View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Bossman
16/09/2007, 7:36 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated with fixtures & results

Interested
18/09/2007, 11:43 AM
well lads outside of the premier who is fancied to win the other 3 divisions....

i would presume that bridge united should return at the fist time of askin with possibly corofin and kilmaley doin well as well...did shannon olympic and mountshannon lose many players....

in the second surely bridge united b have to be fancied after last season while i see avenue b have made an impressive start 11 goals in 2 games also think that inch crusaders can do well in that division as they have some nice footballers and are strong physically.....

in the third rhine rovers and bridge celtic b were unlucky not to be promoted in what was a very competitive league last season.....the 3 teams that dropped down will fancy their chances as well kilkishen newmarket b and ennistymon its hard to look past these 5 and it could well be tight again....

Avenue are off to a flier in the Premier and unless the other teams can up the ante and barring a major collapse they should be in the reckoning. Unfortunately, Kildysart are finding the going too tough at the moment and look strong candidates for Div. 1 next year.
In the 1st Division I fancy Kilrush Rangers and Lifford B to make all the running, with in my opinion Corofin and Hermitage to struggle.
Avenue B can make it a good year for the Club by winning the 2nd Division with Cratloe continueing there descent from Premier Club to the basement Division.
I havn't seen enough of 3rd Division games but like the look of Ennistymon and Newmarket B and will go for one of these to win that Division.

Interested
18/09/2007, 11:50 AM
as far as i know A team player can only play for B team if he transfers to B team .. ...:ball:

The B team player is allowed to play a certain amount of games for the A team before he inelegible to play for the B team again. FAI Cup games are not counted as only one team per club is entered into that competition.
A team players cannot play for the B team unless they are properly transfered, the same as if they were leaving one club to join another and would be prohibited from playing in Cup matches if they had already played for the B team in earlier rounds.

Interested
18/09/2007, 12:09 PM
Just on the topic of facilities..

Premier only.
Avenue Utd
Newmarket Cel
Burren Utd
Lifford
Bridge Celtic
Bunratty
Rineanna Rvs
Kildysart Cel
Moher Celtic
Newtown

I know Newtown, Newmarket, Bunratty and now Lifford have good facilities,not sure of the rest but do the rest of the Clubs have anything
or even have any plans in the pipeline

Avenue = Have the Lee's Road Facilities.
Newmarket = Have had there facilities for as long as I can remember.
Burren = Use the Centre behind there pitch.
Lifford = Have there new facilities at Cassidy Park.
Bridge Celtic = Have two steel containers, (no showers though).
Bunratty = Have good facilities at the entrance to pitch.
Rineanna = Have the sheds by the road (also no showers).
Kildysart = Sheds in Cahercon (also no showers).
Moher = Good facilities at there pitch in Liscannor.
Newtown = Have always had good facilities.
So to put things in perspective, all of the Premier League teams have adequate changing facilities, 3 of them dont have showers. For anyone that has been involved in Football in Clare prior to the turn of the Century they will appreciate how far Clubs and facilities have come. There is always room for improvement, but lets give credit where its due.

CousinSylDolan
18/09/2007, 12:33 PM
did anyone see the picture in clare people 2day about the gates in kildysart being closed 5 minutes before a game until 15 mins after game..the photographer and any late spectators couldn't get in..whats the story there..what a shambles..

Saw that... Its beyond belief:confused:

Young Lad
18/09/2007, 12:42 PM
I was just wondering for all clubs with B teams do the A team get first refusal on all players. In Corofin a number of players have opted to play for the B team who would be good enough for the A team.

old git
18/09/2007, 6:06 PM
I was just wondering for all clubs with B teams do the A team get first refusal on all players. In Corofin a number of players have opted to play for the B team who would be good enough for the A team.

cannot really force players to play for A TEAM ...
it is a personal choice i know of some clubs who would put a lot of pressure on players if they did not sign for a team ..
also a team players cannot play for b team unless they transfer down. but b team can play approx 5-6 games for a team in the season... if a team manager is happy with players signing for b team he must have a good squad for the a team :ball:

plasticpitch
18/09/2007, 6:10 PM
no it's the players choice which team they play for. they can play 5 games for the A team if they like if signed for the B.
The idea; situation would be having your b team players trying to get on the A team... seems as though corofin B will be looking to go all the way in the cup this year :)

smellyfeet
19/09/2007, 9:44 AM
Any League fixtures for the weekend or is it Munster Junior?

CousinSylDolan
19/09/2007, 10:37 AM
Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
Saturday 22/09/07
F.A.I. Youths Cup First Round
Corofin: Corofin Harps V Avenue United
J.Deniffee 11.00

Ballycasey: Newtown F.C. V Moher Celtic
J.Stanford 2.30

McDonagh Pk: Newmarket Celtic V Bridge United
F.Coote 11.00

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penaltys if necessary.

F.A.I. U17 Cup First Round
Bunratty: Bunratty V Kildysart Celtic
M.O`Halloran 2.30

Sunday 23/09/07
F.A.I. Junior Cup First Round Clare/Kerry/Desmond League Area
Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V Tralee United
J.Stanford 2.00

Doolin: Burren United V Tralee Celtic
D.McCarthy 2.00

Lees road Pitch 4: Avenue United V Castleisland F.C
M.O`Brien 2.00

Kenmare: Inter Kenmare V Hermitage F.C..
Kerry officials 2.00

Munster Junior Cup Preliminary Round
Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Newtown A
N.Bennett 2.00

Munster Junior Cup First Round
Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Connolly Celtic P.Mulready 2.00

Cassidy Park: Lifford A V Newmarket Celtic A
J.Deniffee 11.00

Liscannor: Moher Celtic A V Ennistymon Town F.Coote 11.00

Ballycasey Newtown B V Corofin Harps A
M.O`Brien 10.30

Fire Stixx Premium Pellets First Division League
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Rock Rovers D.Brosnan 11.00

Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Lifford B
M.O`Halloran 3.00

SEL Print Second Division League
Shannon: Shannon Olympic B V Avenue United B J.Stanford 10.30

Liscannor: Moher Celtic B V Turnpike Rovers F.Coote 2.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Tulla United D.Brosnan 2.00

Suttons Lighting Third Division League
Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Bridge Celtic B
P.Dunne 2.30

Bunratty: Bunratty B V Corofin Harps B
M.O`Halloran 5.30

McDonagh Pk: Newmarket Celtic B V Kilkishen Celtic D.Kasule 11.00

Interested
19/09/2007, 1:15 PM
did anyone see the picture in clare people 2day about the gates in kildysart being closed 5 minutes before a game until 15 mins after game..the photographer and any late spectators couldn't get in..whats the story there..what a shambles..

Didn't see the picture Hacker, but the League would definately want to investigate that one, its a tragedy waiting to happen if it is a regular thing.
What would have been the scenario if a player or spectator had been seriously injured and an ambulance was needed. I can just picture a player with a broken leg being lifted over the gates, would not want to be the player.

Interested
19/09/2007, 1:21 PM

Players choice really Young Lad. I remember a few years back you had the same problem with quite a few very good players opting to play B team instead of the A team and if I'm not mistaken they won a League and Shield double (2nd or 3rd Division).
A lot of those players were coming to their sell by dates and the A team was mostly young lads, is the scenario similar this time?.

uptheboys
19/09/2007, 3:40 PM
went to see bridge celtic A play twice over last month. seriously impressive performance against newmarket away. with lots of injuries. and played football for twenty mins against kiladysert and battered them. will be very hard to beat when they get things together.

Interested
19/09/2007, 10:47 PM
wonder where your from...

I wouldn't put too much of an emphasis on battering Kildysart for 20 minutes.

Young Lad
20/09/2007, 9:42 AM
Players choice really Young Lad. I remember a few years back you had the same problem with quite a few very good players opting to play B team instead of the A team and if I'm not mistaken they won a League and Shield double (2nd or 3rd Division).
A lot of those players were coming to their sell by dates and the A team was mostly young lads, is the scenario similar this time?.

Ya that happened a few years ago. The only thing is that this time the players are all young enough to still be playing but I understand their reasons for not playing.

CousinSylDolan
20/09/2007, 10:05 AM
Ya that happened a few years ago. The only thing is that this time the players are all young enough to still be playing but I understand their reasons for not playing.

Does this mean that Bunratty B are really playing Corofin Harps A on Sunday evening then...

old git
20/09/2007, 10:20 AM
Does this mean that Bunratty B are really playing Corofin Harps A on Sunday evening then...

looks that way... ye might be better off staying in pub to watch chelsea v man utd .. :D:D

tulla b
20/09/2007, 12:03 PM
went to see bridge celtic A play twice over last month. seriously impressive performance against newmarket away. with lots of injuries. and played football for twenty mins against kiladysert and battered them. will be very hard to beat when they get things together.

dont know what game you saw in newmarket if you thought bridge wer seriously impressive :confused:. in the game i watched newmarket should have been 6 nil up after twenty mins. granted bridge won the game but they are no world beaters.

chappie
20/09/2007, 1:01 PM
who has been injured????

william sla missed the first few matchs injured...david hickey was away for a while,back now...struggled 2 put out a team against avenue a few weks ago only had the bare 11....nickey o connell and gary moloney arent 100% available due to hurling commitments...also the usual few niggles you have at the start of every season...

considering it is a small tight knit squad of 16/17 players compared 2 others in the league....

Interested
20/09/2007, 2:21 PM

Sounds like a problem with the management/Club set up.

chappie
21/09/2007, 10:46 AM
i taught they both played against us in first game
ye have 19 signed not that small a squad

yeah but a big difference between havin 19 lads signed and having 19 lads trainin and showin up ever sunday......adrian duhig is soon off to australia so a new goalie will soon be needed...

old git
21/09/2007, 11:47 AM
yeah but a big difference between havin 19 lads signed and having 19 lads trainin and showin up ever sunday......adrian duhig is soon off to australia so a new goalie will soon be needed...

you can only start 11 players anyway should make selection easier for manager if players not training or showing up :ball:

bigguy
22/09/2007, 12:35 PM
is it true Greg Deagan is heading back to the bridge????

Spudd
22/09/2007, 6:53 PM

No.....

bigguy
23/09/2007, 4:41 PM
No.....

its ok............ I've seen for myself ........he scored spud:confused:

Bossman
23/09/2007, 9:12 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated with fixtures & results

Interested
23/09/2007, 11:11 PM
lads is this guy the funniest in the world..
bridge utd b drawing 2 all with tulla utd ..4 minutes to go and eddie corry chips the bridge keeper..only to find MIKEY WHITE run on the field and kick the ball away before it goes into the goals...the clare league are going to have some fun dealing with this one...

If thats true, thats not funny especially if you are one of the Tulla contingent.
Clare League definately need to investigate that one.

2legged tackle
24/09/2007, 8:13 AM
bridge utd b drawing 2 all with tulla utd ..4 minutes to go and eddie corry chips the bridge keeper..only to find MIKEY WHITE run on the field and kick the ball away before it goes into the goals...the clare league are going to have some fun dealing with this one...

Apparently Tulla walked of the pitch and Bridge were awarded the win, From what i hear both teams saw the funny side of it.

MIKEY WHITE for Oscar Traynor

Prem Rep!
24/09/2007, 8:50 AM
ya it was pretty stupid by him especially since they are in trouble already for playing a player while suspended.........

Guys, there is absolutely nothing funny about what happened. The club are ashamed and embarrassed at what happened on Sunday as is our B team and management.

old git
24/09/2007, 8:55 AM
Guys, there is absolutely nothing funny about what happened. The club are ashamed and embarrassed at what happened on Sunday as is our B team and management.

sorry but it is extremly funny... micky white the legend :D

Interested
24/09/2007, 11:34 AM
agreed but you can see where prem rep is coming from..no club would like to see this happen..will it be dealt with internally prem rep..hard to do anything he's been the heart and soul of bridge utd for years

Irrelevant wether the club deal with it internally. The League will have to clamp down on him, if not the precedance will have been set for anyone to wander on the pitch whenever they feel like it and in the bigger picture that cant happen.

old git
24/09/2007, 11:58 AM
Irrelevant wether the club deal with it internally. The League will have to clamp down on him, if not the precedance will have been set for anyone to wander on the pitch whenever they feel like it and in the bigger picture that cant happen.

what can any club & clare league do to ensure nobody gets onto pitch .. even if you ban people you still cannot 100% stop them from getting into ground or onto pitch if they want to. :ball:

shelbourne1904
24/09/2007, 11:59 AM
You can ring the GARDAI

old git
24/09/2007, 2:15 PM
You can ring the GARDAI

and what will gardai do .. by the time they arrive match would probally be finished :ball::ball:

Interested
24/09/2007, 3:44 PM
and what will gardai do .. by the time they arrive match would probally be finished :ball::ball:

Referee could abondon the game, depending on severity of the incursion.

old git
24/09/2007, 4:55 PM
Referee could abondon the game, depending on severity of the incursion.

still does not answer question how can clubs / officals / clare league
stop people from coming onto pitch.. and should clubs be held fully responsible for people going onto pitch .. i know of incidents in past were so called supporters abused referees / players and refused to leave ground and this person would only turn up to support their team once in a blue moon.. a lot of clubs do not have fences / walls arround ground or even own there on grounds so how can they physically stop anybody coming in ..:ball:

BallBreaker
24/09/2007, 8:55 PM

Yes,Greg has transferred back to the bridge...:ball::)

BallBreaker
24/09/2007, 9:01 PM

We have always had a 2nd team, after reading down through the reply's i can't believe what i am hearing.The 1st team manager should always have the pick and ideally he should be working hand in hand with the 2nd team manager.We have came across this before and i am sure that if a player refuses to play for the 1st team he can not play for the 2nd team.:):)

jackaroo
25/09/2007, 12:18 AM
Definetly going to get club man of the year

Interested
25/09/2007, 12:37 AM
Definetly going to get club man of the year

Not from Tulla though.:D

Buzzer
25/09/2007, 1:19 PM
Just want to clear something up. Those of us that were at the Bridge v Tulla match Sunday and actually watching it, could see that Mickey did not run onto the pitch and prevent a goal. In fact, the ball was going wide and just as it was on the end line he booted the ball away. I'm no making excuses for him because it was a stupid thing to do even if it was one of the funniest thing i've seen in ages. So if you are going to discuss a matter, the real facts should be made clear first. He is not the only person that made a bad decision on Sunday. The referee made many of them like giving the first goal for Tulla which was obviously offside and sending off a bridge player for handling the ball after it had passed the line for a goal.

Spudd
25/09/2007, 2:05 PM
Any fixtures for this weekend then?

manalishi
25/09/2007, 2:23 PM
Just want to clear something up. Those of us that were at the Bridge v Tulla match Sunday and actually watching it, could see that Mickey did not run onto the pitch and prevent a goal. In fact, the ball was going wide and just as it was on the end line he booted the ball away. I'm no making excuses for him because it was a stupid thing to do even if it was one of the funniest thing i've seen in ages. So if you are going to discuss a matter, the real facts should be made clear first. He is not the only person that made a bad decision on Sunday. The referee made many of them like giving the first goal for Tulla which was obviously offside and sending off a bridge player for handling the ball after it had passed the line for a goal.

So the ref first gave a goal,then took the players to the halfway line,then brought them back down for a hop ball,then Tulla walked off and all because the bowled Mickey innocently kicked the ball ,which was going wide,off the back line?????

Do you write Bertie Ahearns stories for him?????

CousinSylDolan
25/09/2007, 3:25 PM
All fixtures are on www.claresoccer.net. Thats why I dont post them here anymore...

Buzzer
25/09/2007, 3:27 PM
thats funny the ref said it was going in....if you think it so easy to referee and get all offside decisions right then you should take it up...a player handling the ball wether its over the line or not is a sending off..simple as..
I never said Mickey was innocent he was far from it. If the ref thinks it was going in well that's another thing he got wrong. I don't think it's easy to referee but if the player who scores a goal when the ball is played in is a yard or two ahead of the defender well that's offside in anyones book. And if he was sending off a player for handling the ball well then he should have gave a penalty instead of a goal.

papa-j
25/09/2007, 4:23 PM
you should really have a look at the rule book..the referee was right to send the player off..if the ball was over the line why did player handle it..me thinks he was trying to cheat..which is a red card ..

well hacker hows things. I dont have a rule book but my take is that
player handles the ball but ref gives a goal and not a penalty, then the ref shouldn't send off the player as he has not blown up for a foul.

Is that not the common sense approach?

Bannerman
25/09/2007, 5:00 PM
I would agree with Papa-J. If the ball had crossed the line, it's a goal and nothing else. The ball has crossed the goal line, play has ended and it is a goal. The fact that the player who handled the ball to stop it from going over the line could be construed as cheating and could be deemed unsporting behaviour (a cautionable offence).

It would be the same as if the ball had hit the back of the net and a player, other than the keeper, went to pick the ball off the ground in my opinion (except for the possiblity of unsporting behaviour as above).

Buzzer
25/09/2007, 6:01 PM
I would agree with Papa-J. If the ball had crossed the line, it's a goal and nothing else. The ball has crossed the goal line, play has ended and it is a goal. The fact that the player who handled the ball to stop it from going over the line could be construed as cheating and could be deemed unsporting behaviour (a cautionable offence).

It would be the same as if the ball had hit the back of the net and a player, other than the keeper, went to pick the ball off the ground in my opinion (except for the possiblity of unsporting behaviour as above).
Thank you Papa-J and Bannerman, at least there is some people around with a grasp of the game of football. If the ref had deemed it as unsporting behaviour then the Bridge would have accepted it.

old git
25/09/2007, 6:27 PM
well hacker hows things. I dont have a rule book but my take is that
player handles the ball but ref gives a goal and not a penalty, then the ref shouldn't send off the player as he has not blown up for a foul.

Is that not the common sense approach?

common sense once referee gives goal i cant see how he can send player off then.. if he awarded penalty fair enough ,, seems a very strange & harsh decision :ball:

oldspice
26/09/2007, 7:58 AM
a player substitute or sustituted player is sent off and shown a red card if he commits any of the following seven offences

offence 4 when he denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goalscoring oppurtunity by deliberately handling the ball...

i understand that he gave the goal but the fact that the player tried to stop it from crossing the line the ref probably decided that he deliberatly tried to stop it so same punishment should apply..which he is intitled to do...

Lads, Haven't posted for quite a while but have been an interested spectator. I felt I had to give my tuppenceworth on the above, hope ye don't mind. My take on it is that if the ball has crossed the line it is then out of play and the player is entitled to handle it. If the ref has allowed the goal, then obviously, in his opinion, it has crossed the line. The rule Hacker quotes above states the red card should be given if the player DENIES the opposing team a goal or an obvious goalscoring opportunity. Unsuccessfully attempting to deny is not the same thing. I realise there may have been intent involved but attempting to handle the ball is not the same as actual handball. If the ref sent the guy off for handball he should not have allowed the goal. If however, in his view the guy handled the ball on its way into the net, he is perfectly entitled to send him off and allow the goal under the advantage rule. Without the referee's interpretation of events, we can only guess.