View Full Version : Andy Reid(b 1982)
Paddy Garcia
26/08/2006, 9:17 PM
Whatever about him starting, if he's fit it simply defies belief that he's not in our 23 man squad for Stuttgart.
Totally agree, the one midfielder who can pass the ball & split a defence. How he can be left out of the squad when we can accomodate Douglas (mind you decent showing against Holland), Kavanagh and O'Brien does defy belief.
I sense an unreasonable burden may be placed on McGeady's young shoulders.
Surely he will still call him up !
Noelys Guitar
26/08/2006, 9:27 PM
It is unbelievable he is not in the squad. I really hope this isn't Stan showing how tough he is! Or worse just not bothering to find out if Reid is fit to play.
Scram
26/08/2006, 10:26 PM
It is unbelievable he is not in the squad. I really hope this isn't Stan showing how tough he is! Or worse just not bothering to find out if Reid is fit to play.
:confused: WTF..He's not match fit, but he's one of our best players nad 7 days till the game, even at 70% he gives us twice as much as Miller....Stan's starting to look more and more like a Muppet.
DeNiro
26/08/2006, 10:32 PM
Any mention of any dropouts from squad that might allow Reid to get in? There's no doubt he should be there in the first place!
Noelys Guitar
27/08/2006, 12:18 AM
:confused: WTF..He's not match fit, but he's one of our best players nad 7 days till the game, even at 70% he gives us twice as much as Miller....Stan's starting to look more and more like a Muppet.
I didn't say he was match fit! I said fit to play. Which he is after he played today.
27/08/2006, 8:49 AM
On Match of the Day he went off with his boots off and appeared to be limping. Hope he is OK. He needs a run in the team and will get it based on the highlights anyway.
If Andy reid is not in our best 23 players then the squad must be a hell of alot stronger than anyone else thinks.
theworm2345
27/08/2006, 5:03 PM
See, what I dont get is how everyone here loathes the fact the Andy Reid played well in the EPL yesterday, and isnt in the squad, while David Connolly and Lee Carsley played equally as well, if not better, and everyone just turns the other cheek. Im not saying Im against Andy Reid, he has my full backing to get into the squad too, as I watched the Charlton match and he did play quite well, but so did those other two. Alan O'Brien, while he did play well last match against Holland, didnt even crack the Newcastle squad...and Clinton Morrison, though he is quite good, is a sub in the CCC. Oh well, I bet Andy Reid will be in the squad for Cyprus and the Czechs, not sure about the other two though
Carsley & Connolly are rubbish. Anyway Carsley is retired.
Reid played 89 minutes yesterday so was probably exhausted as been long time since he played a full game.
Amazed that a kid like O'Brien so is not on the Newcastle bench is ahead of Reid in the irish squad.
theworm2345
27/08/2006, 5:39 PM
Carsley & Connolly are rubbish. Anyway Carsley is retired.
Reid played 89 minutes yesterday so was probably exhausted as been long time since he played a full game.
Amazed that a kid like O'Brien so is not on the Newcastle bench is ahead of Reid in the irish squad.
Not true, Carsley came out of retirement, and played well for Everton yesterday, and Connolly also played very well for Wigan, couldve had 4, 5 assists, and wouldve scored if he wasnt called offside (he wasnt). But thats your (And pretty much everyone elses) opinion.
Carsley offers nothing different that O'Shea, Kavanagh, Reid or Kilbane offer in a defensive midfield role. He is too limited for international football. Like Carr he should have stayed retired.
Connolly scored a meer 9 goals in 41 appearances. He scored a hattrick against Liechtenstein which makes it 6 goals in the other 40 which is 1 goal every 6-7 games. I can not remember a goal of any significance that he scored. He got sent off in a vital playoff & missed a crucial penalty in the world cup.
Theres is a reason everything including previous & current manager don't rate Connolly.
theworm2345
27/08/2006, 5:52 PM
Connolly scored a meer 9 goals in 41 appearances. He scored a hattrick against Liechtenstein which makes it 6 goals in the other 40 which is 1 goal every 6-7 games. I can not remember a goal of any significance that he scored. He got sent off in a vital playoff & missed a crucial penalty in the world cup.
That record is as good and better than Elliott and Doyle. Everyone misses penalties, including Shevchenko, Henry, Pele, etc
Fergie's Son
27/08/2006, 5:52 PM
Well it took John Aldridge nearly 20 odd games to score for Ireland. Stats can be deceptive. Connolly might offer something as a late substitute. Carlsley did have a good game yesterday though and might just offer us something.
That record is as good and better than Elliott and Doyle.
You are correct. Sorry. Drop Elliot & Doyle as Connolly is better.
27/08/2006, 5:59 PM
It seems that Carsley only wants to be in the sqaud if he is going to play as he has kids that need to be looked after for personal reasons. He only wants to be in teh Ireland sqaud if he is going to play. Staunton is building for the future so as a result cannot give that guarantee to Carsley. I would have had him in the squad other than that.
Connolly does not offer anything that Elliot or Doyle cant. Also he cannot play with Keane. Doyle is playing regular football and scoring for the last 3 years.
theworm2345
27/08/2006, 7:55 PM
I'm done trying to argue for David Connolly. As one of my favorite players, I think I have to do this. I know what he can do, and no one else believes me, so here's what I say. If David Connolly ever gets capped again (it must be for 25 or more minutes, if its not, then this guarantee carries to the next game), and either he scores, gets an assist, or we win that game, nothing happens. If he doesnt, and we (Ireland) dont win (void if we draw that team and it is a top 5 team in FIFA) that match, I will buy anyone I meet from this forum the drink of their choice (as long as its under $20 USD). No risk for anyone here but me. Be it Brazil or Montserrat. As I said, I'm not arguing the point anymore. Also void if all of this stuff doesn't happen, but he plays a major role in us qualifying for something.
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Anyway, back to the topic, hopefully Staunton has the cop on to have Andy in the squad.
Kev Doyle is a marvelous player... Got his first goal in the premiership recently and I read in four four two that the Reading fanzine named him as their single most important player.
He's not just a goalscorer, he's skillful, good in the air and quick. He's easily one of our best players, and I'm looking forward to a Keane/Doyle pairing up front.
Also, on an unrelated matter Duffer did well on the right wing for Newcastle against Ventspils and was unlucky that he didn't have a Shearer like personality up front to convert his brilliant creative play. I'm thinking we throw Reid on the left, Duffer on the right so he can cut in, and then play Mc Geady and Stephen Reid in the center. On paper our front six isn't that bad, on paper that is (IE, all premiership players, with the exception of Mc Geady who will be playing in the Champions league!)
27/08/2006, 10:27 PM
Andy Reid is not in the squad and if he was it would make more sense to play him in the middle and Duff and MC Geady on the wings.
joema
27/08/2006, 10:27 PM
Andy Reid is a quality player - should def be in the squad, Stan is clueless - Reid should be starting CM - creativity badly needed - he is best in CM - just look at the pass he put through yesterday for Bent that lead to the penalty - Reid is the only player we have with that quality (apart from maybe Robbie).
Doyle and Keane are both really intelligent players and Reid would link up well with them but Stan will play JOS in the middle just because he plays for Man Utd even though JOS has proved he is not up to it at international level in the centre of the park
4tothefloor
27/08/2006, 11:23 PM
Remember when Bobby Robson said after the Sweden game that there were a few players that wouldn't make the squad again unless they got themselves fit, including one that he said 'would never be included in an Irish squad again as long as i'm involved'. Jason Byrne was one of those players whose fitness was referred to, as Staunton came out and said it. I'm just wondering was Andy Reid one of them as well. Seems very strange to me that he's been left out, and seeing that he's now starting for Charlton, no excuse that he shouldn't be called up in the next few days.
joema
27/08/2006, 11:42 PM
Could be down to fitness, I suppose. But even if hes not 100% fit he is still worth a place in the squad at the very least - I mean surely he could come on as a sub and play 20 mins.
On the Byrne issue - did Robson definitly say that? - word for word? If he did thats a disgrace
Leeza
28/08/2006, 12:50 AM
What does Bobby Robson know about Irish football anyway? The mans a football legend but he's hardly fit to comment on the EL
joema
28/08/2006, 12:51 AM
What does Bobby Robson know about Irish football anyway? The mans a football legend but he's hardly fit to comment on the EL
True.
Fergie's Son
28/08/2006, 4:59 AM
He's a football legend which means he knows a lot about football and football players. If he saw Byrne and didn't think he was good enough then that's enough for me.
28/08/2006, 9:09 AM
Remember when Bobby Robson said after the Sweden game that there were a few players that wouldn't make the squad again unless they got themselves fit, including one that he said 'would never be included in an Irish squad again as long as i'm involved'. Jason Byrne was one of those players whose fitness was referred to, as Staunton came out and said it. I'm just wondering was Andy Reid one of them as well. Seems very strange to me that he's been left out, and seeing that he's now starting for Charlton, no excuse that he shouldn't be called up in the next few days.
Agreed about Reid.
The rest of what you wrote is a heap of tripe, based on a fantasy quote, 'would never be included in an Irish squad again as long as i'm involved'.
That never was recorded as spoken, nor inferred to by the management team.
4tothefloor
28/08/2006, 11:17 PM
On the Byrne issue - did Robson definitly say that? - word for word? If he did thats a disgrace
No. Bobby Robson made a general comment about certain players being unfit. He mentioned no names. Byrne was one of them as Staunton later said that Byrne needed to get fitter. I'm wondering was Andy Reid another that Robson was referring to... And it's not word for word either, I don't have a memory as good as that unfortunately.
geysir, it's not a heap of tripe. I remember well when Robson said it and it was also in the papers. I'll try and find a source or link. Maybe you should pay more attention in future too ;)
29/08/2006, 10:26 AM
Well I think if you are going to include quotes such as "would never be included in an Irish squad again as long as i'm involved'. it is important that it is accurate and that is a very strong comment.
29/08/2006, 10:36 AM
My recollection is that Robson said something along the lines of some players will never feature again & the eL supporters automatically assumed it referred to Byrne and were outraged. But no nmaes were mentioned. I think the quote was in The Examiner but I'm not sure.
29/08/2006, 10:59 AM
Well I think if you are going to include quotes such as "would never be included in an Irish squad again as long as i'm involved'. it is important that it is accurate and that is a very strong comment.
This is about as much as you'll find:
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=36194
I remember going onto the shelsweb forum that day and not 1 quote was posted.
plasticpitch
29/08/2006, 12:39 PM
Any mention of any dropouts from squad that might allow Reid to get in? There's no doubt he should be there in the first place!
maybe doherty might hurt himself watching d telly:D
29/08/2006, 1:46 PM
No. Bobby Robson made a general comment about certain players being unfit. He mentioned no names. Byrne was one of them as Staunton later said that Byrne needed to get fitter. I'm wondering was Andy Reid another that Robson was referring to... And it's not word for word either, I don't have a memory as good as that unfortunately.
geysir, it's not a heap of tripe. I remember well when Robson said it and it was also in the papers. I'll try and find a source or link. Maybe you should pay more attention in future too ;)
Robson did mention a name, he said that Byrne did well but will have to improve on his fitness levels. That's it, full stop, not a peep more about Jason in that interview with Robson.
'would never be included in an Irish squad again as long as i'm involved'.
is a heap of tripe.
Unless you are going to quote Jolly as the source, I'm afraid you have to concede.
endabob1
29/08/2006, 2:04 PM
Reid was never fully fit all of last season at Spurs and was basically let go for the simple reason that he doesn't have the dedication to get his weight under control.
Great talent, lacks dedication.
4tothefloor
29/08/2006, 2:43 PM
My recollection is that Robson said something along the lines of some players will never feature again & the eL supporters automatically assumed it referred to Byrne and were outraged. But no nmaes were mentioned. I think the quote was in The Examiner but I'm not sure.
Bang on.
Robson did mention a name, he said that Byrne did well but will have to improve on his fitness levels. That's it, full stop, not a peep more about Jason in that interview with Robson.
'would never be included in an Irish squad again as long as i'm involved'.
is a heap of tripe.
Listen, what exactly is your point? This isn't about Jason Byrne! (Quite frankly I couldn't care less about Jason Byrne because he's over-rated, unfit and not up to standard beyond Shelbourne and the EL.) I'm talking about a general statement that Robson made regarding players who were unfit and in his view, wouldn't be involved with the squad again. He said players not player, and he was not referring to Byrne alone (He mentioned no names, but when asked about Byrne, said he needed to be fitter). Whether you like it or not, Robson said this. I'm not quoting Robson directly in my initial post, as I don't have a photographic/pinpoint memory, so stop being so pedantic about the quote. It's a quote along those lines, as Stuttgart88 has also referred to.
It quite plausible to assume that Andy Reid is/was one of those players Robson referred to as it's strange why he's been left out for such an important game, considering our options.
29/08/2006, 2:45 PM
I dont think its pedantic to request a quote as there is not proof otherwise that Robson even said it. It seems like this is LIke a Radiohead song and 2+2 does in fact equal 5.
I think tubby Reid could do a job off the bench for 20-30 minutes.
29/08/2006, 3:45 PM
If not more.
I wonder are the same people who were slagging his physique on this board also now saying he should be in the squad.
I hope an Irish hack asks specifically about this during the week.
Billsthoughts
29/08/2006, 4:25 PM
I dont think its pedantic to request a quote as there is not proof otherwise that Robson even said it. It seems like this is LIke a Radiohead song and 2+2 does in fact equal 5.
:confused: :confused: bohs, radiohead....you really are undergoing a spirtual awakening......
on thread - am sure reid will be involved again at some stage. he is a class player but needs a bit more football. its the managers call.
I wonder are the same people who were slagging his physique on this board also now saying he should be in the squad.
I have questioned his ability to play 90 minutes of top level football. However he should in the squad ahead of the likes of Douglas & O'Brien.
29/08/2006, 6:05 PM
Whether you like it or not, Robson said this. I'm not quoting Robson directly in my initial post, as I don't have a photographic/pinpoint memory, so stop being so pedantic about the quote. It's a quote along those lines, as Stuttgart88 has also referred to.
It quite plausible to assume that Andy Reid is/was one of those players Robson referred to as it's strange why he's been left out for such an important game, considering our options.
As I said, I agree about that Reid should be included in the squad.
Unless it is believed that he has a malign influence on the squad or has displayed open disregard to the managment, then there is more to gain by having him there. Maybee it's a perceived lack of fitness issue.
Robson is quite clear about his role in the team. He's not the one likely to be quoted or even implying that he can call the shots.
I read the three articles where Robson was interviewed after the Sweden and Chile game and they were discussed on this forum. Nothing like that was flagged.
Stuttgart, a respected seasoned pro, is getting on a bit and may be mixing up quotes uttered in totally different contexts.
29/08/2006, 7:56 PM
:confused: :confused: bohs, radiohead....you really are undergoing a spirtual awakening......
on thread - am sure reid will be involved again at some stage. he is a class player but needs a bit more football. its the managers call.
Again you know nothing about or my like or dislike for Radiohead.
Scram
29/08/2006, 10:19 PM
Andy Reid is a quality player - should def be in the squad, Stan is clueless - Reid should be starting CM - creativity badly needed - he is best in CM - just look at the pass he put through yesterday for Bent that lead to the penalty - Reid is the only player we have with that quality (apart from maybe Robbie).
Doyle and Keane are both really intelligent players and Reid would link up well with them but Stan will play JOS in the middle just because he plays for Man Utd even though JOS has proved he is not up to it at international level in the centre of the park
Yes, yes, very likely I'm afraid and yes again.
30/08/2006, 7:03 AM
Stuttgart, a respected seasoned pro, is getting on a bit and may be mixing up quotes uttered in totally different contexts.Yes, I think I may have confused rumour on foot.ie with the Robson quotes in The Examiner. Maybe I did, maybe I didn't, I just don't know any more. Call it a "Robson moment" if you like.
30/08/2006, 8:53 AM
I don't really see the relevence of that Stuttgart. I have questioned his fitness before but I have never said the boy isn't talented and the fact he is not in the squad is a joke IMO. I have thought we could get more out of him if he improved his physique however he can still cause teams damage as it is.
youngirish
30/08/2006, 9:11 AM
I don't really see the relevence of that Stuttgart. I have questioned his fitness before but I have never said the boy isn't talented and the fact he is not in the squad is a joke IMO. I have thought we could get more out of him if he improved his physique however he can still cause teams damage as it is.
How fit could Liam Miller, Johnathan Douglas and Alan O'Brien be considering they haven't played a minute of first team football for their clubs in nearly 4 months? Reid has played in 2 of Charlton's 3 games and played nearly all of the match on Sat when they were down to 10 men.
Fact is anyway an unfit Andy Reid would still be miles better than tha above 3 if they were all fully match fit. Staunton is a joke and I don't think he has a clue. Nothing he's done so far seems to indicate otherwise. I worry about Saturday. I think we could be beaten badly.
30/08/2006, 10:09 AM
I don't really see the relevence of that Stuttgart. At the same time I was also thinking back to all those who said (quite recently too) that Reid could not play central midfield. Now it seems that everybody wants him in the squad at least, and many in CM! That's all. But yes, his fitness has been a concern. Not necessarily his perceived weight issues, but simply his lack of match action in the second half of last season.
But as pointed out above, how can Miller, Douglas & O'Brien be deemed properly match fit? Maybe it's because they've done proper preaseasons whereas I know Reid missed at least some of his at Spurs. Just a guess. As Noely said though, I hope this isn't Stan acting the tough guy. There are better ways of getting employees to buck up their ideas.
joema
30/08/2006, 12:24 PM
I've always thought Reid is best in Cm and have always thought he should be in our starting 11. IMO people only care about his weight when he is off form - its the same with Ronaldo - when he is banging in the goals nobody cares about his weight but when the goals stop...
Paddy Garcia
30/08/2006, 9:39 PM
I can't quite believe he has not been called up. If the midfield performance is anything like that against Holland, Staunton is going to be badly exposed for leaving Reid behind.
The Germans must be delighted.
31/08/2006, 8:31 AM
I've always thought Reid is best in Cm and have always thought he should be in our starting 11. IMO people only care about his weight when he is off form - its the same with Ronaldo - when he is banging in the goals nobody cares about his weight but when the goals stop...
Fair point but is it coincidence that his better performance have come when he has looked in reasonable shape? I don't know about anyone else but there were times when I thought he looked noticably bigger than other times.
Anyway it's been done to death, at the end of the day he's a very good player for us who should be in the team when fit never mind the squad.
31/08/2006, 9:31 AM
It seems that Carsley only wants to be in the sqaud if he is going to play as he has kids that need to be looked after for personal reasons. He only wants to be in teh Ireland sqaud if he is going to play. Staunton is building for the future so as a result cannot give that guarantee to Carsley. I would have had him in the squad other than that. Just saw this on the newswires this morning:
CARSLEY WANTS REPUBLIC RETURN
Everton midfielder Lee Carsley wants to end his international retirement and
make himself available again for the Republic of Ireland.
Carsley initially wanted to concentrate on his club career and also get over a
serious knee injury.
But the 32-year-old is ready to make himself available to new Republic boss
Steve Staunton.
He said: ``I would like to go back. I've spoken to Steve and would love to
return. It's not as if they are exactly blessed with an abundance of
midfielders.
``So if I could help try to bridge that gap for them, perhaps even if it is
just for another season to give the other lads a chance to mature, then that
would be great.
``You could see when they played against Holland earlier this month and lost
4-0 that it seemed as if they were thrown straight into the deep end.''
end
Irish_Praha
31/08/2006, 9:51 AM
Just saw this on the newswires this morning:
CARSLEY WANTS REPUBLIC RETURN
Everton midfielder Lee Carsley wants to end his international retirement and
make himself available again for the Republic of Ireland.
Carsley initially wanted to concentrate on his club career and also get over a
serious knee injury.
But the 32-year-old is ready to make himself available to new Republic boss
Steve Staunton.
He said: ``I would like to go back. I've spoken to Steve and would love to
return. It's not as if they are exactly blessed with an abundance of
midfielders.
``So if I could help try to bridge that gap for them, perhaps even if it is
just for another season to give the other lads a chance to mature, then that
would be great.
``You could see when they played against Holland earlier this month and lost
4-0 that it seemed as if they were thrown straight into the deep end.''
end
Otherwise translated as "Now that Keane, Holland and Kinsella are retired, and no decent competition is coming through, I have a good chance of getting a game. So I might not be travelling for nothing."