View Full Version : 2005 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

28/05/2005, 5:13 PM
Rovers don't attempt to sing in Belfield.
With fans like that... :rolleyes: No wonder the team is doing so poorly if you don't bother to support them just because the opposition has a poor fan base...

28/05/2005, 5:14 PM
about 2700 at the cross to see cork city v derry city
"A disappointing 2000 plus" was in the Irish Times. Granted 2700 is "2000 plus" (as are a lot of numbers!), but that sounds nearer the 2000 mark?

Any sign of an official attendance?

28/05/2005, 5:37 PM
With fans like that... :rolleyes: No wonder the team is doing so poorly if you don't bother to support them just because the opposition has a poor fan base...
I'd tread carefully, stu, lest you find yourself submerged beneath a deadly avalanche of forcefully-worded press releases.

28/05/2005, 5:54 PM
Passive you're making little sense. If one team relies on the other to actually sing then surely no singing would start at all? :confused: Also at Richmond Park the other week the Pats fans didn't sing and you did. Richmond hardly being a great ground either. Also what stopped your mighty amazing putting Serie A to shame Ultras from congregating in our ground? Especially if we apparently only have 10 fans?

Green Force
28/05/2005, 7:49 PM
Passive you're making little sense. If one team relies on the other to actually sing then surely no singing would start at all? :confused: Also at Richmond Park the other week the Pats fans didn't sing and you did. Richmond hardly being a great ground either. Also what stopped your mighty amazing putting Serie A to shame Ultras from congregating in our ground? Especially if we apparently only have 10 fans?

Well fair play to UCD for having the best ultras in the league.
The local boozers cunning tactic of giving away free pints may have had some impact as did the fact that, quite honestly, no one is arsed backing a shower of mercenary ****s on €23k a week who wouldnt be able to kick the planet they are standing on never mind a football.

28/05/2005, 9:18 PM
1000 mentioned on the Harps forum for Harps-Bray.

Comic Book Guy
29/05/2005, 8:47 AM
290 at Cobh ramblers v monaghan

29/05/2005, 7:03 PM
Updates after the Monday's game...

PREMIER
Bohs 2351 (2340)
Bray 1908 (818)
Cork 3645 (4033)
Derry 2524 (1672)
Drogheda 2101 (1554)
Harps 1783 (1106)
Longford 1133 (1131)
Pat's 1996 (1882)
Rovers 1840 (1466)
Shels 2211 (2158)
UCD 803 (306)
Waterford 1640 (1753)

FIRST
Athlone 483 (291) (missing Monaghan)
Cobh 390 (240)
Dublin City 165 (592)
Dundalk 290 (591)
Galway 660 (571)
Kildare 223 (298)
Kilkenny 143 (108) (missing Athlone, Dundalk and Kildare)
Limerick 900 (188)
Monaghan 125 (182) (missing Cobh)
Sligo 1583 (781)

Premier Division - 1987 (1863)
First Division - 530 (515)

Weekend matches missing -
None :)

29/05/2005, 7:10 PM
Comparisons to last season...

Waterford United v Drogheda United - 900 (2004 - 1700)
Bohemians v Shelbourne - 3114 (3492)
Cork City v Derry City - 2500 (3000)
St. Patrick's Athletic v Longford Town - 1325 (900)
UCD v Shamrock Rovers - 1100 (no corresponding fixture)
Finn Harps v Bray Wanderers - 1000 (650 (First Division))
Shelbourne v. Cork City - 1660 (1200)

First Division

Dundalk v Sligo Rovers - 200 (1000)
Galway United v Kilkenny City - 187 (720)
Limerick FC v Athlone Town - 737 (250)
Kildare County v Dublin City - 300 (no corresponding fixture)
Cobh Ramblers v Monaghan United - 290 (342)

Quick summary -
4 up
6 down
2 no corresponding fixture
0 figures to come

Premier Division average - 1750 (1824)
First Division average - 354 (578)

(Only games with figures for both seasons counted.)

anto eile
29/05/2005, 7:31 PM
i owuld have gone with 800 at ucd- Rovers

29/05/2005, 7:34 PM
What is the capacity of the main (or only) stand at Belfield Stu?

anto eile
29/05/2005, 7:35 PM
Pineapple, as I've told you on the Rovers forum, five of you standing in the corner singing 'come on college' doesn't make you an Ultras group. Rovers don't attempt to sing in Belfield. Our singing fans were spread all over the ground, we just went there to watch a game. We're not going to get in a 'singing match' against five students standing in the corner. If you're going to sing at games you need numbers. Otherwise, it's just you and your four mates, which is kind of sad.

pineapple, sorry to disappoint you. but ucd away is the one game were Rovers fans simply dont want to sing.even if we tried hard we couldnt be bothered about ucd. we simply dont want to sing out ther ,its pointless singing at 7 students. it would be pathetic to even bother
belfield is an awful place for atmospherel-you could have it packed and you still wouldnt create an atmoshpere

29/05/2005, 7:43 PM
pineapple, sorry to disappoint you. but ucd away is the one game were Rovers fans simply dont want to sing.even if we tried hard we couldnt be bothered about ucd. we simply dont want to sing out ther ,its pointless singing at 7 students. it would be pathetic to even bother
belfield is an awful place for atmospherel-you could have it packed and you still wouldnt create an atmoshpere

Since when is it about singing "at" fans? Do you not sing to inspire your team primarily and then interact with the other fans secondarily? Can we drop this myth there are only 6 or 7 students? There's at least 100 regulars who attend all games no matter 1st Division against bottom of the table Limerick or Shels in the Premier. Derry fans had no problem singing at Belfield. They never missed a drum beat the entire game.

Dr.Nightdub
29/05/2005, 11:33 PM
Last time Pats were away to UCD, we sang "Red Army" non-stop for the entire second half, purely and simply in the hope of hypnotising ourselves to block out the horror of being at yet another awful game in that awful ground.

It was working too, until the b*****d ref blew for full time thus breaking the spell and bringing us back to grim reality. :eek:

Patrick Dunne
30/05/2005, 9:09 AM
187 official attendance at GUFC vs Kilkenny.

30/05/2005, 9:14 AM

So why dont you sing to try and lift your teams spirits ? or to motivate them to a win......god knows they need it

30/05/2005, 9:22 AM
Pineapple, sorry to disappoint you, but UCD away is the one game where Rovers fans simply don't want to sing. Even if we tried hard we couldnt be bothered about UCD. We simply don't want to sing out there, it's pointless singing at 7 students. It would be pathetic to even bother.
Belfield is an awful place for atmosphere - you could have it packed and you still wouldn't create an atmosphere
My last word on this (as I said on the Rovers forum too), I'm sure your players are delighted that you couldn't be bothered to support them just because the opposition has a small fan base. Maybe if you'd have bothered supporting them on Friday, they might have won. God knows we weren't going to be hitting a cow's arse with a banjo anytime soon...

I would have gone with 800 at UCD-Rovers
The stand (which holds 848) was about 2/3rds full (so 565), and schumi said he counted about 500 around the ground. So 1100, give or take.

harpskid
30/05/2005, 10:00 AM
Belfield's pish for atmosphere but Jesus ye still have to make an effort.

There'll be a handful of us in Cork on Monday armed with a drum and will probably sing our hearts out. UCD fans whatever amount of them deserve credit - four of them came to Finn Park last year and roared their heads off!

30/05/2005, 12:28 PM
187 official attendance at GUFC vs Kilkenny.

What's the story there? Drop off because you're second last or was there a GAA match on or something? Or do most Galway people have the power of seeing into the future? ;)

Patrick Dunne
30/05/2005, 12:33 PM
that there was 250 approx at the game, but 187 was official figure. Football is appalling, unwatchable. Being humiliated at home by fat lumps from the Leinster Senior League. Brutal stuff. Future attendances will be lower.

30/05/2005, 1:27 PM
i owuld have gone with 800 at ucd- Rovers
600-ish standing around the ground (always looks like about half of what's there) plus 500-ish in the stand.

Red Army
30/05/2005, 6:14 PM
that there was 250 approx at the game, but 187 was official figure. Football is appalling, unwatchable. Being humiliated at home by fat lumps from the Leinster Senior League. Brutal stuff. Future attendances will be lower.
250 is still very low I ye bring a good crowd to the Showgrounds

31/05/2005, 10:56 AM
1500 for Shels v Cork City last night?

31/05/2005, 11:13 AM
1500 for Shels v Cork City last night?

Was that all? :confused: :confused:

31/05/2005, 12:02 PM
1,660 mentioned elsehwere. It was definitely by far our worst crowd of the season anyway, our crowds really suffer mid week.

31/05/2005, 12:06 PM
...our crowds really suffer mid week.

Since when is Monday midweek.

31/05/2005, 12:10 PM
That can be the only explanation though Shels don't have excellent crowds they are still the 3rd or 4th highest in the eL I'd say. Given that this was their biggest game of the season it must be the Monday thing. Though still cannot see how it would be that low.

31/05/2005, 12:16 PM
Since when is Monday midweek.

Well you know what I mean, as in days with work the day of the match and work the day after the match. Our crowds really suffer.

It was our lowest crowd of the season (and by a good 500 people or so) for our biggest game, it's always been like that on monday/mid-week games.

31/05/2005, 12:51 PM
"At most 350" (http://kildarecounty.irishfootie.net/viewtopic.php?p=3826#3826) mentioned for Kildare County v. Dublin City. Will put it in as 300.

garykelly
01/06/2005, 9:36 AM
Fans make Limerick FC one of the best supported sides in the League
by Bernard O'Neill

Limerick FC are being credited with helping to raise the overall attendance figures at eircom First Division matches this season. An FAI official confirmed that the Blues were one of the two best supported sides in the First Division - and were also better supported than at least one Premier side.

The official declined to reveal the exact attendance figures for clubs in both divisions or the identities of the clubs in question but said that Limerick's gates were averaging out at over the 1000 mark for home games.

"There has been a significant improvement in the numbers of fans going to Limerick FC games from last season and that is a credit to the amount of work that is being done both on and off the field". he said.

"The improvement in Limerick's gates has led to a percentage rise in the overall attendance figures for the First Division from this point last season".

"Limerick are definitely one of the best supported sides in the First Division and are better supported than one Premier side. Attendance figures for most clubs are confidential and I am not at liberty to disclose the data on attendances throughout the Premier League and First Division. he added.

Thanking fans for their support Limerick FC Chairman Danny Drew urged TV stations to give more coverage to the First Division.

"Our fans have been absolutely brilliant at home and away but I can't say that of the coverage of First Division games on TV which has been fairly poor to say the least". Drew said.

"I understand that the Premier Division will take precedence but just showing a few seconds of a game and the classified results doesn't do justice to the First Division".

"It is definitely something that can be improved on as there are some very exciting games in the First Division". added Drew.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Good to see limerick getting crowds. will be great travelling to an away game that actually has alot of supporters there. Why are the attendances deemed confidential ? i'd have thought it should be mandatory to release these figures in public. Every other league in the world has attendances displayed in public. Why is it different here ? Are people afraid of transparency. dont like the cloak and dagger attitude that exists in irish football.

01/06/2005, 12:32 PM
Attendance figures for most clubs are confidential
Sure Limerick announce their attendance figures themselves?! :confused:

Confidential is nonsense. Don't see how they can claim that with a straight face unless a) some clubs still aren't complying and they're scared to take them to task or b) some clubs are lying on their submissions to save on tax.

01/06/2005, 12:53 PM
Limerick always read out there attendences at all home games.

anto eile
01/06/2005, 12:57 PM
surely clubs only pay tax on profits- ie if the club make a profit at the end of the year theyd pay a (fairly small) tax on that?any other system and the club would be paying tax while trading at a loss,surely that wouldnt make any sense??

01/06/2005, 12:57 PM
1,660 mentioned elsehwere. It was definitely by far our worst crowd of the season anyway, our crowds really suffer mid week...........and during exam time.

Don't worry it'll be the school holidays soon and the kids can stay up to whatever time they want.

Monday's nights crowd was truly abysmal for a table topping clash. English footy season is over, bright evening, no other competiton to speak of, two good sides......... I sometimes wonder if this league is going anywhere.

Have Shels done anything to try to attract the 28,000 fair-weather fans who showed up at Lansdowne or are we left with the conclusion that we really are a nation of glory hunting bandwagon jumpers with no sense of loyalty as described on that other thread?

anto eile
01/06/2005, 12:59 PM
Have Shels done anything to try to attract the 28,000 fair-weather fans who showed up at Lansdowne or are we left with the conclusion that we really are a nation of glory hunting bandwagon jumpers with no sense of loyalty as described on that other thread?

thats been proved conclusively already many times. sure you dont have to look any further than the brandywell to prove that!

01/06/2005, 1:09 PM
surely clubs only pay tax on profits- ie if the club make a profit at the end of the year theyd pay a (fairly small) tax on that?any other system and the club would be paying tax while trading at a loss,surely that wouldnt make any sense??
But if the club is underreporting attendance figures and taking the excess cash under the table, then their attendances would be lower than actual and the FAI might want to keep them confidential to save the club's face. They'd then be paying less tax because some of their income isn't being reported.

All hypothetical, obviously. I'm not saying it's being done.

01/06/2005, 2:12 PM
thats been proved conclusively already many times. sure you dont have to look any further than the brandywell to prove that!

That wasn't specifically a pop at Shels, rather at the League in general and I include my own club. Although at least our fair-weather crowds turn up when we are doing well domestically.

And the explanation of our drop in crowds since late 80's is well trodden ground on this forum and relates only partly to form and largely to other factors, including the novelty of having a senior football team to follow.

Fact remains, 1500 for a top of the table clash, Monday night or no Monday night, is ATROCIOUS.

ColinR
01/06/2005, 2:25 PM
yes, but most clubs would make losses so there would be no tax to pay.

however, were the tax avoidance might come in would be a scenario where the gate receipts arrive in a biscuit tin (say) and then is passed directly to the players. the club declares a false declaration of wages, but can show it is only paying what it can afford, because the real make up off the wages (the extra gate receipts ) are never shown as income in the first place.

not that any eL club would do anything like that

04/06/2005, 12:04 AM
Hmmm...scratch my last post (or most of it; some clubs do make profits) and replace with the above post, which is much more pertinent.

Anyways.

950-ish at UCD-Shels.

04/06/2005, 12:14 AM
1204 for Pats-Bray, this time my accuracy is down to the announcement over the loudspeaker ;) , I think thats the figure that was announced anyway :) .

04/06/2005, 12:38 AM
Think every one of Pat's attendances this season has been lower than the previous one...! :(

Good start to the season for most clubs, but the attendances seem to be droppig off now as we get into the summer...

ger121
04/06/2005, 7:49 AM
Bohs V Rovers, I'd say 3200, could be a bit more than that. I'm basing this on the fact that the Bohs Shels game had an attendance of 3114 and there appeared to be a slightly bigger crowd than last week.

The Jodi was quite full as the Des Kelly stand was closed. The Connaught Stand probably 600-700. Maybe someone from Rovers could give a better guess based on the gate?

Da Real Rover
04/06/2005, 10:03 AM
I reckon there was around 1300-1400 at the Rovers Galway game. The Friday night thing probably had an effect on the crowd.

Buller
04/06/2005, 10:39 AM
What about the kilkenny v limerick match? What was the attendence there, it had to have gone up because of the influx of people for the weekend...

bohs til i die
04/06/2005, 1:42 PM
Bohs V Rovers, I'd say 3200, could be a bit more than that. I'm basing this on the fact that the Bohs Shels game had an attendance of 3114 and there appeared to be a slightly bigger crowd than last week.

The Jodi was quite full as the Des Kelly stand was closed. The Connaught Stand probably 600-700. Maybe someone from Rovers could give a better guess based on the gate?

Rovers v Bohs was about 3800.

1500-1600 on Connaught Street and 2200 in Jodi

ger121
04/06/2005, 1:59 PM
Rovers v Bohs was about 3800.

1500-1600 on Connaught Street and 2200 in Jodi

Always knew my maths skills were brutal, not a bad crowd.

04/06/2005, 2:25 PM
Id put the attendance at about 80 of which 30 were kids(some who also doubled as stewards) and 25 were limerick supporters. Very sad to see in such a beautiful ground.

04/06/2005, 2:31 PM
Will put Rovers-Bohs in at 3600, just to get a conservative guesstimate (in between the two given)

Buller
04/06/2005, 3:39 PM
Id put the attendance at about 80 of which 30 were kids(some who also doubled as stewards) and 25 were limerick supporters. Very sad to see in such a beautiful ground.
80!!!!! :eek: Dear god! Somethings seriously wrong down there! and with the amount of people down there at the moment thats a disgrace...

1 9 2 8
05/06/2005, 12:01 PM
Rovers.com say 1,600 at Rovers Vs Galway having the game on a friday didn't help