View Full Version : 2005 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

28/03/2005, 11:02 PM
The rain and the fact that it was on telly didn't help at all.
Maybe the result on Friday kept a few away aswell, the old sunshiners, can never rely on them.

trevy
29/03/2005, 8:18 AM
The figure you have for this game is way too high.No more than 2000 there and that seems to be the general consenus on btid.I'd have said about 1800 myself.

bohs til i die
29/03/2005, 8:39 AM
Rovers Vs Shels - 3.500

Spoke to various Shelbournes heads who were there, some in the Jodi, others in the Connaught St side - consensus 3,500, with approx 50-50 split betwen both sides.

Judging by TV pictures, there would have to be some crowd on Connaught street for there to have been 3500 at the Rovers-Shels game.

noby
29/03/2005, 8:41 AM
The figure you have for this game is way too high.No more than 2000 there and that seems to be the general consenus on btid.I'd have said about 1800 myself.

Agreed. I was looking at the stand, not in it. Harps fans had a whole section to themselves. Maybe about 1000 in the stand, with maybe the same again in the ground.

29/03/2005, 9:36 AM
We're sick of playing shels, poor record recently, crap 2nd half versus Bray & was p!ssing ran all monday plus on tv too.

IT can't have made up 3019 & 6224 figures so they seem good.

29/03/2005, 9:59 AM
Why was the attendance so low ar Turners cross tonight compared to Friday. I would have thought Shels would have attracted a lot more than Bray.

/edit - Forgot Friday was good Friday. Cork alco's. ;)
Really bad, sh*tty weather.
I'd estimate that about 2,000 was lost off the gate because of the weather.

sullanefc
29/03/2005, 10:31 AM
Always happens, the sooner the St Annes end is covered the better. Would easily have been 7000 but for the weather

29/03/2005, 10:34 AM
Always happens, the sooner the St Annes end is covered the better. Would easily have been 7000 but for the weather

After "performance" on friday don't think were ever going to get 7000. I'd say more likely 3500 there as shed wasn't so packed & would need to be jammers (as they say) be to 2000 in the shed.

When was only shel$ we also had less away fans than Bray :eek:

higgins
29/03/2005, 11:49 AM
I wouldnt put the rovers shels game at anything more then 3,000 tops in my opinion.

Thought the most of the fans were in the Jodi stand, probably around 1600 or 1700. (some of these were shels fans) and about 1200 or 1300 in the connaught.

3000 if even

bohs til i die
29/03/2005, 12:07 PM
I wouldnt put the rovers shels game at anything more then 3,000 tops in my opinion.

Thought the most of the fans were in the Jodi stand, probably around 1600 or 1700. (some of these were shels fans) and about 1200 or 1300 in the connaught.

3000 if even

Have seen pic of Connaught street on friday, about 900 there.

30/03/2005, 9:34 AM
id say the official figure didnt take in the season Ticket Holders 450 plus Students and Juniors.Easily our biggest crowd since Drogheda playoff game.Great travelling support from Athlone as well.

There was still over 250 people outside the ground 15 minutes into the game which was just like the good old days.Hopefully a good result against Kilkenny will mean an even bigger gate against Sligo,

Bray Head
30/03/2005, 12:29 PM
I can't see why the league does not issue official attendances considering that clubs must submit them to the league after each game. The figues in the Star are only estimates from the journalists and are seldom correct.

WindmillWarrior
30/03/2005, 4:26 PM
Lads, approx 2850-3000 at the Waterford v Harps game. The Stand 1250 packed to the rafters with another 1600 around the ground.

**EXAGGERATION ALERT**EXAGGERATION ALERT**

1,600 around the lenght of a pitch? I don't think so!

30/03/2005, 4:33 PM
1,600 around the lenght of a pitch?

How many around a running track so ??

30/03/2005, 5:06 PM

1,600 around the lenght of a pitch? I don't think so!
That would be 3 or 4 deep I'd imagine, is that accurate?

Dick Long
31/03/2005, 6:32 AM
Offical attendance at Waterford/Finn Harps was 1,900. That was the figure given to theEircom League, as stated by one of the directors at a public meeting last night.

Countyman
01/04/2005, 11:27 AM
Kildare Co. v Cobh
Probably between 180-200. Very poor.

I will start an attendence thread on our forum (http://kildarecounty.irishfootie.net/) and keep you posted for home games.

01/04/2005, 3:46 PM
Longford - Cork 1500.

I would have said 1200 but Longfordian was talking to the lads at the gate and they said between 1500 and 1600 :)

01/04/2005, 11:44 PM
1,500 (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=23696) for Bray-UCD.

The 1,800 for Limerick v. Monaghan seems to be overstating on the Star's part - revised down to 1,200 per the Limerick forum (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=23519).

1,600 around the length of a pitch? I don't think so!
Good spot! The fencing would only cover three of the four sides of the running track, so maybe 400 yards (obvioulsy longer than the running track itself 'cos it's a bit farther out), so 3/4 of a foot for each person is a bit of a tight squeeze! Didn't look it on eL weekly either. Have gone with the apparently official 1900 so.

01/04/2005, 11:48 PM
Crowd of around 300 at Dublin City vs. Kildare County.

02/04/2005, 12:19 AM
I'd say a similar crowd to the Portadown match for Shels v Waterford, which was given at around 2,700 or so, so around that, but the offical figure should hopefully be given soon.

02/04/2005, 10:54 AM
Roughly around 1500 for the UCD game - paper reports 2000

02/04/2005, 5:01 PM
A little bit lower than I thought for the Shels Waterford game, 2,583 was the offical number.

sonofstan
02/04/2005, 5:17 PM
2132 according to Neil on our board - loads of Derry fans, maybe 300? and loads of noise

Fair_play_boy
02/04/2005, 9:04 PM
I can't see why the league does not issue official attendances considering that clubs must submit them to the league after each game. The figues in the Star are only estimates from the journalists and are seldom correct.Yeah, that occurred to me too. The attendances at Turners Cross are a state secret. :) Is there an incentive for clubs to hide or understate their attendance figures?

1 9 2 8
02/04/2005, 9:12 PM
I'd say around 2,000 at Rovers vs Dundalk

Patrick Dunne
03/04/2005, 1:42 AM
150 approx. at Buckley Park

03/04/2005, 1:47 AM
Yeah, that occurred to me too. The attendances at Turners Cross are a state secret. :) Is there an incentive for clubs to hide or understate their attendance figures?

The offical figure was given for your one home league game so far this season.

1 9 2 8
03/04/2005, 3:25 AM
I'd say around 2,000 at Rovers vs Dundalk
sligorovers.com (http://www.sligorovers.com/match/match%20stats/2005/050402_dundalk.htm) say 1,600 at the game but it looked like more

dortie
03/04/2005, 8:53 AM
2132 according to Neil on our board - loads of Derry fans, maybe 300? and loads of noise

Id say that was accurate, id bet we had 300 there. Biggest away support for us in Dublin for a standard league game in a long time.

Im looking forward to hear what Kinger says about us on Monday night after i fried his head about his analysis, although i did tell him he was right about Harps going straight back down again :D

03/04/2005, 1:46 PM
I can't see why the league does not issue official attendances considering that clubs must submit them to the league after each game. The figues in the Star are only estimates from the journalists and are seldom correct.
This was covered in the 2004 attendances thread. The FAI do get the attendances (they say), but have no intention of releasing them at the moment. No reason given. My cynical mind thinks that there are some clubs not yet complying.

03/04/2005, 2:01 PM
Averages after week three (last season in brackets)...

PREMIER
Bohs 3003 (2340)
Bray 2100 (818)
Cork 6224 (4033)
Derry N/A (1672)
Drogheda 2007 (1554) (missing Pat's)
Harps 2600 (1106) (missing Rovers - estimated at 1500, but the Harps alds will confirm)
Longford 1450 (1131)
Pat's 3019 (1882)
Rovers 3000 (1466)
Shels 2530 (2158)
UCD 738 (306)
Waterford 1900 (1753) (Harps reduced to 1900 per the relatively official figure)

FIRST
Athlone 450 (291) (missing Limerick)
Cobh 300 (240)
Dublin City 250 (592) (Sligo game upped to 200)
Dundalk N/A (591)
Galway 1264 (571)
Kildare 200 (298)
Kilkenny 150 (108) (missing Dundalk)
Limerick 1200 (188) (Monaghan game revised down to 1200)
Monaghan 200 (182)
Sligo 1550 (781)

Premier Division - 2447 (1863)
First Division - 626 (515)

Weekend games missing -
Drogheda v. Pat's
Athlone v. Limerick

1 9 2 8
03/04/2005, 3:04 PM
thebitored.org (http://www.thebitored.org/fanscorner/the%20match/Reports/02_04_05_el_dundalk_MR.htm) has 1,700 at our game but it's an estimated attendance

03/04/2005, 3:05 PM
thebitored.org (http://www.thebitored.org/fanscorner/the%20match/Reports/02_04_05_el_dundalk_MR.htm) has 1,700 at our game but it's an estimated attendance

www.sligorovers.com has 1600

03/04/2005, 6:47 PM
Midweek games on Tuesday apparently - here's what they pulled in last season...

FIRST DIVISION
Cobh Ramblers v. Athlone Town - 250
Dundalk v. Dublin City - N/A
Galway United v. Sligo Rovers - 902
Kildare County v. Monaghan United - no figure
Limerick v. Kilkenny City - no figure

03/04/2005, 6:59 PM
400 at Athlone v. Limerick at the weekend.

anto eile
04/04/2005, 10:06 AM
About 4,400 at the Cross for City-Shels. All the dry areas were full: Shed - 2,000, Derrynane - 1,185, top half of Donnie Ford - 950, plus about 250 in the uncovered part of DF, and about 25 ppl in St.Anne's end. My figures work out at 4410, but since its only an estimate, we'll say 4,400!

youre joking.
1000 max in the shed. 1000 opposite main stand and no more than 1000 seats out of 1850 were filled in the main stand
the attendance for setanta against shels was 3000 or less i reckon.

anto eile
04/04/2005, 10:09 AM
Rovers Vs Shels - 3.500

Spoke to various Shelbournes heads who were there, some in the Jodi, others in the Connaught St side - consensus 3,500, with approx 50-50 split betwen both sides.
thers no way shels had 1250 at the game. yous had i rekcon 800 max on connaught st. and a handful in jodi stand.id go with 3000, c2100 Rovers. c900 max shels

04/04/2005, 10:11 AM
According to the Harps site, it was just over 1600 at the Rovers game

Buller
04/04/2005, 5:46 PM
wow, thats alot up there, isnt it?! :confused: Sooner they get their stadium up and running the better. Is it just me or are crowds much bigger this year especially in clubs that have solid plans to build a stadium?! Its pretty early in the season to be sayin that yet so lets wait and see... :rolleyes:

04/04/2005, 6:41 PM
1000 max in the shed

There was more in the Shed than its "official" capacity, very crowded there.

I'd say 3000 is about right. Not having the St. Anne's covered costs us about 1000 peoople every time it rains on match days

harpskid
04/04/2005, 7:34 PM
Aye 1,600ish in Finn Park on Saturday night.

GalwayFrancis
04/04/2005, 7:52 PM
Not having the St. Anne's covered costs us about 1000 peoople every time it rains on match days

which is close to 10 grand every wet match.....

higgins
04/04/2005, 8:20 PM
How can not having one part of your ground covered cost you 1000 every time it rains?

Theres plenty of covered seats to sit in.

Rain puts people off from coming to games but its got nothing to do with your uncovered seats :confused:

04/04/2005, 8:25 PM
How can not having one part of your ground covered cost you 1000 every time it rains?

Rain puts people off from coming to games but its got nothing to do with your uncovered seats :confused:

Theres actually not plenty of covered seats at Turners Cross. All the covered ones in the main stand are taken up by season tickets and family enclosure all the lower tier of it is exposed to the rain.

The small stand offers very little protection from the rain, especially if there is any element of wind.

People know there will be very little covered seats and dont bother turning up. If they knew they had coverd seats to sit in IMO a lot more would turn up. As opposed to Shels were people just dont bother turning up because it Shels

bohs til i die
05/04/2005, 8:51 AM
thers no way shels had 1250 at the game. yous had i rekcon 800 max on connaught st. and a handful in jodi stand.id go with 3000, c2100 Rovers. c900 max shels

Anto,

there was 1800 max in the Jodi for Rovers v Shels. Ive seen the TV pictures and there was huge gaps in the Jodi and Block G was completely blocked off.

05/04/2005, 9:41 AM

What part of "Not having the St. Anne's covered costs us about 1000 peoople every time it rains on match days" don't you understand?
If $hels were ever in a position to draw a crowd big enough to fill Tolka, you might realise that on a rainy night, not too many people would opt for the open terrace behind the goal, and you might realise that if it was covered, more people would have come to the game.
Of course, thats a fantasy situation for you lot, but it's a common occurrence down here.

ColinR
05/04/2005, 10:01 AM
What part of "Not having the St. Anne's covered costs us about 1000 peoople every time it rains on match days" don't you understand?
If $hels were ever in a position to draw a crowd big enough to fill Tolka, you might realise that on a rainy night, not too many people would opt for the open terrace behind the goal, and you might realise that if it was covered, more people would have come to the game.
Of course, thats a fantasy situation for you lot, but it's a common occurrence down here.

so what your saying is, while most of the clubs in the league have small group of die hards, corks support is literally a large bunch of fair-weather supporters ;)

05/04/2005, 12:37 PM
I think his point is that there are other seats for them to sit in, though? It's not as if Cork (much as you would have us believe) sell out every game and people sit in the open stand by necessity.

05/04/2005, 12:58 PM
It's really quite simple.
There are certain games which attract large crowds in Cork.
Games against $hels, and now Setanta games, would be one such fixture.
Given that it was $hels AND the Setanta, a large crowd would be expected. Quite a sizeable number of people would only get their ticket on the night of the game. If it had been a fine night, we would have got a gate of somewhere between 5,000 - 6,000, the usual gate for a $hels game (Go back through the attendances if you want to). But as it was raining, a lot of people would have decided not to go, thinking/knowing that the covered seats and Shed area would have been already filled by people who had already got tickets.

There was a crowd of around 3,500 - 4,000 on Easter Monday, on a sh*tty wet night. IF the night had been fine, at least 1,000, maybe as much as 2,000 more people would have attended the game, but didn't because they would have been sitting/standing in the rain all night.