View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2008/09
svillerovers
23/07/2008, 1:59 PM
came on out field
So it looks like you will be on the bench again this year..I don't know why you are sticking with them..You should be guarenteed your place on any 1a team to be honest!!
Think summerville r eyeing you up.... hahaha :D
any teams in this division play any friendlies yet. star played knockgainy last night beat them 4.1 no froms signed yet for star players
played shannon olympic last week and beat them 5-3 out in shannon,played st ita's from the desmond league the other night and beat them 5-1 i think,wasn't there for first game so can't comment but played the other night,they were poor,we have some good young lads up with us
svillerovers
24/07/2008, 8:48 AM
played shannon olympic last week and beat them 5-3 out in shannon,played st ita's from the desmond league the other night and beat them 5-1 i think,wasn't there for first game so can't comment but played the other night,they were poor,we have some good young lads up with us
Ye must be rightly up for it this year mulla..From what i gather yere A team isnt even back ttraining yet and ye have 2 friendly's under yere belt already!!
sanity
24/07/2008, 10:02 AM
[
Also owngoal with the new manager involved he mightn't avert to the long ball style of play...he might try and change it to a passing game and i am goosed then...1st touch of a rapist!! and the 2nd touch ain't far behind :D
mike,
1st touch of a rapist!! your second touch is a tackle.
you control the ball further than i can kick it.ha ha
svillerovers
24/07/2008, 10:12 AM
[
Also owngoal with the new manager involved he mightn't avert to the long ball style of play...he might try and change it to a passing game and i am goosed then...1st touch of a rapist!! and the 2nd touch ain't far behind :D
mike,
1st touch of a rapist!! your second touch is a tackle.
you control the ball further than i can kick it.ha ha
Never a truer word said Anto
drayer
24/07/2008, 12:45 PM
are all 1A teams back in pre-season training?? which teams still not started??
Philbert
24/07/2008, 12:56 PM
Is there a set date for the new season lads?
Some one over on the Prem thread was posting fixtures but dats probably cripe, suprise suprise
Roadend
24/07/2008, 1:00 PM
The Limerick Independant yesterday said the season starts the weekend of August 17
Philbert
24/07/2008, 1:22 PM
The Limerick Independant yesterday said the season starts the weekend of August 17
Very early, considering how long last season went on for...
Does anyone think this season will be an improvement on last years shambles?
Hows Stars training going abbey/starbar?
Season not due to start until the W/E 24th of August
svillerovers
24/07/2008, 2:28 PM
Yes the weekend of the 24th is what i heard as well.
With regard this year we will just have to see how the new fixture secretary does..I am sure if Mike has gotten some feedback from clubs he will do what he can to get as many games played as possible with common sense prevailing in most cases!! I seen from one of the premier threads that they might be playing one of the cups under lights which might help...Very good idea if you ask me! Maybe if they can play all cup games under lights it would be great but i don't think there are many facils around that would cater for that...Would teams consider playing there cup games on astro turf i wonder?
Philbert
24/07/2008, 3:10 PM
Yes the weekend of the 24th is what i heard as well.
With regard this year we will just have to see how the new fixture secretary does..I am sure if Mike has gotten some feedback from clubs he will do what he can to get as many games played as possible with common sense prevailing in most cases!! I seen from one of the premier threads that they might be playing one of the cups under lights which might help...Very good idea if you ask me! Maybe if they can play all cup games under lights it would be great but i don't think there are many facils around that would cater for that...Would teams consider playing there cup games on astro turf i wonder?
No astro turf mate... Cut out that kind of talk... Stuff is rubbish
Grass all the way my friend :eek:
Roadend
24/07/2008, 3:24 PM
Season not due to start until the W/E 24th of August
Apparently, the Premier starts on the 17th and the rest on the 24th.
Lev Yashin
24/07/2008, 3:35 PM
we are back two weekes now...new manager in charge few new players so hopefully we can improve on last years debacle :ball:
Ye must be rightly up for it this year mulla..From what i gather yere A team isnt even back ttraining yet and ye have 2 friendly's under yere belt already!!
we are back 2 weeks,first week had 2 handy sessions,last week had 2 sessions and a game and this week 2 games,we are playing kennedy park tonight,only problen i find is we have so many lads turning up you only get about 45 minutes of a match
gaidin
25/07/2008, 10:09 AM
we are back 2 weeks,first week had 2 handy sessions,last week had 2 sessions and a game and this week 2 games,we are playing kennedy park tonight,only problen i find is we have so many lads turning up you only get about 45 minutes of a match
That can be a problem with preseason friendlies alrite when the manager needs to look at as many players as possible and ouy only play half a game. The fitness takes longer to build up.
Are your training sessions hard physical running??
That can be a problem with preseason friendlies alrite when the manager needs to look at as many players as possible and ouy only play half a game. The fitness takes longer to build up.
Are your training sessions hard physical running??
we've only had 2 and they were tough enough but i'd say we will know about it next week:D
lifegoeson
25/07/2008, 3:56 PM
star beaten by shannon olympic last night in a friendly, 1-0
bot teams played badly
Tat is bad.... we beat them 5-1 last tues and to be honest could have been more but for some bad finishing...
Philbert
25/07/2008, 5:39 PM
star beaten by shannon olympic last night in a friendly, 1-0
bot teams played badly
How are things looking down there starbar?
papa-j
25/07/2008, 5:55 PM
Tat is bad.... we beat them 5-1 last tues and to be honest could have been more but for some bad finishing...
thats the nature of friendly games, you need to get players familiar with each other and find out your formations. Olympic were much more solid v Star as the score suggests. Dind't hand them a 3-0 lead after 10mins like v Corbally:rolleyes:
razbar
25/07/2008, 7:42 PM
LEAGUE FIXTURES ROUND 1
Summerville vrs Charleville
Star vrs Hill Celtic
Shannon Town vrs Croom
Prospect Priory vrs Cappamore
Herbertstown vrs Ballynanty Rovers
Mungret Regional vrs Geraldines
Ballsy
25/07/2008, 7:51 PM
what date are those games?
Pike B
25/07/2008, 8:27 PM
LEAGUE FIXTURES ROUND 1
Summerville vrs Charleville
Star vrs Hill Celtic
Shannon Town vrs Croom
Prospect Priory vrs Cappamore
Herbertstown vrs Ballynanty Rovers
Mungret Regional vrs Geraldines
Where did you find that out? Are all the divisions fixtures now out?
starbar
25/07/2008, 8:48 PM
what makes you think im involved with star alan;)
razbar
25/07/2008, 9:48 PM
what date are those games?
I think that its the weekend of aug 24th
razbar
25/07/2008, 9:52 PM
Where did you find that out? Are all the divisions fixtures now out?
You have to know the right people;);)dont know about all the divisions but i'd say the 1st week is done
Sorry papa tat wasnt a swipe at ye ... i was trying to wind up my star buddie.... :D to be honest i dont think score line was a fair reflection of the match....
Football Alien
28/07/2008, 8:17 AM
[quote=abbeyvale;975631]
haha only to see the missus.......;).. so you never know may be under pressure, did you hear the dines are looking for some former experienced players surely you'd fit the bill........ maybe not the jersey but definately the bill:D:D
did you sign for star for a finish graham?, tough enough start to the season, at least ye are home for it!!!
Begrudger
28/07/2008, 11:49 AM
any new developements down in portland?? was told only twenty mins ago that all the players that said they were leaving have had a change of heart, and a few phone calls from eddie clancy!!
bar cian hunt whos rubbish anyway, ye'l have the same team training tues nite with a few new ones signing??? any truth s ville??
Thats a bit harsh to be namin players and callin them rubbish I don,t think hes on the site to defend himself.
As for summerville big changes down there and from what i hear a few phone calls wont change these guys minds, Bobby o brien is an experienced manager and he could have a few players up his sleeve time will tell id say more likely mid table than relegated but without mona colin shine not much height and cyril daz and ian all huge losses :o:confused::mad:
lifegoeson
28/07/2008, 2:09 PM
[quote=starman;976201]
did you sign for star for a finish graham?, tough enough start to the season, at least ye are home for it!!!
have not signed with anyone might take a back seat. not any different to the way things are anyways hahaha. i'd play most away games to be honest first makes things easier in the new year in your incontention but hill celtic will be hard enough with skinner in control
abbeyvale
28/07/2008, 7:59 PM
Star's training is going well, and to date have only lost one player (Pa Barry), from last season, and who the manager is still trying to convince to stay on.
abbeyvale
28/07/2008, 8:02 PM
Star played Tuesday night and 4 or 5 of that starting line up were carrying injuries so were rested for the Shannon Olympic game on Thursday.
I heard Star should have hammered them though......
abbeyvale
28/07/2008, 10:01 PM
should have hammered them but lost 1 nil....makes sense
I was told that Star missed at least 5 or 6 very good chances and should have won the game easy.
old git
29/07/2008, 4:00 PM
thats football i was told olympic missed a few chances too..
only score really matters at final whistle and olympic won 1-0 so end of story ye get nothing for missed chances .. only stick of the manager :D
Football Alien
29/07/2008, 4:03 PM
Sorry papa tat wasnt a swipe at ye ... i was trying to wind up my star buddie.... :D to be honest i dont think score line was a fair reflection of the match....
whats the story with corbally dared?, how ye shapin up now, have ye signed anybody, not long to go!!
We've 4 new faces(all good soild premier players) signed and hoping to sign 2 more over the next week... we dont wana be doing a fairview on it either and signing 30 players... :D we wish....
Football Alien
29/07/2008, 4:10 PM
We've 4 new faces(all good soild premier players) signed and hoping to sign 2 more over the next week... we dont wana be doing a fairview on it either and signing 30 players... :D we wish....
thats good as long as it doesnt turn out like last season for ye and the whole trainin fiasco!!
I dont think that'll be the case this year... basically last year there wasnt competion in the squad so players could do what they wanted... thats why its important to get new faces in,which im happy to say is happening...
Philbert
29/07/2008, 4:29 PM
Who would these four new players be? did any of the boro lads sign back for a finish?
abbeyvale
29/07/2008, 4:53 PM
Who (other than Ronan Sherlock) have ye lost??
lifegoeson
29/07/2008, 5:43 PM
Who (other than Ronan Sherlock) have ye lost??
come on now speculation:D:D
abbeyvale
29/07/2008, 6:37 PM
come on now speculation:D:D
I was told today by an Aisling Annacotty player that Derek Hogan, Ronan Sherlock & Frank Browne had all SIGNED with Aisling,.
footymad
29/07/2008, 8:49 PM
Prospect 2 Carew park 0
Good win for prospect. Will do well in 1a if they sign all the players they had tonight.
see's it
29/07/2008, 9:03 PM
Prospect 2 Carew park 0
Good win for prospect. Will do well in 1a if they sign all the players they had tonight.
any line ups available?
footymad
29/07/2008, 9:25 PM
Prospect
P. Kiely , R .Chamley , S. Long , P. Franklin , W. Barrett , J . Kelly , D . Colbert , A . Daly , Ger Hannon , K. Johnson , D . Mc Cormac . A . Falahee , J. Colbert , C. Rooney
W.O'Donnell, Lamper and F. Kett missing
Carew
G. Stewart, M. Carey, Ming , Dodo , Ned , J. Carey , A. Hoare, Thompson , N.Noonan.
Carew had about 18 players played em all at some stage look like they have a good squad.
I repeat.... Signed Ronan Sherlock last week... haven't lost anyone bar Karl Meehan... Jez lads the boy goes for a training session with another team, as he had promised a mate and everyones convinced he's signed a form for them...
gaidin
30/07/2008, 9:39 AM
I repeat.... Signed Ronan Sherlock last week... haven't lost anyone bar Karl Meehan... Jez lads the boy goes for a training session with another team, as he had promised a mate and everyones convinced he's signed a form for them...
Maybe he did sign a form with him. It wouldnt be the first time a player signed 2 forms.
Im just speculating here now, not saying he has signed a form with Aishling.
Id be very surprised if he did that.. he's not the type... i think someone in aisling is pulling at straws... he even took at training session with us last nite... does tat sound like a player ready to walk out the door....?