View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08
mr miyagi
21/11/2007, 5:08 PM
Fair enough but would it not make more sense to open another thread headed "3rd Division Clare"???
And a thread called Second Division Clare ? And one called First Division Clare, and Premier Division Clare and Youths Clare ?....And how about threads for all the various cups that Clare teams take part in ?
Whats wrong with discussing the Third Division in this thread ? Third Division discussion is better than no discussion...which is all I can see in here
I believe the thread title is Clare League 2007-08...that, to me, suggests all aspects of the Clare League in the season 2007-08, don't you think ??
And a thread called Second Division Clare ? And one called First Division Clare, and Premier Division Clare and Youths Clare ?....And how about threads for all the various cups that Clare teams take part in ?
Whats wrong with discussing the Third Division in this thread ? Third Division discussion is better than no discussion...which is all I can see in here
I believe the thread title is Clare League 2007-08...that, to me, suggests all aspects of the Clare League in the season 2007-08, don't you think ??
The Limerick AND Mayo league's have seperate threads for each division......
21/11/2007, 9:17 PM
If you guys think we need different threads for the different divisions just do it.
Don't wait for someone else to take the initiative.
mr miyagi
21/11/2007, 10:05 PM
If you guys think we need different threads for the different divisions just do it.
Don't wait for someone else to take the initiative.
We don't need 4 or 5 different threads for Clare soccer..
With an average of only 6 and a half posts a day in this thread, setting up other threads would be plain stupid.
Is there some reason people don't want the lower divisions talked about ??
Interested
21/11/2007, 10:38 PM
We don't need 4 or 5 different threads for Clare soccer..
With an average of only 6 and a half posts a day in this thread, setting up other threads would be plain stupid.
Is there some reason people don't want the lower divisions talked about ??
Just as players in the Premier Division dont give a damn about 3rd, 2nd and to a lesser extent 1st (they do want to know who is getting promoted), players in the 3rd, and 2nd Divisions couldn't care less about the teams in the Premier Division unless they get drawn against one of them in the cup.
There are as many players registered in the 3rd Division as any of the other Divisions and as this is a Clare League thread they are surely entitled to come on and discuss topics related to them and not have to view some of the rubbish that has been written over the last couple of pages.
If its Football related, regarding whatever Division it is a welcome change.
Keep Posting
oldspice
22/11/2007, 7:57 AM
[QUOTE=Tony Dorigo;820283]*YAWN*
Ah lads...give it up...Your not doing anyone any favours talking about or even playing in the 3rd division.
No one cares.
It's rubbish like the above (and I could probably quote 15 or 20 of Mr Dorigo's other 46 posts for similar examples) that drags the standards of this thread down. The title of the thread is Clare League-2007-08 and that includes all 4 divisions plus the underage. (Incidentally, Shels, nobody pulls you up on your rants about youths socer etc on this thread so it's a bit Irish of you to be suggesting seperate threads for other divisions). If memory serves me correctly, this thread was initially set up by a Kilkishen member (Pauliwallnuts) a few seasons ago and was mainly contributed to by 1st division clubs (Olympic, BunrattyB Kilkishen etc). Nobody said then that it was an exclusive club so what has changed? We all pay our dues to the Clare League, we're all entitled to our opinions.
gaffer
22/11/2007, 8:00 AM
I personally wouldn't rate Cooraclare...the only two "big games" they've played are a 1-0 loss to Newmarket and a 2-2 draw with Bridge Celtic....and they were both in Cooraclare on that terrible pitch...
They may yet prove me wrong though...
We will know more about Bridge Celtic B title chances after they play Rhine this weekend. Cooraclare will be very hard to beat at home on that pitch which gives them a chance.
smellyfeet
22/11/2007, 8:25 AM
Right so, who has a problem talking about,1st,2nd,3rd,youths and school boy on the thread??
I don't, but we can easily open a thread for each division.
mr miyagi
22/11/2007, 8:49 AM
We will know more about Bridge Celtic B title chances after they play Rhine this weekend. Cooraclare will be very hard to beat at home on that pitch which gives them a chance.
Yeah, Rhine losing would make things a lot more interesting...
brutus
22/11/2007, 8:52 AM
Right so, who has a problem talking about,1st,2nd,3rd,youths and school boy on the thread??
I don't, but we can easily open a thread for each division.
Only the odd bitter person obviously has the problem,but at the same time maybe there should be a thread for each division because then everyone knows what there reading about in there own thread imo...
oldspice
22/11/2007, 9:29 AM
Only the odd bitter person obviously has the problem,but at the same time maybe there should be a thread for each division because then everyone knows what there reading about in there own thread imo...
Fine if the conversation pertains only to issues for a particular division. However, when as is often the case, the subject is the Clare league, venues, state of pitches, referees, rules etc. surely it should be open to all. If guys want to chat solely about the premier division/soccer in Shannon (including youths) let them open a thread entitled Premier division/soccer in Shannon (including youths).
brutus
22/11/2007, 9:39 AM
Fine if the conversation pertains only to issues for a particular division. However, when as is often the case, the subject is the Clare league, venues, state of pitches, referees, rules etc. surely it should be open to all. If guys want to chat solely about the premier division/soccer in Shannon (including youths) let them open a thread entitled Premier division/soccer in Shannon (including youths).
I agree oldspice,good point..
smellyfeet
22/11/2007, 9:44 AM
Right so, thread open for each Div.
mr miyagi
22/11/2007, 9:46 AM
Ridiculous. Theres no need for 5 threads.
smellyfeet
22/11/2007, 9:50 AM
:mad:
Ridiculous. Theres no need for 5 threads.
Well done use them then, What do you want:confused:
tulla b
22/11/2007, 9:57 AM
big weekend of fixtures in the premier also
Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Avenue United A
Cahercon: Kildysart Celtic V Lifford A
Liscannor: Moher Celtic A V Rineanna Rovers
Doolin: Burren United V Newmarket Celtic A.
3 tops sides at moment have tough away fixtures, these would be big three points away from home. anyone like to predict. Also newtown and bunratty in fai, i expect Newtown to keep clare flag flying
brutus
22/11/2007, 10:01 AM
Your lucky there clare threads and not limerick because youd still be there at 7 o clock tnite making them out.:)
oldspice
22/11/2007, 10:03 AM
No thread for the Premier division Smellyfeet? Did I miss something? Personally, I think it's ridiculous opening seperate threads as there are so many common issues (as I pointed out earlier). What happens when people want to discuss AGMs, referees etc? I enjoy logging on and reading the banter even if it does not relate to my own club. This all started because Tony Dorigo slated a few 3rd division guys unnecessarily, guys who were posting here a long time before he decided to burden us with his "opinions". I for one will continue to contribute to the Clare League site as and when I feel like it and if he doesn't like that ... tough!!
smellyfeet
22/11/2007, 10:13 AM
Your lucky there clare threads and not limerick because youd still be there at 7 o clock tnite making them out.:)
I finish at 5.30 so...
smellyfeet
22/11/2007, 10:20 AM
No thread for the Premier division Smellyfeet? Did I miss something? Personally, I think it's ridiculous opening seperate threads as there are so many common issues (as I pointed out earlier). What happens when people want to discuss AGMs, referees etc? I enjoy logging on and reading the banter even if it does not relate to my own club. This all started because Tony Dorigo slated a few 3rd division guys unnecessarily, guys who were posting here a long time before he decided to burden us with his "opinions". I for one will continue to contribute to the Clare League site as and when I feel like it and if he doesn't like that ... tough!!
Fair enough, but i was bored. I NEED TO DO SOMETHING TO PASS THE TIME.
12th man..Please delete the threads,1st,2nd'3rd. Maybe it would be a good idea to leave the others open?? as alot of talk of Footie in Shannon goes on here and the Youth & Schoolboy/girls might get a few posts and maybe bring a bit of interest as it seems to be neglected in these parts:confused:. Sorry for any hassle caused.:o
mr miyagi
22/11/2007, 10:23 AM
Fair enough, but i was bored. I NEED TO DO SOMETHING TO PASS THE TIME.
12th man..Please delete the threads,1st,2nd'3rd. Maybe it would be a good idea to leave the others open?? as alot of talk of Footie in Shannon goes on here and the Youth & Schoolboy/girls might get a few posts and maybe bring a bit of interest as it seems to be neglected in these parts:confused:. Sorry for any hassle caused.:o
I agree the Youths should be left open....not sure we need a Football in Shannon thread though...
brutus
22/11/2007, 10:29 AM
I finish at 5.30 so...
Wel if it end of qtr tagney would have you doin out more threads..:D
smellyfeet
22/11/2007, 10:29 AM
I agree the Youths should be left open....not sure we need a Football in Shannon thread though...
Jesus, i give up
smellyfeet
22/11/2007, 10:30 AM
Wel if it end of qtr tagney would have you doin out more threads..:D
That make loads of sence Brutus
brutus
22/11/2007, 10:54 AM
That make loads of sence Brutus
If you dont get that and you cant spell sense you have lost the plot..:D
smellyfeet
22/11/2007, 10:56 AM
If you dont get that and you cant spell sense you have lost the plot..:D
ok....
plasticpitch
22/11/2007, 11:05 AM
big weekend of fixtures in the premier also
Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Avenue United A
Cahercon: Kildysart Celtic V Lifford A
Liscannor: Moher Celtic A V Rineanna Rovers
Doolin: Burren United V Newmarket Celtic A.
3 tops sides at moment have tough away fixtures, these would be big three points away from home. anyone like to predict. Also newtown and bunratty in fai, i expect Newtown to keep clare flag flying
i predict 4 away wins in the premier this weekend...
rats in the FAI!
mr miyagi
22/11/2007, 12:25 PM
So, what are the predictions for the weekends 3rd Division matches ??
Newmarket B vs Newtown B (should be a Newmarket home win)
Ennistymon vs Cooraclare (Ennistymon)
Rhine Rovers vs Bridge Celtic B (Draw)
Manus B vs Kilkishen (Manus to pull off a shock win)
St.Pats B vs Corofin B (Corofin)
My predictions are in the brackets in case you hadn't guessed...
funkyplunket
22/11/2007, 4:52 PM
ya agree with you with some
newmarket v newtown (draw)
ennistymon v cooraclare (away win)
rhine rovers v bridge celtic(away win)bridge will be too physical
manus v kilkishen (big away win)more than 5 goals
st pats v corofin (away win)JUST ABOUT
chappie
22/11/2007, 9:19 PM
[QUOTE=the special 1;822027]
rhine rovers v bridge celtic(abandoned at 2-2)
whats that supposed 2 mean special 1 are you thrying to imply that 1 side here will cause trouble and the match will have 2 be abandoned....bridge b arent a dirty team but they are physical and wont suffer shapers who want to throw their weight around or talk sh1t....only 1 match in 3 years has been abandoned off with bridge celtic b and both teams were as guilty as each other....obviously you havent seen bridge b ths year as they are a much changed side with a lot of young talent aged between 16 & 21.....
Bossman
25/11/2007, 8:31 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated
jock74
26/11/2007, 7:01 PM
[quote=the special 1;822027]
rhine rovers v bridge celtic(abandoned at 2-2)
whats that supposed 2 mean special 1 are you thrying to imply that 1 side here will cause trouble and the match will have 2 be abandoned....bridge b arent a dirty team but they are physical and wont suffer shapers who want to throw their weight around or talk sh1t....only 1 match in 3 years has been abandoned off with bridge celtic b and both teams were as guilty as each other....obviously you havent seen bridge b ths year as they are a much changed side with a lot of young talent aged between 16 & 21.....
hey chappie,what happened to ye at the weekend??i thought ye would give those quin lads a run for their money!!looks like we're all playin for second place now.....http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon8.gif
mr miyagi
27/11/2007, 8:50 AM
[quote=chappie;822053]
hey chappie,what happened to ye at the weekend??i thought ye would give those quin lads a run for their money!!looks like we're all playin for second place now.....http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon8.gif
There's always the return leg....
And hopefully Newmarket can get going when they're back to full strength.
Missing quite a few regulars at the weekend, and the few that were there were played out of position...:(
old git
27/11/2007, 12:20 PM
[quote=jock74;825362]
There's always the return leg....
And hopefully Newmarket can get going when they're back to full strength.
Missing quite a few regulars at the weekend, and the few that were there were played out of position...:(
sure every team could say that ... give a bit of credit to the other team who won on the day.. :ball:
plasticpitch
27/11/2007, 12:38 PM
great to see a team finally get punished for fielding an illegal player lifford b deducted 9 points..this after 1 of there players got banned for 9 months for catching a ref by the throat..in the news for all the bad reasons these days..
seems like the clare league are trying to make a point of punishing players as much as possible because of what happens to referees. the player in question has told me he was registered, so seems like a harsh punishment... in saying that i do not know exactly what happenend.... and the special 1 the ref was not grabbed by the throat... i think ur listening to that grapevine a little too much
mr miyagi
27/11/2007, 12:53 PM
[quote=mr miyagi;825705]
sure every team could say that ... give a bit of credit to the other team who won on the day.. :ball:
You should have seen the team Newmarket fielded....nothing short of a joke...
But, sure, all credit to Newtown, they can only play against what's put in front of them :D
Side Cutter
28/11/2007, 10:49 AM
Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Lees Road Pitch 1: Avenue United A V Burren United
Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V Kildysart Celtic
Cassidy Park: Lifford A V Newmarket Celtic A
Ballycasey: Newtown A V Bridge Celtic A
Any predections for this weekends games?
Would have to fancy avenue at home.The other three games will be
Very tight.....
smellyfeet
28/11/2007, 11:15 AM
Lees Road Pitch 1: Avenue United A V Burren United
Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V Kildysart Celtic
Cassidy Park: Lifford A V Newmarket Celtic A
Ballycasey: Newtown A V Bridge Celtic A
Winners in bold
jock74
28/11/2007, 9:08 PM
how can you write a statement like that...of course the player wasn't registered or why else did lifford get punished...as for the incident wit the ref.were you there..it must have been pretty bad to say the ref reported it to the police..i know the ref and he would let alot go over his head..so it has to have been some sort of pysical assault...cowardly if you ask me..
have to agree with hacker ,this kind of abuse of refs in general has to stop.is it any wonder that there is very few new refs coming on board every season?getting out of bed on a sunday morning to put up with that crap!!personally i have respect for these lads,sure they make mistakes,we're all human,sometimes you just have to bite the lip when a decision goes against you....
shelbourne1904
29/11/2007, 8:10 AM
Newtown FC V Aileach FC or Kilmacrennan Celtic.(Donegal)
Other interesting ones Ballananty v Kilmallock and Pike Rovers v Portmarnock
brutus
29/11/2007, 8:51 AM
Newtown FC V Aileach FC or Kilmacrennan Celtic.(Donegal)
Other interesting ones Ballananty v Kilmallock and Pike Rovers v Portmarnock
Are both team from donegal and whats the standard of football like up there,anyone know?
smellyfeet
29/11/2007, 11:15 AM
Are both team from donegal and whats the standard of football like up there,anyone know?
AFAIK Donegal have a Senior League so that would be a higher standard that the Junior League. I fancy Newtown to go into last 32.
Hopefully big crowd aswell. Frosty will get the singing started and maybe play a few notes on the spoons.
brutus
29/11/2007, 12:17 PM
Hopefully big crowd aswell. Frosty will get the singing started and maybe play a few notes on the spoons.[/QUOTE]
Also a few cans of bulmers flying around and that special "welcome to hell" sign,goodluck to newtown,they have a stronger team now than they have had in last couple of years and home advantage like you said with frosty.
shelbourne1904
29/11/2007, 1:35 PM
Should be another great day in "HELL" but one of the players has an injury after Frosty discovered he could play the spoons better on his shoulder. and proceeded to perform 12 different(all sounded the same to me) compositions.
He must be some man with a bowl of cornflakes!!!:D
brutus
29/11/2007, 1:39 PM
Should be another great day in "HELL" but one of the players has an injury after Frosty discovered he could play the spoons better on his shoulder. and proceeded to perform 12 different(all sounded the same to me) compositions.
Brilliant :D:D
smellyfeet
29/11/2007, 2:06 PM
Next game at home 2 weeks before Christmas, Surely he'll play Composition Number#4 "Frosty The Snow Man" from his Christmas Greatest hits Album:)
For anyone that wants to make their way down to Ballycasey on the 15th-12/07 @ 2.00pm, your sure to witness a trully great show, It might not be Great Football but Frosty is the Business.
plasticpitch
29/11/2007, 2:40 PM
how can you write a statement like that...of course the player wasn't registered or why else did lifford get punished...as for the incident wit the ref.were you there..it must have been pretty bad to say the ref reported it to the police..i know the ref and he would let alot go over his head..so it has to have been some sort of pysical assault...cowardly if you ask me..
thats what he told me.. he was registered. the incident with the ref... no i ws not there. again i am going on a direct report from the player. All the same i fully agree with the suspension. You cannot lay a hand on the ref and im sure the player regrets it.
brutus
30/11/2007, 7:51 AM
in all fairness who the feck would bring spoons to a match:confused:[/QUOTE]
Frosty or better known as arvaladze who played with rangers.:p
smellyfeet
30/11/2007, 8:25 AM
in all fairness who the feck would bring spoons to a match:confused:
Frosty or better known as arvaladze who played with rangers.:p[/QUOTE]
Or Kevin Wicks from Eastenders
brutus
30/11/2007, 8:48 AM
Or Kevin Wicks from Eastenders[/QUOTE]