View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Wayne's World
10/08/2007, 12:50 PM
Hacker

Did he tell you who your first game is going to be against?

It should be an interesting year, Will any of the promoted teams hold their own in the premier I wonder. .

By all accounts Bunratty seem like they will be serious contenders for the league. I think it will be hard to look past Bridge Celtic again if they play like they did last year.

MikeBassett
13/08/2007, 10:58 PM
Lifford U21s struggling to field 11 these days in the Eircom U21 these days with some lads givin up on it...i hear the manager even have to give it a lash and play illegal players too?:eek: Arrogant shower of ******* have to try put themselves above all the other Clare clubs by enterin that league in the 1st place. Was it not just 2 months ago when Lifford went to the FAI about a 'technically' illegal player playin for Avenue against them in 15s lge playoff (which they were hammered 4-1 in), where have their morales gone now?

Brazil Nut
15/08/2007, 10:35 AM
jimmy houlihan signed for rineanna 2nite..great signing...and with this weather he probably won't miss any games between now and january...

Very good signing hacker will bring good creativity to the side. Will he be training as usual until January? Dead right about the weather we'll be lucky to get a league at all this year. Maybe this is the gods way of bringing summer soccer to Clare for next year.....:D

nutmeg
15/08/2007, 10:53 AM
Hacker just wonderin who have ya sighned from cratloe this year??

Offside
15/08/2007, 8:32 PM
I hear Bunny Carr is back training for Newtown A' has he signed and does he look like the bunny of old? Could he still do a job terrorising defences? I also hear Johnny Okoro is back for them, If fit he can score a bag full of goals. 2 good additions to the squad imo.

papa-j
16/08/2007, 8:30 AM
I hear Bunny Carr is back training for Newtown A' has he signed and does he look like the bunny of old? Could he still do a job terrorising defences? I also hear Johnny Okoro is back for them, If fit he can score a bag full of goals. 2 good additions to the squad imo.

Bunny still has the skills and can go past people, obviously needs a lot of training since he hasn't played properly for a few years. He has an unbelievable first touch and is already looking fitter than anytime in the last few years.

Johnny looks fit and sharp an with more training will be an excellant addition.

Any news from Avenue / Bridge Celtic / Moher about new players??
Any fixtures made yet?

old git
16/08/2007, 10:39 AM
Bunny still has the skills and can go past people, obviously needs a lot of training since he hasn't played properly for a few years. He has an unbelievable first touch and is already looking fitter than anytime in the last few years.

Johnny looks fit and sharp an with more training will be an excellant addition.

Any news from Avenue / Bridge Celtic / Moher about new players??
Any fixtures made yet?

bunny would be a great addation if .. and a big if he gets fit ?and gives you a full season .??. going on his past record i'm not to sure he has promised so much to teams in last few years and always let them down... hopefully ye can get the best out of him .:ball:

Side Cutter
16/08/2007, 1:27 PM
so lads 1 week to kick off any predictions

Rineanna to fold:D

smellyfeet
16/08/2007, 1:31 PM
so lads 1 week to kick off any predictions

I'll predict games will be called off for up to eight weeks due to weather being too bad "mid oct/mid dec" Then backlog of fixtures will have to be played over Christmas, games on St.Stephans day, Newyears day,Then it will get reall bad again for another month or so with a couple of games now and then.Then The Oscar Traynor thing will happen and games will be stopped for 3 weeks before the game.Then there's Paddy's Day fixtures, and until the end of the season there will be 4 games a week until Next August.

old git
16/08/2007, 1:37 PM
I'll predict games will be called off for up to eight weeks due to weather being too bad "mid oct/mid dec" Then backlog of fixtures will have to be played over Christmas, games on St.Stephans day, Newyears day,Then it will get reall bad again for another month or so with a couple of games now and then.Then The Oscar Traynor thing will happen and games will be stopped for 3 weeks before the game.Then there's Paddy's Day fixtures, and until the end of the season there will be 4 games a week until Next August.

you forgot to mention also moher only playing on a friday or monday .. also fai & munster junior will have priority... i'm sure the clare league will be able to sort it all out !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:confused:

plasticpitch
16/08/2007, 9:05 PM
Lifford U21s struggling to field 11 these days in the Eircom U21 these days with some lads givin up on it...i hear the manager even have to give it a lash and play illegal players too?:eek: Arrogant shower of ******* have to try put themselves above all the other Clare clubs by enterin that league in the 1st place. Was it not just 2 months ago when Lifford went to the FAI about a 'technically' illegal player playin for Avenue against them in 15s lge playoff (which they were hammered 4-1 in), where have their morales gone now?
vidic-class...ignorance personified:eek:

plasticpitch
16/08/2007, 9:07 PM
what about games on the astro turf on the lees road.... to prevent fixture backlog.... what do ye think??

Side Cutter
17/08/2007, 9:13 AM

Disappointing to hear lifford struggling.Dont understand why you would be so bitter about them entering eircom league.Its great for clare football that someone did.Dont think it was about putting themselves above anyone.

Anyway how are avenue fixed for a pitch this year? Are they still renting off the council?

First
17/08/2007, 3:57 PM
vidic-class...ignorance personified:eek:

Plasticpitch you took your time. Vidic-class try and show a bit of respect. Lifford have attempted something that Clare teams badly needs , a belief that they can compete at a higher level. This may not be the case in this instance but they should be complimented for their pioneering.

plasticpitch
17/08/2007, 5:08 PM
Plasticpitch you took your time. Vidic-class try and show a bit of respect. Lifford have attempted something that Clare teams badly needs , a belief that they can compete at a higher level. This may not be the case in this instance but they should be complimented for their pioneering.
well it easy knowing when someone like vidic class talks complete ****. little does he know that some players from other clubs in Clare like mikey mahony, Dan aherne played for the lifford u-21 last year as well as a selection of the better youngsters across the county.
the main beneficaries of this are the players and their clubs. while i'll be the 1st to say that lifford doesnt have enough quality to be competitive in this league on their own, there certainly is enough talent within the county to hold its own. it gives players a chance to showcase their abilities to LOI clubs.

Scobie
17/08/2007, 11:24 PM
Main problem with this is that the Eircom league Under 21 season stretches until at least October, with the last 16 and subsequent rounds continuing right through into Novemeber. This means that non-Lifford players cannot return to their respective clubs until 7/8 games into the junior league season. Until such time that a Clare League selection is entered into the League of Ireland set up, allowing players to simaultaneously play for their junior club (see Kerry League for details), League of Ireland football in the county is a long way off

Bossman
19/08/2007, 8:44 PM
Clare soccer website www.claresoccer.net updated with fixtures.:ball:

Brazil Nut
20/08/2007, 9:29 AM
Sunday 26/08/07

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League

Lees Road Pitch 4: Avenue United A V Newtown A
D.McCarthy 11.00
Ennis Road: Newmarket Celtic A V Lifford A
A.Murphy 11.00
Bunratty: Bunratty V Bridge Celtic A
J.Stanford 11.00
Monday 27/08/07
Doolin: Burren United V Moher Celtic A
F.Coote 6.30
Tuesday 28/08/07
Bunratty: Bunratty V Newmarket Celtic A
M.O`Halloran 6.30
Wednesday 29/08/07
Cahercon: Kildysart Celtic V Avenue United A
F.Coote 6.30
O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Rinnanna Rovers J.Stanford 6.30
Thursday 30/08/07
Ballycasey: Newtown A V Moher Celtic A
P.Sutton 6.30
Cassidy Park: Lifford A V Burren United
M.O`Brien 6.30

Brazil Nut
20/08/2007, 9:35 AM
Prediction for coming season

Bunratty
Bridge Celtic
Newtown
Newmarket
Moher
Avenue
Lifford
Rineanna
Kildysert
Burren

Planners
20/08/2007, 11:08 AM
Where is the thinking - mid week games like this -

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Rinnanna Rovers J.Stanford 6.30
Thursday 30/08/07
Ballycasey: Newtown A V Moher Celtic A

CousinSylDolan
20/08/2007, 11:14 AM

Bunratty
Bridge Celtic
Newtown
Newmarket
Moher
Avenue
Lifford
Rineanna
Kildysert
Burren

06/07...3rd in the 1st division
07/08...1st in the Premier.

Interesting prediction. Do you know something we dont. Have Bunratty signed 8 or 10 new players.

Brazil Nut
20/08/2007, 11:25 AM

Interesting prediction. Do you know something we dont. Have Bunratty signed 8 or 10 new players.

Check your notepad:p

Ya they have signed a nice few players alright not sure on exact numbers but the few iv'e heard they signed are very good players. Look at moher last year. 2nd in 1st division 05/06 2nd in premier 06/07. Looked the best team all year and just fell short in the end.

CousinSylDolan
20/08/2007, 11:31 AM
Check your notepad:p

What notepad:confused:

Brazil Nut
20/08/2007, 11:56 AM
What notepad:confused:

I was only rising:)

CousinSylDolan
20/08/2007, 12:35 PM
I was only rising:)

Watch Burren Utd at some stage. Then you will see a notepad...

Choccy mcclair
20/08/2007, 1:39 PM
Watch Burren Utd at some stage. Then you will see a notepad...

I here your boots are going back on Cousin Syl.What kind of a b team will the rats have?

CousinSylDolan
20/08/2007, 1:48 PM

I here your boots are going back on Cousin Syl.What kind of a b team will the rats have?

Time will tell how good/bad we are. Should be a bit of crack anyway.

Choccy mcclair
20/08/2007, 2:05 PM
There wont be too many centre forwards safe with you snapping away at them.Any idea who the team to watch will be in that division?

CousinSylDolan
20/08/2007, 2:13 PM
There wont be too many centre forwards safe with you snapping away at them.Any idea who the team to watch will be in that division?

Rhine Rovers
Ennistymon Town
Newtown B
Cooraclare
Hermitage B
St Pat's B
Newmarket Celtic B
Kilkishen Celtic
Manus Celtic B
Bridge Celtic B
Bunratty B

No idea of this division but I suppose all the teams that are not B teams will have to be favoured. Rhine Rovers are probably too strong for this grade...

MikeBassett
20/08/2007, 3:06 PM

Bunratty
Bridge Celtic
Newtown
Newmarket
Moher
Avenue
Lifford
Rineanna
Kildysert
Burren

You seem very confident about Bunratty winning the Premier this year. Based on what? Mid-table at the most for Bunratty I'd say, cant see them getting their hands on any silverware this year

platini
20/08/2007, 3:21 PM

Bunratty have signed up to 6 new players, Evan Glynn, Steve Carroll, John Ryan, Brian Keane, Terry Duggan, Brian Donnellan, apparently signed Stepen Monaghan but i heard he is going back to Shannon town to help out his uncle Gerard Kelly who has taken temporary charge of the A team.

old git
20/08/2007, 3:29 PM
Rhine Rovers
Ennistymon Town
Newtown B
Cooraclare
Hermitage B
St Pat's B
Newmarket Celtic B
Kilkishen Celtic
Manus Celtic B
Bridge Celtic B
Bunratty B

No idea of this division but I suppose all the teams that are not B teams will have to be favoured. Rhine Rovers are probably too strong for this grade... bit of a lottery in 3rd division have a mixture of teams trying to play football and a few who rely on big strong fit players from other local sports .. played one season in 3rd a couple of year back was a tough old league .. winners should come from one of the following rhine rovers / bridge celtic b & 2 teams just relegated from 2nd division newmarket b & ennistymon and of course the new boys from bunratty :ball:

nutmeg
21/08/2007, 7:51 AM
kilkishen would be favourites i'd say..

ah ya id have to agree wit hacker on kilkishen provided they can keep a consistant team this year!! but they have no b team now so they should have more than enough players!!

nutmeg
21/08/2007, 10:14 AM
any predictions for the second and first divisions lads????

papa-j
21/08/2007, 1:41 PM

Bunratty
Bridge Celtic
Newtown
Newmarket
Moher
Avenue
Lifford
Rineanna
Kildysert
Burren

Easy win for Avenue on Sunday v Newtown. Newtown cant field a team, 20 players signed but 11 of them will be away. Avenue should win easily.:(

old git
21/08/2007, 1:48 PM
Easy win for Avenue on Sunday v Newtown. Newtown cant field a team, 20 players signed but 11 of them will be away. Avenue should win easily.:(

so what your saying is newtown will only have 9 players sunday..
surely the clare league will put of match or move to a more suitable date . ???

Brazil Nut
21/08/2007, 2:02 PM
so what your saying is newtown will only have 9 players sunday..
surely the clare league will put of match or move to a more suitable date . ???

are they away for the week papa j or just the weekend? it could be moved to mon/tues im sure, as newtown are playing again thurs v Moher. Not a good start for Newtown if they have to play Sunday. Is there a lot of senior players missing?

CousinSylDolan
21/08/2007, 3:26 PM
Easy win for Avenue on Sunday v Newtown. Avenue should win easily.:(

Oh God the mind games have begun early this season. Could Newtown not use some of their youths team or B team if things are that bad.

papa-j
21/08/2007, 4:12 PM
Oh God the mind games have begun early this season. Could Newtown not use some of their youths team or B team if things are that bad.

Not mind games just a fact. You will always muster 11 bodies but the fact is that it will be a severely weakened team. 4 players will be travelling back and will be available Sunday evening so if the match was re fixed for Sunday evening or Monday then we could give a decent account of ourselves.

First
21/08/2007, 4:18 PM
Not mind games just a fact. You will always muster 11 bodies but the fact is that it will be a severely weakened team. 4 players will be travelling back and will be available Sunday evening so if the match was re fixed for Sunday evening or Monday then we could give a decent account of ourselves.

Boo hoo , the season hasn't even kicked off and the sob stories have begun.:p

papa-j
22/08/2007, 8:50 AM
Boo hoo , the season hasn't even kicked off and the sob stories have begun.:p

seem to remember the parish having a similar problem last year and they got the game refixed for a Monday night...against Moher I think....touche pussycat:p

myleftfoot
22/08/2007, 9:56 AM
seem to remember the parish having a similar problem last year and they got the game refixed for a Monday night...against Moher I think....touche pussycat:p

Why cant the clare league give a full list of fixtures for the first eight weeks for all divisions. (four or even two would be an improvement!) At the moment fixtures put out on a Tuesday for the following week. With a bit of notice players could plan ahead knowing the fixtures they will have. Then in newtowns case the players would have known not to be away next weekend OR the clubs could have agreed an alternative date a few weeks in advance of the game.
Some fellas have to get time off work to play games especially evening games so a couple of weeks notice would be nice. One player i know told his boss he needed an evening off because of a last minute fixture change and he told him to choose between 2nd div soccer and his job.
Also with games down for Monday evenings again this season it would be nice to know in advance that you might have a weekend off!
The fixtures secretary must be planning a number of weeks ahead so why not let everybody have a look. (or am i giving too much credit)

old git
22/08/2007, 2:16 PM

have newtown asked the clare league to refix the match then :ball:

shelbourne1904
22/08/2007, 4:16 PM
Yes request turned down because....eh because......there must be some reason....because eh.........no .....just it has to go ahead because.

But to be fair the league notified the clubs of the starting date a month ago.
So theoretically Newtown could throw the league awy on the first day????

brutus
22/08/2007, 4:23 PM
Who is favourites for the title and for relegation in the premier this year,any predictions.:ball:

First
22/08/2007, 4:27 PM
Yes request turned down because....eh because......there must be some reason....because eh.........no .....just it has to go ahead because.

But to be fair the league notified the clubs of the starting date a month ago.
So theoretically Newtown could throw the league awy on the first day????

Theoretically they could but then we would all miss the fun of Newtown being in with a shout for the league right to the end only for them to fcuk it up.:rolleyes:

But you are right the league informed everyone over a month ago of the start date surely that was plenty of notice as any teams interested in winning something would be training at that stage.

shelbourne1904
22/08/2007, 10:51 PM
I think last Sunday

jackaroo
22/08/2007, 11:12 PM
Theoretically they could but then we would all miss the fun of Newtown being in with a shout for the league right to the end only for them to fcuk it up.:rolleyes:

But you are right the league informed everyone over a month ago of the start date surely that was plenty of notice as any teams interested in winning something would be training at that stage.
At least they were in for a shout to win the league not like Newmarket who struggled for most of the season

shelbourne1904
23/08/2007, 9:58 AM
Did anyone see the Park team that won last Sunday.It was like Newtown reserves from last year?But fair play they won.

First
23/08/2007, 10:06 AM
At least they were in for a shout to win the league not like Newmarket who struggled for most of the season

Yes you are rght, but once Newmarket moved into their new pitch I think it was something like 7 wins on the bounce, that must say something.

And for all their struggling they only finished 3 points behind Newtown, this must also tell you something.