View Full Version : Andy Reid(b 1982)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45

ArdeeBhoy
08/10/2013, 9:27 AM
Reid's good, but bear in mind he's playing the second tier of Eng.football, so it's all relative.
Though comparisons with Andy Keogh are mutually unhelpful...

But room for him and Hoolahan in say a 5-man midfield, along with Gibson, McCarthy & Brady...
Which might of have been a plan for Friday, albeit 'too attacking'...

dr_peepee
08/10/2013, 9:36 AM
Can't see Reid Hoolahan and Brady in the same team to be honest. If used It'd be Reid or Hoolahan in a central role, for me. And even then it would mean dropping Robbie to accomadate.

ArdeeBhoy
08/10/2013, 9:40 AM
I did say 5, would be the only way. And you'd have to play at least one on the wing...

08/10/2013, 10:05 AM
Though comparisons with Andy Keogh are mutually unhelpful...

Don't see why. There're both playing at the same level, Keogh is a few years younger and has a better physique. Playing in the hole is Keogh's natural (only?) position. Sure A. Reid is arguably more talented but that doesn't necessarily make him the better player for the team.

ArdeeBhoy
08/10/2013, 10:56 AM
Ask Wolves fans (& Leeds again);limited player with some energy who didn't live up to early potential, but nowhere near the dead-ball technique of Reid and hopefully we can do better than him?

Bungle
08/10/2013, 10:58 AM
I'm a massive massive fan of Andy as a player and as a person. However, I do think that at club level, he has not reached the peaks that his talent warrants. This doesn't have anything to do with Trap. He was given the platform at Spurs and he didn't take it. I'm not quite sure why as I would have felt that Redknapp would have been the right type of manager for him there. I do sometimes look back at the likes of Barrett (injury), Stephen McPhail (playing British system that didn't suit him) and Reidy and think how much better the BIG could have been over the last 10-13 years.

Anyhow, great to see Reidy back in the team.

DeLorean
08/10/2013, 11:03 AM
Reid left Spurs a couple of years before Redknapp took over. He was bought and sold by Martin Jol.

Closed Account 2
08/10/2013, 11:22 AM
Yeah he's had quite a few club managers aside from the revolving door at Forest he's had Jol at Spurs; Dowie (very briefly) Les Reid, Alain Pardew and (briefly) Phil Parkinson at Charlton; Keane, Sbragia and Bruce at Sunderland; Speed at Sheffield United and Holloway at Blackpool.

08/10/2013, 1:01 PM
Interview with Notttingham journalist Paul Taylor on Reid's progress this season, makes for interesting reading: http://www.thescore.ie/andy-reid-scouting-report-nottingham-forest-1118397-Oct2013/

Emmet7
11/10/2013, 11:41 PM
There is to be fair a huge difference between the Championship and the Premier League.

AR had a mixed time in the EPL, sometimes good, sometimes not so.

In the EPL you are playing against world class players like Ozil, Van Persie, Suarez and so on. In the Championship you are playing against journey man pros most of the time.

I think that needs to be borne in mind.

Would A R have made a difference against Germany tonight? Of course not. He's good, but he's not that good. The idea that A R would have dictated tonights game is just naive and farcical and like something Dunphy would come out with.

12/10/2013, 12:22 AM
There is to be fair a huge difference between the Championship and the Premier League.

AR had a mixed time in the EPL, sometimes good, sometimes not so.

In the EPL you are playing against world class players like Ozil, Van Persie, Suarez and so on. In the Championship you are playing against journey man pros most of the time.

I think that needs to be borne in mind.

Would A R have made a difference against Germany tonight? Of course not. He's good, but he's not that good. The idea that A R would have dictated tonights game is just naive and farcical and like something Dunphy would come out with.

Don't think it matter if it made a difference, would have been good to give him a run out, just to signal the start of a
new era, now it looks like he is being frozen out again, I dare say were he stuck up front he may well have taken
at least one of Stokes chances.
He has 5 goals to his name this season, and it's not as if any of the other 11 individually made any difference either,
so why not give him a shot?

He would have been a fresh pair of legs if nothing else, the 10 on the pitch who spent most of the game
chasing the ball must have been petty knackered towards the end, to make no subs is just ridiculous.

Emmet7
12/10/2013, 12:35 AM
Throwing a guy in tonight who hasn't played International football in 6 years or in the EPL in 2 years would hardly be a good idea.

Bringing back A R was a good PR move by Noel King, nothing more. He might play against Kazakstan and probably play well because they are sh*t. But long term I don't think he's the future of Irish football. Far too inconsistant at international and club level. If he was truely the great player that people make out he is, he'd be in an EPL team now. Harsh but true.

12/10/2013, 1:07 AM
Well Stoke has not played Internationals for several years, Kevin Doyle has scored 2 goals in League 1, Reid 5 in the Championship.
If Reid has no case for getting a game what is Doyle's???

He could have been given a run out, what did we have to lose?
Towards the end of the game Germany were 1,000-1 on to win ie a certainly, other than decapitating the referee
I don't see how Reid could have made things any worse.

Bringing him back may have been a good PR move, bringing him back and not playing him looks
more like a PR disaster!!

ArdeeBhoy
12/10/2013, 1:45 AM
In a game we were never going to win?

Surely better PR, his reputation remains untarnished, by not being party to this result...

12/10/2013, 2:20 AM
In a game we were never going to win?

Surely better PR, his reputation remains untarnished, by not being party to this result...

Yes we had nothing to lose, he had nothing to lose by coming on, nobody expected him to change the game
although he might have, bringing him on would at least have given the fans something to cheer about.
There is no shame losing to the Germans anyway it was expected. It would have given Andy a boost,
he is on good form anyway, but this would still have been a shot in the arm for him.
As it is he is just going to be ****ed off, Noel was happy to play players who do not seem to bothered if they play or not.
Andy would walk over hot coals for a game no matter how badly he was treated.

It is just real bad man management, should be the start of a new era but it is a **** up from day one.
He could have made 3 subs just to give the players a break if nothing else, the last goal as I recall
was just to tired legs.

12/10/2013, 1:20 PM
Throwing a guy in tonight who hasn't played International football in 6 years or in the EPL in 2 years would hardly be a good idea.

Bringing back A R was a good PR move by Noel King, nothing more. He might play against Kazakstan and probably play well because they are sh*t. But long term I don't think he's the future of Irish football. Far too inconsistant at international and club level. If he was truely the great player that people make out he is, he'd be in an EPL team now. Harsh but true.
I don't agree. I think he could still be a part of the next campaign. I don't care if he's not at EPL level, we need some creativity and Reid is one of a few players capable of providing that. I'd say Brady is the future but Reid can be part of the near-future. The Swedish bloke that scored against us was 37 and playing in Sweden.

Closed Account 2
13/10/2013, 9:38 AM
Svensonn has always been a bit leaner than Reid though. We potentially have players who could play into their late 30s, Keane, Andrews, perhaps Coleman, but I don't think Reid would be like that. Brady is already playing just as well as Reid at a better level than him and Hoolahan has been playing very well for the last few seasons again at a higher level, admittedly he's slipped out of the first team at Norwich in the last few weeks, but I would say Brady and Hoolahan are first and second choice for us in that role.

Although since he was in the squad I would have at least used him as a sub.

13/10/2013, 10:47 AM
I'm not saying that Reid has 6 years of international football left in him though! He's playing as well as anyone we have at the moment and still has something to offer in one more campaign, even if only as a squad member as a bench option.

13/10/2013, 12:17 PM
Lagerback was heavily criticised for recalling Svensson at the age of 33 to the team during the 2010 qualifiers.
And he's still playing for Sweden at the age of 37.

17/10/2013, 5:57 PM
I was in a pub once and some idiot spilt some lager down my back.
I wonder if that is how he got his name?

"Watch out lad Lagerback is coming back from the bar with his pint!!!"

03/12/2013, 8:33 PM
A goal and an assist so far as Forest have twice come from behind at Milwall. His goal was from outside the box, unsurprisingly.

DeLorean
04/12/2013, 11:28 AM
http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/andyreid.gif

04/12/2013, 1:08 PM
Andy (http://bleacherreport.com/articles/962404-50-fattest-soccer-players-of-all-time/page/36) has come in 36th of the 50 fattest footballers of all time.

http://cdn.bleacherreport.net/images_root/slides/photos/001/623/784/andyreid_display_image.jpg?1322672615

Yard of Pace
04/12/2013, 5:28 PM
Feck that. Super goal last night. And as Kerr said in the IT recently, his recent form shows up the horrible vindictiveness that Trap employed by banishing him from the squad. An absolute sin, imo.

04/12/2013, 5:35 PM
He's out of contract at the end of the season. Davies was singing his praises but deflected any questions about his contract situation. I wonder if Andy fancies his chances of getting another Premier League team? Because that always works out so well for him.

liamoo11
04/12/2013, 6:47 PM
Svensonn has always been a bit leaner than Reid though. We potentially have players who could play into their late 30s, Keane, Andrews, perhaps Coleman, but I don't think Reid would be like that. Brady is already playing just as well as Reid at a better level than him and Hoolahan has been playing very well for the last few seasons again at a higher level, admittedly he's slipped out of the first team at Norwich in the last few weeks, but I would say Brady and Hoolahan are first and second choice for us in that role.

Although since he was in the squad I would have at least used him as a sub.

Andrews couldnt play in his 20s not to mind his 30s.We will never see him back in green hopefully.Traps love of him held back Irish football for so many years.Is he even getting a game for Brighton. And yes I know he did try,never let us down etc and had endless hopeless shots in the euros and was a terrible passer of a ball.Woeful but he did clap the fans

04/12/2013, 7:04 PM
What? Andrews wasn't the one who held us back. He was a symptom of the fact Trap didn't rate our players, not the problem. He's in the twilight of his career now, but he worked hard and had a few good years, including being the driving force behind the best Irish performance in a decade.

liamoo11
04/12/2013, 7:19 PM
Fair enough. Still an awful footballer for me. Minimal football ability. Break into the box have a shot merchant. Scored bag fulls for the Dons got a great move to blackburn was woeful. Spent the euros on a personal crusade for a goal and little else. Doubt he was ever a driving force anywhere but the M50

04/12/2013, 7:23 PM
That's a pretty harsh judgement on his Euros. He seemed to be on a one-man crusade alright, but it was only because he was only one playing any football. He's limited in terms of his ability but he's tactically aware which gets you a long way when so many players are low on footballing intelligence.

liamoo11
04/12/2013, 7:28 PM
True to be fair my own emotional intelligence is somewhat suspect. Newstalk like him for his intellectual view of the game these days. He is our own Guardian reading version of Graeme Le Saux

Yard of Pace
05/12/2013, 11:11 AM
Andrews is just about the last Irish player of recent years I'd have a go at. Keeps himself in excellent shape and always gave 100%.

And never gets ideas above his station unlike his former midfield partner G. Whelan.

DeLorean
05/12/2013, 11:40 AM
Andy (http://bleacherreport.com/articles/962404-50-fattest-soccer-players-of-all-time/page/36) has come in 36th of the 50 fattest footballers of all time.

Feck that.

Andrews is just about the last Irish player of recent years I'd have a go at. Keeps himself in excellent shape and always gave 100%

So do you consider a player keeping themselves in excellent shape a necessity or a bonus? :)

05/12/2013, 11:47 AM
What did whelan do re:getting notions above his station?

Very average player Andrews is, but its not his fault for being picked. We hadn't an awful lot of alternatives around that time once reid wasnt playable.

DannyInvincible
05/12/2013, 11:58 AM
What did whelan do re:getting notions above his station?

Nobody dares challenge Dunphy on his claptrap!

19/12/2013, 8:16 PM
So I found myself in the City Ground on Saturday for the game v Ipswich.

Andy got MOTM. Totally deserved. Class apart.

26/12/2013, 9:42 PM
Andy MOTM again for Forest against QPR today, he got the second goal in a 2-0 victory,
rather controversial as the linesman flagged for offside causing QPR defence to stop playing
however Andy carried on and coolly slotted it past the keeper (who tried to save it).
The ref had not blown his whistle so the goal stood and rightly so.

The line man thought the a Forest player got a touch on the ball which would make
Andy offside but the ref ruled, correctly it seems, that he never touched it, meaning
Andy was onside from the initial ball as he bagged his 7th goal of the season.

Crosby87
26/12/2013, 11:36 PM
Andrews is just about the last Irish player of recent years I'd have a go at.

You always get so randy in December, Pacer.

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/12/2013, 1:32 PM
Some Indian summer Andy is having. Deserves to play a huge part in the next campaign.

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/12/2013, 5:11 PM
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/video-andy-reid-goal-controversial-stood-last-night-1240945-Dec2013/

Goal here. Should it have stood? You be the judge.

27/12/2013, 5:32 PM
There is absolutely no reason why it wouldn't stand.

27/12/2013, 10:03 PM
Nice finish. Oh Andy.

Yard of Pace
27/12/2013, 11:40 PM
You always get so randy in December, Pacer.

It's those cheekbones, Cros. Could grate cheese off those, so you could.

Cracking finish by Andy anyway, and always nice to see 'arry with a puss on him.

DeLorean
03/01/2014, 1:23 PM
Ross McCormack tweet (https://twitter.com/Rossmccormack44/status/417362459562115072) after Forest defeat:

"Fair play to Forrest they were superb! Best I've played against this year. Reid and Lansbury too good at this level. We will come again 100%"

Crosby87
05/01/2014, 12:47 AM
His namesake of the Kansas City Chiefs is in Henry mode right now. What a horrible loss. Up 3 TD at the half and an int to boot to start the second half. Maybe the Andy Reids are somehow linked. Both do not miss many meals, for example. Disaster for Kansas City.

OwenGoal
05/01/2014, 9:19 AM
Does anybody on here speak Crosby?

05/01/2014, 10:30 AM
Does anybody on here speak Crosby? it makes more sense if you know the head coach of Kansas City is a big fat bloke named Andy Reid

05/01/2014, 12:06 PM
It makes a little more sense if you know that, but what do you have to know to make sense out of "Henry mode"?

Yard of Pace
05/01/2014, 12:34 PM
18 min: Andy Reid shouldn't really be playing at this level, should he. What a player he might have been if he'd taken better care of himself.

:( ......

harry crumb
05/01/2014, 12:50 PM
Nice goal there.

Best player on the pitch.

But how bad are West Ham. A disgrace really.

TheOneWhoKnocks
05/01/2014, 1:30 PM
"The captain was on good form and organised his team brilliantly, while also doing his fair share of defending and getting Forest on the move through the channels. Rounded off the game getting Forest’s fifth with a clinical finish 10 yards out."

4 stars

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/match/126342/nottingham-forest-vs-west-ham/player-ratings