View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

mulla
20/10/2008, 6:10 PM
Agree..Its better to have the points early. As the season goes on they'l keep pickin up the points they need to get back imo where they belong. Id like to see them pass out regional again in the near future.

i'm glad you said imo, this year its good to see the mungret lads staying quiet on this site,last year imo a lot of people thiught they were getting a bit ahead of themselves,even at this early stage you have to fancy them to go up,as abbeyvale said the goals for is good but for me the goals against is the statistic you should go by,keeping clean sheets gives everyone confidence,

Ballsy
20/10/2008, 6:35 PM
Its early days yet..who knows what'll happen wit injurys and players being away.its very early days yet all the games they've played have been at home.it'll be interesting to see how they get on when playing on the poorer pitches.

dines08
20/10/2008, 6:57 PM
mungret are excellent going forward but it is possible to get at them at the back...i know a few of their players well and up front and especially wide midfield they are excellent...grinding out results is gonna define their season when it comes to their away games after christmas...i definately think they're the team to beat and anyone who finishes above them will win the league...from our point of view just goin on the squad we have and the way things are goin i think everyone involved wit the dines would be disappointed if we didn't go up...thats definately the aim, we know its gonna be very tough tho

abbeyvale
20/10/2008, 9:47 PM
mungret are excellent going forward but it is possible to get at them at the back...i know a few of their players well and up front and especially wide midfield they are excellent...grinding out results is gonna define their season when it comes to their away games after christmas...i definately think they're the team to beat and anyone who finishes above them will win the league...from our point of view just goin on the squad we have and the way things are goin i think everyone involved wit the dines would be disappointed if we didn't go up...thats definately the aim, we know its gonna be very tough tho

It'll be 2 from Mungret, Dines, Summervile and Star IMO.
Think Shannon will fall away.

francesco_1
21/10/2008, 12:14 AM
Do you not think ye've dropped to many points already bud no? I think this year wil be a year too soon for summer vil,its a very new and young team,next season i think will be their year again but then again you'd never no,saw dine's twice this season,think their a bit light,same kinda build to the summer vil team,maybe its a year too early for them too,so for me it'd be mungret and then have your pick,prospect have only 3 games played,and their best eleven would beat any team in d league,so i wouldn't rule out them if they made a few shapes.

Prospect will fall away i think,the star team i played against at the start looked very good even tho we had a few donkeys in our team at the time they had a good team on paper also and im supprised they are not near the top,i havent played against summerville but from what i heard they were not that good,i think most of the teams would struggle at the moment in premier

Dallas
21/10/2008, 9:33 AM
is mungret the only league game on this weekend?

leather
21/10/2008, 9:49 AM
Quick question for Mungret lads on forum....
Does your youth keeper (cussen) play with your first team??
saw him play on sunday last......best young keeper i have seen since collopy from the dines...

Dallas
21/10/2008, 11:11 AM
saw him play on sunday last......best young keeper i have seen since collopy from the dines...

nope he doesnt we have a fella by the name of james roche in goals

Mercurial Vapor
21/10/2008, 11:16 AM
nope he doesnt we have a fella by the name of james roche in goals

By the sounds of it that Roche fella would want to watch his back if that young lad Cussen is as good as you reckon leather. What do you think about it Dallas have you seen Mike Cussen play? Do you think he is better than James Roche?

Dallas
21/10/2008, 11:24 AM
By the sounds of it that Roche fella would want to watch his back if that young lad Cussen is as good as you reckon leather. What do you think about it Dallas have you seen Mike Cussen play? Do you think he is better than James Roche?

No I can't say that I have had the pleasure of watching him but who knows it's always good to have competition for places in a team. I have seen him play GAA alright and he is a big strong lad but I don't know if he his better or not.

Dark Horse
21/10/2008, 12:53 PM
If ye had taken your chances ye would have scored 3 times but if mungret had taken all their chances it would have been at least 8. Mungret made hard work of yesterdays game and hill celtic were in the game until the last ten minutes when mungret got their second. i think mungret deserved the win considering the amount of chances they had.

Never, They had lots of shots but most of them outside the box and Toldo had them all covered..The first goal was also controversial, the ball came off the bar and straight back down then out, the ref gave the goal even though he couldnt see it and also if he did see it there was no line on the goal line, I think it was harsh of him to give it although it was a goal from where I was standing....the second goal was also dodgy....Your striker played it forward and it hit off of one of our defenders and fell straight to one of your players straight through he went on to hit the post before it was followed up.

Agree..Its better to have the points early. As the season goes on they'l keep pickin up the points they need to get back imo where they belong. Id like to see them pass out regional again in the near future.

Id swap points with them if they wanted. ;)

have seen summerville and while they played well I think mungret were a lot better all over the pitch than they were,have not seen star yet so personally can't comment

Star were the best team we played so far even though we had a weakened team, I think they will move on up.

I dissagree, the back 4 are very solid and hard to break down, they double up alot when defending and credit to there wingers for that, they are good up front also, they hold up the ball well.

abbeyvale
21/10/2008, 5:11 PM
Do you not think ye've dropped to many points already bud no? I think this year wil be a year too soon for summer vil,its a very new and young team,next season i think will be their year again but then again you'd never no,saw dine's twice this season,think their a bit light,same kinda build to the summer vil team,maybe its a year too early for them too,so for me it'd be mungret and then have your pick,prospect have only 3 games played,and their best eleven would beat any team in d league,so i wouldn't rule out them if they made a few shapes.

I dont think we have dropped too many points............when you consider we had some very important players missing for us (after the Hill Celtic game), and had to travel to Cappamore and Herbertstown.

We have 4pts after 4 games and although it doesnt sound great, we are 9pts behind 2nd place with 2 games in hand, so to answer your question, No I dont think we have dropped too many points already (especially when any of the teams in this league are more than capable of beating the others).

Lev Yashin
21/10/2008, 5:29 PM
It'll be 2 from Mungret, Dines, Summervile and Star IMO.
Think Shannon will fall away.

have you seen us play yet??

oscar
21/10/2008, 7:37 PM

heard he was fantastic sunday,made some good saves
one of the lads said he was a great stopper,so good in fact he would stop the recession

abbeyvale
21/10/2008, 9:40 PM
have you seen us play yet??

Nope, Im going on what Ive heard from a few players that have played against ye this season,

Lev Yashin
22/10/2008, 8:57 AM
Nope, Im going on what Ive heard from a few players that have played against ye this season,

and what have you heard??:confused:

old git
22/10/2008, 9:32 AM

reading his posts it must have been all bad what he heard :D:D:

kobayashi
22/10/2008, 10:41 AM
Never, They had lots of shots but most of them outside the box and Toldo had them all covered..The first goal was also controversial, the ball came off the bar and straight back down then out, the ref gave the goal even though he couldnt see it and also if he did see it there was no line on the goal line, I think it was harsh of him to give it although it was a goal from where I was standing....the second goal was also dodgy....Your striker played it forward and it hit off of one of our defenders and fell straight to one of your players straight through he went on to hit the post before it was followed up.

There was nothing dubious about Mungrets 2 goals, perfectly good goals. The ref was a bit away from the first goal that hit the crossbar and then went behind the line. Mungret did have at least 8 chances to score, but only took two.

francesco_1
22/10/2008, 11:53 AM
There was nothing dubious about Mungrets 2 goals, perfectly good goals. The ref was a bit away from the first goal that hit the crossbar and then went behind the line. Mungret did have at least 8 chances to score, but only took two.

Thanks for only taking two yer sound lads :)

Dark Horse
22/10/2008, 3:18 PM

Well I told him ye were good actually better than Mungret from the games we played against you both but they were both away for us and Shannons pitch was harder to play on given the conditions on the day, Shannon wont fall away neither will Mungret IMO unless they both lose key players.
So no busting them when ye play them Abbeyvale. lol.

I agree, it did go behind the line but from where the ref was standing there was no way he could tell and also there was no goal line for him to make his judgement.......
We had chances, ye were better than us on the day but I think ye were happy to go away with the 3 points given the chances we missed. ;)

Gerry the ferry
22/10/2008, 4:36 PM
Lads Mungret have the league won and thats a fact!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
No team will get within 15pts of them
Geraldines are 2nd i think and they are absolutely abysmal
Shannon i havent seen so i cant comment
I reckon its between Prospect and Star or Shannon for 2nd
The rest of the teams dont even deserve a mention there so bad

Dines
22/10/2008, 4:44 PM

How do make out geraldines are absolutely abysmal
shows you how much you know we have beaten both prospect (home) and star (away) and we still have to play shannon home and away and mungret wont win the league by that much so we will see at the end of the season there is no tropheys given out in october

abbeyvale
22/10/2008, 4:46 PM

I heard that ye were lucky to beat a poor Hill Celtic side, and also struggled very badly v Newport (in one of the cups)

Lev Yashin
22/10/2008, 5:55 PM
I heard that ye were lucky to beat a poor Hill Celtic side, and also struggled very badly v Newport (in one of the cups)

i dont think for a second that the hill celtic side we played were poor...i know they have vastly inproved from the start of the season...and 4-2 is hardly a "lucky" win....ya we were poor against newport but every team has an off day...

francesco_1
22/10/2008, 7:56 PM

It was star/summerville/herbertstown/cappamore and geraldines who beat a poor Hill celtic team,since we got our players we have played shannon and mungret,two tough games to play while were figuring out who and where to start,the second half of the season we will be capable of beating any team once we settle considering we have star/shannon/mungret/geraldines and summerville at home

dines08
22/10/2008, 8:17 PM

You're dead right...you should get a job wit sky sports...who do you play wit by the way? I'd love to come watch u play and see how it should be done...

abbeyvale
22/10/2008, 9:18 PM
i dont think for a second that the hill celtic side we played were poor...i know they have vastly inproved from the start of the season...and 4-2 is hardly a "lucky" win....ya we were poor against newport but every team has an off day...

Gerry, Im only trying to rise you bud!!!

But IMO I just think ye will fall away.

Top 5 will be (in no particular order), Mungret, Shannon, Star, Summerville & Dines.

Dark Horse
23/10/2008, 12:14 AM
How do make out geraldines are absolutely abysmal
shows you how much you know we have beaten both prospect (home) and star (away) and we still have to play shannon home and away and mungret wont win the league by that much so we will see at the end of the season there is no tropheys given out in october

Geraldines are a good side, not the best we have played but they are far from abysmal and could be there or there abouts.....

They didnt struggle to beat a poor Hill Celtic side they did well to beat a Hill Celtic side that have only now come together and got a team....it was Star who beat a very poor Hill Celtic side.

but every team has an off day...

We have had 7 so far in the league. :D

It was star/summerville/herbertstown/cappamore and geraldines who beat a poor Hill celtic team,since we got our players we have played shannon and mungret,two tough games to play while were figuring out who and where to start,the second half of the season we will be capable of beating any team once we settle considering we have star/shannon/mungret/geraldines and summerville at home

We dont have Summerville at home they beat us at Hogan Park, I agree with all the rest.

Gerry, Im only trying to rise you bud!!!

But IMO I just think ye will fall away.

Top 5 will be (in no particular order), Mungret, Shannon, Star, Summerville & Dines.

Where is Hill Celtic in that list. :p

Super Rovers
23/10/2008, 2:06 PM
personally dont think mungret will get promoted. they are the same every year good at home but the minute you get them outside mungret they fall apart. think after christmas they will fall away when the away matches come thick and fast

Mercurial Vapor
23/10/2008, 2:24 PM
personally dont think mungret will get promoted. they are the same every year good at home but the minute you get them outside mungret they fall apart. think after christmas they will fall away when the away matches come thick and fast

How many away games did Mungret lose last season Super Rovers or do you know?

Dallas
23/10/2008, 2:37 PM

If I am right it wasn't a whole pile......

Mercurial Vapor
23/10/2008, 2:45 PM
If I am right it wasn't a whole pile......

Twice. Away to Hill Celtic and away to Kilmallock, both of which were played in the first 3 weeks of the season. Mungret haven't lost a league game at home or away for 14 months. IMO this is mainly due to the poor standard of the league more than anything else. (just in case any of you think i'm boasting about Mungret). Division 1A is miles below the standard of the top premier sides.

Dallas
23/10/2008, 2:49 PM
Twice. Away to Hill Celtic and away to Kilmallock, both of which were played in the first 3 weeks of the season. Mungret haven't lost a league game at home or away for 14 months. IMO this is mainly due to the poor standard of the league more than anything else. (just in case any of you think i'm boasting about Mungret). Division 1A is miles below the standard of the top premier sides.

it really is a dog fight to get out of 1A alright, nothing against the teams but its just hard for everyone to sustain their form with everyone capable of beating anyone on the day

Super Rovers
23/10/2008, 3:02 PM

enough not to get promoted for starters. never said anything about losing games by the way said that ye would fall apart away from home. drawing to many games can just be as costly. ye can beat the best and the worst at home but away from home ye cant seem to grind out the results to get ye promoted.

BigBird
23/10/2008, 3:09 PM

I have to agree with Gerry above. Mungret are head and shoulders above anyone in 1A. We played Geraldines recently and strolled passed them not even breaking sweat. It was like playing against an U12 C team!!! If they get promoted i will eat my shorts!

Jock MIB
23/10/2008, 3:19 PM
enough not to get promoted for starters. never said anything about losing games by the way said that ye would fall apart away from home. drawing to many games can just be as costly. ye can beat the best and the worst at home but away from home ye cant seem to grind out the results to get ye promoted.

You can say the same about wembley a few years ago, who were the one of the best playing sides in 1a and for few years couldn't get out of 1a but fair dues to wembley they took the step up a couple of years ago and got into the premier. :)

Mercurial Vapor
23/10/2008, 3:41 PM

Mungret dropped more points at home last season than they did away. What ever way you try and dress it up your point makes no sense. If you're going to come on here and post about certain teams you should know your facts because when it comes to Mungret you obviously don't. It was Mungret's start that cost them last season ie. 1 win and 4 losses from the first 5 games that cost them promotion, not their away form.

abbeyvale
23/10/2008, 4:19 PM
I have to agree with Gerry above. Mungret are head and shoulders above anyone in 1A. We played Geraldines recently and strolled passed them not even breaking sweat. It was like playing against an U12 C team!!! If they get promoted i will eat my shorts!

Whos we?

abbeyvale
23/10/2008, 4:21 PM
Mungret dropped more points at home last season than they did away. What ever way you try and dress it up your point makes no sense. If you're going to come on here and post about certain teams you should know your facts because when it comes to Mungret you obviously don't. It was Mungret's start that cost them last season ie. 1 win and 4 losses from the first 5 games that cost them promotion, not their away form.

So with yer 5 wins out of 5 so far this season, ye should go on and win it handy now!!!
No pressure then!!!!!!!!!

mulla
23/10/2008, 4:58 PM

have you seen mungret play?
I don't think any team truly stands out in 1a,yes mungret have won 5 from 5 but i don't think you'll find them saying that they strolled through any of there games(as they would do if they were as good as you make out),they are a good team and have some premier division quality players but as was seen when they got beaten by carew in 1 of the cups they are not premier standard yet imo.

dines08
24/10/2008, 3:36 AM

Gotta love the people who come on here to put other people and other teams down...people like u are the ones who get forums shut down...

kobayashi
24/10/2008, 2:42 PM
Looks like the pressure is on Mungret to to see if they can beat Prospect in cals on sunday morning, that is if cals is playable after this weeks weather. Some people on this thread think that Mungret are only capable of winning at home which is rubbish considering Mungret last 14months results away from home. I'm predicting a Mungret win anyway.

Rafa 08
24/10/2008, 3:19 PM
Looks like the pressure is on Mungret to to see if they can beat Prospect in cals on sunday morning, that is if cals is playable after this weeks weather. Some people on this thread think that Mungret are only capable of winning at home which is rubbish considering Mungret last 14months results away from home. I'm predicting a Mungret win anyway.
id have to agree i ve played against both teams this year mungret by far the better side should run out easy winners!!

Gerry the ferry
24/10/2008, 6:56 PM
Gotta love the people who come on here to put other people and other teams down...people like u are the ones who get forums shut down...
How am i or Bigbird putting ye down,yer a poor side
the only reason yer 2nd imo is because the league is so poor
ye wont be there for much longer anyway so enjoy it while ye can
Mungret are a great team imo with great attacking players and will easily beat most teams home and AWAY and im sure time will prove this
Think that lad bigbird plays with the View,could be wrong

Dines
24/10/2008, 7:17 PM
How am i or Bigbird putting ye down,yer a poor side
the only reason yer 2nd imo is because the league is so poor
ye wont be there for much longer anyway so enjoy it while ye can
Mungret are a great team imo with great attacking players and will easily beat most teams home and AWAY and im sure time will prove this
Think that lad bigbird plays with the View,could be wrong

Gerry you just dont know what you are on about

dines08
24/10/2008, 7:21 PM
read your earlier comment...abysmal? read big birds...under 12 c side? now fair enough u are entitled to ur opinion but to say stuff like that is openly slaggin people and teams off...i'm not gonna say we're gonna do this we're gonna do that and where we'll end up cuz if i'm wrong i'll look foolish, which i think u will in the long run...basing an opinion on one or two games u've seen is just plain stupid

Jock MIB
24/10/2008, 7:39 PM
Ok lads, been reading alot of your posts recently and something of a theme comes out.... If They Don't Agree with You, Then its Rubbish ....

The last time i checked we are part of a free speech nation and this is what this forum is all about, if you don't agree what someone says then say i dont agree and leave it at that and put your point of view to the forum. If you start insulting a person's views which he or she believes (which they are very entitled to say unless breaking foot.ie rules) with comments like "you haven't a clue about football" etc then i will have to do something about it....

Jock Mib

Gerry the ferry
24/10/2008, 7:51 PM
lads its only my opinion that Geraldines are abysmal and il stand by what i say
i dont mean to offend anyone involved or playing with geraldines
but its just my opinion,i thought this forum was all about opinions and im just expressing mine,theres some really nice lads playing with the dines but lets be honest here yer only making up the numbers in 1a and fair play to ye

Jock MIB
24/10/2008, 8:01 PM
lads its only my opinion that Geraldines are abysmal and il stand by what i say
i dont mean to offend anyone involved or playing with geraldines
but its just my opinion,i thought this forum was all about opinions and im just expressing mine,theres some really nice lads playing with the dines but lets be honest here yer only making up the numbers in 1a and fair play to ye

calling them abysmal, what do you expect them not to be offended by that comment... myself personally i think you are trying to bait a reaction and i'm watching it from now on

Jock Mib

francesco_1
24/10/2008, 9:44 PM
read your earlier comment...abysmal? read big birds...under 12 c side? now fair enough u are entitled to ur opinion but to say stuff like that is openly slaggin people and teams off...i'm not gonna say we're gonna do this we're gonna do that and where we'll end up cuz if i'm wrong i'll look foolish, which i think u will in the long run...basing an opinion on one or two games u've seen is just plain stupid

As lots of people once said the table dosent lie,and ye deserve to be where ye are