geraldines in a training game last Thursday out in De Villiers.
They were excellent. Young team with loads of ability. Fancy them to do well in Premier if they go up this season.
Christy O' Neill particularly good in the middle.

Was a very good trainin session, enjoyed by all i'm sure...i'd say conny got a bit of a suprise at how well we played... dodgey penalty!

abbeyvale
23/02/2009, 4:28 PM
ya pretty much. we were missing 2 lads but not sure if they would have started

did Keith Mc start for ye?

Carrot head
23/02/2009, 5:05 PM
did Keith Mc start for ye?

Nope. He wasn't there

abbeyvale
23/02/2009, 6:04 PM
Nope. He wasn't there

Is there more to that story? is did he have a valid reason for not showing?

abbeyvale
23/02/2009, 6:06 PM
Check www.limericksoccer.com for all fixtures, results, updated tables and updated draws.

Lev Yashin
23/02/2009, 7:20 PM
Errea Sport Div 1A League

Ballynanty Rvs v Herbertstown, 10.30, Bateman, J McNamara

Shannon Town v Mungret Reg, 10.30, , M Kiely

Summerville Rvs v Star Rvs, 10.30, R Broe

Croom Utd v Geraldines, 10.30, M Kavanagh

Big one sunday morning......;)

dines08
24/02/2009, 5:31 AM
Delighted to see Mungret won at the weekend with all the crap that was on here last week about the team and individual Mungret players. They are easily the best team in the league and should go on to win it.

Can i ask you how many 1a games you have watched this season?

Mercurial Vapor
24/02/2009, 8:40 AM
ha ha,delighted my sources proved correct,the man wont kick a ball for them again while vinny is over them.

I'd appreciate if you didn't speak on my behalf. I don't know from who or indeed where you are getting your information but i've never said anything of the sort.

CCCeltic
24/02/2009, 8:56 AM
Can i ask you how many 1a games you have watched this season?
Enough to know that ye should finish second fromm what I have seen if ye can cope with a physical Shannon team when ye play them. From the games I have seen Mungret look that bit better than everyone. You can always prove me wrong by winning the league buddy!

Lev Yashin
24/02/2009, 9:26 AM
Enough to know that ye should finish second fromm what I have seen if ye can cope with a physical Shannon team when ye play them. From the games I have seen Mungret look that bit better than everyone. You can always prove me wrong by winning the league buddy!

We played them already...and drew one all...

Pike B
24/02/2009, 9:29 AM
Was a very good trainin session, enjoyed by all i'm sure...i'd say conny got a bit of a suprise at how well we played... dodgey penalty!
Ya, I was sure Conny was surprised alright. He gave it to us at half time!

Nothing wrong with that pen for me! I was taken out by Stuie, whether it was in the box I don't know, but I would have scored if he hadn't fouled me. He'd have seen red on a Sunday!
He wasn't saving that one was he!! :D

Lev Yashin
24/02/2009, 12:14 PM
Is it my imagination..or did some posts vanish off this page???

just saw they were deleted....interesting..:)

dines08
24/02/2009, 2:33 PM
We played them already...and drew one all...

On a cabbage patch the size of an average back garden so ye can make the most of ye're long throws and corners...shannon town idolise stoke city i'd say

dines08
24/02/2009, 2:38 PM
Ya, I was sure Conny was surprised alright. He gave it to us at half time!

Nothing wrong with that pen for me! I was taken out by Stuie, whether it was in the box I don't know, but I would have scored if he hadn't fouled me. He'd have seen red on a Sunday!
He wasn't saving that one was he!! :D

Ha ha he wasn't at all, and to be fair i fancied him to, big guy in the small goals and all...played against u a few time's before, packin versus shippin on an odd friday in the crescent, i should of known you'd bury it

dines08
24/02/2009, 2:46 PM

It was genuine question...wasn't tryin to make out like you don't know wat you're taking about...you obviously do. But personally and of course i'm biased i think we play good football and we're going through what will be our sticky period now because footballing wise the pitches aren't helping us, we were very unlucky against mungret first game of the season with a shadow of the team we have now

Lev Yashin
24/02/2009, 2:46 PM
On a cabbage patch the size of an average back garden so ye can make the most of ye're long throws and corners...shannon town idolise stoke city i'd say

Funny guy!!:D Play to yer strengths...and we have plenty more to our game than that.

dines08
24/02/2009, 2:51 PM
Funny guy!!:D Play to yer strengths...and we have plenty more to our game than that.

I know, i'm only messing bud but as a defender playing in that match against ye i can appreciate what rory delap must be like to play against...it's a nightmare to deal with. It's like being able to swing in a cross with no pressure from anywhere in the opposition half

Lev Yashin
24/02/2009, 2:54 PM
I know, i'm only messing bud but as a defender playing in that match against ye i can appreciate what rory delap must be like to play against...it's a nightmare to deal with. It's like being able to swing in a cross with no pressure from anywhere in the opposition half

Hey i dont doubt it...but as i said you play to your strenghts we have the players to target from throws corners and kick outs so why not use it...but we also have players who can make things happen with the ball on deck...we have to travel to ye so we can play on yer carpet and see then!! ;) :D

dines08
24/02/2009, 3:04 PM
Hey i dont doubt it...but as i said you play to your strenghts we have the players to target from throws corners and kick outs so why not use it...but we also have players who can make things happen with the ball on deck...we have to travel to ye so we can play on yer carpet and see then!! ;) :D

Our pitch is so flat we get cars and motorbikes driving on it all the time

footie freak
24/02/2009, 4:20 PM
agree with you shannonman play to ur strenghts to progress, no matter how unattractive the football can be. been checkin in on posts lately and have to admit im tippin ye as dark horses behind mungret. ye have atough one this weekend...

Lev Yashin
24/02/2009, 4:23 PM
agree with you shannonman play to ur strenghts to progress, no matter how unattractive the football can be. been checkin in on posts lately and have to admit im tippin ye as dark horses behind mungret. ye have atough one this weekend...

ya we do but we have to test ourselves...not ideal preperation with no game last weekend..but we'll be ready!

footie freak
24/02/2009, 4:42 PM
no offence to ye shannonman but sick of reading threads on this and hearing about games off and so on, every team has to go through it too. i know its hampered yer season a little bit more then the rest of the league but thats what all the training is for to keep ticking over. i know its not the same and its hard to get motivated for games but unfortunitley thats part of the irish junior soccer leagues.
as for the games this weeken hope ye get a good result as it would def throw the league open and put urselves ina agreat spot. from what i hear result against summervil went against ye, that shoul have put ye right up there

BigBird
24/02/2009, 5:06 PM
I'd appreciate if you didn't speak on my behalf. I don't know from who or indeed where you are getting your information but i've never said anything of the sort.
Keith we all know you wont be playing ball under Vinny until ye sort out yer differences so lets just leave it at that kid
Good result for the Mungret boys sunday
Did Star have a full team out?

BigBird
24/02/2009, 5:18 PM
Lads 1a is very poor this season
Mungret should win the league in fairness but i reckon they will struggle to stay in Premier next season
Whoever comes 2nd whether it be Dines Shannon Sville or Star or whoever they should go away and try and assemble a new squad because none of these teams have a snowballs chance of staying up in premier next season...
Look at Kilmallock thet ran away with 1a last season and they cant win a game in premier and they would hockey any of the teams mentioned above....i know Dromore are doing ok hovering just above the dropzone but in all fairness these teams are streets ahead of teams in 1a

abbeyvale
24/02/2009, 5:53 PM
Keith we all know you wont be playing ball under Vinny until ye sort out yer differences so lets just leave it at that kid
Good result for the Mungret boys sunday
Did Star have a full team out?

Star didnt have a full side out!!!!!

abbeyvale
24/02/2009, 5:55 PM
Lads 1a is very poor this season
Mungret should win the league in fairness but i reckon they will struggle to stay in Premier next season
Whoever comes 2nd whether it be Dines Shannon Sville or Star or whoever they should go away and try and assemble a new squad because none of these teams have a snowballs chance of staying up in premier next season...
Look at Kilmallock thet ran away with 1a last season and they cant win a game in premier and they would hockey any of the teams mentioned above....i know Dromore are doing ok hovering just above the dropzone but in all fairness these teams are streets ahead of teams in 1a

What a load of crap!!!!!

Didn't Summerville B (2A) beat Kilmallock in the MJC this season (on their own patch)!!!! So for you to say Kilmallock would hockey any of the above mentioned teams is nonsense.

I agree most teams would need to strenghten considerably if/when they go up, but there isn't much difference between the bottom 3 or 4 teams in The Prem and the top 3 or 4 in Div 1A.

the real deal
24/02/2009, 6:25 PM
What a load of crap!!!!!

Didn't Summerville B (2A) beat Kilmallock in the MJC this season (on their own patch)!!!! So for you to say Kilmallock would hockey any of the above mentioned teams is nonsense.

I agree most teams would need to strenghten considerably if/when they go up, but there isn't much difference between the bottom 3 or 4 teams in The Prem and the top 3 or 4 in Div 1A.

ah come on there is a difference:confused:

abbeyvale
24/02/2009, 9:08 PM
ah come on there is a difference:confused:

Are you telling me so that Kilmallock or Dromore would "hockey" Mungret or Geraldines? I dont think so in all fairness.........sure didnt ye struggle to beat us in the FAI?

Balbec77
24/02/2009, 9:47 PM
[quote=abbeyvale;1112044]What a load of crap!!!!!

Didn't Summerville B (2A) beat Kilmallock in the MJC this season (on their own patch)!!!! So for you to say Kilmallock would hockey any of the above mentioned teams is nonsense . abbey did u ever here the saying (even the sun shines on a dogs arse now and again):D:D only taking the **** bud

BigBird
24/02/2009, 11:44 PM
What a load of crap!!!!!

Go away Alan and cop on to urself,fair enough Sville "b" beat them but it went to penos but the same Sville "B" team just got relegated from premier 4or5 months earlier.........
and it was the same Sville "B" team that destroyed Star in the next round only for a certain player missing a penalty not to mention numerous open goals.........
1a is extremely poor this year........
dont get me wrong the dines and shannon and others have improved this year but they need to improve a hell of a lot more if they were to go up and survive in premier next season

BigBird
24/02/2009, 11:46 PM
Are you telling me so that Kilmallock or Dromore would "hockey" Mungret or Geraldines? I dont think so in all fairness.........sure didnt ye struggle to beat us in the FAI?
They beat ye didnt they and yes i would fancy the premier teams to win comfortably:p

Lev Yashin
25/02/2009, 6:29 AM
[QUOTE=Balbec77;1112210]

summervill's strongest possible eleven would beat any team easy in this division,we proved this two years ago.

And you think teams dont develop and get stronger in two years???? :confused:

dines08
25/02/2009, 6:40 AM
i hope the lawson throws up a few premier against 1a clashes to see for sure...obviously anyone playin in 1a would like to think they could make the step up but it's obviously very difficult. Think some of the people sayin teams definately couldn't make the step up is a bit harsh

footie freak
25/02/2009, 8:28 AM
Go away Alan and cop on to urself,fair enough Sville "b" beat them but it went to penos but the same Sville "B" team just got relegated from premier 4or5 months earlier.........
and it was the same Sville "B" team that destroyed Star in the next round only for a certain player missing a penalty not to mention numerous open goals.........
1a is extremely poor this year........
dont get me wrong the dines and shannon and others have improved this year but they need to improve a hell of a lot more if they were to go up and survive in premier next season
have to agree with u big bird, standard of promier to 1a is like jumping 2 divisions. its one thing to win 1a but to stay up in premier is a completely different ball game. mungret are by far the team to beat in 1a but going on what i saw on sunday with them and star, star could have been 2 or 3 up by half time. there are 2 or 3 teams in and around promotion but whom ever goes up from 1a will need to recruit 3 or 4 players and in particular players with premier experience.

Side Cutter
25/02/2009, 9:19 AM
There is a huge difference between both. havin played in both my self i know. Well Footie Freak who do u think will get promoted big game weekend could see mungert slide downwards if town beat them:p

footie freak
25/02/2009, 9:57 AM
to be honest with you its looking in mungrets favour to win it out. looking at the tables with shannon so many games back i think they could nip ahead of dines. dont think svile have got what it takes. 2 center halves against shannon didnt want to know bout any balls comin down on top of them. shannon could have routed them for more if gerry kelly was playin up front. i think going on preformance against mungret star will well be up ther too for promotion. think dines will run out of steam.
think mungret to win it out and a dog fight between shannon and star for 2nd

CCCeltic
25/02/2009, 11:02 AM
How are you tipping Star to be in with a shout? Have they made some signings? Has to be between Dines & Shannon for second.

footie freak
25/02/2009, 11:18 AM
How are you tipping Star to be in with a shout? Have they made some signings? Has to be between Dines & Shannon for second.
still think star or shannon over dines, thats just my opion. think dines are gettin away lightly lately started off excellant and dont get me wrong still flying high but lately results such as scraping past hill and cappamore, throughin away 3 points against shannon and summervile. think myself star have alot more to give as i said earlier think dines will die away come evening matches

Philbert
25/02/2009, 12:01 PM
ah come on there is a difference

I think there is a difference, in fitness and interest if nothing else...
But in saying that corbally finished second and were promoted 3/4 years ago and their still hanging on in there...:confused:

footie freak
25/02/2009, 1:21 PM
:p well footie freak u seem to think highly of one certain team. who u invloved wit or u just like soccer in general i think this weekend is massive as in terms of who mwill get promoted:confused:
not involved with any one, just interested in 1a as i know a number of players and x players involved. let me know who the team is i think highly of. not favoring any team in particular just saying as i see it

dines08
25/02/2009, 4:48 PM
still think star or shannon over dines, thats just my opion. think dines are gettin away lightly lately started off excellant and dont get me wrong still flying high but lately results such as scraping past hill and cappamore, throughin away 3 points against shannon and summervile. think myself star have alot more to give as i said earlier think dines will die away come evening matches

lately scraping past cappamore? 4th of october
throwin away three points AWAY to shannon having missed a penalty for two nil,they then scored in stoppage time for 1-1, yet still u think they'll pip us
One nil down to summerville missing 7 and got a draw luckily at home.
unbeaten in the league since the opening game away to mungret of which around 6 of the current team weren't signed...
obviously i'm gonna disagree bout us not coming in the top 2 but i think star will come back into it...shannon need seven points from 4 games in hand, 4 tough games includin mungret sunday, they'll do very well to get 9pts from 12

abbeyvale
25/02/2009, 9:26 PM

Have to disagree with you there pal, I dont think Star will come back into it this season simply because they cant get their strongest eleven out for most games (for different reasons).

I would have to fancy Mungret to win the league and second spot to go to any of Shannon, Dines or Summerville with Star finishing maybe 5th or 6th, with Star maybe having a major say in who gets promoted!!!!!!

Ballsy
28/02/2009, 10:05 PM
i think the shannon - mungret match is changed to mungret..can anyone confirm this?

Carrot head
28/02/2009, 10:56 PM
i think the shannon - mungret match is changed to mungret..can anyone confirm this?

Ya its been changed to mungret alright

dines08
01/03/2009, 11:27 AM
croom vs dines called off, mungret 1-0 shannon. Poor game...shannon deserved a draw