View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

avenueC
22/01/2008, 4:42 PM
i think that was u17fai with connellans and healy and co. ye beat derry city 1-0 in 1/4's on tec field. the same year avenue youths were beaten 2-0 in munster semi final by shannon town in newmarket.
YA WE BEAT derry that yr , we lost 5 nil to oldbridge (i think ) from tipp. im sure there was a cup presented to em that day... but as im remembering now we lost to st josephs boys up in dublin 2-0 the same yr so i think it was the u17 fai semi we lost in dublin... an lost the munster u17 final( im open to correction on that!)

shelbourne1904
23/01/2008, 1:12 PM
Did anyone see the article in the Clare People about Summer Soccer??It claimed to be the results of a survey on whether Junior football in Clare switched to Summer.
Who took part in the survey??
Was everyone notified that there was a survey?
The published results were so biased that it could mistaken for a GAA survey.
It could also be mistaken for a P.R. exercise by the "GAA Soccer clubs" in this county who are once again trying their best to keep our game from progressing.
They fear the possible change to Summer Football as a huge threat to their existence.What they are admitting is that their players only play the game as a second choice and if it comes to a choice they will choose another sport.If that is the case they should have no say in what happens in our game and should go back and mind their own business and sort out matters of their own sport.
This article tried to make it a forgone conclusion that the majority of people involved (and more importantly not just those who use our game to keep themselves warm in the winter) do not want to switch to summer football.
The worst comment in the article has to be reserved for the fact that schoolboy football moved successfully to summer with all the same threats in advance i.e. halving the number of participants and clubs.THAT DID NOT HAPPEN AND WONT HAPPEN.The article then goes on to say "there has been cooperation with the GAA that allowed summer soccer".This is an utter and unadulterated spin on what actually happened.The truth is there was a 95% vote in favour of changing then a meeting followed with the 2 GAA bodies (hurling and football) where this was stated (not requested) and the best way forward was worked out between the 3 bodies in an equal partnership which overall has worked well.
Summer soccer for junior clubs has not been decided by this survey or this article!!!
Roll on the AGM

Clifford
23/01/2008, 2:01 PM
[QUOTE=2on2;859192]ah yea i remember then as if they were yesterday i played in both of them, they were properly the best cup games i was ever involved in,just

who were u marking? and is brian mcmahon still kicking ball. ye had a quality team and if ye had stayed together longer ye'd have won cups. that avenue team was backboned by avenue youths team of 92 like the great bunratty team were backboned by their youths.

Clifford
23/01/2008, 2:11 PM
Did anyone see the article in the Clare People about Summer Soccer??It claimed to be the results of a survey on whether Junior football in Clare switched to Summer.
Who took part in the survey??
Was everyone notified that there was a survey?
The published results were so biased that it could mistaken for a GAA survey.
It could also be mistaken for a P.R. exercise by the "GAA Soccer clubs" in this county who are once again trying their best to keep our game from progressing.
They fear the possible change to Summer Football as a huge threat to their existence.What they are admitting is that their players only play the game as a second choice and if it comes to a choice they will choose another sport.If that is the case they should have no say in what happens in our game and should go back and mind their own business and sort out matters of their own sport.
This article tried to make it a forgone conclusion that the majority of people involved (and more importantly not just those who use our game to keep themselves warm in the winter) do not want to switch to summer football.
The worst comment in the article has to be reserved for the fact that schoolboy football moved successfully to summer with all the same threats in advance i.e. halving the number of participants and clubs.THAT DID NOT HAPPEN AND WONT HAPPEN.The article then goes on to say "there has been cooperation with the GAA that allowed summer soccer".This is an utter and unadulterated spin on what actually happened.The truth is there was a 95% vote in favour of changing then a meeting followed with the 2 GAA bodies (hurling and football) where this was stated (not requested) and the best way forward was worked out between the 3 bodies in an equal partnership which overall has worked well.
Summer soccer for junior clubs has not been decided by this survey or this article!!!
Roll on the AGM

do you think schoolboys summer soccer was a success, seen as their still waiting for season to end? some teams training since last june. most teams have only played 10 league 1 cup and 1 sfai. 12 games (tops). 30 weeks later???????

shelbourne1904
23/01/2008, 3:01 PM
SFAI would still go on in the winter irrespective of summer change.Indications frm SFAI is that this will change shortly.
Elongated season is because this year started late due to runover rom last years winter season with a month break only in between thats a once off occurence which wont be repeated allowing earlier start.Further difficulties occured due to unprecedented bad summer with 3 weeks lost which is unlikely to occur again.
You need to look at the leagues again as only one league undecided .Unprecedented success of Clare teams in National Cup,which hopefully continues,also disrupted completion,in particular Avenue,but also Connoly and Tulla.
Great crowds during the summer.Great atmosphere.Great to see newer clubs winning things such as Pats ,Burren.Yes great success.Bridge United won a league after 11 years .Ask anyone involved would they revert.

Clifford
23/01/2008, 3:35 PM
SFAI would still go on in the winter irrespective of summer change.Indications frm SFAI is that this will change shortly.
Elongated season is because this year started late due to runover rom last years winter season with a month break only in between thats a once off occurence which wont be repeated allowing earlier start.Further difficulties occured due to unprecedented bad summer with 3 weeks lost which is unlikely to occur again.
You need to look at the leagues again as only one league undecided .Unprecedented success of Clare teams in National Cup,which hopefully continues,also disrupted completion,in particular Avenue,but also Connoly and Tulla.
Great crowds during the summer.Great atmosphere.Great to see newer clubs winning things such as Pats ,Burren.Yes great success.Bridge United won a league after 11 years .Ask anyone involved would they revert.

u14 league only one not finished (an 8 game league). still cups semi's to play. so 6 league games + 1 cup game + say 2 to 3 (generous for most teams) sfai cup games = 9 games into 30 weeks. ok we lost a nice bit due to weather christmas free wkends etc but 21 weeks???????????? i'd hate to see 18 game leagues.

Clifford
23/01/2008, 6:19 PM
dublin league winners killester on the way to south africa 10 days, last year maimi, portmarnock went to memphis???????????????????????????
clare league winners dont even get a set of jerseys??????? there must be some sponsorship deal. any details lads

can clare league improve the league by offering the winners a carrot (prob the veg and not the gold). a squad of 20 (partners not) a week in spain in january €300 ish €6000. could this be a realistic target. is reg fee €30? they could increase it to €50 a man and the extra €20 (20 panel x €20 x 10 teams = €4000) could actually do it for all divisions. €16000 do something like €7000 for premier. €3000 each for other divisions. gives lower teams an extra incentive to get up. tie this with bigger sponsor prize, even €5000 gives €9000 and €3000 each other division still with the other €3000 for cup winners.

what ye think.

old git
23/01/2008, 9:39 PM
dublin league winners killester on the way to south africa 10 days, last year maimi, portmarnock went to memphis???????????????????????????
clare league winners dont even get a set of jerseys??????? there must be some sponsorship deal. any details lads

can clare league improve the league by offering the winners a carrot (prob the veg and not the gold). a squad of 20 (partners not) a week in spain in january €300 ish €6000. could this be a realistic target. is reg fee €30? they could increase it to €50 a man and the extra €20 (20 panel x €20 x 10 teams = €4000) could actually do it for all divisions. €16000 do something like €7000 for premier. €3000 each for other divisions. gives lower teams an extra incentive to get up. tie this with bigger sponsor prize, even €5000 gives €9000 and €3000 each other division still with the other €3000 for cup winners.

what ye think.

don't think clare league will go for this .. they are as tight as a ducks arse.. how long have they been charging 30 euro per player and what have they to show for it , a pitch in doora which is never used
they just take your money and thats it ..:ball::ball:

old git
23/01/2008, 11:25 PM
bit harsh there old git...the pitch in doora is used regularly wit all the school boys teams playing inter county.junior teams can request to use it if they wish..i think 30 euro is nothing to be registered to play football.sure dont we all spend 10 euro to get into a disco and it only lasts 2 hours not 20 odd games.only a small majority like you would think this..otherwise we wouldn't have 42 junior teams in clare..:p

still don't see what clubs get out of this.. most teams have a squad of 16-20 players so approx 500 euro or 1000 euro if a & b teams a lot of money a few clubs could badly do with .. i know when i was playing a long while ago players were moaning then about having to pay league registration fee,.. dont forget a lot of clubs used to charge a membership fee to try and cover expenses for the year,, now it is 30 euro to register plus pay for training 2 nights a week and then pay again on match day ,plus your lotto tickets to support local club, not much money left now to go to disco .. must get back to work now boss is giving me funny looks.:D

BallBreaker
24/01/2008, 7:32 AM
54 people took part in a survey on claresoccer.net in which it was a majority vote...(i think about 80%) said no to switching to summer soccer..i for one would be in favour of summer soccer.but unless everyone takes part in these votes we will never have it..:(

Lads survey was crap, if they were serious they would have sent a letter to all clubs informing them of what was going on, instead i think they only told the gaa clubs, who responded Please don't we won't be able to play soccer anymore as we have all GAA heads boo-hoo...Junior soccer is going downhill in Clare FACTS.............:(:(

Spudd
24/01/2008, 8:05 AM
Lads survey was crap, if they were serious they would have sent a letter to all clubs informing them of what was going on, instead i think they only told the gaa clubs, who responded Please don't we won't be able to play soccer anymore as we have all GAA heads boo-hoo...Junior soccer is going downhill in Clare FACTS.............:(:(

It hasnt improved at all anyway to be going down hill,besides hate to admit it but gaa is number 1 sport in clare and always will be,a good percentage of clare soccer players are only playing soccer to keep fit for there upcoming championships in gaa and that goes from schoolboys all the way up to junior level.

smellyfeet
24/01/2008, 8:12 AM
I didn't even know that there was a survey:confused:

2on2
24/01/2008, 11:21 AM
[quote=Clifford;860916][quote=2on2;859192]ah yea i remember then as if they were yesterday i played in both of them, they were properly the best cup games i was ever involved in,just

who were u marking? and is brian mcmahon still kicking ball. ye had a quality team and if ye had stayed together longer ye'd have won cups. that avenue team was backboned by avenue youths team of 92 like the great bunratty team were backboned by their youths.[/quote

ah come on now that would be given away too much info about me.;). yea we had a quality team should have won alot more and proberly would have if we had all stayed together but lads did their own thing and the team got split up.. brian mc moved to meath i think he would have done well in soccer but he was a GAA man and that always came first quality footballer i might add..

guvnor
24/01/2008, 12:05 PM
Lads do ye think the weekend fixtures wil be called off again? what way are clubs pitches?

Spudd
24/01/2008, 1:02 PM
Lads do ye think the weekend fixtures wil be called off again? what way are clubs pitches?

I dont know about the pitches,but weather is supposed to improve from today,so maybe games will go ahead,about time.

smellyfeet
24/01/2008, 1:28 PM

Ballycasey is very soft but i think Newtown are away in the Munster Junior so no game on there.

shelbourne1904
24/01/2008, 3:45 PM
We wouldnt have to worry about any of this if we played in the summer.

There are a lot of lads who only play football and it is their first sport.They dont play GAA.The problem therefore is that the football ffraternity keep using the GAA lads because they add to the standard when they play,but why should they and the clubs who use them be pandered to when it doesnt suit them??

Interested
24/01/2008, 10:23 PM
We wouldnt have to worry about any of this if we played in the summer.

There are a lot of lads who only play football and it is their first sport.They dont play GAA.The problem therefore is that the football ffraternity keep using the GAA lads because they add to the standard when they play,but why should they and the clubs who use them be pandered to when it doesnt suit them??

We wouldn't have to worry about any of this if we played in the Summer?????
Surely I am missing something here Shelbourne.
Correct me if I am wrong but the Schoolboy League did move to Summer Football and can't finish the Season because of the bad weather. Cup Semis and Finals yet to be played. Just out of curiosity have the Schoolboy League designated a date or dates for the Finals?
January is nearly another memory and rumour has it that the Schoolboy League will be starting in March this year, not much of a pre-Season for those involved.
I am all for Summer Football, but lets highlight the good things about it and not always harping on about GAA and the continued rivalry between the two codes. It is a persons right to play whatever Sport they choose and if that entails being a dual player thats their choice. How many Soccer players in Clare have other interests other than the GAA (boxing, martial arts, skiing, golf, watersports etc) and no mention of these.

Scobie
24/01/2008, 11:30 PM
Fair play to the lads on claresoccer.net. Very interesting to see the results and particularly the comments. Some very interesting ones, and not just about summer soccer. Here's a sample:

"I feel the league does all it can in the running of the league but weather has been a problem in the last few years prolonging the season to 10 or 11 months. I also feel lack of youths teams will affect the numbers we have playing junior football in the next few years. We have tried and failed with youths/U17 teams for the past 2/3 years. Interest does not seem to be there. Maybe we need to abolish playstations and skateboards in the county!!!!!"

"I personally feel summer soccer will not work, Gaa is number 1 for a lot of players in Clare, to try and play football at the same time as Gaa would fail"

"I feel the Oscar traynor set up needs to be corrected. A manager should be chosen with the backing of all clubs who put forward players for a trial period and then the best players are selected. It should be an honour to represent your county and not a joke as it feels like now. Introduce suspensions for players who fail to attend Clare matches/trials etc.."

"The Standard of soccer being played even in the lower divisions has improved a great deal in the last few years"

"We have had a break in December and January from the bad weather so it doesn’t matter. If played in summer then the problem would arise of the gaa players not playing soccer which would lead to some teams not being able to field teams."

"Overall I think the Clare League is in a healthy state, with facilities and pitches continuing to improve. I would like to see the personal hearings for players in front of a discipline committee rather than the league taking the word of the referee. The current process of writing a letter from the players club is not efficient. Other than that keep up the good work"

"Clare soccer has a lot of potential and I seriously believe that moving to summer soccer will prove to stabilize all divisions. More time to train, no matches called off due to bad weather."

"Committee seem to be working hard to get the views of all people involved in Clare soccer..well done"

"Are there any Youth & Junior football coaching courses planned for Clare this year? Preferably in the first half of the year."

"Making progress. Facilities improving every year, need to be more competitive and place more emphasis on FAI and Munster competitions, starting at u11 right the way up to Junior!"

"Summer soccer would destroy our club fullstop......."

What do ye think are the worthwhile points made here?

shelbourne1904
25/01/2008, 6:52 PM
[QUOTE=Interested;862273]We wouldn't have to worry about any of this if we played in the Summer?????
Correct me if I am wrong but the Schoolboy League did move to Summer Football and can't finish the Season because of the bad weather. Cup Semis and Finals yet to be played. Just out of curiosity have the Schoolboy League designated a date or dates for the Finals?

I have already given a detailed outline of what the reasons for above in a previous mail.

gaiscνoch
26/01/2008, 12:32 PM
We wouldn't have to worry about any of this if we played in the Summer?????
January is nearly another memory and rumour has it that the Schoolboy League will be starting in March this year, not much of a pre-Season for those involved.
I am all for Summer Football, but lets highlight the good things about it and not always harping on about GAA and the continued rivalry between the two codes. It is a persons right to play whatever Sport they choose and if that entails being a dual player thats their choice. How many Soccer players in Clare have other interests other than the GAA (boxing, martial arts, skiing, golf, watersports etc) and no mention of these.

I think what Shels is talking about is the fact that, due to a teams GAA commitments, it creates an im-balance in the fixture list.

For example Avenue travel to Moher in August while Moher have a Gaa match the same day. Avenue go on to beat Moher 4-1 in Moher due to the absence of their better players.

Now Newtown, for arguements sake, travel to Moher in December. Moher have been knocked out of the GAA. Have all the GAA players back and are a much more formidable outfit. Newtown lose 2-1. Avenue go on to win the league because of this result.

Is that fair on the players at Newtown who trained all year to play football and made sacrifices. I think not, basically the league becomes a lottery.

Clare will avoid that sort of problem and the contraversy surrounding fixtures with the move to summer soccer. Would the Gaa arrange matches around their championship to suit football NO.

old git
26/01/2008, 8:07 PM
I think what Shels is talking about is the fact that, due to a teams GAA commitments, it creates an im-balance in the fixture list.

For example Avenue travel to Moher in August while Moher have a Gaa match the same day. Avenue go on to beat Moher 4-1 in Moher due to the absence of their better players.

Now Newtown, for arguements sake, travel to Moher in December. Moher have been knocked out of the GAA. Have all the GAA players back and are a much more formidable outfit. Newtown lose 2-1. Avenue go on to win the league because of this result.

Is that fair on the players at Newtown who trained all year to play football and made sacrifices. I think not, basically the league becomes a lottery.

Clare will avoid that sort of problem and the contraversy surrounding fixtures with the move to summer soccer. Would the Gaa arrange matches around their championship to suit football NO.

sure this has been happening for years in clare teams strong one week weak the next....... must be extremly hard on teams with gaa players also trying to build a half decent team but then losing your best players for a lot of games i dont think clare league will switch to summer soccer to much of a clash with gaa plus a lot of clubs could end up folding if this happens due to gaa commitments but must say as the clare league are supposed to support soccer in clare they should do what is in their & their members best intrests and should not be worried about other sports in clare ..:ball:

platini
27/01/2008, 2:35 PM
Avenue 2 Bunratty 0, Avenue and Bunratty served up a very entertaining game this morning in Bunratty, the game looked like heading for a scoreless draw when Centre half Russell nipped in from a poorly defended corner to give Avenue the lead with 8 mins remaining, Bunratty pushed forward for an equaliser but were caught on the break with 3 mins remaining,

Have to say the game was enjoyable with both sides creating chances, Bunratty hit the inside of the post just before the break, Avenue had 3 good chances in first half but poor finishing let them down, the loss of Steve Monagan (injured after 30 mins) was a big blow to Bunratty, on this evidence Avenue are real title contenders, Bunratty although down at the wrong end of the table won't be unduly worried as more performances like this morning will see them climb up the table.

Any reports form any other games???

Bossman
27/01/2008, 7:43 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated

plasticpitch
29/01/2008, 3:32 PM
so its looking like a 3 horse race for the premier this year.
looks like somewhere about 38 points will win the title

old git
29/01/2008, 11:29 PM
looks like a 3 horse race but i wouldn't write newtown off yet if they win games in hand they will be top..its alot to ask but you can be sure they will believe they can do it..

i'm sure they would rather have the games played and points on the table and going on the last few years they always seem to drop points in the end of season run in :ball:

Wayne's World
30/01/2008, 8:33 AM
looks like a 3 horse race but i wouldn't write newtown off yet if they win games in hand they will be top..its alot to ask but you can be sure they will believe they can do it..

What was the match like on Sunday Hacker? Could Rineanna have got OR deserve something from the game.

I was out at the Bunratty V Avenue match and I would have to say Avenue just about deserved the win. Bunratty are a big physical side but Avenue look strong. I am surprised at Bunratty's league position.

At the start of the year they had the "dream squad" and were tipped for the league but with 4 points after 6 games they are struggling.

I'd agree with the statement above that you can't write off Newtown. Im sure they would love a run of games in the league to get back on track.

plasticpitch
30/01/2008, 4:43 PM
i'm sure they would rather have the games played and points on the table and going on the last few years they always seem to drop points in the end of season run in :ball:
agreed, newtown have suffered in the past few seasons because of the runs in the cup. playing a lot of games against teams with a few games left(some teams fighting relegation some fighting to be champions) they will always be up against it. saying that i think we are all agreed that the table at the end of the year never lies so if newtown get themselves in the running then they will have deserved it:ball:

studsup
31/01/2008, 1:27 PM
any predictions for this weekend??

Four home wins in the premier id say

smellyfeet
31/01/2008, 1:50 PM
Ballycasey: Newtown A V Bridge Celtic A

M.O`Halloran 11.00

Id say this will be off if it keeps raining, very soft down in Ballycasey.

smellyfeet
31/01/2008, 1:51 PM
any predictions for this weekend??

Four home wins in the premier id say

I'll go for 3 home wins

smellyfeet
01/02/2008, 9:39 AM
Any heard if games are on or off.

CousinSylDolan
01/02/2008, 1:50 PM
All games off except the MJC game between Nenagh and Burren and the Munster Youths game between Newmarket and Fairview....

tulla b
01/02/2008, 1:55 PM
All games off except the MJC game between Nenagh and Burren and the Munster Youths game between Newmarket and Fairview....

just talking to newmarket celtic management who say there game with bunratty on sunday is still on also. celtic pitches are in great order

avenueC
01/02/2008, 2:52 PM
ALL games off now, newmarket included, supposedly bunratty are short numbers so it suits to have game off, avenue offered kildysert to play on the astro but they refused

platini
01/02/2008, 5:31 PM
ALL games off now, newmarket included, supposedly bunratty are short numbers so it suits to have game off, avenue offered kildysert to play on the astro but they refused

Was talkin to Bunratty manager today, they are very disapointed game is off, they had a full squad available;)

old git
01/02/2008, 7:13 PM
Was talkin to Bunratty manager today, they are very disapointed game is off, they had a full squad available;)

who do we believe i also heard bunratty were missing 3-4 players for weekend .. :ball:

mr miyagi
01/02/2008, 9:10 PM

FAI Youths Cup actually....

Bossman
03/02/2008, 7:57 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated

platini
04/02/2008, 4:56 PM
Bunratty beat Bridge in playoff last season to go up thus sending de bridge down, this could be a very lively tie,

Rineanna back in Moher (b team) tough place to go and Rineanna will earn their place in the next round

the only 1
05/02/2008, 6:51 AM
heard darly eade gone back to avenue any truth?

smellyfeet
05/02/2008, 8:14 AM
heard darly eade gone back to avenue any truth?

Ya he's gone to Avenue.

Planners
05/02/2008, 12:16 PM
Any truth that Rineanna have lost 5 players ?

old git
05/02/2008, 12:43 PM

you have started the rumour you might as well name the 5 players supposed to have left :ball:

avenueC
05/02/2008, 1:12 PM
darryl eade (pike) , paul crowley balla i think ) and robbie downes (has been injured for last yr) all signed in the last week
very strong squad they have now. will take some beating

smellyfeet
05/02/2008, 1:34 PM
darryl eade (pike) , paul crowley balla i think ) and robbie downes (has been injured for last yr) all signed in the last week
very strong squad they have now. will take some beating

Good signing alright. Darryl Eade very fast a tricky, Paul Crowley hasn't played much for Balla tough so i'd say it will take a bit time for him to get match fit, handy player. Who is Robbie Downes, where does he play.

Side Cutter
05/02/2008, 1:43 PM

Rineanna have lost 3 players.John boyce and john o halloran gone back to cratloe and eric ogrin gone back to newtown....

old git
08/02/2008, 12:12 AM
whats the story heard tonight mr shannon town aka gerry kelly has signed for bunraty can anybody out there confirm ... :ball:

Spudd
08/02/2008, 7:05 AM
whats the story heard tonight mr shannon town aka gerry kelly has signed for bunraty can anybody out there confirm ... :ball:

His days are over,must be going out keeping an eye on his nephew,monaghan :p

devilfish
08/02/2008, 8:10 AM
His days are over,must be going out keeping an eye on his nephew,monaghan :p

Yeah, Gerry signed last week and is just getting to know the lads, training very well and expected to start against the Bridge at the weekend.

Still a class act.