View Full Version : International friendly
08/11/2005, 10:24 PM
8th April?, think i am washing my hair that day...;)
Deadly, bring it on, we're going to whoop your arse! :D
Will update about plans at later stage.
08/11/2005, 10:33 PM
Our flight is booked; there´s no way to keep us on our isle (wether you like it or not)! So, write down: saturday the 8th of april 2006FOOT.IE-Westsiders.:)
I'll close that weekend with the FA here in England and get the other three guys together (hopefully myself, an Australian, an Englishman and an Irish guy)
field
08/11/2005, 11:02 PM
Deadly, bring it on, we're going to whoop your arse! :D
Dream on!;)
09/11/2005, 1:06 PM
Yes. Feel free to post your congratulations and best wishes here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=31022) or here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=31050), or both, whichever suits you;) :p
I already did??:confused:
09/11/2005, 1:53 PM
I already did??:confused:You hadn't when I posted that;)
10/11/2005, 1:35 PM
So far, the foot.ie international selection potentially consists of the following:
Manager: Kerr's Tribe
Dublin 12
Drumcondra Red
Superfrank
Another 11 or 12 would give us a team and enough subs for the slightly older and unfit players, such as myself, to be able to roll on and off the field (literally)
Any room for Tarzan1????
10/11/2005, 1:50 PM
Any room for Tarzan1????Yes, we're always looking for new players, the more the merrier, even if you are a Bray fan;) :rolleyes: :D
Drumcondra Red
10/11/2005, 2:00 PM
Any room for Tarzan1????
Of course there is!!! You'll haver to do a trial with GT first though!!!
10/11/2005, 2:28 PM
Of course there is!!! You'll haver to do a trial with GT first though!!!
What kinda trial!:D
10/11/2005, 2:53 PM
What kinda trial!You have to speak in that horrible Northern accent for a day;) :p. There's more to do aswell but that's just part one of the trial:D
Drumcondra Red
10/11/2005, 4:00 PM
She's brutal, no holds barred!!! God knows where she picked all those *ahem* training drills, we'll call them!!! :eek:
10/11/2005, 11:11 PM
You have to speak in that horrible Northern accent for a day;) :p. There's more to do aswell but that's just part one of the trial
Fecker! :mad:
10/11/2005, 11:13 PM
What kinda trial!
How you doin'? ;) :eek: hehe heh
You're the famous Bray one, aren't ya? BBC website and all that :rolleyes:
Welcome aboard, Babysex is the physio and joint boss with me!
To keep this thread alive until april 2006 will probably be difficult. Green Tribe, is it possible that you, as a moderater, can leave this thread in place even though there will be no posts during a few weeks?
16/11/2005, 6:11 PM
To keep this thread alive until april 2006 will probably be difficult. Green Tribe, is it possible that you, as a moderater, can leave this thread in place even though there will be no posts during a few weeks?
Well Sligoman, Macy and Liam88 are mods on Off-Topic, I am mod for World Cup with Superfrank. I know SLigoman had asked about this and it was to be made a sticky if it drops of the first page :confused:
Sligoman any update? :cool:
16/11/2005, 6:44 PM
I've just explained to sligoman that I don't want to stick a thread that will affect a tiny percentage of our members for six months. If there's no discussion, there's no discussion, what's the point?
16/11/2005, 10:45 PM
Ok guys, I'm gonna make the team sheet a seperate sticky as Bluebeard suggested a while back. Now, can someone please post the updated team and their positions here and then I'll copy it into a stuck thread. I dont fancy going through all these pages trying to find out who's actually signed up:o . GT is our manager so I feel it is her duty to know her team. GT, any comments?:confused: :p
17/11/2005, 12:05 AM
INTERNATIONAL FRIENDLY
Foot.IRELAND vs The Netherlands
April 8th 2006
Venue TBA
Latest squad - 15 players and one dog
Manageresses / Physios
Green Tribe/Babysis
GK
Liam88
Dfx (or Def)
DEF
Tram 14
Anto McC (or def mid)
Dfx (or GK)
deecay
Dotsy (or Mid)
MID
Anto McC (or def)
Superfrank (attacking)
Dublin 12 (Left)
Bluebeard (or fw)
Drumcondra Red (or FW)
Dotsy (or Def)
CRC
FW
Bluebeard (or mid)
Dublin Harps
Drumcondra Red (or Mid)
Utility!
Tram 14's Dog
*see below
Excellent, choice of substitutions available, some cover for every area on the field, even a choice of goalkeepers (other favorite positions Liam88?)
Anyone else out there fancy a stab at playing?
Anyone there have GENUINE connections to some place where we could play with changing rooms, and could they use them please? I know it isn't for ages yet, but I think we owe it to our guests to have something sorted sooner rather than later.
Ok, I found the latest team, pls tell if missing someone etc!
* James and Tarzan1 has to go in here, what position????
GT
17/11/2005, 12:10 AM
Ok, I found the latest team, pls tell if missing someone etc!
* James has to go in here, what position????
GTCheers GT. James please tell us your preferred position and then I'll do the team sheet thread;)
17/11/2005, 12:12 AM
Cheers GT. James please tell us your preferred position and then I'll do the team sheet thread;)
Good man...
17/11/2005, 12:17 AM
Ok, I found the latest team, pls tell if missing someone etc!tarzan1;). What's your preferred (footie) position?:confused: :D
17/11/2005, 12:19 AM
tarzan1. What's your preferred (footie) position?:confused: :D
ooooooooooooohhhhhhhhh sligoman!!!!!! :D
17/11/2005, 12:29 AM
ooooooooooooohhhhhhhhh sligoman!!!!!! :DThat's why I stressed footie;) :D.
19/11/2005, 8:48 AM
How you doin'? ;) :eek: hehe heh
You're the famous Bray one, aren't ya? BBC website and all that :rolleyes:
Welcome aboard, Babysex is the physio and joint boss with me!
That would be me yes!! Star striker...
So this trial........ HAHA
09/12/2005, 9:48 PM
What's the story with a venue for this lads? Is Lansdowne available or are we using Croker?:D :p.
Have ye not started training yet? Some of ye might need it
10/12/2005, 12:50 PM
Have ye not started training yet? Some of ye might need it
I can imagine, they better be training... no idea about a venue, can we not gatecrash a playing field if we're stuck....:o
GT, as manager, you'd wanna be getting these lads in some sort of shape. The last thing Field wants is a walkover
10/12/2005, 1:19 PM
GT, as manager, you'd wanna be getting these lads in some sort of shape. The last thing Field wants is a walkover
;) I will! They will end up looking like Freddie Michalak....well, maybe not :o
I doubt they will end up looking like Freddie but maybe close!
10/12/2005, 2:07 PM
Im not too far off as it is :D
13/12/2005, 8:01 PM
What's the story with a venue for this lads?Anyway, back to my serious question now;).
Anyway, back to my serious question now;).
Looking at the team sheet where are most of the squad based?
13/12/2005, 8:08 PM
Looking at the team sheet where are most of the squad based?Well the match is definitely in Dublin anyway cos that's where the Dutch team are basing themselves;). We can't be sending them on any form of the Irish transport system now:eek:, the poor fella's:D.
Well the match is definitely in Dublin anyway cos that's where the Dutch team are basing themselves;). We can't be sending them on any form of the Irish transport system now:eek:, the poor fella's
Any idea where they are to stay. If we had an idea of whether it was Northside or Southside, a venue near where they are staying would probably be handy. However, if a social :eek: event was to be linked to the game would a venue with a bar/function room be suitable.
I suppose that (some of) our squad, manager (a long haul home to South Down!!), physio and backroom team might need a place to stay. So perhaps everybody could stay in the same place
Babysis
13/12/2005, 10:04 PM
Personally I was banking on a reasonably-ish priced hotel(preferably with a good bar) :)
13/12/2005, 10:10 PM
Personally I was banking on a reasonably-ish priced hotel(preferably with a good bar) :)
good girl, bring your oils and whips! :eek: :D
reasonably-ish priced
"Reasonably-ish".............................? That could be a big price range...:eek: :p :D
13/12/2005, 10:31 PM
We now have a full set of Officials for the game:
Referee: Myself (Worcester, Worcestershire, England)
Assistant Referee: Mr J Campbell (Flitwick, Bedfordshire, England)
Assistant Referee : Mr B Sargent (Sydney, New South Wales, Australia*)
* - Currently residing in Aberdeen, Scotland
14/12/2005, 1:56 PM
This Is Getting better all the time
has any one been in touch with the opposition to check that they are still coming/playing
babydol
14/12/2005, 3:12 PM
Do ye want to play on Grass or a full sized astro. I have contacts with two schoolboy teams and could probably get a pitch
14/12/2005, 3:25 PM
We now have a full set of Officials for the game
Where's the 4th Official, Chris?
Did I see that Aisling Looney was an assistant for the WFAI Cup Final?
Perhaps she could be roped in for the day???
14/12/2005, 4:28 PM
Do ye want to play on Grass or a full sized astro. I have contacts with two schoolboy teams and could probably get a pitch
I was thinking St Judes,where my teams plays their home matches but the only problem is it's in Templeogue,Are either of yours any closer?
14/12/2005, 4:37 PM
Where's the 4th Official, Chris?
Did I see that Aisling Looney was an assistant for the WFAI Cup Final?
Perhaps she could be roped in for the day???
Depends on the local league assignments for that weekend.
I may be able to get another one from England
I was thinking St Judes,where my teams plays their home matches but the only problem is it's in Templeogue,Are either of yours any closer?
I trawled the thread yesterday and got the following :
Post 228 said that they had booked hostels in the city centre
Post 262 said that they were staying in the city centre
Post 287 said that they would prefer to play late on Saturday evening
Post 306 asked where the match was to be played
Post 650 said that they had booked their flights
So BGF it looks like they are serious about coming :eek:
I was thinking of Sportslink in Santry or ALSAA (Aer Lingus Sports) complex near the airport. The advantages of both of these is that they have good pitches, good changing facilities (showers etc..) and good medical facilities for the physio :rolleyes:
In addition they have function rooms which could be used for a pi$$ up afterwards (avoids having to go elsewhere and break up the atmosphere). It's close to the airport, the M50 and there is a travelodge hotel in Swords, not far from either venue and close to the airport which do rooms from around €69 :D a night - this could be handy for the exiles or country cousins travelling. There is also a new Tulip hotel nearby which has recently opened.
14/12/2005, 6:07 PM
So BGF it looks like they are serious about coming :eek:
After almost 700 odd posts, I would fcuking hope so!!!!!
Drumcondra Red
14/12/2005, 7:07 PM
Yeah, sportslink or ALSAA would be best imo
Thought that it might :rolleyes:
The pitch might have to be paid for :eek:
Damit, looks like I could be out of action - just aswell there
are about 3 other keepers in the squad :)
Found out that a finger I broke in Janurary on this year, well,
turns out its still kinda broken!!!! Hospital have no records of
it ever being broken and have now also lost all my previous
xrays!!!
Waiting on a call from a hand surgeon for plastic surgery
(no jokes!!!) on it some time in the new year :mad: