View Full Version : International friendly

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

09/02/2006, 5:09 PM
alright field?
manageress speaking here :eek: :D
how is this pitch going, you Dubs sorted anything out? :cool:

AidoM
10/02/2006, 12:59 AM
alright field?
manageress speaking here :eek: :D
how is this pitch going, you Dubs sorted anything out? :cool:

Duty Manager from Sportslink got back on to me today.

I explained to him the nature of what was to happen :confused: and that we were members from far and wide (including Co. Down) and that there was no organised way about how and who would organise the day and get payment for the venue(s)

He said that they have both all weather and grass pitches and that they are available on 8th April next. He said that the cost of the grass pitch would be €75 with the all weather costing €100. This would give full access to the changing facilities etc.

He said that they would have a room which could cater for 80 - 100 people or if there was less than that they could reserve an area of the public bar. They could do finger food trays at about €4 a head or individual baskets of cocktail sausages, chips, wedges etc. at a cost of €6 a head. They could also do soup and sambos but he didn't have a price for this.

I said I'd put it out there for everyone to see and would get back to him by mid February. I took the liberty, but with no committment to a deposit or payment, of provisionally booking it for the 8th April next.

If there is to be a cost for the pitch and grub how will it be paid for ?; is it fair to expect the players and any supporters on the day to pay for it ?

I'm putting it out there to you all and await your posts. :ball:

It appears from reading the thread that nobody has suggested an alternative venue or indeed enquired about one.

I can confirm the booking with Sportslink but before I do that I would need to know what sort of arrangements need to be made for the day.

If memory serves me right the visitors would prefer a late evening kick off so a time would need to be confirmed. In addition would we be hiring a room (or reserving an area of the bar) for social activities (including grub); how many people are likely to be there (to have an idea for ordering grub) and who will and how will it be paid for?

I asked for posts on it but not many serious posts put up. It's now less than 2 months away so lets have your ideas posted so that it can be moved on.

If anyone wants to PM me on it thats OK with me

10/02/2006, 9:49 AM
I'll accept what other people desire for food, drink, etc. I have no pronlem with people deciding food and so forth.

My main concern is what time the match is played at and where the pitch is. Someone please PM the details.

10/02/2006, 10:04 AM
I'm easy but it would be good to get confirmation ASAP.
I'll pay up to about €20 but after that you can all go an shyte:D
seriously though €20 a head should well cover it and I'ts not too much to pay for what should be a great night.(note to green tribe I fully expect to be first choice keeper for my €20 ;) :D

Babysis
10/02/2006, 12:23 PM
Ok, ive read through theis thread(I really need to get a job). And from what I can see, the Sportslink all weather pitch that Aido M has provisionally booked is going to be the best option. Its €100 so it breaks down to a couple of Euro each from the home team. Field has said he would prefer a 16:00 KO. As for food etc, we have two options. We either arrange for food to be laid on for us there, or we make our own plans and just start with a few beers and see where we all end up? I will leave that to a few of the locals to decide.

We also need to sort out kits. Everyone wont agree to wearing Ireland shirts, so any ideas on that would be good.

10/02/2006, 12:41 PM
We also need to sort out kits. Everyone wont agree to wearing Ireland shirts, so any ideas on that would be good.

as we are representing ireland, maybe we cud wear the jersies of the irish eircom league champions.. who just happen to be cork city

sound by me like :)

Babysis
10/02/2006, 1:16 PM
as we are representing ireland, maybe we cud wear the jersies of the irish eircom league champions.. who just happen to be cork city

sound by me like :)

Personally I couldnt care less which jersey is worn, but all suggestions are causing trouble. At this rate it will be a case of saying everyone turn up in a black t-shirt/air tex/jersey. If anyone else wants to make a suggestion, then please feel free

10/02/2006, 1:44 PM

sound by me like :)I'll wear the Cork jersey but who's gonna provide us all with them? Also, I'll only wear it if I can burn it after the match;) :p.

What about if we all wore the yellow training bibs anyway? If someone could get some of those, that'd be sound.

10/02/2006, 1:50 PM
I'd Love us all to be given a nice Ireland jersey with the Foot.ie logo on it (hint Hint Adam) friend of mine is a freelance photographer who is regularly published in many red tops so I might be able to drum up some publicity/advertisment for the game/foot.ie maybee even a piece in one of the local papers like (ps I used to work for t-shirt print and still have good contacts in there so could get a good deal on the printing!!hint hint adam)

10/02/2006, 1:55 PM
I'd Love us all to be given a nice Ireland jersey with the Foot.ie logo on it (hint Hint Adam) friend of mine is a freelance photographer who is regularly published in many red tops so I might be able to drum up some publicity/advertisment for the game/foot.ie maybee even a piece in one of the local papers like (ps I used to work for t-shirt print and still have good contacts in there so could get a good deal on the printing!!hint hint adam)I'm detecting a hidden message for Adam in there somewhere:D. I don't think he reads this thread though!

10/02/2006, 2:18 PM
Sligoboy your a mod so it's better coming from you why dont you PM adam and SUGGEST! that maybee a small donation would be worth it for all tha wonderfull redtop coverage BGR can nearly guarantee

10/02/2006, 2:23 PM
Didn't Anto mention he would be able to borrow a teams kit for the game??

I will not wear a Ireland/Cork City?any other eL team jersey. I'd settle for a neutral foreign, non-English (to avoid tension) jersey but it's highly unlikely that everyone else will have a Marseille, Inter, Porto, Real, etc. jersey in the exact same style.

Babysis
10/02/2006, 2:36 PM
Ok well can anyone get a kit??? (so long as its not an Ireland/EL kit:rolleyes: )

10/02/2006, 2:50 PM
Ok well can anyone get a kit??? (so long as its not an Ireland/EL kit:rolleyes: )

I can maybe borrow a hartstown utd kit. It's identical(except for sponsor of course) to the Bohs kit 2004/2005

any objections ?

Ne way as its an "International Friendly" and as the colours of foot.ie are green and white shouldn't we wear a green kit

surely we could pick up a cheap kit somewhere and get the foot logo on it I think that would be class especially if can get the photographer out for the day

Babysis
10/02/2006, 3:00 PM
I can maybe borrow a hartstown utd kit. It's identical(except for sponsor of course) to the Bohs kit 2004/2005

any objections ?

Ne way as its an "International Friendly" and as the colours of foot.ie are green and white shouldn't we wear a green kit

surely we could pick up a cheap kit somewhere and get the foot logo on it I think that would be class especially if can get the photographer out for the day

Would it be possible for you to speak to your mate who does the printing?? He might have some wholesale contacts. If he is guaranteed publicity surely it might help pursuade him :)

10/02/2006, 3:04 PM
Would it be possible for you to speak to your mate who does the printing?? He might have some wholesale contacts. If he is guaranteed publicity surely it might help pursuade him :)

Its not really wholesale contacts. they have an artdept in there head office that generate all there custom stuff. they woul'dnt supply proper fotty shirts just gammy cotton t-shirts so we'd have to buy our own shirts. I thinking of those no-name green silky things you see some underage teams wearing anyone know where we could get our hands on a set of these and how much per head we'd be talking
as for publicity persuading them I wouldn't waste my breath we sponsored BIT Kart racing team when i was manager in blanch and they insisted on charging the team to print the T-Shirt print logo on the poloshirts, whilst Bank of Ireland also sponsored them and had a small logo on the sleeve for which BOI paid for the polo shirts! you'd get blood out of a stone before they'd do something for nothing. but with the profit they make on custom printing on customer garments I reckon i could get us a good deal

10/02/2006, 3:40 PM

any objections ?

No objections. The problem with green & white is that is the colour of field's team.

Babysis
10/02/2006, 3:41 PM
Might not look as good, but what if someone picked up a job lot of black air tex/polo shirts - Then if people want to agree to get the logo pronted it still looks good, but its cheaper. Just a suggestion

10/02/2006, 4:18 PM
Might not look as good, but what if someone picked up a job lot of black air tex/polo shirts - Then if people want to agree to get the logo pronted it still looks good, but its cheaper. Just a suggestion

Good Call ! and we could all get our Foot.ie usernames on the back
gud thinking babysis

Right lads/ladies give me exact numbers and I'll get a price. reckon it'll be about €18 if we get the shirts off t-shirt print with the prints and all. could probarbly get the shirts in dunnes or pennies for much cheaper and would cost maybe €5 for each print
Looks like I've nominated myself kitman (How do I talk myself into these things)

10/02/2006, 4:24 PM
Good Call ! and we could all get our Foot.ie usernames on the back
gud thinking babysis

Right lads/ladies give me exact numbers and I'll get a price. reckon it'll be about €18 if we get the shirts off t-shirt print with the prints and all. could probarbly get the shirts in dunnes or pennies for much cheaper and would cost maybe €5 for each print
Looks like I've nominated myself kitman (How do I talk myself into these things)
I bags number 11 with superfrank on it.

10/02/2006, 4:35 PM
I bags number 11 with superfrank on it.
Done !

Going to see if i can get one of those old Addidas goalie kits
remember the hideous orange and yellow tribal african looking things David James wore for liverpool a few years ago. looked a bit like Raptor skin(or at least speilbergs interpretation of it anyway)
wonder who's gonna bags the NO. 69 shirt?

10/02/2006, 4:40 PM
Anto
Number 9

10/02/2006, 4:42 PM
Right lads Ive opened a thread and asked the mods to sticky it so post name's and no's there and then pm your size

10/02/2006, 6:17 PM
wonder who's gonna bags the NO. 69 shirt?If sirhamish was playing, then I think he'd be guaranteed that one:D :p.

harpskid
10/02/2006, 9:06 PM
harpskid

no.2

13/02/2006, 10:38 AM
Ok guy's based on 16 shirts printed back and front
including Poloshirt= €27e
own Shirts = €17.50e
prices have obviously gone since I worked there
dont know whether its worth getting the shirts off t-shirt print as you can pick up polo's in dunnes for €5
let us know who's interested and if you're willing to fork out then I'll order the stuff

Drumcondra Red
13/02/2006, 6:25 PM
Check out the soccer shop for a kit??? Maybe one of the "media outlets" who quote us all the time will sponser us???

babydol
13/02/2006, 8:38 PM
you should try the O'Neills Factory shop. they do loads of plain jerseys and are really cheap too.

14/02/2006, 9:35 AM
you should try the O'Neills Factory shop. they do loads of plain jerseys and are really cheap too.

I've sent an email to info@oneills.ie explaining that we are looking for a dirt cheap kit for a one off match I'll let ye know when they get back to me

14/02/2006, 10:50 AM
Just got back to the thread now. Personally, money is no object.

14/02/2006, 11:27 AM
Just got back to the thread now. Personally, money is no object.

How you doin......;) ;)

Seriously tho when is the game on (cant be arsed trawling thro whole lot) and provided it doesnt clash with my sons matches, the saturday morning girls mini leagues, sunday morning junior mini leagues, the senior womens matches or the senior mens matches, I will be there!!

14/02/2006, 4:02 PM
It's on the 8th of April

15/02/2006, 8:05 AM
Got a mail from o'neills today the rep will contact me to discuss a price
More info to follow

15/02/2006, 8:42 AM
Dammit thats the nite of my dads 60th birthday party......aghhhhhhh

rerun
15/02/2006, 11:42 AM
Just out of curiosity, is there a foot.ie kick-about every week?

15/02/2006, 1:21 PM

Not that I know of but if you want to organise one you can count me in
anyway I think we should get together for at least one training session b4 the big match ! I know its difficult because of the dispersion of people on here

15/02/2006, 3:02 PM
Tried to get one going last Summer, in Phoenix Park, but to no avail. I'm on for trying again this Summer, when there is a chance that the pitches won't be sodden with water or frost.

17/02/2006, 1:48 PM
Right Guy's O'neils were on to me the best they can do is €500 for 16 shirts
thats 31.25 per shirt plus printing at €17.50 per shirt
or I can get t-shirts for €21.50 each with printing on front(foot logo) and back (name and no.) or if we supply our own shirts its €17.50 for the printing
so I reckon I can get a load of cheap t's in dunnes and get them printed I'd say a score each will cover it. who's in ?

18/02/2006, 7:11 PM
I'm easy but it would be good to get confirmation ASAP.
I'll pay up to about €20 but after that you can all go an shyte
seriously though €20 a head should well cover it and I'ts not too much to pay for what should be a great night.(note to green tribe I fully expect to be first choice keeper for my €20

Ah Jaysus, we know you're easy! :rolleyes: :D
Now B G R, you'll need to bribe me more than 20 euros! :D

18/02/2006, 7:14 PM

black sounds good, i'd say most of the team would appreciate it's slimming effect! snigger :D

18/02/2006, 7:14 PM
What time is the kick-off for this scheduled for? Rovers are playing in Dublin on the Friday. Playing CHF in Dalymount, is that near where we're playing this?:confused:

18/02/2006, 7:19 PM
What time is the kick-off for this scheduled for? Rovers are playing in Dublin on the Friday. Playing CHF in Dalymount, is that near where we're playing this?:confused:

is it not a sort of a noon/early afternoon kick-off :confused:

18/02/2006, 7:21 PM
is it not a sort of a noon/early afternoon kick-off :confused:Yeah, but I'm just wondering the exact time cos I wanna know if I'll have to stay again in Dubland on Saturday night or can I get the train home in time:p

18/02/2006, 7:24 PM
Yeah, but I'm just wondering the exact time cos I wanna know if I'll have to stay again in Dubland on Saturday night or can I get the train home in time:p

you'll be too slaughtered to get the train home :rolleyes: :D

18/02/2006, 7:28 PM
you'll be too slaughtered to get the train home :rolleyes:I aint gonna be drinking, I'm a good Slaygo man;) :D.

18/02/2006, 7:29 PM
I aint gonna be drinking, I'm a good Slaygo man;) :D.

damn right, none of my squad will be touching the driiiink....hiccup! :D

18/02/2006, 7:29 PM
damn right, none of my squad will be touching the driiiinkCept those corrupt Shels lads:D.

18/02/2006, 7:31 PM
Cept those corrupt Shels lads:D.

true true, need to keep tabs on them

babydol
18/02/2006, 10:28 PM
you're right! those Shels LADS are awful ****-heads! Us girls are alright though, aren't we???

18/02/2006, 10:34 PM
looking forward to this one now :)
drinks a plenty i say