View Full Version : Clare League 2007/08
jock74
10/11/2007, 2:37 PM
i played against ye with different referee's and ye were still filthy...maybe its ye and not the ref..
hi lads,just an opinion,but do the words 'hard but fair' have any revelance here?never had a prob wit corofin in my career,tuff games but always shook hands after,its a mans game,!god forbid if we were all playing 30yrs ago in clare!!
Interested
10/11/2007, 9:04 PM
i played against ye with different referee's and ye were still filthy...maybe its ye and not the ref..
Whats this, the special 1 backing referees:eek::eek:
Wouldn't class Corofin as being filthy, hard maybe, there are other clubs that when you play against them that you are going to be in a battle then there are the teams who try to play pretty football and can mix it as well if needed.
The problem I used to have with Corofin is that one or two of there players were very opinionated on the field and would more or less walk themselves into trouble, all referees had a problem with these players which led to yellow and red cards and hence the disciplinary problem.
Bossman
12/11/2007, 12:09 AM
www.claresoccer.net updated
Young Lad
13/11/2007, 12:57 PM
We are playing Lifford B this weekend. We also played them in our last game. I was wondering if it happened to any one else that they were fixed to play the same team 2 games in a row.
shelbourne1904
13/11/2007, 1:17 PM
We are playing Lifford B this weekend. We also played them in our last game. I was wondering if it happened to any one else that they were fixed to play the same team 2 games in a row.
Seems a bit unusual as you only have 3 games played and already playing a return leg with 10 teams in that league.Did you ask Mike Lydon??
Young Lad
13/11/2007, 1:23 PM
Seems a bit unusual as you only have 3 games played and already playing a return leg with 10 teams in that league.Did you ask Mike Lydon??
No didn't ask him. I expect its to do with the Oscar Traynor being on this weekend and so full programme of fixtures not on. It still seems very strange.
MikeBassett
13/11/2007, 4:09 PM
Yes, this happened us with Newmarket youths in the Youths league at the start of the season but in a slightly different way...we played Moher in our first league game and then just two or three weeks later we were down to play them again.It was really annoying as Avenue were playing Corofin for the 2nd time the same day as we were playin moher for the 2nd time????and it gets a bit worse, avenue hadn't played moher yet(still haven't!!) and we hadn't played Corofin at that time so it was fairly annoying now!!
avenueC
14/11/2007, 9:23 AM
oscar played challenge last nite won 2 nil vs desmond
better performance from the last day,. a better balanced team, whcih couldnt have been hard
john healy in goal, solid inspires confidence..
cheeky started upfront played well..
brutus
14/11/2007, 9:27 AM
better performance from the last day,. a better balanced team, whcih couldnt have been hard
Did cheeky score?
shelbourne1904
14/11/2007, 2:22 PM
3rd Round Draw
Burren Utd v Rock Rvs 2-1
Moher Celtic v Newtown 2-3
Bridge Celtic v Connolly Celtic 1-0 (subject to protest
Whats the protest about???
Next round is outside Clare on 27th January
shelbourne1904
14/11/2007, 2:25 PM
Originally Posted by avenueC
Who is John playing for.Has to be a deserved kick up the a##e for Skinny after his last performance.He might even stay sober on a Saturday night but I doubt it.
manalishi
14/11/2007, 3:05 PM
Who is John playing for.Has to be a deserved kick up the a##e for Skinny after his last performance.He might even stay sober on a Saturday night but I doubt it.
how about you keep your comments about a fella being in the pub to yourself..comments like that are uncalled for...would you like us to say things about you and when you go out or what you do????you wouldn't say it to his face[/QUOTE]
It doesnt matter what I do on a Saturday night I am not playing for my county.It does matter what he does when he is.Or maybe you think thats ok behaviour??
manalishi
14/11/2007, 3:49 PM
god its amazing how interested people are in the county team now that insulting players is brought up..nobody gave a damn about the team a couple of weeks ago..when only a handful turned up to watch them..
I was commenting on the fact that Skinny was dropped.Is there a law against this?The interest in the OT team is the same after the first match as the second.
for your information skinny wasn't out the saturday night before the waterford/cork match so i don't know where your comments are coming from..and shelbourne should know that as a rule over the years you wouldn't find skinny in pub on saturday nights..ask his manager...
The fact you make both of these statements only cofirms what you dont know.
old git
15/11/2007, 4:30 PM
[/U]
Thats a load of crap because ive seen skinny loads of times out on a saturday night,with o mahony or lyndsy,this aint a dig at skinny but why would he turn down going out if he is getting away with it by drinking with his managers,wheres the discipline in this tell me?:eek:
if the newtown management are happy with skinny having a few pints with them on a saturday night end of story ... :ball:
personally i would not agree with it but then i aint the managers of newtown :ball:
jackaroo
15/11/2007, 5:46 PM
[/u]
Thats a load of crap because ive seen skinny loads of times out on a saturday night,with o mahony or lyndsy,this aint a dig at skinny but why would he turn down going out if he is getting away with it by drinking with his managers,wheres the discipline in this tell me?:eek:
Im out most saturday nights and have only seen them out once together at Tommy Mcdades 50th
Interested
15/11/2007, 7:19 PM
if the newtown management are happy with skinny having a few pints with them on a saturday night end of story ... :ball:
personally i would not agree with it but then i aint the managers of newtown :ball:
Have to agree with you old git, though I would not condone it myself as a manager of a team, if the Newtown management see fit to go out drinking with a player or players thats their choice, at least they would know how much was consumed.
With regards to Skinny, I think you would have to look a long way back to find a game for either Newtown or the Oscar Traynor team where he was unable to play or didn't bother turning up to play because of the night before.
The lad enjoys his football and to my reckoning he has never let a team down yet.
jackaroo
15/11/2007, 7:23 PM
thats bull cause up to this season i lived next door to him..and he never went out on saturday nights...
It must be tough living next door to an alcoholic ;)
I think Tony is getting Saturday night mixed up with Sunday night
Ice-man
15/11/2007, 8:04 PM
It must be tough living next door to an alcoholic ;)
Jackaroo - no need for it.
Lads, who cares about Skinny-really, can we change the topic.
What was the OT team the other night ?
Who should be on the OT panel that wasn't picked ?
Any predictions on the game this weekend ?
bigguy
15/11/2007, 9:42 PM
Give it a rest, talk about soccer and not who’s drinking and who’s not, jeez who cares,
bigguy
15/11/2007, 9:48 PM
is there any prem games this weekend? are bridge united playing A or B and where if they are, anyone know?
jackaroo
15/11/2007, 10:50 PM
so cause a guy goes out every sunday night he's an alcoholic???
as you said in your previous post that you go out most saturday's
so are you an alcoholic???:p
I was only taking the **** thats why i used ;)
Id be the first one to stand up for Skinny and i know he really only goes out on a Sunday
old git
16/11/2007, 12:47 PM
No its not right at all you dont see my point,its ok to go for a few pints if your pally with the management,but if not so close to management and you go for pints,your doomed,you aint getting a game because you were out drinking,Wheres the justice in that?
not getting my point either .. what can be done if management are happy to have a few drinks with player on a saturday night... if any player then dropped for going out on a saturday night he should be man enough to let management know in front of his team mates
how can they they justify dropping him when some players are drinking night before with managers .. would need proof to back it up not just rumours .. :ball:
old git
16/11/2007, 2:53 PM
No manager should be encouraging any player to drink,theres all ye lads on these threads saying the quality in football in shannon and other places is dropped,this is why imo
i agree with you .. but if this is the situation at a club then managers must be ok with it.. i find it very hard to believe that newtown management would be ok with this for a player to go drinking with them before a game .. is it the usuall rumours or has anybody got 100% proof that players & managers are drinking together before matches every saturday night.. :ball:
smellyfeet
16/11/2007, 3:11 PM
i agree with you .. but if this is the situation at a club then managers must be ok with it.. i find it very hard to believe that newtown management would be ok with this for a player to go drinking with them before a game .. is it the usuall rumours or has anybody got 100% proof that players & managers are drinking together before matches every saturday night.. :ball:
Newtown Players and Managers meet up every Saturday at 3.00pm in the Lodge. They have 4 quick pints and then head down to the Knights for a few shots of either Butterballs or straight Vodka, Then they head to the New Bar for a 6 Bottles of Bulmers Original Cider, next stop is the Crossroads Tavern for a couple more shots of either Butterballs or straight Vodka. The Disco is a must as most of the Team can't leave it at that,they need to show their face.
When the Disco ends John Kelly is waiting outside in the minibus to bring them out to SixmileBridge to Andys house where they drink until they are finally ready to show up for their game on Sunday morning.
If any player doesn't go to The Bridge they will not be selected to play.FACT
shelbourne1904
16/11/2007, 4:08 PM
Dont know if this story is true but the horses mouth told me.
Many years ago Red Austin was the Newtown manager and he used to do a tour of the pubs,bare in mind only the Knights,the GAA,Nellys and the Honk,(no self respecting Newtown man ever set foot in the Xroads only to collect the Wesley Webb) at the time.One Saturday he brought Tommy Mcd with him to spot any offending players and they found none.On the way Tommy had 2 pints.Next morning Red picked the team and Tommy was in shock to hear he was dropped for drinking before a match!!!! And there were no Knights hand stamps in those days!!!!
old git
16/11/2007, 6:30 PM
Newtown Players and Managers meet up every Saturday at 3.00pm in the Lodge. They have 4 quick pints and then head down to the Knights for a few shots of either Butterballs or straight Vodka, Then they head to the New Bar for a 6 Bottles of Bulmers Original Cider, next stop is the Crossroads Tavern for a couple more shots of either Butterballs or straight Vodka. The Disco is a must as most of the Team can't leave it at that,they need to show their face.
When the Disco ends John Kelly is waiting outside in the minibus to bring them out to SixmileBridge to Andys house where they drink until they are finally ready to show up for their game on Sunday morning.
If any player doesn't go to The Bridge they will not be selected to play.FACT
nearly believed it only for drinking in crossroads.. no true newtown men would drink or be made very welcome in the crossroads :D:D
platini
16/11/2007, 7:55 PM
Jackaroo - no need for it.
Lads, who cares about Skinny-really, can we change the topic.
What was the OT team the other night ?
Who should be on the OT panel that wasn't picked ?
Any predictions on the game this weekend ?
Well said ice man, nobodys business what way Newtown management run their team or what Skinny does.
This is not professional football. while all managers encourage their players to go handy on a Sat nite, in general they have no problem with players havin a few beers. Skinny as any other player should not be the subject of these conversations, good luck to the lad, he turns up every Sun morning on time and ready for action.
Let's leave this behind and move on to relevant matters.
2 Clare teams left in the FAI next weekend.
How do people think they will fair out???
bigguy
16/11/2007, 9:33 PM
check claresoccer.net under fixtures
Thanks Hacker....:)
Bossman
18/11/2007, 8:28 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated
plasticpitch
19/11/2007, 12:39 PM
what was yesterdays team?? seems unlikley that clare will get a resul against limerick... they hammered waterford/cork yesterday!!
BTW why is this forum so quiet?? surely there is something to talk/give out about... come on people lets be having ye
old git
19/11/2007, 12:43 PM
what was yesterdays team?? seems unlikley that clare will get a resul against limerick... they hammered waterford/cork yesterday!!
BTW why is this forum so quiet?? surely there is something to talk/give out about... come on people lets be having ye
there is lets all keep having a go at skinny ...:D hopefully no more
comments about skinny give the man a break..
anybody know team that started oscar traynor match yesterday :ball:
smellyfeet
19/11/2007, 12:58 PM
there is lets all keep having a go at skinny ...:D hopefully no more
comments about skinny give the man a break..
anybody know team that started oscar traynor match yesterday :ball:
Heard over the weekend that he is considering hanging up the boots because he is getting stick on this site. Also heard that he is going to have a go at Super Skinny Weight Boxing.
CousinSylDolan
19/11/2007, 2:01 PM
Limerick League Pld 2 Pts 4
West Waterford East Cork League Pld 2 Pts 3
Munster Senior League Pld 2 Pts 2
Clare League Pld 2 Pts 1
This is the table as I see it going into the last round of games... I imagine Clare will find it hard to qualify as they would have to beat Limerick by a few goals. They are -4 goals at the moment.
I know Evan Glynn played full back yesterday and Shane O'Connor did not get a run. Heard nothing else about the game or team.
avenueC
19/11/2007, 2:41 PM
john healy,evan glynn jay stretton,brendan rochford donal brody
jamie cullen david russell ali mcmenimen eoin o brien
cheeky n kieran up front
liam murphy on after 25mins for d brody (inj
mike malley half time
the boss
19/11/2007, 3:06 PM
Limerick League Pld 2 Pts 4
West Waterford East Cork League Pld 2 Pts 3
Munster Senior League Pld 2 Pts 2
Clare League Pld 2 Pts 1
This is the table as I see it going into the last round of games... I imagine Clare will find it hard to qualify as they would have to beat Limerick by a few goals. They are -4 goals at the moment.
I know Evan Glynn played full back yesterday and Shane O'Connor did not get a run. Heard nothing else about the game or team.
All depends on whether teams level on pts decided on goal difference or on head to head results. Does anyone know which it is for this competition?
MikeBassett
20/11/2007, 10:28 AM
any views on clare involvement in the F.A.I both youths and junior. who will be expected to go furthest between newtown and the rats? would also like to comment on newmarkets achievement on getting to the last 16 for the second succesive season.any comments on this?
mr miyagi
20/11/2007, 10:48 AM
any views on clare involvement in the F.A.I both youths and junior. who will be expected to go furthest between newtown and the rats? would also like to comment on newmarkets achievement on getting to the last 16 for the second succesive season.any comments on this?
Much deserved on the part of Newmarket youths. Beating two Limerick sides on the way (one a comprehensive 6-1 win over Knockainey, and the other a 3-2 win against Corbally with a weakened side). Probably the best youths squad Newmarket have in recent years, and here's hoping they can go at least one further than last year.
Well done to Avenue also, on reaching the last 32 and giving Newmarket a good game last Saturday.
Just wondering does anyone posting here follow the 3rd Division ??
Rhine Rovers unbeaten on top with 39 goals scored...
Newmarket B slipping behind after a defeat to Corofin B at the weekend.
Lots of excitement :D
studsup
20/11/2007, 11:46 AM
id expect newtown and the rats to make it thru this week and it would be great if newmarket could go one better and make the quarter finals of the youths
funkyplunket
20/11/2007, 4:42 PM
Ya looks like its going to be an interesting season.Quuin are going well but always drop points at end of season when gaa starts up.Cant rule out ennistymon but dont think newmarket will last pace.I see kilkishen are starting to get a few results could maybe make a push for 2nd or 3rd.Bridge celtic will cause alot of problems espically at home.
jock74
20/11/2007, 7:05 PM
Ya looks like its going to be an interesting season.Quuin are going well but always drop points at end of season when gaa starts up.Cant rule out ennistymon but dont think newmarket will last pace.I see kilkishen are starting to get a few results could maybe make a push for 2nd or 3rd.Bridge celtic will cause alot of problems espically at home.
great to see someone talkin bout 'the forgotten division'!id agree with your tips for the top in this division but would you consider corofin b as a good outside bet!??a good mix of experience and youth,capable of a good cup run also,ye heard it here first lads!!!!:cool:
funkyplunket
20/11/2007, 9:06 PM
Not so sure about corofin b. played them a few weeks back.Were good for 30mins then started fightin with themslves and ref.Some good players tough.good win against newmrk so they can beat the better teams on their day.
mr miyagi
21/11/2007, 7:44 AM
Kilkishen have fallen too far behind to mount a serious challenge in my opinion...
Corofin B deserved their win over Newmarket at the weekend but they didn't show much that says they can be title contenders...
I think its hard to look outside Rhine Rovers, Newmarket B and Bridge Celtic B for the champions...but its early yet
offside01
21/11/2007, 10:07 AM
I would agree that it would be very hard to look past Rhine Rovers. In fairness the two johnstons for Rhine would be a welcome addition to any permier side and i every one else i think are fighting for second and third respectivley.
thought Newmarket would be alot better last Sunday but then again every team has an off day.
Regarding Corofin this was the first day we had nearly everyone availible for selection due to injury and the Queens Nite Club:) and again this will strike again during the season so i don't think we'll be in the shake up.
mr miyagi
21/11/2007, 1:11 PM
I would agree that it would be very hard to look past Rhine Rovers. In fairness the two johnstons for Rhine would be a welcome addition to any permier side and i every one else i think are fighting for second and third respectivley.
thought Newmarket would be alot better last Sunday but then again every team has an off day.
Regarding Corofin this was the first day we had nearly everyone availible for selection due to injury and the Queens Nite Club:) and again this will strike again during the season so i don't think we'll be in the shake up.
Yeah Rhine are in fantastic form but they will drop points at some stage and that will give the chasing pack an opportunity to bridge the gap.
Newmarket were missing their two danger players through suspension
on Sunday but thats no excuse for the poor performance, and another stupid red card at the end of that game means that the team will be changed around a bit for the game against Newtown B at the weekend.
Maybe some of the younger lads getting their opportunity.
Newmarket can improve alot over the course of the season if the manager can get the team selection right and provided they can keep their discipline...
I haven't seen Bridge Celtic B, but they're the only other team apart from Rhine that are unbeaten, so they must be doing something right...
mr miyagi
21/11/2007, 1:12 PM
*YAWN*
Ah lads...give it up...Your not doing anyone any favours talking about or even playing in the 3rd division.
No one cares.
Why not do yourself a favour and give it a rest.
So its FAI this weekend...
Discuss.....
Whats that ?? You want more 3rd Division talk ?? Right-o
mr miyagi
21/11/2007, 2:12 PM
Ya but ye bad boys are mad for those gaa shorts on a sunday morning with ur boxers falling out the side of them,i wouldnt mind but there not a girl insight,so explain why dont ye keep them for the county championship instead of poisoning clare soccer with them.:confused:
As opposed to the beaver-fests that premier division matches are ?? :rolleyes:
Im sorry sir that we don't all have a new pair of fancy orange boots for every passing move.
Im sorry that we dont wear three pairs of socks, have a pair of adidas shorts that cost us 30 quid, and wear gloves when its nippy.
We are clearly inferior...
funkyplunket
21/11/2007, 2:54 PM
Yeah Rhine are in fantastic form but they will drop points at some stage and that will give the chasing pack an opportunity to bridge the gap.
Newmarket were missing their two danger players through suspension
on Sunday but thats no excuse for the poor performance, and another stupid red card at the end of that game means that the team will be changed around a bit for the game against Newtown B at the weekend.
Maybe some of the younger lads getting their opportunity.
Newmarket can improve alot over the course of the season if the manager can get the team selection right and provided they can keep their discipline...
I haven't seen Bridge Celtic B, but they're the only other team apart from Rhine that are unbeaten, so they must be doing something right...
No one has mentioned Cooraclare yet, they are second at the moment and we deffo cant rule Kilkishen out, its posible they can go third if results go their way. True,, they will have to beat the top teams to get back into it.
mr miyagi
21/11/2007, 3:15 PM
No one has mentioned Cooraclare yet, they are second at the moment and we deffo cant rule Kilkishen out, its posible they can go third if results go their way. True,, they will have to beat the top teams to get back into it.
I personally wouldn't rate Cooraclare...the only two "big games" they've played are a 1-0 loss to Newmarket and a 2-2 draw with Bridge Celtic....and they were both in Cooraclare on that terrible pitch...
They may yet prove me wrong though...
old git
21/11/2007, 3:59 PM
*YAWN*
Ah lads...give it up...Your not doing anyone any favours talking about or even playing in the 3rd division.
No one cares.
Why not do yourself a favour and give it a rest.
So its FAI this weekend...
Discuss.....
tony .. it is a clare league forum so anybody is entitled to post about the premier / 1st division / 2nd division / 3rd division and fair play to them for getting a bit of attenion to the lower divisions.. long overdue .. the clare league is not just about preimer league... plus it makes a change talking about football rathar than having a personal attack on : certain players .. :ball:
shelbourne1904
21/11/2007, 4:20 PM
tony .. it is a clare league forum so anybody is entitled to post about the premier / 1st division / 2nd division / 3rd division and fair play to them for getting a bit of attenion to the lower divisions.. long overdue .. the clare league is not just about preimer league... plus it makes a change talking about football rathar than having a personal attack on : certain players .. :ball:
Fair enough but would it not make more sense to open another thread headed "3rd Division Clare"???