View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Buzzer
10/10/2007, 7:38 AM
Rule 48 of the CDSL clearly states that..........
In the event of 2 teams, in a fixture, having the same registered colours, the home team/club shall change, otherwise the fixture may not take place and the home team may lose the points or be fined.
The problem here is that when a club gets a new set of sponsered gear, it may be differant from what the club was previously wearing and the club may not have informed the League of the colour change.
This however was not the problem here as Newmarket were the away side and like a lot of contributers to the thread, Newmarket have played in Red for as long as I can remember also.
Why does this problem not arise when Newtown play Avenue, simply because both teams know they wear the same colours but have sensible, responsible people running their clubs who avoid a clash of colours.
Anybody from Bunratty that did not know that Newmarket play in RED must have just moved into the parish last weekend.
I would have to agree. I think everyone knows Newmarket play in red and any, even slight colour clash should have been noticed before the day of the game and delt with by Bunratty.

old git
10/10/2007, 9:07 AM
bunratty were at home

cheers .. really no excuse then for bunratty ..

Wayne's World
10/10/2007, 9:11 AM
First of all I find it hard to believe that Bunratty pulled a stunt but there are a lot of Doubting Thomas' out there who believe they did.

Mix up maybe but it would be harsh on them if they were to lose the points ( which I don't think they will )

Cousin Syl has been very quiet on this so maybe he might be able to clear things up unless he has a guilty conscious about something.

Do tell Cousin Syl..........................

shelbourne1904
10/10/2007, 9:17 AM
"Why does this problem not arise when Newtown play Avenue, simply because both teams know they wear the same colours but have sensible, responsible people running their clubs who avoid a clash of colours.
Anybody from Bunratty that did not know that Newmarket play in RED must have just moved into the parish last weekend."[/QUOTE]

To be honest I think one of the clubs is always on the ball and has the second set at both home and away games.
The point here is if you go to the bother of getting a second strip you might as well wear it when you get the opportunity or it will never be used.Having said this most managers and I include Newtown in this never bother to check what colors their visitors wear and in effect ,despite having in some cases 3 full changes of gear in their home dressing rooms ,change only the jerseys at the last minute when they see their opponents togged out.Its laziness and incompetence.

sore_toe
10/10/2007, 10:10 AM
First of all I find it hard to believe that Bunratty pulled a stunt but there are a lot of Doubting Thomas' out there who believe they did.

Mix up maybe but it would be harsh on them if they were to lose the points ( which I don't think they will )

Cousin Syl has been very quiet on this so maybe he might be able to clear things up unless he has a guilty conscious about something.

Do tell Cousin Syl..........................

Bunratty didnt pull any stunts here if any thing the players where going mad because they management made a mistake with the gear.Bunratty where well up for the game and couldnt ask for better conditions last sunday.There should have been a black set of gear left in the clubhouse for there second kit but the under 17's manager took it.Bunratty did NOT pull any stunts here as they fully wanted to play the game but it was a mistake on the management part but its forgotten about and they can make sure this dosent happen again!!!!....

CousinSylDolan
10/10/2007, 10:42 AM
Lads,

I have kept quiet on this as was not there on Sunday. However I do know Bunratty were very eager to play this game and every effort was made to rectify the mistake that was made.

It was very simple what happened. Bunratty managment had left a set of black jersey's in the clubhouse. This is the A team 2nd set. The Under 17 manager took these jersey's from the clubhouse and could not be contacted Sunday when it was realised there was a problem. A set of white jerseys were then proposed but the referee said they were still too similar to the Newmarket strip as they have red sleeves. A committee member then travelled to Cratloe and got blue jerseys. He arrived back in Bunratty at 2.27 where he passed the referee going out the gate of the field and so the game was not played.

In no way are Bunratty saying the ref was at fault. It was a mistake on Bunratty's part but a genuine and simple mistake to make.

Now, despite lads on here from a number of clubs not involved in this at all having opinions on the matter can we leave it to the lg to decide what action to take.

shelbourne1904
10/10/2007, 11:10 AM
Lads,

Now, despite lads on here from a number of clubs not involved in this at all having opinions on the matter can we leave it to the lg to decide what action to take.

I wasnt aware it was a prerequisite to be a member of the clubs involved in an incident to comment on this site???But you are right enoughs enough and anybody who thinks Bunratty were stroking is paranoid.

CousinSylDolan
10/10/2007, 11:41 AM
Smacks of " sure any old thing will do".
This is supposed to be the Premier League in Clare!!

Its comments like above I was referring to Shels... Of course you have the right to comment but not when you were not there and do not know the details of what actually happened.

I dont think Bunratty could ever be accused of having the opinion "sure any old thing will do" so for you to make the above assumption confuses me.

Anyway you are right, lets leave it to the lg now to decide. Incident will be discussed at the Oct 22nd CDSL committee meeting as there was no referee's report at last nights meeting.

magpies
10/10/2007, 1:22 PM
St. Itas V Bridge United
Glin Rovers V Bunratty
Newcastle West V Corofin Harps
Newmarket Celtic V Kildimo Utd
Burren Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd
Rockmount Rovers V Foynes

Any predictions coments etc

CousinSylDolan
10/10/2007, 2:15 PM
St. Itas V Bridge United (Bridge win)
Glin Rovers V Bunratty (Bunratty win)
Newcastle West V Corofin Harps (NCW win)
Newmarket Celtic V Kildimo Utd (Newmarket win)
Burren Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd (Abbeyfeale win)
Rockmount Rovers V Foynes (Rock win)
Bridge Celtic vs Newtown (Bridge win)

shelbourne1904
10/10/2007, 2:56 PM
What about Bridge celtic V Newtown

smellyfeet
10/10/2007, 3:36 PM
What about Bridge celtic V Newtown

Newtown to win on Penalties, Skinny to save 3 and Score the winner himself

platini
10/10/2007, 3:58 PM
Newtown to win on Penalties, Skinny to save 3 and Score the winner himself

If he's sober ;)

old git
10/10/2007, 4:37 PM
If he's sober ;)

no chance of skinny being sober :D:D

platini
10/10/2007, 6:12 PM
there ye go again slagging a player while hiding behind a name..you must spend as much time in the pub since you seem to know he's always drunk..

No need to be in pub, Skinny is always telling me about being drunk

smellyfeet
11/10/2007, 8:01 AM
there ye go again slagging a player while hiding behind a name..you must spend as much time in the pub since you seem to know he's always drunk..

No-one slagging him, Just think that he will be the hero on the day, then he'll go and get drunk:), thats if he's not already drunk from the night before:eek:

old git
11/10/2007, 10:39 AM
No need to be in pub, Skinny is always telling me about being drunk
i have had that conversation with skinny also :eek:

old git
11/10/2007, 10:44 AM
No-one slagging him, Just think that he will be the hero on the day, then he'll go and get drunk:), thats if he's not already drunk from the night before:eek:

whats the story with fixtures this weekend bridge celtic a v newtown a fai & newtown b v bridge celtic b league both on at same time sunday is this correct .... how did clare league manage this one or did clubs request it... would both clubs not need players from there b teams as cover ... and how will newtown get on without the marvellous support the b team players gave them last year during fai run.. :cool:

Planners
11/10/2007, 11:24 AM
In fairness - Newtown A / Newtown B - is there much of a difference !!:D

old git
11/10/2007, 11:40 AM

don't be nasty now ... but premier to 3rd division must be a little difference :D

shelbourne1904
11/10/2007, 1:23 PM

Only 3 Divisions:D

old git
11/10/2007, 1:57 PM
Only 3 Divisions:D

what is the story but with both matches on at same time :confused:

mr miyagi
11/10/2007, 2:04 PM

:D Have you seen Newtown B ?? I'd say there's quite a difference...

shelbourne1904
12/10/2007, 9:20 AM
what is the story but with both matches on at same time :confused:
Thers no story.I would say Mike Lydon didnt even notice.Just coincidence

old git
12/10/2007, 12:38 PM
how many newtown b team players would be called up...i'd say none

probally only 1-2 but they would only be used as cover if a team needed them .. and it looks like they dont need them :ball:

shelbourne1904
12/10/2007, 1:44 PM
Much more likely to come from the Youths/17s team

smellyfeet
12/10/2007, 1:56 PM
how many newtown b team players would be called up...i'd say none

Wardy would probably be the best of the B-team, he also has played with the A-team in the past. He is as fast as any Premier player but has only come back from a few years absence.

Bossman
14/10/2007, 8:08 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated with fixtures & results

studsup
14/10/2007, 9:39 PM
Heard Bunratty got out of jail in the fai and were very lucky to get a penalty shootout

devilfish
15/10/2007, 7:47 AM
Heard Bunratty got out of jail in the fai and were very lucky to get a penalty shootout

Interesting comment, considering both sides missed 3 good chances to win the game, I think we did very well. We finished very strongly and were unlucky with a chance at the end of normal time. For the record, Glin had to turn their jersey's inside out due to a clash of colours (some laugh considering last weeks incident ;)) and their pitch was a disgrace, never played in grass as long as it was yesterday. One of their players got badly injured in the 3rd minute, broke his leg in 3 places and the game was delayed for nearly 90 minutes. Our spotters were excellent with Darren Whelan pulling off one save and they blazed one over. All in all, a win on the road in the FAI is always hard fought against other premier teams.

platini
15/10/2007, 10:04 AM
Interesting comment, considering both sides missed 3 good chances to win the game, I think we did very well. We finished very strongly and were unlucky with a chance at the end of normal time. For the record, Glin had to turn their jersey's inside out due to a clash of colours (some laugh considering last weeks incident ;)) and their pitch was a disgrace, never played in grass as long as it was yesterday. One of their players got badly injured in the 3rd minute, broke his leg in 3 places and the game was delayed for nearly 90 minutes. Our spotters were excellent with Darren Whelan pulling off one save and they blazed one over. All in all, a win on the road in the FAI is always hard fought against other premier teams.

Spoke to one of your lads this morning, he tells me Terry Duggan ran the show from midlle of park, bad injury for the Glin player, surprised the referee didn't abandon the game! Ye look like being very strong from now on with John Coen, Brian Donellan, and Stephen Monaghan coming in to the team.

old git
15/10/2007, 10:12 AM

any win away from home is a good result.. what is your take on bad injury delayed game for 90 mins// after such a bad injury it would be extremly hard for both teams to get up for game ,, would ref have been better off caling match off.. :ball:

devilfish
15/10/2007, 10:40 AM
Ya, Terry played very well but was wrecked going into the last 15 mins (think the stamp of the Knights on his hand had something to do with it!!;)) Himself and glynno dominated the middle for most of the game. Richie Lillis was outstanding in defence, won every ball that came his way. The injury was a strange one, I think it was the way he fell or his studs got caught in the horrible long grass. It happened after only 3 mins. He was unable to move and refused to be carried (can't blame him in fairness). Both teams then stood around waiting for an ambulance. However, while it was en route from Limerick, it got re-directed to a car crash and had to bring the injured to the hospital and then drive back to Glin. The game re-started at approx. 4.15pm. The ref was asked about the ruling as we were under the impression the game had to be abandoned if an ambulance was called but he insisted it had to be played. Overall, a decent game under the circumstances.

platini
15/10/2007, 12:17 PM
brian donnellan won't be available for a few weeks..and young monaghan will probably have to wait for 2 weeks for his transfer to go through again.should probably get there push for league honours going now.. should pick up a handy 3 pts next sunday and take it from there

From what i hear Donellan is available now, why another few weeks???

Side Cutter
15/10/2007, 1:39 PM
brian donnellan won't be available for a few weeks..and young monaghan will probably have to wait for 2 weeks for his transfer to go through again.should probably get there push for league honours going now.. should pick up a handy 3 pts next sunday and take it from there

Wont be anything handy about next weekend.Are rineanna 2 points ahead of bunratty? I have my doubts about you being involved with bunratty but if you are you are not doing them any favours by talking sh1t like this.....

devilfish
15/10/2007, 2:43 PM
Wont be anything handy about next weekend.Are rineanna 2 points ahead of bunratty? I have my doubts about you being involved with bunratty but if you are you are not doing them any favours by talking sh1t like this.....

You can be sure that he is not one of the bunratty lads, look at his name. I wonder is he associated with a certain shannon club!! :D:D:D

2legged tackle
15/10/2007, 2:49 PM

You can be sure that he is not one of the bunratty lads, look at his name. I wonder is he associated with a certain shannon club!! :D

Is it Andy O'Mahony?:D:D

CousinSylDolan
15/10/2007, 3:25 PM
Is it Andy O'Mahony?:D:D

No...

studsup
15/10/2007, 3:31 PM
A handy 3 points? Wouldn't think so now. I've seen this Rineanna team a few times so far and they will be right up for the derby with Shannon FC:D on Sunday.They are as dogged as any in the league and despite having no major stars and being missing some lads, they havnt been easy for any team to beat really this year so I don't see how it's going to be so easy for Bunratty,like they haven't shown anything special this season to date

shelbourne1904
15/10/2007, 4:22 PM
You can be sure that he is not one of the bunratty lads, look at his name. I wonder is he associated with a certain shannon club!! :D:D:D

"Poker Classic - Texas Hold'em

Hi all,

Bunratty FC will be hosting a fund-raising Texas hold'em Poker night in The Creamery Bar, Bunratty this coming Friday 13th from 9pm. Entrance fee is €25for anyone that's interested. "
Not with Bunratty??Why would he post above message.Is he playing for a certain Shannon club but is Bunrattys Marketing Manager???????

Interested
15/10/2007, 8:57 PM
Ya, Terry played very well but was wrecked going into the last 15 mins (think the stamp of the Knights on his hand had something to do with it!!;)) Himself and glynno dominated the middle for most of the game. Richie Lillis was outstanding in defence, won every ball that came his way. The injury was a strange one, I think it was the way he fell or his studs got caught in the horrible long grass. It happened after only 3 mins. He was unable to move and refused to be carried (can't blame him in fairness). Both teams then stood around waiting for an ambulance. However, while it was en route from Limerick, it got re-directed to a car crash and had to bring the injured to the hospital and then drive back to Glin. The game re-started at approx. 4.15pm. The ref was asked about the ruling as we were under the impression the game had to be abandoned if an ambulance was called but he insisted it had to be played. Overall, a decent game under the circumstances.

There is no official ruling on the above circumstance, it comes down to common sense.
Me personally in a situation like that would have taken several factors into consideration, the state of the pitch and the possibilty of further injury. The extra long delay in the ambulance arriving, the demeanor of both sets of players (nobody likes to see injuries like this), if possible consult both captains or managers.
The competition being played and the score at the time. Munster and National fixtures are on a tight schedule and are supposed to be finished on the day, this was probably the over riding factor in the Ref's decision to continue the game, though if it was me in my day I would have abondoned the game, simply because of the time delay in getting the player to hospital and as the incident happened so early in the game, the possible risk of further injury to other players due to the state of the pitch. I always believed that the players safety was paramomount.

CousinSylDolan
16/10/2007, 7:20 AM
Not with Bunratty??Why would he post above message.Is he playing for a certain Shannon club but is Bunrattys Marketing Manager???????

Shels continuing assault on all to do with Bunratty continues... Whats with the chip on your shoulder???

This time however he has lost the run of himself I'm afraid. Seems mixed up between Devilfish and the special one. Maybe this is a good time to chill out and give your neighbour's out the road a break.

Offside
16/10/2007, 12:03 PM
Not mch talk of Newtowns win over last years league champions.. Not many clubs can say they went out to Bridge Celtic and got a 4-0 win. Great result.

chappie
16/10/2007, 2:14 PM
ya good result heard newtown played well.not taking anything away but bridge celtic are in serious trouble this year..lost some good players most notably dan aherne...huge loss...could they do a bridge united on it..and struggle the year after winning it..i hope not..or nobody will want to win league this year:D

we have lost a few boys alright couple with that clonlara goin well at the hurling and a few boys carrying knocks and playin one week and injured the next....credit to newtown they played well and were fairly clinical but it was a bridge celtic team missin a good few lads with a few boys out of position....dont think we will be in a relegation battle but we really need to buck up if we think we have a chance of retaining the league.....

magpies
16/10/2007, 3:51 PM
Who's was the goalie for Corofin last weekend, I must say he is a fine keeper

Wayne's World
17/10/2007, 11:40 AM
Hi Lads

Anyone got the draw for the next round of the F.A.I.

It seems after a great win last week Newtown might fancy their chances of a good run in the competition. I don't think that any of the Clare teams would like to be drawn against them anyway.

Offside
17/10/2007, 12:03 PM
Yeah Newtown always seem to go well in the cup competitions (munster & F.a.i). Its strange really, they seem to find it tough to go away from home and get results in the league yet they always seem to find their form in these competitions.

Anyone know the squad for the Oscar Traynor?

Planners
17/10/2007, 12:08 PM
Who is managing the Oscar's this year - hear it's starting the Oct long weekend - is there anything in place ?

smellyfeet
17/10/2007, 12:41 PM
I was told last night that Big Daddy Magee was asked to manage the Oscar Traynor this year but turned them down. He was told what players he would be working with:eek:I always thought that if you were a manager that you get to pick your own players.:confused:

Wouldn't blame him for turning the job down if thats the case.

Jim Madden and Brendan Rochford are in charge:D

Side Cutter
17/10/2007, 1:14 PM
I was told last night that Big Daddy Magee was asked to manage the Oscar Traynor this year but turned them down. He was told what players he would be working with:eek:I always thought that if you were a manager that you get to pick your own players.:confused:

Wouldn't blame him for turning the job down if thats the case.

Jim Madden and Brendan Rochford are in charge:D

Should we expect anymore? What a joke.Why do they need a manager if they
Have the team picked already??