View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08
shelbourne1904
12/01/2008, 8:25 AM
Come on the Nordies.Best of luck to Newtown and Pike and Balla
shelbourne1904
13/01/2008, 2:57 PM
Newtown were beaten by a better side.Despite no savable shots from either side in the first half Trinity dominated territorially.3 headers scored in the second half all of which were defensive errors but good finishes.
gaiscíoch
13/01/2008, 3:18 PM
Newtown were beaten by a better side.Despite no savable shots from either side in the first half Trinity dominated territorially.3 headers scored in the second half all of which were defensive errors but good finishes.
Hard luck on yesterday. It's always difficult to win away from home in the fai. I was just wondering what team was?:ball:
thetimes1234
13/01/2008, 3:20 PM
Did Newtown have many chances when 0 all?
Some interesting results this weekend with Pike and Ballymun out.
shelbourne1904
13/01/2008, 4:22 PM
Did Newtown have many chances when 0 all?
Some interesting results this weekend with Pike and Ballymun out.
In a nutshell NO!!!!But neither did they except for hitting the bar.
Bossman
13/01/2008, 4:34 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated
very disapointed to hear saturdays scoreline lads;fancied ye would nick it,any feed back about the trip and the opposition a good night was had by all i presume;as it the usual Dublin ref stitch up!!?
papa-j
14/01/2008, 10:19 AM
very disapointed to hear saturdays scoreline lads;fancied ye would nick it,any feed back about the trip and the opposition a good night was had by all i presume;as it the usual Dublin ref stitch up!!?
Beaten by a very strong team. Very big physically every player +6ft. Cant complain, they were the better side on the day,we didnt really get going and were defending most of the game. Nil - nil at half time and disapointed to concede 3 headed goals. The ref was excellant and they laid on a serious spread after the game. They could go far in this competition.
jimbo
14/01/2008, 10:40 AM
the home draw is all important in this comp papa;well done for getting this far,who played well for ye?
old git
14/01/2008, 11:34 AM
Beaten by a very strong team. Very big physically every player +6ft. Cant complain, they were the better side on the day,we didnt really get going and were defending most of the game. Nil - nil at half time and disapointed to concede 3 headed goals. The ref was excellant and they laid on a serious spread after the game. They could go far in this competition.
papa-j
what is your take on getting players up at 4am to make a flight to dublin saturday morning ... for this massive game for newtown... why did ye not fly up friday night or get train / mini bus friday night and stay over :ball::ball:
jimbo
14/01/2008, 11:41 AM
lads would have gone out on the beer git i think if went up friday?? difficult to get a trip like that completely right
old git
14/01/2008, 12:38 PM
lads would have gone out on the beer git i think if went up friday?? difficult to get a trip like that completely right
fair point but for such a big game i'm sure palyers could have gave gone without a few pints untill saturday after game ..
:ball:
Brazil Nut
14/01/2008, 1:29 PM
papa-j
what is your take on getting players up at 4am to make a flight to dublin saturday morning ... for this massive game for newtown... why did ye not fly up friday night or get train / mini bus friday night and stay over :ball::ball:
Players met at the airport at half six, most of the players live only 5mins away which means they prob got up around 6 or so. Players also got to lie down/sleep in the hotel for a few hours before the game. This definitely had nothing to do with the result. Just three headers that were well taken/poorly defended.
Noel Donnelan didn't start and was brought on after 20mins for bunny Carr.:confused:
was bunny injured nut? very early to take off one of your main men,was that the reason for defeat do you think? surely cheeky gave their back four a run for their money?
manalishi
14/01/2008, 6:33 PM
Midfield was over run,including Bunny so he never got a chance to get into the game but management had to do something to stem the tide.Equally defence constantly under pressure so all clearances were inacurate and never gave midfield or frontline a chance as neither Cheeky or Eduardo can head the ball .TC defence won everything in the air and were never stretched on the ground because of poor service to the 2 lads.Biggest dissapointment was poor defending in the air for all 3 goals.Best players for Newtown were Derek Burns and Pa Devaney at full backs.
BallBreaker
14/01/2008, 9:33 PM
Hard luck on yesterday. It's always difficult to win away from home in the fai. I was just wondering what team was?:ball:
Skinny
Pa Devanney
Derek Byrnes
Jason Stretton
Tom O Hare
Jamie Cullen
Anthony White
Paul Carr
Ryan Kelly
Edwardo
Cheeky
Noel Donnellan / Paul Carr
Ray Quigley / Anthony White
Glen Coyle / Jamie Cullen
Fergie o Donnell
Kieran Kissane
Jonny O Koru Out injured
No complaints best team won,thanks to all the supporters who came,they travelled by Plane,Train,Car and bike. Just to add Ref was excellent and Trinity nice bunch of lads,wish them all the best for the rest of the comp,not many teams will go there and get a result,fancy them to do very well.:ball::cool:
old git
16/01/2008, 9:43 PM
papa-j... seems the deadly rumours have started again have just been told in work that bunny carr has packed it in ?? supposedly ****ed off at getting brought off so early on saturday any truth to this :ball:
Ya heard by a reliable source,he is joining park.
MikeBassett
17/01/2008, 10:02 AM
Newmarket Celtic drawn at Home to Fairview Rangers in the Last 16 of the FAI
Spudd
17/01/2008, 10:50 AM
Newmarket Celtic drawn at Home to Fairview Rangers in the Last 16 of the FAI
When is this being played vidic???
papa-j
17/01/2008, 10:50 AM
I'm sure he was annoyed, anybody would be. But he took it very well and understood why. He hasn't told anybody from the team that he's packed it in or he hasn't asked the club for a transfer to Park or anyone else. So its a rumour at the moment. I'd be dissapointed if he left cause he has shown some real quality recently and offers a huge amount in terms of character and experience.
MikeBassett
17/01/2008, 10:58 AM
When is this being played vidic???
according to the draw its 'to be played the weekending February 3rd'. so it shud be on sumtime in the next 3 or 4 weeks
Young Lad
17/01/2008, 11:16 AM
I hear the cup draw is taking place on monday night. Who do ye fancy playing or avoiding. I'd like to see corofin a vs b, would be a great occassion, might also need an ambulance on stand by.
Spudd
17/01/2008, 12:09 PM
according to the draw its 'to be played the weekending February 3rd'. so it shud be on sumtime in the next 3 or 4 weeks
Do you know anything about the views youths,would they be one of the stronger teams in limerick league,it be great for newmarket to beat them home advantage is vital at this stage in the cup, i think last time a clare youths team done so well was back a few years ago,when gerry carroll was looking after newtown youths.good luck to newmarket.:ball:
MikeBassett
17/01/2008, 6:01 PM
Do you know anything about the views youths,would they be one of the stronger teams in limerick league,it be great for newmarket to beat them home advantage is vital at this stage in the cup, i think last time a clare youths team done so well was back a few years ago,when gerry carroll was looking after newtown youths.good luck to newmarket.:ball:
dont know much about them now but i spose dey are a decent side...ya heard about that Newtown team doin well alrite,Newmarket got to the last 16 last year too but were beaten away from home in waterford...home advantage crucial at this stage alrite
jock74
17/01/2008, 8:30 PM
I hear the cup draw is taking place on monday night. Who do ye fancy playing or avoiding. I'd like to see corofin a vs b, would be a great occassion, might also need an ambulance on stand by.
ya that would be a cracker,youth v experience,neighbour v neighbour,all clubs prob wishin for the same thing in the draw..i reckon avenue a for the cup....but then again cup is cup..u never know!!(by the way id fancy corofin b to beat their a team if that draw does happen)anyone got odds for the cup or knw a bookies that does??
well lads this is my first time posting on this site but i have been reading it for over the last year or so. i have been playing soccer in clare for 20 years now so hopefully i will be able to put my 2 pence in when i can.. just on the point above how could ye forget back in the 95/96 season Cloughleigh youths got to the FAI Youths Cup Final and correct me if iam wrong were beating by Home Farm 2 - 0 and it was played in de beers. Mark Stembridge was captain of Cloughleigh and in my opinion the best keeper ever to come out of clare played in goal Barry Ryan.
I remember that game down in the de beers,but i was alot younger then,are you sure that cloughleigh team were the youths and not the juniors??
CousinSylDolan
18/01/2008, 7:33 AM
I remember playing against that Cloughleigh youths team. Great side in fairness but Barry was unreal. He won them so many games. We beat them in 2 lg games the cup and the shield that year but lost early in the Fai so never met them. Watching them go all the way to the final was painful.
2 years later Bunratty youths played in the Munster youths cup semi final against Leeds in Turners Cross. Lost 2-0.
Best of luck to Newmarket against Fairview.
Yea iam sure i was a youth player myself that year and played for Oldtown. Cloughleigh beat us on their way out of clare that year and sure besides that Avenue have been the only team to reach the junior FAI cup final from clare back in 1990......
CousinSylDolan
18/01/2008, 9:19 AM
Looks like games will be off again this weekend lads...
Anyone in favour of a switch to summer soccer? It will surely be discussed at the meeting Monday night.
CousinSylDolan
18/01/2008, 10:49 AM
> The committee of the Clare District Soccer League have called off all
> local matches this weekend due to the bad weather.
>
> There will be a delegate meeting of the Clare District Soccer League on
> Monday 21st January at 9PM in the West County Hotel, Ennis.
>
> This meeting will include the draw for the Prego Menswear Clare Cup.
Keyser Soze
18/01/2008, 11:27 PM
its plain for everyone on the sidelines (except the management) that
he's wasted on the wing,, and the fact that he started the 1st 5/6 games
in the middle of the park and they won all of them... a coinkydink.. me not think so
avenueC
19/01/2008, 7:57 AM
long time ago now but i played with turnpike in a munster youths or u17 final vs some tipp team down in caimins.. hammered though
jamie is wasted out wide
Keyser Soze
19/01/2008, 9:20 AM
long time ago now but i played with turnpike in a munster youths or u17 final vs some tipp team down in caimins.. hammered though
jamie is wasted out wide
and if the rumors are true about bunny do you think the management
will move him into the middle (not that i want bunny to leave) ......no chance ... .. have anthony breaking up the play and let jamie spread the play
gaiscíoch
19/01/2008, 9:27 AM
will move him into the middle (not that i want bunny to leave) ......no chance ... .. have anthony breaking up the play and let jamie spread the play
Managers are there to manage, they will make the decisions on where a player plays. Jamie is well able to talk for himself, I don't think an on-line petition will sway their opinions and rightly so. Have the management not taken Newtown to a great run in the FAI. Being a winger doesn't neccesarily mean you must stay on the wing.:ball:
CousinSylDolan
19/01/2008, 9:34 AM
have anthony breaking up the play and let jamie spread the play
Are you Jose in disguise:D
Keyser Soze
19/01/2008, 9:48 AM
Are you Jose in disguise:D
i am a special one alright :D
Brazil Nut
19/01/2008, 12:31 PM
Thats all well and good but it's very small then in the middle of the park and in Clare soccer winning headers here is vital.
Jamie is definitly a better player in the middle but you have bunny carr, kizzy kissane, tom o hare, anto whyte all looking to play there with only 2 positions going.
guvnor
20/01/2008, 8:28 AM
"very small then in the middle of the park and in Clare soccer winning headers here is vital"
Jamie is one of the best headers of a ball around despite his lack of height!!!!
Bossman
20/01/2008, 8:37 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated
Clifford
20/01/2008, 9:15 PM
was that not played in flannans? could have been double figures only for barry.
Clifford
20/01/2008, 9:18 PM
jamie is wasted out wide
i think that was u17fai with connellans and healy and co. ye beat derry city 1-0 in 1/4's on tec field. the same year avenue youths were beaten 2-0 in munster semi final by shannon town in newmarket.
Clifford
20/01/2008, 9:24 PM
Yea iam sure i was a youth player myself that year and played for Oldtown. Cloughleigh beat us on their way out of clare that year and sure besides that Avenue have been the only team to reach the junior FAI cup final from clare back in 1990......
where u on oldtown team in cup epics v avenue? did ye know avenue reached the last 32 of fai 1991 only to be beaten by newmarket, who in turn got beaten in last 16. two quality teams who could probably have gone further if they hadn't met.
old git
21/01/2008, 12:58 PM
"very small then in the middle of the park and in Clare soccer winning headers here is vital"
Jamie is one of the best headers of a ball around despite his lack of height!!!!
still all depends on were manager wants him to play if good enough
should be able to adapt to playing out wide .. :ball:
where u on oldtown team in cup epics v avenue? did ye know avenue reached the last 32 of fai 1991 only to be beaten by newmarket, who in turn got beaten in last 16. two quality teams who could probably have gone further if they hadn't met.
ah yea i remember then as if they were yesterday i played in both of them, they were properly the best cup games i was ever involved in,just because it was the might of the Avenue against a second devision side and most of us were just out of youths that year 1997..Avenue had just been beating in the FAI Cup semi final against portmarnock.They had all the big guns out that morning..Nobody gave us a chance and it was decided by a last min first half goal by Mark Hehir (super player) We had chances but JP (second only to b ryan as the best keeper in clare) was like a cat in goal for the avenue and they held out for their win..there was a great crowd at that match in the theatre of dreams (fairgreen):p played on a wet sunday morning...The second was the following year and it was as far as i know the first game to be played in the county grounds.Avenue were awarded a very dodgy goal just before half time by the most famous of all referees that ever set foot on a playing field in clare (for all the wrong reasons:mad:) and what made it worse he was only doing the line that day and managed to give a goal even though he was at least 20 yards up from the goal line he was able to see that the whole of the ball had passed the line!!!:cool: Avenue were 3-2 up and we were pushing for the goal when it has to be said one of the most lethal finishers at the time Eddie mc carthy broke up field and scored game over... it will go down as another great cup tie.. it was just a pitty that these games were both semi finals and that we never got to meet in a final...
Bossman
22/01/2008, 12:11 AM
Tonights draws now on www.claresoccer.net
Any predictions lads for who is favourites for this years cup?
smellyfeet
22/01/2008, 9:13 AM
Can't get the draw up, i always seem to have problems when i go into the site.
CousinSylDolan
22/01/2008, 9:21 AM
Round 2
Burren Utd / Bridge Utd B V Tulla Utd
Avenue Utd A V Shannon Olympic B / Rhine Rovers
Hermitage B / Mountshannon Celtic V Ennistymon Town
Cooraclare Celtic V Lifford A
Rock Rovers V Newtown A
Mohers Celtic B / Rineanna Rovers V Lifford B
Manus Celtic A V Hermitage A
Bridge Celtic B / Avenue Utd B V Kilrush Rangers
Connolly Celtic V Corofin Harps A / Cratloe Celtic