View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

shelbourne1904
11/04/2008, 10:36 PM
was a lifford playersent off last sunday and the same guy played during the week?
thought it was an automatice 1 game ban, im sure the clare league are lookin into it
or are lifford a law unto themselves

was told earlier in season they hada guy sent off ( keeper im sure ) an he played the next game

My understanding is if sent off in the cup then you are suspended for the next cup match if your team progresses,if not you are suspended forthe next league match.Lifford progressed.

Clifford
11/04/2008, 10:47 PM
Scoreline says it all! Yes but we can play even better again. Thats 6 wins in a row (4 in the league) 17 goals scored. This is the right time to be hitting top form.

Fair play to ye lifford lads on a great win last night. As you say ye are hitting the top form at the right time. 4 league wins in a row . .:eek: WOW thats brilliant. Avenue vs Lifford will be a good one and that must be coming up soon. Out of the 3 teams would ye consider yerselves favourites for the league now??[/QUOTE]

lads anyone know who this langer is (avenue1990) i am part of avenue and we have tried for the past few weeks to identify him and stop him making these ridiclous comments. if you really are a club man you'd come forward or even better still **** off to turnpike, because with your ego and attitude your not wanted in our club. if your going to continue with your rubbish and your association (i honestly think and hope your not avenue) the club will have no alternative but to look for this web to stop. you are undermining all the club are doing and building with you **** and will be upsetting a good forum group. maybe 12th man can pass on his details or ban him. on a personal note i dont mind the banter and laugh etc but you seem to have an alternative motive in most of your comments.ie to rub avenues next oppenments up the wrong way. i wonder why?

Interested
11/04/2008, 11:08 PM
Corofin v Rock game will be off as Corofins striker was killed in a car crash last night. Condolances to his family and friends[/QUOTE]

Condolances to the Family and his Clubmates.
Definately puts things in prespective.

Prem Rep!
12/04/2008, 7:34 AM
Sincere condolances to the family, friends and Clubmates.

myleftfoot
12/04/2008, 12:57 PM
First of all sincere condolances to family and friends of the lad tragically killed last night.

As regards a player gettin sent off...it is an automatic 1 game ban yes and the lg will send a letter lettin club know if he has been fined/suspended for any more games.

The only confision for the rule is if a player is sent off in an FAI or MJC game and his team win, then he misses the next game (or more) in that competition. If his team lose the game he was sent off in then he misses the next game (or more) his team plays, be it lg or cup.

Its a fairly simple rule, however I dont agree with having NO right to appeal. Refs make mistakes the same as players (as we saw at Newtown vs Bunratty last week) and why should a player miss the next game because of this.

(the player sent off against Avenue has served his ban yes)

It would appear that Lifford and Bunratty both had players sent off in the last round of the cup. CousinSyl says rats player served his ban in the league (which I believe to be correct) so I presume he will elegible to play in the next cup match??

But according to other posts Lifford player played in their next league match.
Both of you can't be correct.
If i were you CousinSyl id have this officially checked out before you field your team tomorrow vs Lifford just in case Lifford are right.

out red
12/04/2008, 9:07 PM
i heard a rumour that lifford players red card was overturned by league..so he was ok to play game last week..bunratty player is ok to play in cup..as is lifford player

never in all my days have i heard of the clare league overturning a red card. something fishy going on here

MikeBassett
13/04/2008, 2:27 AM
you're dead right out red... ive never heard of that either...if you get sent off, be it deservedly so or not you serve a minimum 1 game ban like it or not. just like every other club

plasticpitch
13/04/2008, 2:57 PM
BUNRATTY 1 LIFFORD 0

the boss is back great win in bridge celtic with an illegal player
no chance of double now..
definately won't be in semi's

THE BOSS IS BACK
yeah maybe so the special 1 but i dont think any real lifford supporters would condone what the boss does on this forum. i personally dislike the guy blowing through his back side. but please his is just a childish opinion.

as for lifford fielding an illegal player.. im hoping its not true but before everybody on this site starts to speculate lets wait for the meeting.
if they have fielded an illegal player then i 100% agree with the comments that they should loose the points(and any hope of winning premier) for doing this. until then i hope that they have not made such a simple mistake!

guvnor
13/04/2008, 3:46 PM
Great result for the rats. This might be the turning point in their season now.

Can anyone shed some light on what happened in the Moher vs Kildysert game during the week. From what i hear Frankie coote sent a Moher player off and then when approached my Moher players saying he (player sent off) is going to be a big loss for their cup game Frankie then told the player to come back on and changed the red to a yellow!:eek:

Kildysert giving Newmarket a walkover today in the league is a joke. What is the punishment for this?

devilfish
13/04/2008, 5:08 PM
yeah maybe so the special 1 but i dont think any real lifford supporters would condone what the boss does on this forum. i personally dislike the guy blowing through his back side. but please his is just a childish opinion.

as for lifford fielding an illegal player.. im hoping its not true but before everybody on this site starts to speculate lets wait for the meeting.
if they have fielded an illegal player then i 100% agree with the comments that they should loose the points(and any hope of winning premier) for doing this. until then i hope that they have not made such a simple mistake!

Lads, I made a call to the Clare League last night and I was told that our player who was sent off against Avenue in the last 16 had to miss the next cup game and we wrongfully suspended him for the following league game against Newtown. Lifford were perfectly ok with fielding that player in Bridge Celtic by what the rule book states and he was missing from the Lifford team this morning. The rules which apply to the Munster and FAI also apply to our domestic cup. This is what I was told by the responsible CSL committee member.

Should put all this to bed I think.

platini
13/04/2008, 5:20 PM

Can anyone shed some light on what happened in the Moher vs Kildysert game during the week. From what i hear Frankie coote sent a Moher player off and then when approached my Moher players saying he (player sent off) is going to be a big loss for their cup game Frankie then told the player to come back on and changed the red to a yellow!:eek:

Kildysert giving Newmarket a walkover today in the league is a joke. What is the punishment for this?

Very enjoyable game of football this morning, Lifford took the game to Bunratty and dominated in all areas for 20 mins, after this and for the remainder of the game Bunratty had the better of the play, there were no real clear cut scoring chances in the game, extra time opened the game up a bit, Bunratty hit the bar twice within a minute, scored just after this and just about deserved the win.

bigguy
13/04/2008, 5:46 PM

In all fairness Mr Coote thinks he can make up his own rules for the game and dare you challange him even in a sporting mannor...but we need all the refs we can get..just hope they can become a little consistant (for a change):eek:

out red
13/04/2008, 7:34 PM
Cdsl rules
"If a player gets sent off in a domestic Clare Cup or League match he is automatically banned for the next domestic Clare Cup or League match (whichever game takes place first). Any queries contact (http://www.claresoccer.net/contact.html) any member of the League committee."
this is the rule for futher notice so all teams are clear on the matter.

Bossman
13/04/2008, 9:45 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated.

Planners
14/04/2008, 9:14 AM
Anyone know when the semi final of the cup is fixed for ?

old git
14/04/2008, 10:10 AM
you're dead right out red... ive never heard of that either...if you get sent off, be it deservedly so or not you serve a minimum 1 game ban like it or not. just like every other club

would be a first for the clare league to overturn a red card .. and by past experience with league cannot see it happening :ball:

old git
14/04/2008, 10:39 AM
In all fairness Mr Coote thinks he can make up his own rules for the game and dare you challange him even in a sporting mannor...but we need all the refs we can get..just hope they can become a little consistant (for a change):eek:

yeah frankie is the man works on differnt rules from everybody else :D:D

old git
14/04/2008, 10:43 AM

it is a joke 2-3 teams in running to win league and a team gives a walkover totally unfair on other teams but it happens year after year , clare league will probally fine kildysert 100 euro . and that is the end of it.

smellyfeet
14/04/2008, 10:53 AM
[QUOTE=old git;920023]yeah frankie is the man works on differnt rules from everybody else

He was the Ref on Saturday for the game between Newtown 17s V Kilrush. He did a good job in that game, but, few young fella's on the sideline got spoken to by him tough, he told them that if they kept on shouting " cheering on their team" that he would send them out of the ground all the way down to Supermacs, he also said that he would remember their faces and that he was (like the old Elephant, always remebers a face):rolleyes:. This is the sort of madness that he needs to cut out. Its like he needs to do something in every game he refs, it just has nothing to do with anything so why does he do it.:confused:

Newtown 17s won 3-1:)

gaffer
14/04/2008, 1:22 PM
yeah frankie is the man works on differnt rules from everybody else :D:D

I think most people would agree that Frankie has his own interpretation of the rules. He must like being ref for Moher match's I see he is doing their next two match's.

CousinSylDolan
14/04/2008, 1:55 PM
Good game in Bunratty yesterday. Lifford started the better but was very even up to that with defences on top really. Bunratty had the best of the 1st half of extra time hitting crosbar twice and then scored just before the break after a good finish by Richie Lillis. All Lifford in the 2nd half of et and they had 2 great chances to equalise but poor finishing and 1 great block kept a clean sheet for Bunratty.

Good game to watch though and credit to both teams and ref (P Sutton) for making it a flowing game.

Moher A next for Bunratty in Doora I presume... not sure when they are on though.

Easy win for Rineanna going by the scoreline... anyone (hacker) with a brief report.

plasticpitch
14/04/2008, 2:33 PM
Newtown A V Newmarket Celtic A

M.O`Brien 6.45

Doolin: Burren United V Lifford A

F.Coote 6.45

Thursday 17/04/08

Lees road Pitch 1: Avenue United A V Bunratty A

M.O`Brien 6.45

Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V Bridge Celtic A

M.O`Halloran 6.45

Friday 18/04/08

Liscannor: Moher Celtic A V Kildysart Celtic

F.Coote 6.45

Sunday 20/04/08

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Rinnanna Rovers

A.Murphy 10.30

Cahercon: Kildysart Celtic V Bunratty A

J.Stanford 2.00

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Moher Celtic A

F.Coote 2.00

Cassidy Park: Lifford A V Avenue United A

D.McCarthy 11.00

Thursday 24/04/08

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Avenue United A

D.McCarthy 6.45

Rinnanna: Rinnanna Rovers V Lifford A

A.Murphy 6.45

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Newmarket Celtic A

J.Stanford 6.45

Friday 25/04/08

Bunratty: Bunratty A V Moher Celtic A

D.McCarthy 6.45

big 10 days in the league starting wednesday night.
Newtown has some tough fixtures ahead. if they fail to get anything from those games and results go against them, could end up in the bottom 2 in 2 weeks

shelbourne1904
14/04/2008, 11:12 PM
[QUOTE=old git;920023]yeah frankie is the man works on differnt rules from everybody else

He was the Ref on Saturday for the game between Newtown 17s V Kilrush. He did a good job in that game, but, few young fella's on the sideline got spoken to by him tough, he told them that if they kept on shouting " cheering on their team" that he would send them out of the ground all the way down to Supermacs, he also said that he would remember their faces and that he was (like the old Elephant, always remebers a face):rolleyes:. This is the sort of madness that he needs to cut out. Its like he needs to do something in every game he refs, it just has nothing to do with anything so why does he do it.

Newtown 17s won 3-1:)

Have to agree that he had a great game as he did v. Avenue in Newmarket in the previous game but cannot understand why he got involved with the crowd at the match!!!By the way this Newtown team has payed 8 games won 8 scored 34 and conceded 4!!!!:D

smellyfeet
15/04/2008, 9:15 AM

Sorry but i missed this post other day. Is this a joke or what. I find it hard to beleave that something like this can go on and nobody object to referee's decision. To me this is totally crackers. Did anyone from Kildysart question this, From above post it seems that they didn't and imo they are just as crackers as ref.

Question to all of you that read this.

If you were involved in this game. What would your reaction be to such a decision??

old git
15/04/2008, 11:57 PM
Sorry but i missed this post other day. Is this a joke or what. I find it hard to beleave that something like this can go on and nobody object to referee's decision. To me this is totally crackers. Did anyone from Kildysart question this, From above post it seems that they didn't and imo they are just as crackers as ref.

Question to all of you that read this.

If you were involved in this game. What would your reaction be to such a decision??

would have asked referee what was going on and then asked my club to ask clare league ,, but as it was frankie coote i would have probally been sent of for asking and ended up being suspended by clare league :D:D it is crazy if it happened and a joke if opposition did nothing about it .

Spudd
16/04/2008, 12:59 PM
Any prediction for this game tonight gents??

Side Cutter
16/04/2008, 1:10 PM

Think this be a close one.Il go for a draw...

CousinSylDolan
16/04/2008, 1:58 PM

Formbook points to Newmarket.. Amazing run they are on. Am I right in saying they have won 10 lg games in a row. Some achievement.

Home game for Newtown though so could go either way really.

LazyLegs
16/04/2008, 3:02 PM
Formbook points to Newmarket.. Amazing run they are on. Am I right in saying they have won 10 lg games in a row. Some achievement.

Home game for Newtown though so could go either way really.

tonight is a big night for newmarket and lifford with regard to the title and form suggests wins for both sides but football is so unpredictable and you never know with newtown, who are a very good side but have suffered from a dip in form

This is the run-in for the top 3.any opinions:

Newmarket: 5 games left.
Newtown (away)
Avenue (away)
Bridge Celtic (away)
Burren (home)
Bunratty (home)

Avenue: 6 games left
Newmarket (home)
Bunratty (home)
Lifford (away)
Newtown (away)
Rineanna (home)
Moher (away)

Lifford: 5 games left
Burren (away)
Avenue (home)
Rineanna (away)
Bunratty (away)
Bridge celtic (home)

LazyLegs
16/04/2008, 3:04 PM
Sorry about the font and size things. just rtead between the lines:confused:

avenueC
16/04/2008, 8:12 PM
nwtwn 0 nwmrkt 0
lifford won 2 nil

tight at top
in avenues hands now....

Spudd
17/04/2008, 7:49 AM
Lads can anyone explain to me why newtown played 1 of there weaker teams lastnight when in a dangerous position in the league with relegation,the likes of cheeky,jamie cullen,kissy,pa devanny and ray quigley all on the bench is crazy carry on,sending off was harsh imo.

CousinSylDolan
17/04/2008, 8:05 AM
Good point for Newtowwn considering they played most of the game with 10 men.. Who was sent off for them.

I was not there but hear it was a decent game of football.

Spudd
17/04/2008, 8:10 AM
Good point for Newtowwn considering they played most of the game with 10 men.. Who was sent off for them.

I was not there but hear it was a decent game of football.

Fergal the small skin up front for newtown got sent off,it wasnt a bad game of ball but newmarket were the stronger side,alot tougher also with the likes of o malley,docca and lawlor,if newtown played a stronger team they could have got more than a point.

smellyfeet
17/04/2008, 8:26 AM
I was a bad game imo, ball out of touch more time than a rugby match. throw ins even went out to touch. 3 shots on goal in the whole game from what i can remember.

I will say that it was a good contest in terms of effort to win the ball, but if thats what people want to watch/play then thats fine. I think that all that argy bargy, aaghh aaghh, stuff should be left at home. On paper we had 2 teams that have players capable of playing ball but when they constantly hoof the ball out of the back into touch at least 650 time in a game it get a bit boring. The pitch last night was in top nick so there should be no excuses for the crap.

papa-j
17/04/2008, 8:38 AM
Lads can anyone explain to me why newtown played 1 of there weaker teams lastnight when in a dangerous position in the league with relegation,the likes of cheeky,jamie cullen,kissy,pa devanny and ray quigley all on the bench is crazy carry on,sending off was harsh imo.

Injuries, lack of form etc. We had lost 3 on the bounce so some changes were needed and others enforced. I think the draw with 10 men for most of the game justified the team selection.

papa-j
17/04/2008, 8:40 AM
I was a bad game imo, ball out of touch more time than a rugby match. throw ins even went out to touch. 3 shots on goal in the whole game from what i can remember.

I will say that it was a good contest in terms of effort to win the ball, but if thats what people want to watch/play then thats fine. I think that all that argy bargy, aaghh aaghh, stuff should be left at home. On paper we had 2 teams that have players capable of playing ball but when they constantly hoof the ball out of the back into touch at least 650 time in a game it get a bit boring. The pitch last night was in top nick so there should be no excuses for the crap.

Once we went down to 10 men I think any thoughts of flowing football went out the window. We dug in and got the draw, could have nicked it with a couple of chances on the break. Some of those hoofs were half decent by the way:D

smellyfeet
17/04/2008, 9:09 AM
Once we went down to 10 men I think any thoughts of flowing football went out the window. We dug in and got the draw, could have nicked it with a couple of chances on the break. Some of those hoofs were half decent by the way:D

Thats through, it was great point against league leaders. The hoofs were probably the best hoofs ive ever seen, but to have 2 or 3 great hoofs in a row is absolutly phenominal, well done to all involved;)

Avenue1990
17/04/2008, 10:38 AM
nwtwn 0 nwmrkt 0
lifford won 2 nil

tight at top
in avenues hands now....

have to agree its in our hands now but saying that we have to get the points first. A good result for Newtown and an even better one for avenue and lifford. Once we get the win on sunday against lifford i think were coasting providing of course we beat bunratty tonight - but we owe them from the cup but its going to be a tough one.

CLIFFORD - by the way did you enjoy the social last saturday night? A great night it was..Phil Neal was in great form wasnt he!!:D

Spudd
17/04/2008, 11:14 AM
[QUOTE=Avenue1990;922586] Once we get the win on sunday against lifford i think were coasting providing of course we beat bunratty tonight - but we owe them from the cup but its going to be a tough one.

Your very confident about beating lifford,after seeing ye and lifford play,lifford will beat ye end of. :D

out red
17/04/2008, 12:45 PM
weakened team my a***. it was the best team that newtown have put out sice they were knocked out of fai. found it surprising that the management team think they are too good to go down, laughing and joking throughing out smart comment to celtic players at least their players dont have the same attitude.

Spudd
17/04/2008, 1:09 PM
weakened team my a***. it was the best team that newtown have put out sice they were knocked out of fai. found it surprising that the management team think they are too good to go down, laughing and joking throughing out smart comment to celtic players at least their players dont have the same attitude.

You obviously havent got a clue if you think that was the best newtown team since f.a.i,it was the weakest team they could have and had put out.
For the mamnagement i didnt witness any of this out red so cant comment on it.

Brazil Nut
17/04/2008, 2:56 PM
[QUOTE=Spudd;922694]You obviously havent got a clue if you think that was the best newtown team since f.a.i,it was the weakest team they could have and had put out.

Cant agree with you there spudd. The back 4 were back together like the old days and guess what a claen sheet. The middle of the park has been a problem all year but especially since anto white got injured so bringing in fresh legs was important. Young Peter was outstanding best player on the pitch for newtown. Jamie and Kizzy hadn't been performing so why keep playing them. Cheeky is unreal but again hadn't scored in a while whereas fergie was playing very well so again a sensible decision. All players are fairly equal anyway to be honest so it's about performing and i think they did that last night.....

out red
17/04/2008, 3:10 PM
[quote=Spudd;922694]You obviously havent got a clue if you think that was the best newtown team since f.a.i,it was the weakest team they could have and had put out.

Cant agree with you there spudd. The back 4 were back together like the old days and guess what a claen sheet. The middle of the park has been a problem all year but especially since anto white got injured so bringing in fresh legs was important. Young Peter was outstanding best player on the pitch for newtown. Jamie and Kizzy hadn't been performing so why keep playing them. Cheeky is unreal but again hadn't scored in a while whereas fergie was playing very well so again a sensible decision. All players are fairly equal anyway to be honest so it's about performing and i think they did that last night.....

enof said

Avenue 1990 fair play to u cause if lifford were lackin any motivation for sunday they now have plenty.

Spudd
17/04/2008, 3:14 PM
[QUOTE=Spudd;922694]You obviously havent got a clue if you think that was the best newtown team since f.a.i,it was the weakest team they could have and had put out.

Exactly like the old days,the boys at the back aint getting younger and would have got punished big time if newmarket had young hayes starting with his pace,pa devanny playing left back all season and has been 1 of there best players this year,tom o hare played centre for the majority of the season and has played excellent also,agree with you with anto whyte major loss and for cheeky how is he going to get goals if hes not getting the supply from midfield,personally i just think if newtown are fighting for relegation now they cant be gambling with these players on the bench.

plasticpitch
17/04/2008, 3:29 PM
have to agree its in our hands now but saying that we have to get the points first. A good result for Newtown and an even better one for avenue and lifford. Once we get the win on sunday against lifford i think were coasting providing of course we beat bunratty tonight - but we owe them from the cup but its going to be a tough one.

:Di'm sure bunratty are relishing doing the double over ye....
as for sunday lifford will be well up for the challenge...although they might give ye a walk over :) since they are beaten already

old git
17/04/2008, 4:11 PM
[QUOTE=Brazil Nut;922755]

Exactly like the old days,the boys at the back aint getting younger and would have got punished big time if newmarket had young hayes starting with his pace,pa devanny playing left back all season and has been 1 of there best players this year,tom o hare played centre for the majority of the season and has played excellent also,agree with you with anto whyte major loss and for cheeky how is he going to get goals if hes not getting the supply from midfield,personally i just think if newtown are fighting for relegation now they cant be gambling with these players on the bench.

i'm sure newtown management would have taken a draw as a good result before match started .. as for weakened team !! you are supposed to have a good enough squad to bring players in and rest other players .. cheeky did nothing last week against lifford a good striker can also get goals by working hard , chasing down defenders & create their own chances, plus kissane & cullen both struggled in midfield over the last few games .. its amazing a few bad results and the managers are to blame .. do'nt forget newtown have played the same palyers for most of the season the same players who got them on a good run in fai & munster ..:ball:

CousinSylDolan
17/04/2008, 7:39 PM
Avenue 1 2 Bunratty
Rovers 1 2 Bridge Celtic

plasticpitch
17/04/2008, 7:53 PM
Avenue 1 2 Bunratty

well that result means that kildysart are relegated.
also it puts newtown into the bottom 3....
serious dent in avenues title hopes.. massive game sunday for them now.
great result for bunratty.. pity they are only finding form now otherwise could have been knocking on the door

old git
17/04/2008, 10:28 PM

CLIFFORD - by the way did you enjoy the social last saturday night? A great night it was..Phil Neal was in great form wasnt he!!:D

whoops avenue 1990 whats the story now !! beaten tonight at home to bunratty 2-1 :D:D great result for bunratty and great result
to keep preimier title going down to the wire .. definatly squeaky bum time now