View Full Version : International friendly
14/03/2006, 6:48 PM
By the way is Sportslink booked allready?
What do you think is nicer for us: going out in Temple Bar area or somewhere else. We would like nice pubs to drink a beer and have a chat and a laugh (in the good Irish tradition)!
What are good places to have a lunch and diner (not to expensive)?
It depends what you're after. if its trad/touristy shyte then Temple bar is the place to be. I'd suggest just go with the flow we'll show you a good night no matter where we go.We'll all be up for a mad one anyway's
can I suggest temple bar for the night before so you can all get p!ssed and be hung over for the match:D ;)
Drumcondra Red
14/03/2006, 7:10 PM
WTF!!!! :mad: says him who jumps out of the way of the ball!!! :mad:
Maybe I'd jump out of the way if a through ball was ever played in...
It depends what you're after. if its trad/touristy shyte then Temple bar is the place to be. I'd suggest just go with the flow we'll show you a good night no matter where we go.We'll all be up for a mad one anyway's
can I suggest temple bar for the night before so you can all get p!ssed and be hung over for the match:D ;)
You know, we live on an island that earns its money for a great deal of the touristic industry. We also have bars where the tourists go and bars for the locals. We are looking for the second category and, if possible, with some good (live) music. For me and some of us it´s not the first time in Dublin, but for the right spots we still need you lads!
About the night before the game: We ´ll eat loads of pasta and drink a warm glass of milk, after that we ´ll get a good and long sleep, if your supporters won´t shout in front of our hostel and keep us awake!;)
14/03/2006, 8:59 PM
What kind of music do you like I'm sure we can find somewhere to meet your tastes
Well, within our team the ages differs, and maybe so our tastes. We have an Englishman amongst our mids ( sorry about that)( sorry Peter), who would like to go to the pub where the Dublinners started (o´donahuegs, I´m spelling it wrong, but you´ll probably know what I mean). Maybe it´s something for the first night. I´m more into folkmusic or styles influenced by it.
A guitar, mouth-organ, fiddle, piano/organ, three cords (and the truth). Something like that.
14/03/2006, 9:14 PM
Well, within our team the ages differs, and maybe so our tastes. We have an Englishman amongst our mids ( sorry about that)( sorry Peter), who would like to go to the pub where the Dublinners started (o´donahuegs, I´m spelling it wrong, but you´ll probably know what I mean). Maybe it´s something for the first night. I´m more into folkmusic or styles influenced by it.
Good Stuff O'Donohoe's is the place your looking for the Dubliners
Anyone know of any good folkey type places. cant think of any off hand but I'm sure there are plenty
Good Stuff O'Donohoe's is the place your looking for the Dubliners
Anyone know of any good folkey type places. cant think of any off hand but I'm sure there are plenty
I´m sure that it will be a lot of fun, wherever we go. But, O´Donohoe´s, is that something for the saturdayevening?
Where would you go to on an evening like the 8th of april? What kind of music do you prefer?:cool:
janden baas
15/03/2006, 8:25 AM
A guitar, mouth-organ, fiddle, piano/organ, three cords (and the truth). Something like that.
I think thats the kind of music we need.
By the way i down loaded "a happy st patricks day" screensaver on my computer now i think that may wil help to bring us victory( maybe, or not)
15/03/2006, 8:32 AM
The Oliver St.John Gogarty in Temple Bar so!!
Good Spot for the weemen aswell;)
klein4
15/03/2006, 3:29 PM
cobblestone in smithfield has proper irish musicians at it. has music on every nite as well.can get up and sing if ya know any songs as well...
15/03/2006, 3:39 PM
can get up and sing if ya know any songs as well...
Sounds good I'll have to torture....I mean entertain you all so (karaoke king salou '05 yah know:D )
cobblestone in smithfield has proper irish musicians at it. has music on every nite as well.can get up and sing if ya know any songs as well...
Where is Smithfield? Is it easy to get to Cobblestone from our hostel (in the centre of Dublin)?
Babysis
15/03/2006, 8:16 PM
Looks like im bringing the kit over with me on Saturday morning.
15/03/2006, 8:18 PM
Where is Smithfield? Is it easy to get to Cobblestone from our hostel (in the centre of Dublin)?
It's just on the Quays in the center of town. If you've been to Dublin before then you'll probably know the fourcourts building it's just behind that.about 10/15 min walk from O'Connell st. (the main Street in Dublin you know the one where the riot was last week:D )
15/03/2006, 8:19 PM
Looks like im bringing the kit over with me on Saturday morning.
Thata Girl
Fair play thanks BS
I'll get you a beer
Did he say if he wanted the shirts back or not. he mentioned that we might be able to print on them ?
I'll need to know a week in advance
Babysis
15/03/2006, 8:20 PM
Thata Girl
Fair play thanks BS
I'll get you a beer
No problem. Im waiting to hear from him to sort all the details, but like I said to you, location wise, it makes sense. Will let you know when its all sorted
Cheers :)
15/03/2006, 8:23 PM
No problem. Im waiting to hear from him to sort all the details, but like I said to you, location wise, it makes sense. Will let you know when its all sorted
Cheers :)
You Young Lady are a Legend
Babysis
15/03/2006, 8:28 PM
You Young Lady are a Legend
Ah clearly we have not met :D
Its no problem, you lot just need to make sure we win :eek: :D
15/03/2006, 8:34 PM
Ah clearly we have not met :D
Can't wait till we do all meet it'll be class
btw are you flying Ryanair cause if you are dont they only allow hand luggage on flights from U.K. and you'd be wrecked lugging a big kitbag around as well as whatever your bringing with you
Babysis
15/03/2006, 8:38 PM
btw are you flying Ryanair cause if you are dont they only allow hand luggage on flights from U.K. and you'd be wrecked lugging a big kitbag around as well as whatever your bringing with you
I am flying with Ryanair. You can check bags, so its no problem, they just make a small charge now for the service :rolleyes: But not to worry, cos Im not carrying it round with me. Anyway GT can carry it once we are in Dublin:D
It's just on the Quays in the center of town. If you've been to Dublin before then you'll probably know the fourcourts building it's just behind that.about 10/15 min walk from O'Connell st. (the main Street in Dublin you know the one where the riot was last week:D )
Ok, I know in witch direction I must think. And about the riot: yeah, the orangemen !(Nowadays we are far more open-minded than a few ages ago, you know;) ) So, don´t rub it in! When I was in Ireland, I travelled with my wife in a campervan all around the coast (started in Northern Ireland). I remember driving through Belfast and from behind the wheel we saw the remains of a riot. In Derry we drove through burning roadblocks. It was a frightning experience. Now I thought, in Dublin such a thing won´t happen. And what do I (and my mates) read in the papers 4 WEEKS before the match ...!?:eek:
15/03/2006, 8:50 PM
I can asure you the majority of Irish folk where just as shocked as you guy's stuff like that just doesn't happen in Dublin ......Does it?
What are the expectations living about all of this over there? Was it just an incident or a trend?
Your town (and so the rest of Eire) is, atmosphere like, outstanding. Really, in no other country we ´ve found this mixture of humor, musicality, thirst and hospitality! Why spoiling all of this because of some stupid old feud?
15/03/2006, 9:04 PM
What are the expectations living about all of this over there? Was it just an incident or a trend?
When Provoked a lot of idiots will react. the Orange March was quite provocotive to a lot of Irish people only a few mindless idiots felt the need to attack our own Police force and wreck our own city. It is not something that will happen again unless there is another attempt by the loyalists to march again
**just for a bit of background history** This was the first march of its type in Dublin.AFIK
When Provoked a lot of idiots will react. the Orange March was quite provocotive to a lot of Irish people only a few mindless idiots felt the need to attack our own Police force and wreck our own city. It is not something that will happen again unless there is another attempt by the loyalists to march again
**just for a bit of background history** This was the first march of its type in Dublin.AFIK
Why in Dublin all of the sudden? (if getting tired of this subject, please say so, I´m just curious)
15/03/2006, 9:19 PM
Why in Dublin all of the sudden? (if getting tired of this subject, please say so, I´m just curious)
Not tired at all.
I'll give you a rough background as too exactly what it was all about (IMO)
Basically the Orange order/Loylist movement in Northern Ireland is a sectarian hate fuelled biggoted organisation. They march annually through catholic area's in the North gloating about William's victory at the battle of the boyne and also singing anti catholic song's etc. a Derivitive of the orange order named "Love Ulster"(aleged to have links to loyalist paramilitaries and Neo Nazi groups) asked for permission to march in Dublin and as a gesture of goodwill our government rather short sightedly granted permission. A Militant Republican (anti British in northern Ireland) political Party with links to various IRA splinter groups organised what they insist was to be a peacefull protest against the march. they then whipped the crowd into a frenzy and were soon joined by several opportunistic scumbags and the result was what you read in the papers. The march by this sectarian organisation was the catalyst that sparked the riot and without such a catalyst it is hard to imagine it ever happening again
hope this will make you feel less uneasy
Not tired at all.
I'll give you a rough background as too exactly what it was all about (IMO)
Basically the Orange order/Loylist movement in Northern Ireland is a sectarian hate fuelled biggoted organisation. They march annually through catholic area's in the North gloating about William's victory at the battle of the boyne and also singing anti catholic song's etc. a Derivitive of the orange order named "Love Ulster"(aleged to have links to loyalist paramilitaries and Neo Nazi groups) asked for permission to march in Dublin and as a gesture of goodwill our government rather short sightedly granted permission. A Militant Republican (anti British in northern Ireland) political Party with links to various IRA splinter groups organised what they insist was to be a peacefull protest against the march. they then whipped the crowd into a frenzy and were soon joined by several opportunistic scumbags and the result was what you read in the papers. The march by this sectarian organisation was the catalyst that sparked the riot and without such a catalyst it is hard to imagine it ever happening again
hope this will make you feel less uneasy
Let´s hope, by reading your words, that your government will not permit such a march again. However, in Holland democraty is a high value and every group should have the opportunity to speak out its message. People should respect that value, I think and should react with words (but maybe this problem goes to deep).
15/03/2006, 9:46 PM
Let´s hope, by reading your words, that your government will not permit such a march again. However, in Holland democraty is a high value and every group should have the opportunity to speak out its message. People should respect that value, I think and should react with words (but maybe this problem goes to deep).
I Understand what you mean about democracy. but for some Irish people the march was the equivalent of the Nazi's marching in amsterdam or the Haig celebrating the second world war occupation of the netherlands, i'm sure were this to happen Dutch people would react in a similar vain
Yeah, your probably right. We are often playing the schoolmaster and have to reflect more.
Well, always interesting talking politics and the weather! I´m going to have a drink. Untill next time!:)
15/03/2006, 10:00 PM
Well, always interesting talking politics
I can see we are going to get on famously on the 8th of April ;)
16/03/2006, 2:12 PM
Lads if it ends in a draw can we have a peno- shootout
Seems like a good idea to me, because we probably won´t be up for extra-time. All players a penalty ?(You´ve got 11 players :eek: and we´ve 19, should be fair. You probably know about the relationship between the Dutch and penalty´s !)
janden baas
16/03/2006, 3:59 PM
I never mist a panalty (ok ok I never took one)
16/03/2006, 4:02 PM
On Second thoughts Fcuk the match lets just have penalties
It would save us some time, that´s for sure (and energy ).:rolleyes:
janden baas
16/03/2006, 5:49 PM
It would save us some time, that´s for sure (and energy ).:rolleyes:
Lets just drink beer
Lets just drink beer(fcuk the game and the penalties_)
16/03/2006, 5:58 PM
I'm With Janden on this. or can we at least have a couple of keg's on the sideline
janden baas
16/03/2006, 6:54 PM
Maybe the beer wil taste better after we have played the game /
and the name is only jan I made a mistake wile logging in
Maybe the beer wil taste better after we have played the game /
and the name is only jan I made a mistake wile logging in
btw Jan, Janden sounds a lot better!:cool:
Will there still be an Irish team the 8th or are there to many players pulling out? Like Janden posted before, we can add some of our players to your squad if needed ( and I know who you´re going to get then).;)
16/03/2006, 8:41 PM
we can add some of our players to your squad if needed ( and I know who you´re going to get then).;)How many are ye bringing over?:confused:.
How many are ye bringing over?:confused:.
We invade Ireland with 19 cloggy´s!:eek:
How many are ye bringing over?:confused:.
Is it really that bad? Or is the game still on?:confused:
16/03/2006, 10:44 PM
Is it really that bad? Or is the game still on?:confused:Still going ahead, I was just curious as to how many ye are actually bringing cos I don't think it was mentioned yet:confused:.
17/03/2006, 2:01 AM
It's Going ahead alright. us Youngies will beat you oldies with 7 players if neccessary{spelling I'm Nackered}
janden baas
17/03/2006, 7:51 AM
He block what are yuo doing at 3.01 am behind the computer , dit you have a party,
field
17/03/2006, 11:59 AM
It's Going ahead alright. us Youngies will beat you oldies with 7 players if neccessary{spelling I'm Nackered}
Foot.ie vs. Westsiders: opportunism vs. experience! Definitly peno´s !:D