View Full Version : 2005 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

22/07/2005, 10:25 PM
I'd say about 2,500-3,200 at the Carlisle tonight. Loadsa Shels fans. :o

They were probably hoping for an easy win..... :D
how many did Shels bring (guesstimate)?

btw, how many did we have in the Carlisle Grounds a few weeks ago?? I was out of the country so couldnt make it.

22/07/2005, 11:26 PM

btw, how many did we have in the Carlisle Grounds a few weeks ago?? I was out of the country so couldnt make it.

Attendence at 3000 tonite I think, possibly more but shar it was around 3000 in the anyway (as the famous Noel King once said). 800-1500 Shels fans :confused: (Bohs were the only team to bring more this season if my memory serves me correctly).

To answer your 2nd question I'd say twas around 50 if not more, hard to tell because there was a group of ye together and plenty of other jersey's spread over the ground so maybe it was more :confused:

Dr.Nightdub
22/07/2005, 11:58 PM
1014 at Pats v Waterford (official).

Woeful, and getting worse. It'll be interesting to see what we get next weekend for the Cork match - seeing as it's on the Sunday afternoon of a bank holiday weekend, there's no excuse for Cork bringing anything less than 20,000.

OK, the fact that Richmond has a capacity of 5,500 MIGHT just be extenuating circumstances...

23/07/2005, 8:42 AM
Estimated 5500 City v Rovers but official figure in couple of weeks could be lower.

Offcial Attendance for City v Bohs from couple of week ago was 3600.

REVIP
23/07/2005, 8:47 AM
Attendence at 3000 tonite I think, possibly more but shar it was around 3000 in the anyway (as the famous Noel King once said). 800-1500 Shels fans :confused: (Bohs were the only team to bring more this season if my memory serves me correctly).:

Didn't think there were as many last night as there were at Bohs match - which your guesstimate put at 2,791 :) .

Maybe 2,500? At least half of them Shels fans.

Green Force
23/07/2005, 10:28 AM
No more than 3,500 at it.

23/07/2005, 10:47 AM

I also was out of the country for that one??

23/07/2005, 1:17 PM
1883 for Derry v UCD (Semi offical figure)

23/07/2005, 1:20 PM

I thought you'd be hitting bigger figures considering how well you're doing. :confused:

23/07/2005, 1:26 PM

I also was out of the country for that one??
Awww, how cute. DE TOWN and superfrank went on holiday's together:p :D.

23/07/2005, 1:39 PM
Awww, how cute. DE TOWN and superfrank went on holiday's together:p :D.
Feck off!!

Where did you actually go superfrank? just to make sure nothing fishy was going on ;)

23/07/2005, 2:10 PM
I thought you'd be hitting bigger figures considering how well you're doing. :confused:

This is the "Derry Holidays"- the weeks when all the shirt factories used to be off and everyone went on their holidays. Although the vast majority of factories remain, the tradition remains.

23/07/2005, 2:16 PM
Didn't think there were as many last night as there were at Bohs match - which your guesstimate put at 2,791 .

Maybe 2,500? At least half of them Shels fans.

Must be losin my marbles so :o , 2500 then :confused: . I think I'll wait till the day after before I come on here posting again, give myself time to calm down ;) . Do you think that there were more Bray fans last night than at the Bohs game, I said that only Bohs brought more but it seemed to be a similar attendence so maybe there were more home fans.

You decide, somewhere between 2500 and 2800 ... I'm confused.... :confused: ...... Sure I was born that way :eek: .
The seats looked 80% full (first half) and behind the goal had plenty of people as well, how full did the shed look?

23/07/2005, 2:42 PM
This is the "Derry Holidays"- the weeks when all the shirt factories used to be off and everyone went on their holidays. Although the vast majority of factories remain, the tradition remains.

The bad side of summer soccer. Glad to know the prospect of watching us alone didn't lower the attendence an excuse other teams use.

23/07/2005, 3:26 PM
How many does the stand hold as a matter of interest? I counted 150 around the ground, not including the 5 on the hill behind the press stand and the two or three on the wall. :D

REVIP
23/07/2005, 6:01 PM
. Do you think that there were more Bray fans last night than at the Bohs game, I said that only Bohs brought more but it seemed to be a similar attendence so maybe there were more home fans.

You decide, somewhere between 2500 and 2800 ... I'm confused.... :confused: ...... Sure I was born that way :eek: .
The seats looked 80% full (first half) and behind the goal had plenty of people as well, how full did the shed look?

I thought the Bray support was small compared to the Bohs match. Shed beyond the press box was empty until Shels fans moved into it in the second half.

Not sure what the Carlisle capacity is, Seagull Scene gives 5,000
http://www.worldstadiums.com/europe/countries/ireland.shtml gives 6,500 -
2,500 seats (must count one of those blocks of seats sometime) 80% of that would be 2,000 plus say 400 at the end and 400 in the shed - say 2,801?

23/07/2005, 6:07 PM
Being pedantic I would have said less than 400 behind the goal, more like 200. The stand did seem 80% full but I've no idea what the capacity is and yeah around 400 in the shed. So around 2,601 :)

23/07/2005, 6:36 PM

Well brief history lesson... Derry City had five figure crowds when they joined the League back in 1985.... and are the only team whose crowds have fallen by 600% in the last 20 years :p

23/07/2005, 8:52 PM
I know CTID but Derry hadn't played for what a decade or two before that? The whole novelty of actually having a team and playing in a different district as well as being successful helped.

23/07/2005, 9:19 PM
I know CTID but Derry hadn't played for what a decade or two before that? The whole novelty of actually having a team and playing in a different district as well as being successful helped.

Yes but they proved to be typically fickle Irish so called football supporters :D

23/07/2005, 9:24 PM
Lads,

There is enough a whole other thread on this, but suffice to say there are w whole load of socio-political reasons for the drop in our support, as well as the fall off the bandwagon

higgins
23/07/2005, 9:29 PM
I was out in Bray last night and thought that at least half were Shels fans?? NO?

Not sure what the overll figure was but shels had fans all around the ground. Maybe you didnt hear us due to the useless shower of muppets that are called the team not doing anything worth even a clap.

23/07/2005, 9:30 PM
Tonight's attendance-1700, according to Rovers site ;)

niftynigel
23/07/2005, 10:16 PM
Pineapple - I notice that you didn't have an attendance for Kilkenny City v. Sligo Rovers from last season. As luck would have it, that was a match I attended on Sat 10th July. The attendance from my personal count, which was identical to another groundhopper was 120. To verify my presence, I can confirm that Kilkenny City did not issue a matchday programme for that match!

How often, and which clubs fail to issue a programme for match(es)?

In response to the Bohs supporter at Finn Harps. I would say, that roughly half of the 180 at the open side and roughly half behind the goal were Bohs supporters wearing their replica shirts, so that's nearly 300. I assumed that many supporters travel and don't wear their colours?

Certainly in England (I follow West Ham United - every game), I have noticed that after peaking in the 1990's Premier League hype, the number of supporters, particularly 'away' supporters in England wearing colours is reducing again. This appears to coincide with a slight increase in violence and other undesirable incidences at matches! Maybe that was a consequence of being a supposed 'big club' after relegation to the Football League. Now that WHU have been promoted, then being an average or struggling club, then maybe we won't be targetted by the local yobs? :(

sonofstan
24/07/2005, 2:10 AM
[QUOTE=niftynigel]

In response to the Bohs supporter at Finn Harps. I would say, that roughly half of the 180 at the open side and roughly half behind the goal were Bohs supporters wearing their replica shirts, so that's nearly 300. I assumed that many supporters travel and don't wear their colours?

I went down to the far goal - the one we were attacking- for the second half so I had a good view of the terrace where most of the Bohs fans were; I still don't thing there were more that 150 there plus a sprinkling elsewhere., but if you're right then I'm impressed.

Da Real Rover
24/07/2005, 10:40 AM
Tonight's attendance-1700, according to Rovers site ;)
Id say we could be in for a big crowd for our next home game.

Comic Book Guy
24/07/2005, 10:44 AM
Reckon about 350 to 400 for CobhRamblers/ limerick last night

24/07/2005, 1:03 PM
Feck off!!

Where did you actually go superfrank? just to make sure nothing fishy was going on ;)

He's not saying anything DE TOWN:confused:, maybe he wants the relationship to come out in the open:p :D.

24/07/2005, 1:04 PM
Feck off!!

I was in Scotland.....Where were you?? :confused: :eek:

24/07/2005, 1:24 PM
He's not saying anything DE TOWN:confused:, maybe he wants the relationship to come out in the open:p :D.

No comment.

24/07/2005, 2:08 PM
I was in Scotland.....Where were you?? :confused: :eek:
phew :cool: I was in the south of france :p

24/07/2005, 2:21 PM
say 2,801? :)

That'll do me ;)

24/07/2005, 2:37 PM
phew :cool: I was in the south of france :p

Well, ye've stuck to your stories well anyway. We all know the REAL truth ;) :D

chippie0001
24/07/2005, 3:01 PM
Bohs v Drogheda crowd was 1,977, very good support from Drogheda but they left a bit ****ed off.

24/07/2005, 3:06 PM

official attendance Pats V Waterford

25/07/2005, 2:49 PM
Derry City had five figure crowds when they joined the League back in 1985.... and are the only team whose crowds have fallen by 600% in the last 20 years :p
Derry in negative crowds numbers shocker!

anto eile
25/07/2005, 3:59 PM
Rovers v cork

main stand-1700
shed 1000
small lateral stand 1100
st annes end 200

Da Real Rover
30/07/2005, 10:23 AM
Id say the rough guesstimate of the Rovers-Dublin game was about 150, with about 50 Dublin fans. Like every thing else Rent-a-crowd is going up in price.

Dr.Nightdub
31/07/2005, 6:43 PM
1392 at Pats v Cork. Pathetic.

31/07/2005, 10:35 PM
550 at the Limerick Monaghan game on Friday. Well done to the Mons who travelled all the way down great to see them there.

31/07/2005, 10:39 PM
Drogs fans please correct me here because I have no ideas of numbers in United Park but I would have said 1400ish there today with 100-150 LTFC fans.

31/07/2005, 10:53 PM
1392 at Pats v Cork. Pathetic.
shocked at how poor the pats crowd was. I remember going to games in Inchicore and the place was packed- whats happened?! Any numbers on how many City fans were there? I guessed at 300 ish.

Dr.Nightdub
01/08/2005, 1:15 AM
300 would be about right.

01/08/2005, 11:54 AM
Been away for a week, so here's a belated update. Last season in brackets. Will try and catch up on he comparisons to last season as well. Thanks to nigelnigel for the info on last season too!

Saw 1500 for Bohs-UCD in The Star. Looking at the game on Setanta, that looks about right, possibly a bit on the high side. Will put it in as 1500 for now and wait for the official figure.

PREMIER
Bohs 2099 (2340)
Bray 1795 (818)
Cork 3537 (4033)
Derry 2501 (1672)
Drogheda 1791 (1554)
Harps 1500 (1106)
Longford 1169 (1131)
Pat's 1674 (1882)
Rovers 1896 (1466) (missing Drogheda)
Shels 2012 (2158)
UCD 760 (306)
Waterford 1244 (1753) (missing Derry)

FIRST
Athlone 372 (291)
Cobh 361 (240)
Dublin City 164 (592)
Dundalk 262 (591) (missing Kilkenny)
Galway 634 (571) (missing Athlone)
Kildare 227 (298) (missing Cobh 2, Dundalk and Kilkenny)
Kilkenny 138 (110) (missing Athlone, Dundalk, Kildare, Monaghan and Sligo)
Limerick 775 (188)
Monaghan 181 (182) (missing Cobh, Galway 2 and Kildare)
Sligo 1580 (781)

Premier Division - 1823 (1863)
First Division - 505 (512)

Weekend matches missing -
Waterford v. Derry
Bohs v. UCD (official figure to come)
Dundalk v. Kilkenny
Galway v. Athlone
Kildare v. Cobh

01/08/2005, 12:05 PM
Somewhere over 2,000 at the match yesterday.

01/08/2005, 1:36 PM
Longford 1165 (1131) (missing Harps)
1200 for that game.

01/08/2005, 2:22 PM
Updated for the above two figures.

Comparisons to last season (Week 18)

Premier Division
Bohemians v Drogheda United - 1977 (2004 - 1787)
Bray Wanderers v Shelbourne - 2500 (n/a)
Cork City v Shamrock Rovers - 3500 (5000)
Derry City v UCD - 1883 (n/a)
St. Patrick’s v Waterford United - 1014 (1700)
Longford Town v Finn Harps - 1200 (n/a)

First Division
Athlone Town v Dundalk - 550 (no figure)
Kilkenny City v Dublin City - no figure (n/a)
Sligo Rovers v Kildare County - 1700 (700)
Cobh Ramblers v Limerick - 350 (n/a - only one Cobh home tie last season)
Monaghan United v Galway United - no figure (n/a - only one Monaghan home tie last season)

Premier Division average - 2257 (3350)
First Division average - 1700 (700)

Quick summary -

2 up
2 down
2 figures to come
4 no corresponding fixtures due to promotion/relegation
2 no corresponding fixtures due to three rounds of games
1 no figure last season

Bray Head
01/08/2005, 2:38 PM
Somewhere over 2,000 at the match yesterday.
Just over the 2000 mark at Bray & Rovers. I'd say 2200-2300.

DonO'Bate
01/08/2005, 11:06 PM
Official attendance 319.

01/08/2005, 11:15 PM
Id say the rough guesstimate of the Rovers-Dublin game was about 150, with about 50 Dublin fans.

There was more than that