View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08
Bossman
28/10/2007, 7:52 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated with fixtures & results
myleftfoot
29/10/2007, 12:08 PM
1. skinny 2. evan glynn 3. eoin o brien 4. kevin danagher 5. brendan rochford 6.mike malley 7. jamie cullen 8. ally mcmillan 9. derek fahy 10. kieran neenan 11. gary browne
subs used jay stretton david russell. and i think declan mcdonald
Hopeless performance by Clare.
Only O'Brien (until he went off), Rochford, Malley and Browne did well. Stretten Russell and Mcdonald did well as subs. Rest of them looked like fish out of water. To be fair from what I heard on the line a lot of players were playing in unfamiliar positions. Evan Glynn was doing ok at right back but then they switched him to the left.
Very strange team selection. Who picked it? Is Skinny the best keeper in the Clare league??? Not on that performance anyway. The centre half from Burren looked lost and the two up front got no service.
Brazil Nut
29/10/2007, 2:52 PM
1. skinny 2. evan glynn 3. eoin o brien 4. kevin danagher 5. brendan rochford 6.mike malley 7. jamie cullen 8. ally mcmillan 9. derek fahy 10. kieran neenan 11. gary browne
subs used jay stretton david russell. and i think declan mcdonald
What clubs do
O'Brien, Danagher, McMillan, Fahy, and Neenan play for?
What subs were there and not used?
thecritic
29/10/2007, 6:06 PM
hi all just a word i dont post much but i have to say i was talking to a bunnraty club member a few weeks back about there youth system he said it was ok today there u17s gave newtown u17s a walkover after newtown turning up at bunnraty togged out. What a joke for such a 'big club'.:o:o
studsup
29/10/2007, 11:33 PM
o brien went off very easily was walking grand 5 mins later...rochie played well browne in 2nd half was best player on the pitch..malley in my opinion ruins the team he wants everything his way or no way..has to take every free every corner everything..suprised he didn't try take the kick outs.think browne and glynn would be a far better partnership in the middle...i dont think skinny is best keeper in clare but dont think he could be faulted for 1st two goals got fouled for 1st and the centre half messed up for 2nd..in fairness to stretton i taught he'd get slaughtered at right back but he did well..they should have brought him on sweeper.in fairness he's no spring chicken an was very unfair to put him up against that winger.but he did very well..can't beat experience..to be honest 2 nil down at half time the managment should have went for it but waited til 20 mins to go to bring on cheeky..who is probably the best striker in clare at the moment..the 2 lads up front are good but not a patch on cheeky..
you're obviously from newtown, your opinion is fairly biased now in fairness and you seem to have a problem with your neighbours - the newmarket celtic contingent in the starting 11 too with your 'faking injury' accusation...come on stretton wasn't really any good like and looked out of his depth.granted, cheeky should have started up front
Interested
30/10/2007, 12:20 AM
it amazes me how when you play away from home in these competitions the refs are against you and even when you play at home there against u.skinny was blatently fouled for 1st goal ref laughed at him..they were putting in some terrible tackles and getting away with them..any tackle clare put in was penalised..:(
It amazes me how you can write this tripe. Dave McCarthy is probably one of only a few referee's that isn't whistle happy and lets a game progress by using the advantage rule (or trying to). Thought Skinny should have got a free kick for the first goal as well, but didn't see the Ref laugh at him.
Clare over-all looked like a team that had not played together before and though they all gave it a go, some were out of their depth. A lot of the players on view were making there Oscar Traynor debuts and were afraid to make mistakes and it showed. The more senior players were not much help to the new comers and 4-0 was not a true reflection on a poor game in general.
devilfish
30/10/2007, 8:02 AM
hi all just a word i dont post much but i have to say i was talking to a bunnraty club member a few weeks back about there youth system he said it was ok today there u17s gave newtown u17s a walkover after newtown turning up at bunnraty togged out. What a joke for such a 'big club'.:o:o
Good one!! Thank God you don't post much judging by that comment. Have you been waiting this long to have a dig at Bunratty FC!! Unfortunately, the U-17's manager was let down big time by several players yesterday for the match against Newtown which is appalling behaviour considering the work that is being put in trying to keep this squad together since July. After their match on Saturday, he was given assurances that there would be approx. 14 players there yesterday. However, only 4 turned up on time with a further 3 arriving late. This is getting very serious as players seem to have lost interest and don't care about the manager who is putting a lot of time and effort into this behind the scenes. The Bridge have now pulled out of a league which has been a shambles since the beggining and this is another serious concern. We can only apologise to Newtown who travelled and were ready for a game yesterday. The club is putting every effort into this U-17's team in hope that we can continue in the league.
shelbourne1904
30/10/2007, 8:35 AM
well in my opinion which like you i'm entitled to. he had a bad game..ask skinny did he laugh at him at half time when skinny asked him why he didn't give a free dave said you should have protected yourself and then laughed about it again wit julian...i like you agree that dave is a good ref but instead of you always coming on here defending refs maybe you should have an open view about it..obviously you are either dave or another ref..your very fast to defend refs but never too fast to defend players..
2 Clare players were kicked ...I repeat kicked off the ball and in both instances he bottled it and booked the offending visiting teams when they were sending off offences.How is that good.
The team was poor overall,with the Burren defender ducking under the ball for the second goal and skinny at fault for the first and third goals.The first ,he wasnt definite enough about going for the ball but it could easily have been a free out.We should get the opposing teams to bring the officials.Our refs have always taken "Clare of the Welcomes" just that bit too far.The third Skinny should be ashamed of .Flapping at its best.What about this Corofin keeper??Is he worth a shot.
Total lack of insight in brining Jayo on at right back having switched Glynn.Jayo actually used to play left back but exposing him to a fast young winger was a poor call despite getting away with it.
GoodWillHunting
30/10/2007, 2:36 PM
I was at the clare oscar traynor match and i think the ref was terrible. He failed in the most fundamental reason for having a referee in the first place, he failed to protect the players. Referees always hide behind the "advantage rule" when they fail to act. O'Brien went off after a terrible "studs-up" challenge which could've resulted in serious injury. O'Malley was subjected to repeated kicks and pushes. There were several more incidents where illegal challenges went in on clare players and under the illusion of the "advantage rule" the ref allowed play to continue and when no advantage resulted the ref did not call play back or talk to the offending player. The only time that ref acts with any decisiveness is when a player questions one of his ridiculous decisions.
This type of cowardly refereeing actually has the opposite effect on the flow of a game, rewarding persistant, niggling, disruptive tackling and causing frustration and bad-tempered reactions from the victims.
He also strikes me as an arrogant man who wouldn't be able to take any criticism so i don't see him changing his style anytime soon...
shelbourne1904
30/10/2007, 3:55 PM
"o brien went off very easily was walking grand 5 mins later" Quote special 1
I dont know how you thought this.That was a filthy studs up tackle on O Brien and should have been punished by the ref and wasnt.
Interested
30/10/2007, 8:03 PM
well in my opinion which like you i'm entitled to. he had a bad game..ask skinny did he laugh at him at half time when skinny asked him why he didn't give a free dave said you should have protected yourself and then laughed about it again wit julian...i like you agree that dave is a good ref but instead of you always coming on here defending refs maybe you should have an open view about it..obviously you are either dave or another ref..your very fast to defend refs but never too fast to defend players..
A Former Ref actually. The reason I come on here defending them is that they are not allowed to (a Branch Rule), and someone has to for some of the topics discussed.
I wasn't privvy to his conversation with Skinny or Julian at half time so take your word for the incident.
In regard to me having an open view, we generally only get one side of an argument on here i.e. the players/clubs, I have been in enough incidents myself over the years to know that a biased opinion is generally given by the player/club and Referee.
At the close of day everyone is involved for the love of the game, be you a player, club member or official and untill the them versus us (on both sides) is stamped out controversy will always remain.
brutus
31/10/2007, 9:19 AM
Anyone care to share what they think is the strongest 11 for the OT team.
Any 11 from Newmarket Celtic:);)
brutus
01/11/2007, 8:57 AM
Any 11 from Newmarket Celtic:);)
Is that including yourself or would you just count yourself as super sub or water boy?:D
plasticpitch
01/11/2007, 9:55 AM
Any 11 from Newmarket Celtic:u know they might have to get up before 9 on a sunday morning:p could ya get any 11 from newmarket to do that:D
Is that including yourself or would you just count yourself as super sub or water boy?:D
No I would be more suited to 1B in Limerick at my age :rolleyes:
smellyfeet
01/11/2007, 1:46 PM
Just found this on Wikipedia...
Shannon Olympic
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
• Interested in contributing to Wikipedia? •Jump to: navigation, search
Shannon Olympic F.C. are a football club based in Shannon, County Clare, Ireland. They were established in 1993 and joined the Clare League in the same year. For the 2007-2008 season they are members of the Clare Hire and Sales Division 1, after relegation in 2006-2007.
The club was founded by Chilean refugees led by Móro Santino in 1993. The club has enjoyed mixed success through the years. In 2005 the club held a competition in the local schools to create a team mascot (Wayn'O Wonder - Dog) to help change their fortune. This did ensure a quick turnaround although the club were unluckily beaten in the quarter final of the Inter-Toto Cup. The club has had its fair share of scandal and controversy over the years. Striker Jason Regan was banned for eight games and fined €300 for launching a violent shot at a pregnant female spectator, although he claimed he was aiming for the team's mascot.
James Bullman has trained the team since 1995, doing so in that time without a whistle. Promising midfielder David Collins turned down a lucrative contract to pursue a career as a rap artist under the name of Collie. http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=7850798
The team colours are red and blue and the team ground is "The Big Blue" with a capacity of 15,343. The highest attendance ever recorded was 152 against Rock Rovers on 13th March 2004.
[edit] External links
League reference
This football article is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it.
Retrieved from "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shannon_Olympic"
Category: Football (soccer) stubs
brutus
01/11/2007, 2:08 PM
No I would be more suited to 1B in Limerick at my age :rolleyes:
Dont think so first,over fourtys for your condition, besides 1b tougher than you think so maybe stick with the water boy,:D
brutus
01/11/2007, 2:10 PM
Just found this on Wikipedia...
Shannon Olympic
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
• Interested in contributing to Wikipedia? •Jump to: navigation, search
Shannon Olympic F.C. are a football club based in Shannon, County Clare, Ireland. They were established in 1993 and joined the Clare League in the same year. For the 2007-2008 season they are members of the Clare Hire and Sales Division 1, after relegation in 2006-2007.
The club was founded by Chilean refugees led by Móro Santino in 1993. The club has enjoyed mixed success through the years. In 2005 the club held a competition in the local schools to create a team mascot (Wayn'O Wonder - Dog) to help change their fortune. This did ensure a quick turnaround although the club were unluckily beaten in the quarter final of the Inter-Toto Cup. The club has had its fair share of scandal and controversy over the years. Striker Jason Regan was banned for eight games and fined €300 for launching a violent shot at a pregnant female spectator, although he claimed he was aiming for the team's mascot.
James Bullman has trained the team since 1995, doing so in that time without a whistle. Promising midfielder David Collins turned down a lucrative contract to pursue a career as a rap artist under the name of Collie. http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=7850798
The team colours are red and blue and the team ground is "The Big Blue" with a capacity of 15,343. The highest attendance ever recorded was 152 against Rock Rovers on 13th March 2004.
[edit] External links
League reference
This football article is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it.
Retrieved from "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shannon_Olympic"
Category: Football (soccer) stubs
Smellyfeet you must be up the walls in work,end of quarter im guessing.:p
Interested
01/11/2007, 10:34 PM
fair enough but you have to agree refs have the rest of us by the balls..if a player does wrong he gets punished..if a ref does wrong nothing is said because the refs will decide to give it up..
Point taken. There was a system in place where the League could request the Referee's Assessor to observe a Referee over a couple of games, depending on how many and how severe the complaints were. Not an ideal solution but one none the less.
Interested
01/11/2007, 10:39 PM
We should get the opposing teams to bring the officials.Our refs have always taken "Clare of the Welcomes" just that bit too far.
In my day, nuetral Referees were appointed for these games, this system was stopped because of the costs involved, it all comes down to finances in the end.
Bossman
04/11/2007, 7:49 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated
CousinSylDolan
05/11/2007, 7:48 AM
1 St.Ita's 3-10 Newtown F.C.
2 Listowel Celtic v Castleisland Celtic
3 Ratoo Rovers 1-3 Newcastle West F.C
4 Kilarney Celtic 6-0 Rock Rvs.F.C.
5 Rathkeale Utd 3-2 Kilarney Ath.
6 Lisselton Rovers 3-0 Shannon Olympic
7 Newmarket Celtic 2-4 Bunratty F.C.
8 Abbeyfeale Utd 6-0 Kilrush Rangers
9 Tralee Utd 0-4 Tralee Dynamos
10 Inter Kenmare 1-0 Old Mill F.C.
platini
05/11/2007, 2:27 PM
1 St.Ita's 3-10 Newtown F.C.
2 Listowel Celtic v Castleisland Celtic
3 Ratoo Rovers 1-3 Newcastle West F.C
4 Kilarney Celtic 6-0 Rock Rvs.F.C.
5 Rathkeale Utd 3-2 Kilarney Ath.
6 Lisselton Rovers 3-0 Shannon Olympic
7 Newmarket Celtic 2-4 Bunratty F.C.
8 Abbeyfeale Utd 6-0 Kilrush Rangers
9 Tralee Utd 0-4 Tralee Dynamos
10 Inter Kenmare 1-0 Old Mill F.C.
Is there still remaining games in this round?? From this there are only 2 Clare teams left in the competition.
CousinSylDolan
05/11/2007, 2:59 PM
Is there still remaining games in this round?? From this there are only 2 Clare teams left in the competition.
Correct, only Newtown and Bunratty left in it.
Bad day for Clare teams yesterday with some clubs on the wrong end of some drubbings. 10 team's from Clare/Kerry/Desmond will be in the hat for the 4th round draw leaving 5 winners to go to the open draw. I imagine the 4th round draw will be made this week or early next week as games are to be played on Nov 25th.
shanman2
05/11/2007, 3:39 PM
Correct, only Newtown and Bunratty left in it.
Bad day for Clare teams yesterday with some clubs on the wrong end of some drubbings. 10 team's from Clare/Kerry/Desmond will be in the hat for the 4th round draw leaving 5 winners to go to the open draw. I imagine the 4th round draw will be made this week or early next week as games are to be played on Nov 25th.
10-3 win for Newtown on the road. Any idea of what division Itas are in? Fair play to them.
platini
06/11/2007, 8:29 AM
10-3 win for Newtown on the road. Any idea of what division Itas are in? Fair play to them.
Great result for Newtown, any report on the game, who scored the goals etc??
old git
06/11/2007, 10:38 AM
Great result for Newtown, any report on the game, who scored the goals etc??
good result and i heard last night newtown went 1-0 down early in game last night... did not hear any scorers etc
shelbourne1904
06/11/2007, 1:59 PM
Just checked the Desmond wesite.They are 3rd with 2 games in hand in Div 1.
Noticed also that there are 3 youths divisions in that league with 6 teams in each even though they only have the same number of Junior divisions as Clare and about the same number of teams.We seem to be a bit lazy on that front in Clare.
Offside
07/11/2007, 6:23 PM
Eduardo Ustanov scored 3, Boc scored 2, Anto Whyte got 1, Ryan Kelly, Bunny Carr and Cheeky got 1... Game finished 9-3.
brutus
08/11/2007, 8:53 AM
Eduardo Ustanov scored 3, Boc scored 2, Anto Whyte got 1, Ryan Kelly, Bunny Carr and Cheeky got 1... Game finished 9-3.
Eduardo must be playing good stuff,he is a good player with excellent pace,good to see bunny carr on the score sheet,reads the game better than anyone else in that league imo,Can anyone tell me if dave devanny is getting his game with newtown?
old git
08/11/2007, 10:53 AM
dave is in and out of the team...heard rumour that ritchie lillis and pa twoomey signing for newtown after parting company with bunratty...:ball:
the famous rumours have started yet again... :ball:
Young Lad
08/11/2007, 12:45 PM
he willie go back to corofin b team and shut your mouth
What makes you think it is Willie? I'm just sick of people on this site constantly taking up Newtown and no end product at the end of every season. Maybe ye could set up ye're own thread for all Newtown worshippers.
offside01
08/11/2007, 1:45 PM
First off all i know Willie doesn't post on the site just reads the site special 1. Secondly He and a quite a number of the a team have dropped down to the B team for various internal reasons.
Thirdly Young lad is the posters name don't think that name applies to Willie:).
Fourthly Young Lads comments obvivously has hit a sore spot for the Special One:)
Young Lad
08/11/2007, 8:08 PM
so your willie..when did they get the internet in corofin anyway...why don't ye go back playing bog ball;)
Is it the type of bog ball your refering to that beat ye two years in a row in the cup. We knew Newtown were and still are a soft touch when we got stuck into them.
Bossman
08/11/2007, 10:41 PM
Now on website www.claresoccer.net
old git
09/11/2007, 8:24 AM
Is it the type of bog ball your refering to that beat ye two years in a row in the cup. We knew Newtown were and still are a soft touch when we got stuck into them.
it was a great achievement winning cup 2 years in a row ... don't go and spoil it by being petty.& bitchy.. you beat a lot of other teams also on way to winning cup... lets wait untill corofin get into preimer league & see how they get on every week .. :):)
old git
09/11/2007, 8:29 AM
First off all i know Willie doesn't post on the site just reads the site special 1. Secondly He and a quite a number of the a team have dropped down to the B team for various internal reasons.
Thirdly Young lad is the posters name don't think that name applies to Willie:).
Fourthly Young Lads comments obvivously has hit a sore spot for the Special One:)
offside ... we all use made up names ... e.g. mine old git how do you now i am actually old may be a young lad.. if willie was posting he would hardly post under corofin willie ... would be a little to obvious .. :D
Young Lad
09/11/2007, 8:40 AM
it was a great achievement winning cup 2 years in a row ... don't go and spoil it by being petty.& bitchy.. you beat a lot of other teams also on way to winning cup... lets wait untill corofin get into preimer league & see how they get on every week .. :):)
I'm not actually geting bitchy. It is the Special 1 who is making uncalled for remarks and being petty.
Young Lad
09/11/2007, 8:43 AM
what makes you so sure i'm involved wit newtown..
getting stuck in now and being filty are 2 different things..i'd say ye have the worst diciplinary record in clare..
We have a bad disciplinary record with one particular referee. Is it a coincidence that the referee in question recently had another run in with a team (not Corofin) which lead to 2 players being sent off with one receiving a 9 month ban. Surely the league must look at the fact this referee brings a lot of the trouble upon himself.
shelbourne1904
09/11/2007, 11:50 AM
Whats the chances of both Clare teams getting through
DESMOND-CLARE-KERRY:
Tralee Dynamoes v Listowel Clt.
Newtown v Abbeyfeale Utd.
Lisselton Rovers v Newcastle WEST
Rathkeale Utd. v Killarney Clt.
Inter Kenmare v Bunratty F.C.
Anybody see Inter Kenmare or Abbeyfeale??
Previous results
Abbeyfeale United 6-0 Kilrush Rangers
Inter Kenmare 1-0 Old Mill
First
09/11/2007, 12:47 PM
Whats the chances of both Clare teams getting through
DESMOND-CLARE-KERRY:
Tralee Dynamoes v Listowel Clt.
Newtown v Abbeyfeale Utd.
Lisselton Rovers v Newcastle WEST
Rathkeale Utd. v Killarney Clt.
Inter Kenmare v Bunratty F.C.
Anybody see Inter Kenmare or Abbeyfeale??
Previous results
Abbeyfeale United 6-0 Kilrush Rangers
Inter Kenmare 1-0 Old Mill
After Bunratty's win over Newmarket they must be fancied to go all the way:rolleyes:
old git
09/11/2007, 1:26 PM
After Bunratty's win over Newmarket they must be fancied to go all the way:rolleyes:
all the way were ... your not serious about them winning the fai out are you ... no team in clare good enough to win it out :ball:
shelbourne1904
09/11/2007, 1:31 PM
He meant all the way to Kenmare!!!
Side Cutter
09/11/2007, 1:44 PM
We have a bad disciplinary record with one particular referee. Is it a coincidence that the referee in question recently had another run in with a team (not Corofin) which lead to 2 players being sent off with one receiving a 9 month ban. Surely the league must look at the fact this referee brings a lot of the trouble upon himself.
What was the 9 month ban for?
all the way were ... your not serious about them winning the fai out are you ... no team in clare good enough to win it out :ball:
Kenmare, where do you think , as for Clare teams being not good enough , you are probably right but isn't that more an issue with clubs and players not having the belief that with the right approach they should and could be challenging at the end of competitions like the MJC and FAI. I don't think the Clare league standard is that far off the so called better leagues
shanman2
09/11/2007, 2:25 PM
Kenmare, where do you think , as for Clare teams being not good enough , you are probably right but isn't that more an issue with clubs and players not having the belief that with the right approach they should and could be challenging at the end of competitions like the MJC and FAI. I don't think the Clare league standard is that far off the so called better leagues
The only sides in Clare that could possibly challenge are Newtown, Avenue and Lifford. Every year there seems to be more and more money being paid to amateur players in order to win the FAI an amateur cup!!. He who pays the most wins thats the way it seems. Is there a rule that states you cannot pay a junior player??? ::ball::ball:
shelbourne1904
09/11/2007, 4:02 PM
The only sides in Clare that could possibly challenge are Newtown, Avenue and Lifford. Every year there seems to be more and more money being paid to amateur players in order to win the FAI an amateur cup!!. He who pays the most wins thats the way it seems. Is there a rule that states you cannot pay a junior player??? ::ball::ball:
you are confusing the words amateur with junior:eek:
Ned Kelly
09/11/2007, 8:49 PM
apparently he caught the referee by the throat..shook him ten times insulted him called him every name under the sun...and only got 9 months..corofin player got 12 months for pushing..surely catching him by the throat is worse..
he only shook him 7 times....
Side Cutter
10/11/2007, 9:44 AM
apparently he caught the referee by the throat..shook him ten times insulted him called him every name under the sun...and only got 9 months..corofin player got 12 months for pushing..surely catching him by the throat is worse..
What a joke the clare league are.So far this year we have 8 month ban for verbal abuse on a ref,9 months for assaulting a ref.How can they justify this?