View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2008/09
francesco_1
11/01/2009, 7:35 PM
fully deserved too,we were o-o at half time and i though till then we were the better side,ye battered us in the second though through some bad defending from us and good play from ye.
Ya i though it was going to be a one goal game, everything went right for us there was a few nice goal's,we needed it bigtime tho we were well fired up for it, best of luck for the season anyway.
abbeyvale
11/01/2009, 8:34 PM
ya i though it was going to be a one goal game, everything went right for us there was a few nice goal's,we needed it bigtime tho we were well fired up for it, best of luck for the season anyway.
table updated above with balla 0-5 hill celtic
Ya i though it was going to be a one goal game, everything went right for us there was a few nice goal's,we needed it bigtime tho we were well fired up for it, best of luck for the season anyway.
it seemed like every shot ye hit in the second half went in,bad day for us,we didn't trouble yer keeper at all,hopefully that will be a wake up call for us,ye played with a lot more heart than we did and as i said well deserved,well done and best of luck for the rest of the season
Hatchet Harry
11/01/2009, 10:23 PM
Prospect 0-1 Mungret
Good win for us, very tough game in poor conditions.
Des o'donoghue with the goal. we had a perfectly good goal dissalowed in the first half but both sides had chances.
any other results?
was told prospect missed few great chances and keeper dropped ball for tap in draw would been fair result by all accounts
francesco_1
12/01/2009, 3:02 AM
was told prospect missed few great chances and keeper dropped ball for tap in draw would been fair result by all accounts
They got the 3 points tho,heard steve kelly missed an open goal he's normally prolific.
Carrot head
12/01/2009, 10:49 AM
In all honesty, if each team converted 1 in every 3 of their clearcut chances the scoreline would have been Prospect 1-5 Mungret.
A draw would not have been a fair result i don't know who told u that!
It was a scrappy goal but came after a long period of pressure from mungret and consecutive corners
abbeyvale
12/01/2009, 3:40 PM
In all honesty, if each team converted 1 in every 3 of their clearcut chances the scoreline would have been Prospect 1-5 Mungret.
A draw would not have been a fair result i don't know who told u that!
It was a scrappy goal but came after a long period of pressure from mungret and consecutive corners
Any result from the Charleville v Herbertstown game??
Lev Yashin
12/01/2009, 6:03 PM
shannon 1-1 dine's...missed a peno for two nil wit fifteen to go...shannon scored wit last kick of the game...absolute sickener. A game we really should of won and deserved to win. Anyone going to shannon be prepared for a battle
oh..and ye didn't miss...it was saved! ;)
Lev Yashin
13/01/2009, 10:08 AM
self praise is no praise:) fair play to ye shannonman cags has ye going well keep it up:ball:
well we just gotta keep pushing on. and i if i dont praise myself then ill never get it!!! :D
CousinSylDolan
13/01/2009, 10:29 AM
well we just gotta keep pushing on. and i if i dont praise myself then ill never get it!!! :D
Who scored yere equaliser??? More than likely that animal Keano.
Good start in the lg but long long way to go for ye.
Lev Yashin
13/01/2009, 11:20 AM
Who scored yere equaliser??? More than likely that animal Keano.
Good start in the lg but long long way to go for ye.
na the Legend(gerry kelly) got it
abbeyvale
13/01/2009, 4:37 PM
Mungret Regional 7 6 1 0 19 7 19
Geraldines 8 5 2 1 23 11 17
Summerville Rvs 8 4 3 1 19 11 15
Charleville 8 4 2 2 10 10 14
Shannon Town 5 4 1 0 13 4 13
Star Rvs 7 3 2 2 18 14 11
Ballynanty Rvs 8 2 2 4 12 17 8
Herbertstown 8 2 1 5 12 21 7
Prospect Priory 8 2 1 5 11 20 7
Hill Celtic 10 2 1 7 15 25 7
Croom Utd 5 1 2 2 5 10 5
Cappamore 8 0 2 6 12 19 2
Fixtures
Sun 18/01/09
Summerville Rvs v Prospect Priory, 10.30,
Croom Utd v Mungret Reg, 10.30,
Geraldines v Charleville, 10.30,
Begrudger
14/01/2009, 8:04 PM
rubbish
saw himplay twice with fairview A and he looked ok nothing special but by no means rubbish
Begrudger
14/01/2009, 8:10 PM
agree,it'l be very tough for ye with the lack of games ye have played,in saying that the league is poor this season and i cant see ye dropping many points,id say its just a season too soon for summer ville and geraldines.
summerville lookin good id make them favouites for the title
they have the strongest squad in the league now with a few good signings in the transfer window
old git
14/01/2009, 9:11 PM
na the Legend(gerry kelly) got it
the legend :confused: how did he achieve that status :confused:
abbeyvale
14/01/2009, 9:57 PM
Its self praise Old Git, take no notice!!!!!
Lev Yashin
15/01/2009, 6:26 AM
its a running joke old git!
old git
15/01/2009, 9:56 AM
its a running joke old git!
in that case you should call him " the old legend " :D:D
Jock MIB
15/01/2009, 11:07 AM
Thought that phrase was allocated to you in Clare :D
old git
15/01/2009, 11:23 AM
Thought that phrase was allocated to you in Clare :D
i'm old alright and was called a lot of things in clare :D don't think legend was one of them .. !!
Lev Yashin
15/01/2009, 12:11 PM
couple of years ago the limerick leader(in its wisdom) called him "shannon town legend" so its stuck
old git
15/01/2009, 1:28 PM
couple of years ago the limerick leader(in its wisdom) called him "shannon town legend" so its stuck
nice one .. i'm sure gerry enjoyed that at the time ..:D
abbeyvale
15/01/2009, 4:28 PM
was that when you were with Fairview??? ha ha
Lev Yashin
16/01/2009, 6:24 AM
was that when you were with Fairview??? ha ha
who's you??
francesco_1
19/01/2009, 8:38 AM
Any results from sundays game's or were they all off?
kobayashi
19/01/2009, 10:57 AM
Any results from sundays game's or were they all off?
Dines v Charleville and Croom v Mungret both off.
The way things are going we'll be playing 2 or even 3 games a week once the evening kick-offs come back in.
leather
19/01/2009, 10:58 AM
Not if it keeps raining,as it has for the last 2 years
francesco_1
19/01/2009, 12:04 PM
what can we do, sign up for the night owls ;)
francesco_1
19/01/2009, 3:41 PM
Errea Sport League Division 1A
Mungret Reg v Shannon, 10.30, Mungret, J Carey x
Star Rvs v Prospect Priory, 10.30, R McCann x
Charleville v Herbertstown, 10.30, M Kiely x
Cappamore v Croom, 10.30, T Mazur x
4 draws :)
abbeyvale
20/01/2009, 7:51 AM
Charleville 8 4 2 2 10 10 14
Croom Utd 5 1 2 2 5 10 5
Fixtures
Sun 25/01/09
Mungret Reg v Shannon, 10.30, Mungret, J Carey
Star Rvs v Prospect Priory, 10.30, R McCann
Charleville v Herbertstown, 10.30, M Kiely
Cappamore v Croom, 10.30, T Mazur
Lev Yashin
22/01/2009, 7:51 AM
johnny carey down to ref mungret v shannon lol!! There will be war out there, the man doesn't believe in using his whistle unless someone actually has been shot.
Jeez you must have an awful opinion of us!!! :p
dared
22/01/2009, 12:12 PM
johnny carey down to ref mungret v shannon lol!! There will be war out there, the man doesn't believe in using his whistle unless someone actually has been shot.
He's also has some very interesting reference's for people from the city... "Townies"... i leave it at that but trust me , there will be trouble at that game....
Lev Yashin
22/01/2009, 12:18 PM
lads the last thing ye need to be doing is predicting "trouble" at games, i cant speak for mungret but we are not a dirty or nasty team so i cant see why there would be trouble. Irrespective of any refereeing decisions.
Roadend
22/01/2009, 2:20 PM
He's also has some very interesting reference's for people from the city... "Townies"... i leave it at that but trust me , there will be trouble at that game....
That fateful day he told us "There's an old saying lads, ye're from Moyross". He is away with the fairies.
booster 03
22/01/2009, 7:19 PM
Any one fancy summervill to go up??
abbeyvale
23/01/2009, 8:07 AM
Any one fancy summervill to go up??
Nope not for me
Lev Yashin
23/01/2009, 9:24 AM
any mungret lads on?? what are the odds of the game being on sunday??
Carrot head
23/01/2009, 9:47 AM
any mungret lads on?? what are the odds of the game being on sunday??
Not sure... There is an u12 national cup game on there tomorrow which is expected to go ahead so it depends on gow it holds up after that.
abbeyvale
23/01/2009, 11:36 AM
Not sure... There is an u12 national cup game on there tomorrow which is expected to go ahead so it depends on gow it holds up after that.
Could the Junior game not be transferred out to Shannon in advance then???
Lev Yashin
23/01/2009, 12:13 PM
doubt it...i know our pitch was ruined after the geraldines game as our B team played on it that afternoon....dunno what state it is now but i cant imagine its playable....
abbeyvale
23/01/2009, 12:36 PM
doubt it...i know our pitch was ruined after the geraldines game as our B team played on it that afternoon....dunno what state it is now but i cant imagine its playable....
All Junior games have just been postponed for this weekend.
Ballsy
24/01/2009, 12:28 AM
time to introduce a few asro turf games??? it'll be july before the season is over if the weather continues much longer
Lev Yashin
24/01/2009, 12:32 PM
think we are just going have to play our cup games at jackman just to get over the fixture congestion
Ballsy
24/01/2009, 3:42 PM
prob the best idea...there should be at least 2 midweek games a week on there a week.
abbeyvale
26/01/2009, 4:11 PM
prob the best idea...there should be at least 2 midweek games a week on there a week.
Just like the Touhy Cup, I think all Div 1A cup games should be held in either Jackman Park or Hogan Park in midweek........
Goals4fun
27/01/2009, 9:31 AM
no pitch around will take the weather and all the rain..
if you cut up jackman can you imagine the state of it for cup final come the less showery season (summer)
Lev Yashin
27/01/2009, 10:18 AM
no pitch around will take the weather and all the rain..
if you cut up jackman can you imagine the state of it for cup final come the less showery season (summer)
fair enough but have you another solution, we are still in the lawson and we have our own divisonal cup...plus only 5 league games played...midweek matches wont be able to sort this out in time for the normal end or season...
Goals4fun
27/01/2009, 11:50 AM
fair enough but have you another solution, we are still in the lawson and we have our own divisonal cup...plus only 5 league games played...midweek matches wont be able to sort this out in time for the normal end or season...
that is the curse of being successful also.
A few season ago Park finished their season in July (won lawson) and were back training 2 weeks later.
I think ye will be playing sunday, tuesday, thrusday, sunday which could have a serious effect on your season..
There will never be a solution, unless you cut down the team in the league or remove some of the cups.
Summer football?? Astro pitches ??
Lev Yashin
27/01/2009, 12:12 PM
that is the curse of being successful also.
A few season ago Park finished their season in July (won lawson) and were back training 2 weeks later.
I think ye will be playing sunday, tuesday, thrusday, sunday which could have a serious effect on your season..
There will never be a solution, unless you cut down the team in the league or remove some of the cups.
Summer football?? Astro pitches ??
given the position i play in then i wouldn't consider these...i'd be crippled on ground that hard after a while
i'd prefer one league game and let the season run on longer if it means we can go up because as you said playing three or four games a week will be the death of us
abbeyvale
27/01/2009, 4:07 PM
Charleville 8 4 2 2 9 7 14
Croom Utd 5 1 2 2 5 10 5
Fixtures
Sun 01/02/09 (10.30 unless stated)
Herbertstown v Croom
Mungret v Cappamore
Dines v Balla
Summerville v Prospect
Table & Fixtures are as per Limerick Leader on 26/01/09.