View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31

Traw_Law_Law
22/04/2008, 11:09 AM
Anyone who thinks the Park heads will welcome the Newtown lads and treat them as equals is crazy. This will be an unmitigated disaster resulting in the loss of a proud club, the disenfranchisement of more people, and the diluting of football in Shannon.

old git
22/04/2008, 11:51 AM
Anyone who thinks the Park heads will welcome the Newtown lads and treat them as equals is crazy. This will be an unmitigated disaster resulting in the loss of a proud club, the disenfranchisement of more people, and the diluting of football in Shannon.

are you involved with newtown ?? did you have anysay on this happening.. who made final decision cannot see the whole club being behind this move .. could be a few problems between both sets of clubs as they both have seperate histories / drinking spots and would not be suprised to see a few newtown lads packing it in rather than joining park ... but time will only tell if it is a good move ... looking at it from the outside i cannot see why newtown are doing it .. :ball:

guvnor
22/04/2008, 12:15 PM
In relation to the Limerick and Clare leagues what do Newtown hope to gain by doing this? Im not saying they are incorrect to do this but what are the benefits? When they amalgamate with Park there is still going to be the same fight for players with Shannon town, Olympic and all surrounding clubs in that area. Not only that but is the schoolboy setup in Limerick better than it is now in Clare? I think not. Also do they expect to get the same respect in Limerick as the likes of Fairview, Pike, Boro etc as I always thought Park were like Charleville and just considered to be a drive out the country. Isnt Stoney the chairman of the Clare schoolboys league - what happens there???

smellyfeet
22/04/2008, 1:58 PM
In relation to the Limerick and Clare leagues what do Newtown hope to gain by doing this? Im not saying they are incorrect to do this but what are the benefits? When they amalgamate with Park there is still going to be the same fight for players with Shannon town, Olympic and all surrounding clubs in that area. Not only that but is the schoolboy setup in Limerick better than it is now in Clare? I think not. Also do they expect to get the same respect in Limerick as the likes of Fairview, Pike, Boro etc as I always thought Park were like Charleville and just considered to be a drive out the country. Isnt Stoney the chairman of the Clare schoolboys league - what happens there???

Can't comment on first question because i myself don't know what they will gain. The benefits would be that they "Newtown and Park" would have teams in every age group from 11's up to Junior. At the moment both clubs only have some School boys and girls at different age groups and both their Junior teams are bad,so i'd say they will be trying to get that to change by joining together. Only time will tell if the new club will get respect but i do agree that it is viewed by other Limerick teams to be a drive in the country, but the likes of the View, Pike and the Boro won't have any bother as Park are in division 1B and won't effect them for as long as they stay in that division. Stoney is Schoolboys Chairman in Clare so he would have to step down i suppose.

Spudd
22/04/2008, 2:23 PM
Personally i think with the players park and newtown have at the moment it would be a good strong Division 1A team,its going to take time for all these players to get used to it seen as alot are just bitching about it at the moment,put it this way lads, the lads who have decided on doing this,are doing it for the right reasons.the likes of stoney,peter webb,anto nolan,tom mcdade they all know alot more about there clubs than everyone on this website does,so it must have been a good call by the club men to do this,imo their will be more than 2 junior team,maybe 3 or 4,only time will tell,goodluck to all invloved. :ball:

out red
22/04/2008, 2:38 PM
hacker
if this grant thing becomes an issue maybe rineanna could apply to the lotto for funding to buy the newtown pitches:D:D

if newtown were top of the clare league would this move be happening i very much doubt it. to be honest i think this will turn out to be an absoulute farce. newtown members cant get on with themslves never mind joining trying to get on with another club. whats going to happen when they have their first disagreement!!! which will surely happen knowing those involved

tulla b
22/04/2008, 2:51 PM
newtowns last involvement in clare league will be relagation from the premier league some legacy. can see why the move is on their players are too good to be playing first division clare football. first divison in limerick is some leap in standard boys. delighted for ye

old git
22/04/2008, 3:04 PM
newtowns last involvement in clare league will be relagation from the premier league some legacy. can see why the move is on their players are too good to be playing first division clare football. first divison in limerick is some leap in standard boys. delighted for ye

i don't agree with what is happening myself tulla b ,, but if you ever get to the same facilities / standard of football .. then you can be sarcastic & bitter about newtown legacy to clare league :p

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 3:07 PM
yes thats correct... but it will still be called park rangers for at least 1 year before new team/ club will change name :confused: i think

WRONG, unless you are directly involved please refrain fron sending mails that you know nothing about, you can PM me anytime.:ball::ball:

Wayne's World
22/04/2008, 3:08 PM
You are spot on Hacker, everyone is hearing something but we should wait for an official response.

As for the top and Bottom I think the results of Thursday's games will go a long way to the outcome at the top and Bottom.

Rineanna will be safe with a win ( maybe even a draw ) Bridge Cel need a win as a draw will see them stay in the relegation spots. Does it matter what result Newtown get?

Lifford, Avenue and Newmarket all have tricky away games and if they don't all get results it might end one of their challenges.

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 3:12 PM
fair enough but no doubt a lot of other people involved will have other views also .. :ball:

like who old git, if anything is happening it won't be open to other people,lads are great talking on the foot and in pubs but same old people year in year out.players play and then leave,nobody well 90% don't give anything back, i say again if anything happens it won't be open to other people.

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 3:14 PM
[QUOTE=smellyfeet;925596]

are newtown going to honour there last 5 games,,,surely they would like to go out of clare league with the honour of still being a premier team an not 1 that was relegated:ball:

lads stop this crap, Newtown will play every match 100%,

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 3:16 PM
well said a sad day for clare league and a big loss to clare league but an even sadder day for all the true newtown people out there who gave their all to club over the last 31 years :(

please pm me you are talking so much crap it is unbelievablei need to set you straight on a few things..................

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 3:19 PM
Newtown FC... They are amalgamating with Park AFC.

syl shocked at you where did you get that Newtown are amagamating with park utter bullsh_t

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 3:21 PM
technically both teams will be going .. newtown fc will amalgamate with park afc at end of this season :confused: and after 1 year approx park rangers will change their name and a new super shannon club will be unleashed upon the world :ball:

again old git you know nothing,your guesses are way off,

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 3:23 PM
a it was your own player papa-j that stated it first

haven't read all of them picking them out as i go along,talk about a rumour gathering pace....

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 3:37 PM
Originally Posted by Traw_Law_Law

are you involved with newtown ?? did you have anysay on this happening.. who made final decision cannot see the whole club being behind this move .. could be a few problems between both sets of clubs as they both have seperate histories / drinking spots and would not be suprised to see a few newtown lads packing it in rather than joining park ... but time will only tell if it is a good move ... looking at it from the outside i cannot see why newtown are doing it .. :ball:

Guranteed Traw_Law_Law never had any say in anything Newtown have ever down,he just came on to stir ****.....to answer you,no decision has been made,we are in trouble at schoolboy level,with players and managers,all that has happened is there was a chat about football in general in Shannon, NO ALMALGATION and you can quote me on that.....

Spudd
22/04/2008, 3:37 PM
Lads the 2 pages of this thread is as good as watching coronation street or eastenders,drama queens living it up, keep it goin..:D:D:p

Offside
22/04/2008, 3:49 PM
Guranteed Traw_Law_Law never had any say in anything Newtown have ever down,he just came on to stir ****.....to answer you,no decision has been made,we are in trouble at schoolboy level,with players and managers,all that has happened is there was a chat about football in general in Shannon, NO ALMALGATION and you can quote me on that.....[/QUOTE]

What odds are you willing to give that it is going through?? Coz I'd be willing to put money on it! ;)
How do we know your not just saying this now because newtown were wrong to let word of this getting out before the season had ended!? I bet theres not as much controversy with regards to park about the whole thing!? Whats changed that the 'rumours' this time around are stronger than ever after last time there was talks it was said it will never happen. That was only 2 years ago. What happened in 2 years that has brought Newtown to even consider this and bring it back into the fray?

Avenue1990
22/04/2008, 3:49 PM
Ballbreaker your a class act with all these denials!

Are you Bertie Ahearn in disguise!!:p

Traw_Law_Law
22/04/2008, 3:52 PM
This has ramifications for everyone in both the clare and limerick leagues.
To say it's no-one's business is ridiculous.

Another thing, if every club folded whenever things were tough, where would junior football be?!!!

Traw_Law_Law
22/04/2008, 4:03 PM
Guranteed Traw_Law_Law never had any say in anything Newtown have ever down,he just came on to stir ****.....to answer you,no decision has been made,we are in trouble at schoolboy level,with players and managers,all that has happened is there was a chat about football in general in Shannon, NO ALMALGATION and you can quote me on that.....

I've been associated with newtown since playing under-16 (15 years ago), actively involved in clare football on and off since, not here to stir ****, giving an opinion, which is what this forum is all about. I've been told by several club members and players that an "AMALGAMATION" (feel free to use my correct spelling ballbreaker) is going ahead. Newtown is to be folded, 31 years of history down the drain. I wonder what the founder members would make of this? Disgrace!

Traw_Law_Law
22/04/2008, 4:06 PM
lads please do not use this site to come under the newtown unbrella and start talking sh-t, so you can Traw_Law_Law all the way home.......i would ask you to pm me but you wouldn't know what that means as you only have 2 posts and haven't a clue what is going on..........

p.s. using a forum is not rocket-science, unlike spelling ballbreaker, i'm well aware of how to use the features of the site.

I won't bother pm-ing you, thanks anyway...

Avenue1990
22/04/2008, 4:35 PM
As for claiming that Park are Newtown rejects..Thats absolute rubbish talk! Does this mean that the subs down at Newtown now are future rejects?[/quote]

a post taken from page 6 of this forum..Seems we have a few Mystic megs amongst us!:D

First
22/04/2008, 4:36 PM
Hi All
Newtown dominating the Clare league thread again I see. Pity it isn't relevant to football on the pitch. Be it a rumour or fact ,I for one think that it is another of those rumours that maybe true, but then again I couldn't care less. Good luck to Newtown and Park if they decide to head into the Limerick league in the guise of an "AMALGAMATION", thanks for the spelling tips Traw law Law. I do hope that it is for the reason stated earlier that they are doing it because of the schoolboys because if its for the adult teams then IMO it wouldn't be the best of decisions.!!!!! . Newtown no more , so what , a loss to the Clare league , who knows , a benefit to football in Shannon only time will tell. Still it keeps the old thread going for ye lads.

Next Rumour, Newmarket , Avenue and lifford to "AMALGAMATE" and conquer Europe. Sure its about as plausible as annual Newtown and Park lovefest.

All in all good luck to them all whatever happens this summer. At least the Clare league wont have to go looking for any trophies of consequence from a club that doesn't exsist. That would make for interesting posting from the over abundant Avatars with the 3 sinking ships attached. God help us how will Clare football ever recover from the loss of Newtown. still we can all go and attach the new Park AFC Avatar and post on the limerick league 1B thread for a "good" few years.

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 4:40 PM
I've been associated with newtown since playing under-16 (15 years ago), actively involved in clare football on and off since, not here to stir ****, giving an opinion, which is what this forum is all about. I've been told by several club members and players that an "AMALGAMATION" (feel free to use my correct spelling ballbreaker) is going ahead. Newtown is to be folded, 31 years of history down the drain. I wonder what the founder members would make of this? Disgrace!

well pm me then because you are full of it,under 16 15 years ago:D:D, so you are 31 then and actively involved with clare soccer on and off (come on) i bet it's more off than on,you have been so actively involved you only just heard about this site(spare me) several club members and players (rumours) you wonder what the founder members would make of this,(Ask Them if you know who they are) Disgrace says the man who feels hard done by because he is associated with Newtown for 15 years,in what way are you associated,pm me and we will have a chat,::cool:

BallBreaker
22/04/2008, 4:45 PM
p.s. using a forum is not rocket-science, unlike spelling ballbreaker, i'm well aware of how to use the features of the site.

I won't bother pm-ing you, thanks anyway...

why doesn't that suprise me:rolleyes::rolleyes:same as always great for talking but no action......

Offside
22/04/2008, 4:58 PM
Hi All
Newtown dominating the Clare league thread again I see. Pity it isn't relevant to football on the pitch. Be it a rumour or fact ,I for one think that it is another of those rumours that maybe true, but then again I couldn't care less. Good luck to Newtown and Park if they decide to head into the Limerick league in the guise of an "AMALGAMATION", thanks for the spelling tips Traw law Law. I do hope that it is for the reason stated earlier that they are doing it because of the schoolboys because if its for the adult teams then IMO it wouldn't be the best of decisions.!!!!! . Newtown no more , so what , a loss to the Clare league , who knows , a benefit to football in Shannon only time will tell. Still it keeps the old thread going for ye lads.

Next Rumour, Newmarket , Avenue and lifford to "AMALGAMATE" and conquer Europe. Sure its about as plausible as annual Newtown and Park lovefest.

All in all good luck to them all whatever happens this summer. At least the Clare league wont have to go looking for any trophies of consequence from a club that doesn't exsist. That would make for interesting posting from the over abundant Avatars with the 3 sinking ships attached. God help us how will Clare football ever recover from the loss of Newtown. still we can all go and attach the new Park AFC Avatar and post on the limerick league 1B thread for a "good" few years.

Always the Sportsman First!! :D
The subject obviously doensn't concern you so why bother writing an essay and having a negative imput on it?

old git
22/04/2008, 5:10 PM
like who old git, if anything is happening it won't be open to other people,lads are great talking on the foot and in pubs but same old people year in year out.players play and then leave,nobody well 90% don't give anything back, i say again if anything happens it won't be open to other people.

people are entitled to their own views .. i know it wont make any difference to what is happening as both clubs will decide themselves at committie level .. :ball:

just1
22/04/2008, 5:13 PM
Another thing, if every club folded whenever things were tough, where would junior football be?!!![/QUOTE]

Great point!!

platini
22/04/2008, 8:45 PM
Obviously some people are not happy, Newtown's main pitch was dug up last nite, Someone's not happy!

Spudd
22/04/2008, 9:08 PM
Obviously some people are not happy, Newtown's main pitch was dug up last nite, Someone's not happy!

Was dug up on sunday night,2 days after someone robbed our tractor and crashed into the wall..

Dont think its got anything to do with the amalgamation tho...Happened before this little secret got out.

avenueC
22/04/2008, 9:37 PM
hope it doesnt affect avenue playing good football thurs nite

LazyLegs
22/04/2008, 9:59 PM
hope it doesnt affect avenue playing good football thurs nite

one piece of advice Avenue. drive through ennis with a mini-bus, pick up about ten young fellas and put them outside the walls of ballycasey because thats the only place they kick the ball. Im sure ye will be welcomed with open arms in the limerick league. Ya right

avenueC
23/04/2008, 7:37 AM
i think, more often then not if you get the first goal then u usually win or at least it will open the game right up..
what motivation would newtown have if the they are disbnading at end of season,,,,
but vs avenue it seems every team is right up for it..

Avenue1990
23/04/2008, 9:17 AM
They all get up for avenue. As im sure Newtown will on Thursday but if they have decided to give up then all the better for us. But its all rumour in shannon so i expect a tough match.

smellyfeet
23/04/2008, 9:49 AM
one piece of advice Avenue. drive through ennis with a mini-bus, pick up about ten young fellas and put them outside the walls of ballycasey because thats the only place they kick the ball. Im sure ye will be welcomed with open arms in the limerick league. Ya right

What do they need the 10 young fella's for

old git
23/04/2008, 10:55 AM

undersoil heating & resurfacing works to get pitch ready for next season maybee :D:D:D

smellyfeet
23/04/2008, 2:23 PM
Just heard that Shannon Olympic and Shannon town are to amalgamate in 2 years time.

2legged tackle
23/04/2008, 3:02 PM
Just heard that Shannon Olympic and Shannon town are to amalgamate in 2 years time.

And Wolfe Tones under 13 junior B camogie team is also joinin with Tubor's.

papa-j
23/04/2008, 5:22 PM
your own player papa-j came on here with details why do you think everyone is speculating

You know as much as I do hacker, I only posted what I heard on Monday morning. Like I said I stand to be corrected

Interested
23/04/2008, 10:18 PM
technically both teams will be going .. newtown fc will amalgamate with park afc at end of this season :confused: and after 1 year approx park rangers will change their name and a new super shannon club will be unleashed upon the world :ball:

NEWPARKTOWN AFC?????????????????????????????

Interested
23/04/2008, 10:19 PM
NEWPARKTOWN AFC?????????????????????????????

NEWTOWNPARK AFC ???????????????????

Interested
23/04/2008, 10:19 PM

Any other suggestions ??????????????

Interested
23/04/2008, 10:22 PM

Whats the pitch's condition in for Tomorrow nights game?
Or will the game be switched to the middle pitch?

GoodWillHunting
23/04/2008, 10:41 PM

Newtown Rangers FC ????????????????????????????:D

CousinSylDolan
24/04/2008, 7:06 AM
rineanna v lifford off thursday nite

Why is that Hacker????

avenueC
24/04/2008, 7:27 AM
presume cos funeral

tough ones tonight for nwmkt and avenue vs teams desperate for points
cant see both of em winning

smellyfeet
24/04/2008, 8:27 AM
Whats the pitch's condition in for Tomorrow nights game?
Or will the game be switched to the middle pitch?

I was up there the other night and the pitch was grand, just a few wheelspinners from the lawnmower but nothing too bad.

MikeBassett
24/04/2008, 9:12 AM
Newtown pitch is grand. game played there yesterday and was lookin fine