View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

mr miyagi
30/11/2007, 10:18 AM
Predictions for the weekends Third Division matches...

Newmarket B vs Ennistymon Town (Newmarket win)
Bridge Celtic B vs Corofin Harps B (Bridge Celtic win)
Rhine Rovers vs Newtown B (Rhine win)
Manus Celtic B vs Bunratty B (draw)
St.Pats B vs Cooraclare Celtic (Cooraclare win)
Kilkishen Celtic vs Hermitage B (draw)

Anyone else ??

offside01
30/11/2007, 1:23 PM
Predictions for the weekends Third Division matches...

Newmarket B vs Ennistymon Town (Newmarket win)
Bridge Celtic B vs Corofin Harps B (Bridge Celtic win)
Manus Celtic B vs Bunratty B (draw)

Anyone else ??

With the weather lookin bad, i'd say the games will hardly be on.

Newmarket B vs Ennistymon Town (Ennistymon win)
Bridge Celtic B vs Corofin Harps B (draw)
Manus Celtic B vs Bunratty B (Bunratty B)

offside01
30/11/2007, 3:50 PM
All games off bar Clare Youths game due to bad weather.

shelbourne1904
30/11/2007, 4:21 PM
Some schoolboys game still on

papa-j
01/12/2007, 11:06 AM
Have u seen the betting odds. Newtown 66/1 rank outsiders. Both Donegal opponents ranked well ahead in the betting stakes. If you believe the bookies then Newtown have no chance. But then again they have placed Star Rovers, Kilmallock, Inter Kenmare at much shorter odds. Looks like the old "they're from Clare so the must be rubbish" theory again. Let hope newtown can prove them wrong

chappie
01/12/2007, 3:30 PM
Have u seen the betting odds. Newtown 66/1 rank outsiders. Both Donegal opponents ranked well ahead in the betting stakes. If you believe the bookies then Newtown have no chance. But then again they have placed Star Rovers, Kilmallock, Inter Kenmare at much shorter odds. Looks like the old "they're from Clare so the must be rubbish" theory again. Let hope newtown can prove them wrong

did u place a few punts on it papa-j....;)

shanman2
01/12/2007, 3:32 PM

Star and Kilmallock are great sides. Star have gotten back 2 players from L37 Under-21s and got a few back from injury. Killmallock are out of Limerick in both Munster Junior and FAI see then play twice this year and they have some very accomplished players.:ball:

Bossman
02/12/2007, 8:35 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated

Sweetchips
03/12/2007, 11:40 AM
Shannon Olympic are hosting a Texas Holdem Poker Classic this Friday Dec 7th.

Venue : GAA Club Shannon

Time : 8.30 pm.

Cost : €25

All support much appreciated:)

Side Cutter
04/12/2007, 11:22 AM
Bunratty: Bunratty V Avenue United A (Away win)

Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers V Burren United (Home win)

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Newmarket Celtic A (Draw)

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Lifford A (Home win)

Well?

smellyfeet
04/12/2007, 1:51 PM
[QUOTE=Side Cutter;831730]Bunratty: Bunratty V Avenue United A

Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers V Burren United

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Newmarket Celtic A (Draw)

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Lifford A (draw)

tulla b
05/12/2007, 10:50 AM
After looking through my crystal ball these are my predictions for the weekend.

Bunratty: Bunratty V Avenue United A (Rats win 2-1)

Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers V Burren United ( Burren 1nil)

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Newmarket Celtic A (Postponed water logged pitch:))

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Lifford A ( 2-2 draw)

Wayne's World
05/12/2007, 2:36 PM
Bunratty: Bunratty V Avenue United A (Draw)

Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers V Burren United ( Home Win)

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Newmarket Celtic A (Away Win:)

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Lifford A ( Draw)

Newtown only seem to do well in cup competitions so they might get burned by newmarket at the weekend.

Rineanna should get a home win, They seem to be in good shape this year. I have seen them twice but haven't seen the Burren so can't comment on them.

Bunratty V Avenue and Bridge Celtic V Lifford are two massive games. 4 Teams who should be battling for the league come the end of the season. Lifford are playing well but will earn a result down there.

If Avenue win in Bunratty they could leapfrog Lifford back to the top and leave the "Mighty" Bunratty down near the bottom.

It should be an interseting weekend if the games go ahead.

studsup
05/12/2007, 4:34 PM
Bunratty: Bunratty V Avenue United A Draw

Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers V Burren United

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Newmarket Celtic A

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Lifford A

CousinSylDolan
06/12/2007, 4:57 PM
All under 17, youths and Junior football in Clare this weekend has been called off because of the bad weather.

smellyfeet
08/12/2007, 2:00 PM
my crystal ball was right now just for the high stool:D

All games are off. The high stool it is then.

Bossman
10/12/2007, 8:51 AM

studsup
10/12/2007, 11:11 PM
Weekend Predictions

FAI Junior Cup 5th Round
Ballycasey: Newtown V Aileack (Donegal) Newtown after extra-time

Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Lees Road Pitch 1: Avenue United A V Burren United
Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers V Kildysart Celtic
Cassidy Park: Lifford A V Newmarket Celtic A

studsup
10/12/2007, 11:17 PM
Strange to see the Clare League put this game down for such an early kick-off...I wonder will the 16/1 Aileack do what St. James' Gate(I think) did to Newtown last year and not turn up at all,surely they'd have to stay Saturday night won't they?
I wonder how much Newtown forked out to the Clare League for the 11am kick-off :D:):D

chappie
11/12/2007, 9:33 AM
Strange to see the Clare League put this game down for such an early kick-off...I wonder will the 16/1 Aileack do what St. James' Gate(I think) did to Newtown last year and not turn up at all,surely they'd have to stay Saturday night won't they?
I wonder how much Newtown forked out to the Clare League for the 11am kick-off :D:):D

its what they call in the business word "gaining a competitive advantage"......cute whores....best of luck to them anyway hopefully they can keep the clare flag flying in the F.A.I

old git
11/12/2007, 10:15 AM

stop bitchin ... i'm sure aileack would be ok with a 11am kickoff if they were at home.... just go down and cheer on the only clare league team left in the fai .. why dont you ring up michael lydon and ask him how much was in the brown envelope .

Side Cutter
11/12/2007, 11:00 AM

This game is on at 2pm. There is no way it could be on at 11am....

Spudd
11/12/2007, 12:21 PM
Does it really matter what times its on at?..Surely a team traveling from Donegal will have to stay the night before regardless.

smellyfeet
11/12/2007, 2:06 PM

I think they are meeting in the Lodge to Join the Newtown lads at 3.00 o'clock on Saturday for some Cidar. Andy has invited them to his gaff for party saturday night with the rest of the lads...Might head out myself

tulla b
11/12/2007, 2:14 PM
Strange to see the Clare League put this game down for such an early kick-off...

not starange, i would just presume the away crowd want to get back home at a reasonable hour, considering some of them would have work on a monday morning.

best of luck to Newtown

Clifford
11/12/2007, 3:42 PM
the donegal team must have requested it. otherwise rules state must be 2. there at least 8 hrs away so would make sense to travel night before game early so home earlier

Offside
11/12/2007, 6:21 PM
I'm sure the early kick off might favour a few of the Newtown lads aswell. If I'm not mistaken theres a couple of premier league matches across the pond that wouldn't like to be missed. Also if it is an early kick off it might not be so good for newtowns usually great home support in this competition as it might be a bit early for some of the supporters who may have joined smellyfeet for the 'party' in Andy's Saturday night..:D

shelbourne1904
12/12/2007, 8:50 AM
11 kick off was requested by Aileach and agree to by Newtown and the league.
Marquis in Andys Saturday with One September on from 1 am to 3am and Mickey Walls band doing support.Entrance fee €20 with free sausage roll.Fireworks supplied by Skinny.
Mickey White on security will kick anyone out who crosses the line.

Newtown are sure they will get through this match as if they go behind the Council Water Works section had guaranteed to flood the pitch as they managed to do last week.The whole event is sponsored by Ballygowan.

old git
12/12/2007, 9:48 AM

studsup no money forked out by newtown.. aileack requested 11am kick and newtown & clare league agreed to accomodate them..

smellyfeet
12/12/2007, 10:07 AM
Will this game go ahead down in "HELL". Sh1te weather might put a hault to it.

old git
12/12/2007, 3:16 PM
should be no problems don't ye have frosty with the magic spoons he can spoon any excess water of pitch..:D

old git
14/12/2007, 8:02 AM

what's the feeling in newtown camp ... heard last night that b team have a match at 2pm IN ENNIS asked for game off to support the A team & that 1-2 may even be part of squad .. but clare league refused point blank... have rules changed when i kicked a bit of ball years back it was automatic no matches for b team if a team in fai... bit of a shame really as a lot of these b team players would be the most vocal supporters for a team ( the welcome to hell gang) :(

smellyfeet
14/12/2007, 8:16 AM
what's the feeling in newtown camp ... heard last night that b team have a match at 2pm IN ENNIS asked for game off to support the A team & that 1-2 may even be part of squad .. but clare league refused point blank... have rules changed when i kicked a bit of ball years back it was automatic no matches for b team if a team in fai... bit of a shame really as a lot of these b team players would be the most vocal supporters for a team ( the welcome to hell gang) :(

Ya thats the story. Spoke to the Bteam manager and they are ****ed off as they always go to FAI games

papa-j
14/12/2007, 9:14 AM
Ya thats the story. Spoke to the Bteam manager and they are ****ed off as they always go to FAI games

The FAI is a CLUB competition with all players elligble to represent the club on the day - A, B, C YOUTHS or whatever. This is and always has been the rule.

So if the CLUB is playing in the FAI then all matches involving CLUB teams on that particular day can be cancelled by that CLUB

Can someone from the league explain??

old git
14/12/2007, 10:05 AM
The FAI is a CLUB competition with all players elligble to represent the club on the day - A, B, C YOUTHS or whatever. This is and always has been the rule.

So if the CLUB is playing in the FAI then all matches involving CLUB teams on that particular day can be cancelled by that CLUB

Can someone from the league explain??

clare league explain... no chance .. i cannot understand when u have 1 club left in this competition representing clare you would think clare league would bend over backwards to help out as much as possible .. but then again we all know clare league could not really give a s**t in the end ... :mad:

shelbourne1904
14/12/2007, 3:05 PM
What is the problem.The FAI match kicks off at 11 and should be finished at 12.45 or with extra time and penalties 1.30.The B team match is on at 2.30 in Ennis.???None of the players are in the panel.

Having said all that there is a rule and it should be complied with.

Are their some foreign matches on in the afternoon that might be of interested and I dont mean an All Ireland!!!!

smellyfeet
14/12/2007, 3:18 PM
What is the problem.The FAI match kicks off at 11 and should be finished at 12.45 or with extra time and penalties 1.30.The B team match is on at 2.30 in Ennis.???None of the players are in the panel.

Having said all that there is a rule and it should be complied with.

Are their some foreign matches on in the afternoon that might be of interested and I dont mean an All Ireland!!!!

Think the problem is the above, alot of the lads on B-team enjoy the craic on the sidline for these games and enjoy their few cans (after the match).

old git
14/12/2007, 7:19 PM
Think the problem is the above, alot of the lads on B-team enjoy the craic on the sidline for these games and enjoy their few cans (after the match).

would agree with that have seen them the last few games .. anyway as a club b team should be free to enjoy the game have a few beers with the a team and hopefully celebrate a win .. :ball:

guvnor
16/12/2007, 5:37 PM
Congratulations to Newtown on a good win. Didnt see the game myself but any win at this stage is a great result.
Best of luck in the next round.

Also a great result for Newmarket away to Lifford in the league.

Bossman
16/12/2007, 6:18 PM

Prem Rep!
17/12/2007, 8:41 AM
Congrats to Newtown, super result and great for Clare Football.

BallBreaker
18/12/2007, 7:46 PM
Congrats to Newtown, super result and great for Clare Football.

Thanks lads, good performance,played some lovely football, went a goal down after 20 mins,(Aileach 1st attack),continued to dominate without threatning the goals, about 35 gone when Cheeky scored a cracker,great control and superb finish, Newtown dominated the 2nd half and added 2 more from Jamie Culllen and (can't remember who gor 3rd). anyway draw on Sunday between 10 and 11 on 2fm,don't care who we get as long as it is a home draw. :):)

jackaroo
19/12/2007, 12:47 AM
Is it true Noel Donnellan missed the Newtown match and went playing Gaelic football instead ,could not believe it when i heard it

CousinSylDolan
19/12/2007, 7:08 AM
Is it true Noel Donnellan missed the Newtown match and went playing Gaelic football instead ,could not believe it when i heard it

Yeah I was very surprised with this also... He scored a goal in the football match though for his beloved O'Callaghan's Mills.

Well done to Newtown all the same. It was a well deserved victory I hear. I imagine the fact most of the Aileach team were in Paradise Alley Sat night helped.

Best of luck in the draw... Bring on Pike in Ballycasey. Get those Clare lads Pike have back to the county.

old git
19/12/2007, 12:50 PM
Yeah I was very surprised with this also... He scored a goal in the football match though for his beloved O'Callaghan's Mills.

Well done to Newtown all the same. It was a well deserved victory I hear. I imagine the fact most of the Aileach team were in Paradise Alley Sat night helped.

Best of luck in the draw... Bring on Pike in Ballycasey. Get those Clare lads Pike have back to the county.

noel missed this game .. i thought he was newtown through and through ... a big suprise on this one .. :confused:

shelbourne1904
19/12/2007, 3:53 PM
Any goalkeepers available :confused:out there for u16,17,18 and juniors??

old git
19/12/2007, 4:42 PM
Any goalkeepers available :confused:out there for u16,17,18 and juniors??

santa might leave you a couple :D:D:

bigguy
21/12/2007, 5:25 PM
Is it true bridge united A manager Has resigned?

plasticpitch
24/12/2007, 6:44 PM
Happy Christmas 1 n all.... but
Why are there no games?? surely there should be christmas fixtures... the weather is good.. the pitches will be fine.... and it could also avoid midweek fixtures later in the year

Bossman
27/12/2007, 7:47 PM