View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2008/09
Lev Yashin
10/07/2008, 9:30 PM
can someone just confirm for me is Ger Barron still with geraldines or has he moved on??
Dines
11/07/2008, 12:42 PM
can someone just confirm for me is Ger Barron still with geraldines or has he moved on??
Ger Barron is gone from Geraldines to join UCD and good luck to him great to see one of our own get on
abbeyvale
11/07/2008, 1:31 PM
1. Star
2. Summerville
3. Mungret
4. Herbertstown
5. Balla "B"
6. Dines
7. Prospect
8. Croom
9.Hill Celtic
10. Shannon Town
11.Charleville
12. Cappamore
Forever Red
11/07/2008, 2:14 PM
1. Star
2. Summerville
3. Mungret
4. Herbertstown
5. Balla "B"
6. Dines
7. Prospect
8. Croom
9.Hill Celtic
10. Shannon Town
11.Charleville
12. Cappamore
1. Mungret
2. Summerville
3. Star (*depends as you said Abbeyveale who manager is & who signs)
4. Balla B
5. Hill Celtic
6. Herbertstown
7. Shannon Town
8. Geraldines
9. Prospect
10. Croom
11. Cappamore
12. Charleville
gaidin
11/07/2008, 2:21 PM
1. Mungret
2. Summerville
3. Star (*depends as you said Abbeyveale who manager is & who signs)
4. Balla B
5. Hill Celtic
6. Herbertstown
7. Shannon Town
8. Geraldines
9. Prospect
10. Croom
11. Cappamore
12. Charleville
Predictions already and forms arent even out yet. Bit early lads. Wait and see who signs for who first.
Lev Yashin
11/07/2008, 3:19 PM
Ger Barron is gone from Geraldines to join UCD and good luck to him great to see one of our own get on
Fair play to him...great keeper i kbow he had a spell with celtic, lets hope U.C.D is just a stepping stone to even more
Football Alien
11/07/2008, 3:51 PM
1. Star
2. Summerville
3. Mungret
4. Herbertstown
5. Balla "B"
6. Dines
7. Prospect
8. Croom
9.Hill Celtic
10. Shannon Town
11.Charleville
12. Cappamore
any names on who is gonna sign for star abbeyvale?, big prediciton puttin star top!!
1. Star
2. Summerville
3. Mungret
4. Herbertstown
5. Balla "B"
6. Dines
7. Prospect
8. Croom
9.Hill Celtic
10. Shannon Town
11.Charleville
12. Cappamore
Ya very early for this. I will hold my judgement until the squads have been assembled.
Sir Jose
14/07/2008, 12:11 PM
1. Star
2. Summerville
3. Mungret
4. Herbertstown
5. Balla "B"
6. Dines
7. Prospect
8. Croom
9.Hill Celtic
10. Shannon Town
11.Charleville
12. Cappamore
Predictions
1....Mungret
2....Star
3....summerville
4....dines
5....croom
6....charleville
7....balla b
8....hill celtic
9....shannon town
10...prospect
11...cappamore
The 2 promoted teams from 1b last year got promoted from 1a,i dont fancy prospect to do much but croom seem like they could challenge-especially when they play at home-hardly ever lost even wen they played premier teams in the cup....!!
Mungret and star to be promoted dependin on mungrets start,they let themselves down the last 2 seasons because of the first 6 matches. a good start needed....!!!
I was speaking to a star man yesterday and his words were most of the lads are "supposedly" leaving to head to the dines and various other clubs and i have a quick question to all.If players get relegated from a club do ye think they should stay and undo the damage thats been done?
My own personal opinion is that if i was with a team that got relegated I think I would feel obligated to stay the next season to try get promoted again or at least to try stabilise the club,this is not a dig at the star lads because as i said its all rumours at this stage,but if lads were to leave it could ruin the club as they would struggle IMO to get a decent enough squad in to survive 1a.This goes for summeville to but I haven't heard much speculation regarding them
Any opinions on this?
Predictions
1....Mungret
2....Star
3....summerville
4....dines
5....croom
6....charleville
7....balla b
8....hill celtic
9....shannon town
10...prospect
11...cappamore
The 2 promoted teams from 1b last year got promoted from 1a,i dont fancy prospect to do much but croom seem like they could challenge-especially when they play at home-hardly ever lost even wen they played premier teams in the cup....!!
Mungret and star to be promoted dependin on mungrets start,they let themselves down the last 2 seasons because of the first 6 matches. a good start needed....!!!
ya croom weren't bad there a few seasons ago in 1a but then lost a lot of players,do they still have that brutal pitch at the back of the housing estate out there?
Agree with the above,if they get the start mungret could be a force?if star and summerville keep there players they will also be strong
Philbert
14/07/2008, 6:31 PM
mulla, just looking at your point there about players staying with the club post relegation.
TBH i'd say that you probably need to get rid of some players if your after being relegated in the first place. Chances are the players are either not good enough or dont have enough interest.
Do you really want fellas like that at your club?
A few years back Star had good underage players coming through, making the step up to Junior. especially the year they got promoted from 1A a few years back. Abbey might be able to name a few of them
It will be interesting to see their squad for next season
francesco_1
14/07/2008, 6:47 PM
Prospect will finish higher then many of ye are saying they have some good players signing
dines08
14/07/2008, 7:44 PM
in the predictions i think the fact that both teams who got promoted last year came from 1b the year before is being ignored...they're teams used to winning and must have a good atmosphere...compared to relegated premier teams...predictions aren't gonna be that accurate til 3-4 weeks into the season
abbeyvale
14/07/2008, 9:42 PM
any names on who is gonna sign for star abbeyvale?, big prediciton puttin star top!!
rumour has it they will only lose one or two from lasy season's squad, and they are pushing for a few new faces, so lets wait and see.
abbeyvale
14/07/2008, 9:45 PM
I was speaking to a star man yesterday and his words were most of the lads are "supposedly" leaving to head to the dines and various other clubs and i have a quick question to all.If players get relegated from a club do ye think they should stay and undo the damage thats been done?
My own personal opinion is that if i was with a team that got relegated I think I would feel obligated to stay the next season to try get promoted again or at least to try stabilise the club,this is not a dig at the star lads because as i said its all rumours at this stage,but if lads were to leave it could ruin the club as they would struggle IMO to get a decent enough squad in to survive 1a.This goes for summeville to but I haven't heard much speculation regarding them
Any opinions on this?
I agree with you, but some things will have to change IMO, and the club know exactly what needs changing as it was discussed at a meeting last week, so we'll wait and see how things pan out..
Football Alien
15/07/2008, 8:00 AM
I agree with you, but some things will have to change IMO, and the club know exactly what needs changing as it was discussed at a meeting last week, so we'll wait and see how things pan out..
if star can get back to the same standard of a team they had when they won 1A a few years back then they will be in with a great shout. if memory serves me correct the year before they won it they were very lucky not to go down to 1B. it would be good to see them get back to winning ways
pile driver
15/07/2008, 10:48 AM
Prospect will finish higher then many of ye are saying they have some good players signing
i agree with comment if prospect hold on to squad of last year and if they sign the players been mentioned around they should be challenging at top of league id guess
midwesterner
15/07/2008, 10:58 AM
Do Mungret have generally the same team as last year or do they have any new signings? Is Vincent Naughton still involved as player/manager?
Forever Red
15/07/2008, 2:39 PM
Do Mungret have generally the same team as last year or do they have any new signings? Is Vincent Naughton still involved as player/manager?
Yes midwesterner, VN is over the team again next year. heard lots of names supposed to be signing but as you know yourself no one is certain until you get their name on the form. All of last yrs team are staying
specialk
15/07/2008, 2:43 PM
Yes midwesterner, VN is over the team again next year. heard lots of names supposed to be signing but as you know yourself no one is certain until you get their name on the form. All of last yrs team are staying
heard dave smtyh is off to the dines .?? any truth.
rumour has it they will only lose one or two from lasy season's squad, and they are pushing for a few new faces, so lets wait and see.
i hope so because the standard of 1a was poor last year,i know ye were relegated but that was with most of the team that breezed 1a a few years ago so ye should be strong
i agree with comment if prospect hold on to squad of last year and if they sign the players been mentioned around they should be challenging at top of league id guess
i hope that its a competive eague again this year but with a better standard of play,
i wouldn't write anyone off,everyone saw the disatrous start mungret had last year yet they were very close to going up,
Forever Red
15/07/2008, 4:20 PM
didn't hear that to be honest, he missed a lot of the end of last season so not sure
Philbert
15/07/2008, 4:59 PM
i hope so because the standard of 1a was poor last year,i know ye were relegated but that was with most of the team that breezed 1a a few years ago so ye should be strong
The team that was relegated was a good bit different to the one that got promoted.
Star lost alot of players after the first year in premier
abbeyvale
15/07/2008, 5:11 PM
The team that was relegated was a good bit different to the one that got promoted.
Star lost alot of players after the first year in premier
Of the team that got relegated versus the team that won promotion 2 seasons ago there were only 6 left.
Begrudger
15/07/2008, 5:28 PM
Heard the analog boys tapped him up
smyth playin for summerville next year watch this space
Any transfer rumours from our division
philip collopy signing wit balla b
papa-j
15/07/2008, 8:54 PM
Lads, anybody here involved in running Limerick 1a teams looking for a friendly against a Clare league team in Shannon PM me. Interested in a game Sunday morning.:ball:
great signing even if he gets half fit
abbeyvale
15/07/2008, 10:01 PM
great signing if true.....
allab
15/07/2008, 10:03 PM
great signing if true.....
told me a while ago, gonna sign with b team and go up to a team if needed
abbeyvale
15/07/2008, 10:05 PM
told me a while ago, gonna sign with b team and go up to a team if needed
what are you doing? didnt he do the same thing a few seasons back?
abbeyvale
15/07/2008, 11:02 PM
Any opinions on this?
Confirmed tonight that Pat Boland and Windy Hogan will take charge of Star Rovers next season.
All of last season's squad trained tonight (with the exception of Pa Barry), along with a few new faces.........
One or two players that signed B forms last season will also be going back on A forms this season.......
Philbert
15/07/2008, 11:19 PM
Confirmed tonight that Pat Boland and Windy Hogan will take charge of Star Rovers next season.
All of last season's squad trained tonight (with the exception of Pa Barry), along with a few new faces.........
One or two players that signed B forms last season will also be going back on A forms this season.......
Thats great news for star abbey... Pat and Windy are two top blokes
Who were the new faces? Was shane walters there? I take it you'll be staying yourself?
abbeyvale
15/07/2008, 11:30 PM
Thats great news for star abbey... Pat and Windy are two top blokes
Who were the new faces? Was shane walters there? I take it you'll be staying yourself?
Not going to say who the new faces were just yet.
Yes, Shane was there.
I'll more than likely stay.
Rafa 08
16/07/2008, 6:10 AM
aled harkin goin to mungret ??any truth?have they started traing yet??
good to see some loyalty to the club from all involved
Football Alien
16/07/2008, 10:31 AM
good to see some loyalty to the club from all involved
i heard peter clarke might be signing back with star, is there any truth in that abbeyvale?
will ye have a keeper signed for next season or is graham carey gonna be still between the sticks?
Philbert
16/07/2008, 3:11 PM
Lets hope graham isnt between the sticks, no offence graham
but will Pa sign,he's injured at the moment,is this why he was absent
Philbert
16/07/2008, 4:14 PM
That would be a great boost for star if Pa signed.
Any news on that new club house that was being talked about abbey?
abbeyvale
16/07/2008, 5:08 PM
i heard peter clarke might be signing back with star, is there any truth in that abbeyvale?
will ye have a keeper signed for next season or is graham carey gonna be still between the sticks?
I heard the same rumour about Clarkey............nice guy, good player but haven't seen him for a while...and he wasn't training last night with us, so I'm not sure yet.
Ger Collopy says he is giving a good go this season with Star (and trained last night) and Robbie Carey has also given his word that he will sign with Star (attended training last night), so it looks like they'll fight it out for the No.1 Jersey, but Collopy will have his work cut out.........
Graham can concentrate on fighting for his place outfield for a change this season (if he signs), and that can only help him.
abbeyvale
16/07/2008, 5:10 PM
but will Pa sign,he's injured at the moment,is this why he was absent
He wont be signing with Star..............he told me that himself.
abbeyvale
16/07/2008, 5:12 PM
That would be a great boost for star if Pa signed.
Any news on that new club house that was being talked about abbey?
Pa wont be signing lads........
New lights going in over the next 2/3 weeks for training down in lee estate, and from what I heard at last weeks meeting, there will be a new astro surface available in lee estate for parish teams to use, by end of February.
Didnt hear anything on the clubhouse yet.........
lifegoeson
16/07/2008, 5:15 PM
Lets hope graham isnt between the sticks, no offence graham
ah come on now maybe if i used them huge foam fingers i might do a bit better haha:D
lifegoeson
16/07/2008, 5:17 PM
I heard the same rumour about Clarkey............nice guy, good player but haven't seen him for a while...and he wasn't training last night with us, so I'm not sure yet.
Ger Collopy says he is giving a good go this season with Star (and trained last night) and Robbie Carey has also given his word that he will sign with Star (attended training last night), so it looks like they'll fight it out for the No.1 Jersey, but Collopy will have his work cut out.........
Graham can concentrate on fighting for his place outfield for a change this season (if he signs), and that can only help him.
robbie says his is signing for regional. seamus asked him
abbeyvale
16/07/2008, 5:20 PM
robbie says his is signing for regional. seamus asked him
well he was talking to windy last night at training, so i dont know what was said.......(maybe he's afraid of a challenge)
see's it
16/07/2008, 7:05 PM
Pa wont be signing lads........
New lights going in over the next 2/3 weeks for training down in lee estate, and from what I heard at last weeks meeting, there will be a new astro surface available in lee estate for parish teams to use, by end of February.
Didnt hear anything on the clubhouse yet.........
who or what are raising the funds for this?