View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

tulla b
24/10/2007, 11:25 AM
What constitutes a big club??
How many underage teams do they have?Do you know how many Lifford,Avenue,Fern Celtic,Ennis Town,Newtown ,Newmarket have??

shels it seems to me u ave a chip on your shoulder when ever anything about bunratty is posted. to me a big club is a club that has won 2 premier leagues, a div one title, and 3 cups in the last ten years ( not exactly sure on these). dont think any other club besides avenue can boast this record. that big enough for you.

papa-j
24/10/2007, 11:27 AM
they seem to have 5-6 underage teams on the go .. so parents seem happy enough to let their kids play with newtown.. played under a few managers who went a bit crazy at times but usually forgotten after match .. .. what do you suggest that newtown get rid of this manager because he loses it now and again .. these kids you are talking about were what age 17 / 18 c,mon now they should be well used to getting a bit of abuse ...:ball:

The fact that there is one youth team in a town like Shannon says everything about the attitude of young lads towards football today. blaming managers for loosing their heads is a pathetic excuse for players and their parents packing it in or moving clubs.Some of these guys think that they are superstars for just showing up on match day and the parents should have a close look at their little angels before passing the buck to guys that are giving their time up week in week out.

shelbourne1904
24/10/2007, 11:40 AM
shels it seems to me u ave a chip on your shoulder when ever anything about bunratty is posted. to me a big club is a club that has won 2 premier leagues, a div one title, and 3 cups in the last ten years ( not exactly sure on these). dont think any other club besides avenue can boast this record. that big enough for you.

Dont get me wrong.Thats a great achievement as you point out.But at the expense of other clubs who do the ground work.Thats why I asked about who really are the big clubs.Do you know how many titles those clubs Ive listed have won at schoolboy level and even if they hadnt the fact that they put so much in at that level is why the game is still alive and growing here while other clubs do nothing at underage and just pick up the players at junior level with no effort or commitment where it counts.They are the big clubs!

shanman2
24/10/2007, 11:46 AM
All managers can loose the head occasionally,but what happens down in newtown football club is very often,its not acceptable for a manager to loose the head like this fella does its crazy,parents have noticed this and wont tolerate it by not letting there kids play with this certain club,if a player does bad,why not call him aside,tell him he was unlucky and to keep the head up that he will keep improving if he keeps working hard,not **** a player out of it infront of all other players and spectators,that the poor lad is afraid to touch the ball again because his confidence is gone after verbal abuse,kick it out of the game coz it aint helping any1 improve in theres.:cool:

The man you talk of is a soccer man through and through dedicated Newtown man who has sweat blood for not only the young fellas in Shannon but also in Clare. I'd ponder the question of how many of the players are now playing junior soccer in Shannon who he has has an imput in training. When you go give up 4 nights of your week to train the young lads then you deserve the right to comment.

shelbourne1904
24/10/2007, 11:47 AM
3 players left, shelbourne, and they left because of different issues,I think 1 was because there manager loses to head to easy,couldnt motivate the players due to anger management,if you have a manager like that for scholboys,it doesnt do nothing for the young lads confidence.:ball:

REPEAT: "One because he wouldnt pay a CL fine and thought if he signed for another club he would not have to pay it,"

You mean his anger management and the resultant fine at getting sent off for striking a player from the Newmarket club he eventually went to??

2legged tackle
24/10/2007, 11:49 AM
The fact that there is one youth team in a town like Shannon says everything about the attitude of young lads towards football today. blaming managers for loosing their heads is a pathetic excuse for players and their parents packing it in or moving clubs.Some of these guys think that they are superstars for just showing up on match day and the parents should have a close look at their little angels before passing the buck to guys that are giving their time up week in week out.

Well said papa j, Posts as good as this one only come with experiance(old age):D. Maybe Tony, you should have a look at some of these young lads your defending and how it was the three lads(the three superstars of the team) that left to go to Newmarket and how the rest of the team are still with Newtown.
Maybe these "antics" only get to the young lads that feel they don't need to be told when their wrong and the rest feel they can learn from it.

old git
24/10/2007, 12:30 PM
No your dead wrong again old git,there should be no abuse at all in the game,If newtown got rid of this fella it would be like gettig rid of newtown,ive great respect for the man,but just dont agree with his side line antics its not on.:ball:

no abuse in game ... do you watch any matches local / league of ireland / even tv games you can see players swear / abuse each other even managers do it .. :confused:

old git
24/10/2007, 12:33 PM
Well said papa j, Posts as good as this one only come with experiance(old age):D. Maybe Tony, you should have a look at some of these young lads your defending and how it was the three lads(the three superstars of the team) that left to go to Newmarket and how the rest of the team are still with Newtown.
Maybe these "antics" only get to the young lads that feel they don't need to be told when their wrong and the rest feel they can learn from it.

and i may be wrong but is one of these players now supposed to be signing for park rangers now .. did newmarket manager also shout at him :D:D

papa-j
24/10/2007, 12:36 PM
i wuldn't call fern celtic or ennis town big clubs.....
in my opinion a club will always be judged on its junior teams..

ye are all mad to point out that lads of 17 or 18 are big enough for verbal abuse so sure enough they are big enough to pick what junior team the play for..
ever come to mind that if ye are the only youth team around that they are only playing wit ye cause there's no one else..:)

in my opinion a club will always be judged on its junior teams..

ever think that the opinion above results in the scenario below??

ever come to mind that if ye are the only youth team around that they are only playing wit ye cause there's no one else..:)[/

If this continues then how will the so called big( junior ) clubs field a team in a few years?? I'm sorry to say that imo a few clubs will be unable to field a decent ( if any) junior team in the next 10 years or so.

smellyfeet
24/10/2007, 12:43 PM
Your dead right special1,its crazy what im reading here,if you ask me everyone of those bloke arguing,are all newtown lads,maybe this site should be called newtown fc instead of clare league.

Sure tony, you started the comment and all your getting is responces to it.

As i said already, different opinion on the matter, TBH i was at the game the other day and if it wasn't for the manager shouting at the players some of them would just tune out and might aswell be watching the game with their parents.My thought on the matter is that some of these lads need to be F..ked out of it now and again because if you talk to them they don't hear you,in one ear and out the other side.

old git
24/10/2007, 12:51 PM
They left because they werent happy with what was going on and the majority of people wouldnt play with that abuse,being honest can you tell me if you werent happy with a team would you stay?

players will always leave clubs no matter what manager is in charge
players & players / managers do not always get on every club has had experience of players moving on and a lot would be down to player / manager clashes... majority of people would not play with that abuse 11 players on team ... 3 leave = majority of players stayed ..alot of these players probally played all their underage football with newtown and looks like they want to continue playing with newtown ..:ball:

smellyfeet
24/10/2007, 1:11 PM
This is ridiculous,look there a bunch of kids wanting to play football,know one deserves to be f..ked out of it,actually pathetic what ye are trying to say,get it into your head junior football and schoolboy football is totally different,if they tune out,there kids for god sake,stop taking it so serious with young lads,if ye keep goin on the way ye are,kids in this town will lose interest in football,because the likes of ye are taking the fun out of it and its well out of order.

Ok booo hooo. lets agree to disagree

papa-j
24/10/2007, 1:30 PM
This is ridiculous,look there a bunch of kids wanting to play football,know one deserves to be f..ked out of it,actually pathetic what ye are trying to say,get it into your head junior football and schoolboy football is totally different,if they tune out,there kids for god sake,stop taking it so serious with young lads,if ye keep goin on the way ye are,kids in this town will lose interest in football,because the likes of ye are taking the fun out of it and its well out of order.

who is this "ye" you speak of!!! You have an agenda and its nothing to do with the good of Schoolboy football.

Young Lad
24/10/2007, 1:35 PM
In my opinion it doesn't do any harm to use some choice language at these so called young lads. If i'm not mistaken were at least one of these lads that transfered to newmarket on the newtown junior panel year. He should be big enough and bold enough to take criticism. A point comes at aged 16 or so that if a manager doesn't show whose in charge lads of that age will walk all over him.

smellyfeet
24/10/2007, 1:42 PM
I'll tell ya what has nothing to do with the good of schoolboy football...having players like jay stretts on the ocar traynor panel..Watching overweight old men tryn to catch a breather every 2 mins...look kid's..this is what you should be aiming for.:o:p

At least he can take a bollocking:D

2legged tackle
24/10/2007, 1:42 PM
and i may be wrong but is one of these players now supposed to be signing for park rangers now .. did newmarket manager also shout at him :D:D

Rumour has it he shouted and cursed. You could say he shouted a curse. Time for a transfer there and then!

papa-j
24/10/2007, 2:00 PM
Must be taking both of Maddens if hes on the oscor traynor panel..
'Balls and all'.

no thats your sister you're thinking of :D

papa-j
24/10/2007, 2:10 PM
Are you Jimmy Rocks in disguise?:p

why is he doin her too?:eek:

2legged tackle
24/10/2007, 2:18 PM
get it into your head junior football and schoolboy football is totally different,

Youths football is not schoolboy football.

2legged tackle
24/10/2007, 2:41 PM
Think you've gotten it wrong again there Tony. :confused:I'm not young lad,I'm 2legged tackle as you can see, Young lad is someone else as you can also see. Can i ask how did you mistake me for young lad??:confused:

First
24/10/2007, 3:36 PM
Although the thread is highly entertaining in school yard way , It is getting totally out of order , lets get back to football and leave the obvious Newtown baiting to one side.Why not open a Newtown thread and let the rest of us debate the Clare league as the thread was intended before the mods decide otherwise.:eek:

old git
24/10/2007, 4:21 PM
I'll tell ya what has nothing to do with the good of schoolboy football...having players like jay stretts on the ocar traynor panel..Watching overweight old men tryn to catch a breather every 2 mins...look kid's..this is what you should be aiming for.:o:p

tony .. first you were having a dig at a certain well know newtown person who is involved with youth team an d his antics at matches.. what has jay stretts got to do with this :confused: are you a bitter person with a grudge against newtown... plenty other clubs out there with probally with same problems with youth teams and so called overweight old men & plenty of overweight young men still playing junior football around clare & shannon

Planners
25/10/2007, 9:04 AM
What's the story this weekend with the Oscar Traynor - who's the boss ?

shelbourne1904
25/10/2007, 9:08 AM
Ger Loughnane

Planners
25/10/2007, 9:25 AM
Tony Considine on the wings !

mr miyagi
25/10/2007, 10:10 AM
REPEAT: "One because he wouldnt pay a CL fine and thought if he signed for another club he would not have to pay it,"

You mean his anger management and the resultant fine at getting sent off for striking a player from the Newmarket club he eventually went to??

Thats utter crap...I was at that match, and there was no striking of a Newmarket player...that player was sent off for a comment made to a referee who was having a bad day.

Maybe you should pay more attention to whats going on on the field and you might not have players leaving.

As for anger management issues, anyone who knows the player will tell you otherwise.

brutus
25/10/2007, 10:30 AM
Thats utter crap...I was at that match, and there was no striking of a Newmarket player...that player was sent off for a comment made to a referee who was having a bad day.

Maybe you should pay more attention to whats going on on the field and you might not have players leaving.

As for anger management issues, anyone who knows the player will tell you otherwise.

Who is this player mr miyagi?

plasticpitch
25/10/2007, 11:02 AM
Newmarket v Bunratty :D
To all associated with Bunratty , Newmarket wear RED. ;)
hehe:D

MikeBassett
25/10/2007, 12:31 PM
Sad ???Bitter???I am very happy.
2 players went to Newmarket.One because he wouldnt pay a CL fine and thought if he signed for another club he would not have to pay it,another because of noncompliance with discipline requirements.They are the facts.Do you need to know any more about Newtowns underage system?A bit different to another club I know begining with B,who for their last 4 attempts at organising an under age system withdrew their teams from the league without completing the season.They put so much effort into the underage system it has only one constant result.....failure.

3 players left.Get your facts right! the player that owed the fine had no knowledge of this up until about two months ago, directly after a youths game in which newmarket and newtown were playing.Sour grapes from newtown when the brought this to the attention of the F.A.I. Shelbourne clearly has an agenda against him. Newmarket players were also threatened by the actions of a newtown player after the match and the newtown manager refused to control the player saying:"let the guards deal with it". where was the b****cking then?

shelbourne1904
25/10/2007, 1:26 PM
3 players left.Get your facts right! the player that owed the fine had no knowledge of this up until about two months ago,

I dont want to continue this line of rhetoric but you refer to facts being right then please note the following:

A)You specifically mentioned players going to Newmarket.2 went to Newmarket 1 went to the Bridge.The one who went to the Bridge then transfered to Newmarket.He went to the Bridge because he made a mistake in thinking that Newtown would not have a youths team.Amazingly they have a youths ,17s and 16 s team!!!!

B)The player and his mother were made aware of the fine last season by the Newtown chairman to whom she complained bitterly.HE WAS ADAMANT THE CLUB WAS NOT PAYING THE FINE UNTIL THE PLAYER PAID IT TO THEM.He then went to Newmarket because he thought he wouldnt have to pay the fine.When the league sought the fine from Newtown they refused to pay it and explained why the player had left.The League ,despite him playing games while suspended for non payment of fine,decided in their wisdom that once he paid the fine thereafter no sanctions would be taken against him.

brutus
25/10/2007, 1:46 PM
I dont want to continue this line of rhetoric but you refer to facts being right then please note the following:

A)You specifically mentioned players going to Newmarket.2 went to Newmarket 1 went to the Bridge.The one who went to the Bridge then transfered to Newmarket.He went to the Bridge because he made a mistake in thinking that Newtown would not have a youths team.Amazingly they have a youths ,17s and 16 s team!!!!

B)The player and his mother were made aware of the fine last season by the Newtown chairman to whom she complained bitterly.HE WAS ADAMANT THE CLUB WAS NOT PAYING THE FINE UNTIL THE PLAYER PAID IT TO THEM.He then went to Newmarket because he thought he wouldnt have to pay the fine.When the league sought the fine from Newtown they refused to pay it and explained why the player had left.The League ,despite him playing games while suspended for non payment of fine,decided in their wisdom that once he paid the fine thereafter no sanctions would be taken against him.

Hows the typing fingers after that post shelbourne?:p

mr miyagi
25/10/2007, 1:59 PM

A)You specifically mentioned players going to Newmarket.2 went to Newmarket 1 went to the Bridge.The one who went to the Bridge then transfered to Newmarket.<b>He went to the Bridge because he made a mistake in thinking that Newtown would not have a youths team</b>.Amazingly they have a youths ,17s and 16 s team!!!!

Why then, did the player transfer to Newmarket and not to Newtown ?? By this stage he knew Newtown had a youths team...yet still he went to Newmarket.

Should there not be a point C, shelbourne, explaining why you lied about a player striking another, when it clearly didn't happen

shelbourne1904
25/10/2007, 2:37 PM
Why then, did the player transfer to Newmarket and not to Newtown ?? By this stage he knew Newtown had a youths team...yet still he went to Newmarket.

Should there not be a point C, shelbourne, explaining why you lied about a player striking another, when it clearly didn't happen

I dont know.Surely you you do as you seem to know everything about these poor abused souls.
You assume by stating something that you claim to be incorrect,that I lied?I was told that was the reason if I am wrong I stand corrected but dont assume it was a lie .There was only one lier involved in all this and he knows who he is and so do the league.

Interested
25/10/2007, 4:06 PM

So the Referee having a bad day is the reason for this player getting sent off.
Wether he was having a bad day or not, players cant make comments to the Referee, so lets leave this one out of the great Newmarket/Newtown Youths team and Management debate.

jackaroo
25/10/2007, 4:28 PM
I presume yeah are talking about Gary Leahy if so the real reason he left Netown was the grief he got off Stoney when he missed important matches ,playing gaa instead
Also its a joke that a youth has to pay a fine when he is in school or college

old git
25/10/2007, 5:10 PM
I presume yeah are talking about Gary Leahy if so the real reason he left Netown was the grief he got off Stoney when he missed important matches ,playing gaa instead
Also its a joke that a youth has to pay a fine when he is in school or college

why is it a joke... they have plenty of money to go out drinking friday / saturday night ... if they get sent off they have to take the fine .. if junior players not working / at college, etc should they not have to pay any fines also :)

jackaroo
25/10/2007, 5:16 PM
No i just think anyone u18 should not have to pay fines ,their parents end up paying it

Brazil Nut
25/10/2007, 6:28 PM
why is it a joke... they have plenty of money to go out drinking friday / saturday night ... if they get sent off they have to take the fine .. if junior players not working / at college, etc should they not have to pay any fines also :)

not every youth goes out drinking on a friday/sat night. It is a joke that a 17yr old in school can get sent off on a saturday for maybe 2 harmless enough challenges and has to cough up 40 euro to get to play again. Not to mention money for training 2 nights a week and the game on a saturday as well. I know i didn't have over 50 euro to spend on playing soccer when i was 17. Maybe you have plenty of money old git but certainly there are people who this would add financial strain to. The club should have supported the player better in this situation imo..

Junior players not working is a lifestyle choice which some youth's dont have as yet. It's completly different circumstances.

Brazil Nut
25/10/2007, 6:38 PM
Shels, have you ever attended a code of ethics workshop or anyone else for that matter? Participation is key to every child development, and players will only continue to play and improve in the game if their enjoying it. How many of you tell your team mates or manager to f off when they give you a bollocking? i see it happen every week. Unfortunately kids bottle it up and just dont play any more rather than stick up for themselves. This isn't soft it's just kids being kids. I'm not talking youths now, u16 or below.

But i do want to finish by saying shels is a credit to his club and himself with the effort he has put into local soccer. Fair play. However kids are kids, there are better ways to learn a lesson than getting abuse for losing the ball:(

shelbourne1904
26/10/2007, 8:43 AM
The issue was non payment of a fine.The fine was imposed by the Clare League.I dont agree with monetary fines for under 18 players.The fine in question was €30 euro.The Clare League obviously thought that was appropriate for whatever the crime was.It was the second sending off in the season for this player.If anyone feels so strongly on this they should take the matter up with the Clare League.Newtown did and their feelings were obviously ignored.Newtown did not decide this amount.Newtown do not pay any players fines.It is a club rule.If other clubs pay players fines that is their business.There was no fall out between Newtown and that player over any issues as has been suggested.This is fabrication.He decided to move to Newmarket because he thought he would not have to pay the fine if he did that.Either way he has only a passing commitment to football or football clubs in Clare .Newtowns commitments are to football.His interest lie elsewhere.He has always made that clear.

old git
26/10/2007, 8:47 AM
not every youth goes out drinking on a friday/sat night. It is a joke that a 17yr old in school can get sent off on a saturday for maybe 2 harmless enough challenges and has to cough up 40 euro to get to play again. Not to mention money for training 2 nights a week and the game on a saturday as well. I know i didn't have over 50 euro to spend on playing soccer when i was 17. Maybe you have plenty of money old git but certainly there are people who this would add financial strain to. The club should have supported the player better in this situation imo..

Junior players not working is a lifestyle choice which some youth's dont have as yet. It's completly different circumstances.
get of your high horse ... poor old youths pity them .. he was sent of so why should the club pay his fine not to many clubs would be able to keep paying fines for youths alot if clubs struggle already to keep going and you want them now to pay fines for youth players.. .... plenty of lads out their playing junior football married with a couple of kids .. etc.. also struggle to pay signing on fee / fines / training money .... lifestyle choice for not working... sure i could say the same for some youths ..:ball:

Prem Rep!
26/10/2007, 10:31 AM
If a player gets sent off for abusing a ref, he should pay his own fine.
He'll think twice about doing it next time

old git
26/10/2007, 11:25 AM
If a player gets sent off for abusing a ref, he should pay his own fine.
He'll think twice about doing it next time
here here .. will also add any player who gets sent off .. should pay their own fine :ball:

Prem Rep!
26/10/2007, 12:23 PM
what about a player gets sent off unfairly i.e. ref makes mistake(which can happen) then this player tells the ref he got wrong guy..but ref reports him for verbal abuse..

shoulds he have to pay a fine

Managers discretion in cases like this, thats our club ruling!

oldspice
26/10/2007, 2:13 PM
what about a player gets sent off unfairly i.e. ref makes mistake(which can happen) then this player tells the ref he got wrong guy..but ref reports him for verbal abuse..

I had a system going a few years ago where if any player got a card for mouthing at the ref, I fined him €5 regardless. This built up a small kitty which I later used on 2 occasions where players were - in my mind- unfairly sent off and subsequently fined. The fine was paid out of the kitty and at the end of the season the remainder of the kitty (which also included excess refs fees etc) was used for a **** up. All players agreed to this at the beginning of the season. Result was we cut down on mouthing at referees and no players had to pay fines when unjustly sent off. (Also meant a few free pints at the end of the season).

shelbourne1904
26/10/2007, 3:55 PM
I had a system going a few years ago where if any player got a card for mouthing at the ref, I fined him €5 regardless. This built up a small kitty which I later used on 2 occasions where players were - in my mind- unfairly sent off and subsequently fined. The fine was paid out of the kitty and at the end of the season the remainder of the kitty (which also included excess refs fees etc) was used for a **** up. All players agreed to this at the beginning of the season. Result was we cut down on mouthing at referees and no players had to pay fines when unjustly sent off. (Also meant a few free pints at the end of the season).

Good idea but the parents dont appreciate when you send the 12 year olds home drunk!!!Thats a joke by the way...which helps the anger management from time to time.:D

old git
26/10/2007, 4:24 PM

you appeal it to clare league... d'ont bother waste of time .. you wont win appeal.. unfortunatly clare league rely on referee's report and its unusuall that the players win appeall :ball:

jackaroo
26/10/2007, 10:11 PM
The issue was non payment of a fine.The fine was imposed by the Clare League.I dont agree with monetary fines for under 18 players.The fine in question was €30 euro.The Clare League obviously thought that was appropriate for whatever the crime was.It was the second sending off in the season for this player.If anyone feels so strongly on this they should take the matter up with the Clare League.Newtown did and their feelings were obviously ignored.Newtown did not decide this amount.Newtown do not pay any players fines.It is a club rule.If other clubs pay players fines that is their business.There was no fall out between Newtown and that player over any issues as has been suggested.This is fabrication.He decided to move to Newmarket because he thought he would not have to pay the fine if he did that.Either way he has only a passing commitment to football or football clubs in Clare .Newtowns commitments are to football.His interest lie elsewhere.He has always made that clear.
Did the player actually tell that u that is why he left Newtown because he gave me a different reason and a few others too ,surely a 30 euro fine would not put him off playing for a club that he has played with for most of his football years

Woulfe Park
27/10/2007, 10:45 AM
I’m glad all the Bunratty baiting seems to be dying down. Maybe the Newtown baiting would die too (or at least the personal element of it that is directed towards one or two particular people).

Just to set the record straight no-one from the Bunratty club claims that it is a big club. It has had recent junior success relatively unique to its age of which we are justifiably proud and it stands well beside the records of some of our more “illustrious” neighbours. The club went through a difficult period over the last couple of years and is getting itself back on track having had either an Under 16, Under 17, or Youths team in each of the last few years and this year have a return of our B team prominently featuring our own Cousin Syl…… It is not without the odd wobble, some of which have been prominently discussed recently on this site.

Without wanting to start a war – Plastic Pitch before you laugh too much, your Lifford friends might remember that a certain recent Munster Junior game they went on to win would not have gone ahead if Bunratty had not brought a spare set of Jerseys by accident (even though they were the away team) so the problem is not unique to Bunratty.

From a schoolboy perspective, Bunratty in line with many other clubs do not have a town base to develop schoolboys from. We also have a problem on the stewardship side from an age point of view and don't have many ex-junior players at all yet (never mind available for coaching). In practice what happens is that we have somewhere between half and a full panel of players every few years at one age group that we try and keep together. This is initially augmented with school friends of the lads that they can get to play with Bunratty. Most of the time these will gradually get to a stage where they can compete in their leagues and every so often (as happened in the late nineties) there is a unique crop that sweeps before them. As happens to all teams that get to that stage, (including the bigger schoolboy clubs i.e. Newtown, Newmarket, Sixmilebridge, Lifford – I won’t continue in case I forget someone) once a team becomes successful at underage, some of the better players both locally and in the county are tempted to join them, in the main solicited by players rather than management. In Bunratty we have lost players recently to both Sixmilebridge and Newmarket for that reason.

From a junior club perspective, it often happens that clubs spawn other clubs as every year a significant amount of players come out of youth teams with only 11 places on their own junior “A” club team. These generally fan out. This has happened a lot around the Shannon, Newmarket, Sixmilebridge area and what is actually unique to this area is that many of the “smaller” clubs punch above their weight in getting to and surviving in the Premier Division. The spawning actually happened to Bunratty a number of years ago as soccer became more popular out our neck of the woods (excuse the pun) and Cratloe Celtic was formed. The Cratloe area had previously been a generous supplier of players to Bunratty and built on this to form a strong club of their own, now having a bad time at junior level but will be back I’m sure.

Short and brief history trying to give those that see fit to look down their noses a bit of background that may help them get over their pre-conceptions as to what a club should or shouldn’t be – now back to lurking in the background!!!!!!!

Ice-man
28/10/2007, 6:09 PM
the post mortem

clare 0 waterford/cork 3

clare were useless..need to improve big time if to qualify
What was the team ?