View Full Version : Andy Reid(b 1982)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45

Yard of Pace
23/09/2013, 3:33 PM
If he's in the squad for Germany will he have to do another initiation song given it's been so long since he last played for us?

He might go for this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSx4yp_cvrs) if so.

I can't listen to that in work but I hope it's Positively 4th Street

23/09/2013, 4:02 PM
If he's in the squad for Germany will he have to do another initiation song given it's been so long since he last played for us?

He might go for this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSx4yp_cvrs) if so.
No way, that's a culchie rock band.

24/09/2013, 4:28 AM
Andy celebrates his centenary foot.ie page with a late equaliser for Forest.
What can we say in praise about this player that hasn't already been said?

48 passes per game 83.1% successful with 3.1 key passes per game?

24/09/2013, 6:48 AM
16.9 per cent of passes go astray. One of them could lead to a goal. Liverpool gave a goal away in a match recently and they passed the ball a few times.

24/09/2013, 11:03 AM
Indeed,
but if a 17% rate of misplaced passes for an Irish midfield player is not good enough, then I must be missing something :)
Judging by reports, most every Andy Reid pass is described glowingly as clever, graceful, etc
Most every Andy Reid shot is described as stunning, a thumper.
All Andy need to do for us in addition, is do a bit of covering now and again.

McClean can shoot but he doesn't manage it, McGeady can shoot but mostly weakly.
Only Brady atm can take his shot.

24/09/2013, 4:52 PM
16.9 per cent of passes go astray. One of them could lead to a goal. Liverpool gave a goal away in a match recently and they passed the ball a few times.

But he is an attacking midfielder, Whelan has a higher pass success in his only game but he only made 16 passes.
Andy also has 4 goals and 3 assists.
I would imagine most of the passes that go stray are attacking passes in the final third, not routine passes in the first third.

He's the top rated Championship player, what more does he have to do?

24/09/2013, 5:19 PM
But he is an attacking midfielder, Whelan has a higher pass success in his only game but he only made 16 passes.
Andy also has 4 goals and 3 assists.
I would imagine most of the passes that go stray are attacking passes in the final third, not routine passes in the first third.

He's the top rated Championship player, what more does he have to do?
I'm almost 100% sure that Stutts was just taking the píss and not entirely taking it from you,
although you are soft target, Tricky.

24/09/2013, 5:26 PM
I'm almost 100% sure that Stutts was just taking the píss and not entirely taking it from you,
although you are soft target, Tricky.

You're right, I am pretty thick.

24/09/2013, 5:41 PM
Robbie Brady is also in the Premiership top 100 players at no 76

1.4 key passes 32.2 average passes a game 82.6 %success

Andy beats all his stats but then Robbies is at the bottom end of a better league.

So both have a case for a starting place, and of course we have Aiden who is first choice presumably.

We seems to produce enough good left wingers to form a new political party.

28/09/2013, 2:36 PM
Another assist for Andy Reid, setting up Jack Hobbs for the only goal in the Forest-Derby derby. Richard Keogh was harshly sent off in the same game.

Closed Account 2
28/09/2013, 3:14 PM
Yeah Keogh was unlucky, I think he got a nick on the ball. Reid had a great chance, put through in the 94th min but didn't quite have the legs, was closed down and rushed the shot.

28/09/2013, 10:35 PM
Just watching Forest's goal against Derby today... how many goals have we scored from set-pieces in this campaign? I can remember Keogh's v Germany and Walters' v Austria, but overall we haven't offered half the threat that we did when Duff, Lawrence and Hunt were in the team. I remember in the first Trap campaign in particular, it seemed like any time we got a corner or free kick there was a real sense we could sneak one. I wonder if somebody like Reid, in spite of his lack of athleticism, would bring that element back into our game. With players like Dunne and Clark around we surely have players who can dominate in the opposition penalty box.

ArdeeBhoy
29/09/2013, 12:48 AM
Well, yeah.

He should play against the Kazakhs...

29/09/2013, 1:02 AM
Not Germany?

ArdeeBhoy
29/09/2013, 9:40 AM
Give him a chance!

Yard of Pace
29/09/2013, 11:59 AM
If he does play, would this be the longest time a player has been absent from the team and then returned?

Fixer82
30/09/2013, 12:37 AM
If he does play, would this be the longest time a player has been absent from the team and then returned?

interesting question

30/09/2013, 1:21 AM

Depends if Stephen Ireland gets back before him!!

Yard of Pace
30/09/2013, 1:20 PM

Come on folks, any suggestions?

I find it hard to imagine him not playing a part now he's been called up. I've watched all Notts Forest highlights this season and he's simply a beautiful footballer. He's also svelte, fit and in the mood for goals.

30/09/2013, 1:33 PM
Roy Keane? :)

In terms of starting XI, I'd hazard a guess that the only other contender would be a goalkeeper, maybe Gerry Peyton.

Closed Account 2
30/09/2013, 1:51 PM
Kav was something like 4-5 years in the wilderness before Brian Kerr played him in Basel.

30/09/2013, 2:00 PM
"What are ye? You're a ******!"

And that man is now managing basel.

Closed Account 2
30/09/2013, 2:17 PM
And the other one is managing Carlisle, 100% record.

30/09/2013, 2:38 PM
I was just going to ask what he is doing. Still Carlisle are no Basel.

30/09/2013, 3:28 PM
Delighted for Reidy.

Has been excellent for Forest & good to have a midfield player who can pass a football without having a nervous breakdown.

Bungle
30/09/2013, 4:00 PM
Delighted for Reidy. He always reminds me of a street footballer.

ChrisRed
30/09/2013, 7:59 PM

Didn't Wes Hoolahan go about 6 years from original call up to debut....

Crosby87
30/09/2013, 10:28 PM
Noel, I promise. I will leave me guitar at home.
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSdpB2-4OYktV5oQDUNNbskL3crpcTpJMj-iBwI3hoCjFvb9V_7

01/10/2013, 7:10 AM
Didn't Wes Hoolahan go about 6 years from original call up to debut....
I think he got about 5 mins at Craven Cottage against Colombia, then next game was Georgia at home. Almost exactly 5 years I think?

ger121
01/10/2013, 7:24 PM
Scored again tonight. He's certainly in fine form.

02/10/2013, 2:58 PM
goal from last night (with other highlights)
rbhkUrrNVhM

Serb
02/10/2013, 4:12 PM
Delivered the cross with a load of pace and got a bit lucky with the direction. Reid always delivered a decent set-piece. Himself and Brady seem to excel at dead ball situations. I'd be inclined to include him in the team for that reason alone, unless we have a better set piece specialist? Pilkington took a few corners when he came on against Sweden, and I think he takes set pieces for Norwich. Anyone else?

Grafter
06/10/2013, 8:37 PM
Of course a former Faroes player as well lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USI61Qls3sg

Grafter
06/10/2013, 8:47 PM
Andy remembers The Thundercats fondly....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3_1rGr4kQc

Grafter
06/10/2013, 8:51 PM
Andy picks his best ever Irish eleven!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1eQM0xOK2Y

Yard of Pace
07/10/2013, 7:11 AM
Is anyone else getting increasingly angry that Reid was ignored by the previous management team for the guts of 6 years?

I'm starting to get very ornery about it.

I loved Reid from the very first moment I saw him.

CraftyToePoke
07/10/2013, 3:25 PM
Is anyone else getting increasingly angry that Reid was ignored by the previous management team for the guts of 6 years?

Not to forget recruiting such luminaries as Chambers, Bunn, Ambrose, Stearman, Gerrard, etc instead. Time and effort well spent there too.

Grafter
07/10/2013, 7:08 PM

To be fair, bar a good start to 2009-10 season with Sunderland and a good 2013 thus far with Forest he probably didn't merit a place sadly in the intervening period... his weight was an issue and there was an inauspicious time spent with Blackpool in the Championship I seem to recall...

Deserves to play on Friday though on form....

07/10/2013, 7:35 PM
Reid could gave been playing well in the EPL and he'd still have been ignored. Trap clearly took a disliking to him after Mainz and just never trusted a luxury type player. In his early years at Ireland Trap played with a rigid back 4 with full backs kept on a leash, a very definite defensive midfielder and a midfielder with some but not much room to get forward. With 6 outfield players forming a shield any attacking threat had to come from either wing and the front two. Trap didn't want a Reid-type player in his midfield.

Hunt and Duff did well and we got a fair few goals from set pieces.

Then something changed. Either opponents figured us out or we just got less efficient at playing large parts of games without the ball.

Fixer82
07/10/2013, 8:49 PM
We were lucky to get to the play offs against France though for WC 2010. We stuttered into the play offs.
We beat Georgia 2-1 in Mainz when Glenn Whelan's shot was bumbled by the keeper and at home we got a penalty that was a shocking decision to equalise with them.

The only times we really played good football under Trap was in the France away play-off and the Estonia away play-off...and a few friendlies too

DannyInvincible
07/10/2013, 9:15 PM
We were lucky to get to the play offs against France though for WC 2010. We stuttered into the play offs.

We didn't stutter luckily into the play-offs. We finished the group unbeaten and in second position with four points to spare on Bulgaria in third place. That was a strong enough finish to ensure we didn't suffer Norway's fate by being the lowest-ranked second-placed team out of all nine groups. In fact, we were the only second-placed finisher to conclude the group stage unbeaten.

07/10/2013, 9:43 PM
We beat Georgia 2-1 in Mainz when Glenn Whelan's shot was bumbled by the keeper and at home we got a penalty that was a shocking decision to equalise with them.

The only times we really played good football under Trap was in the France away play-off and the Estonia away play-off...and a few friendlies too
you get lucky in individual instances, a keeper drops an easy goal, opposition star players misses a sitter, shocking penalty decision, etc, but over the course of a qualifying campaign it has little bearing on the eventual outcome

07/10/2013, 9:59 PM
You'd think that Trap had the sole agency on strokes of fortune that happen in a match.
Just how did O'Shea miss that header in Mainz?
Just how did Bulgaria equalise at the last second in Montenegro?
How did Italy manage to score a last gasp winner in Cyprus?
Just how lucky could a team (Italy) get in Georgia, with 2 own goals?

Lets forget all that in a brain fárt and repeat forever the sheep-like mantra 'Trap was lucky'.

Wasn't it at the WC rugby game in Bordeaux where Ireland had all the luck in beating Georgia?

Fixer82
07/10/2013, 11:37 PM
We didn't stutter luckily into the play-offs. We finished the group unbeaten and in second position with four points to spare on Bulgaria in third place. That was a strong enough finish to ensure we didn't suffer Norway's fate by being the lowest-ranked second-placed team out of all nine groups. In fact, we were the only second-placed finisher to conclude the group stage unbeaten.

A fair point well argued.
I was mixing my qualification campaigns. For some reason I was thinking Russia was in that qualifying campaign as well but that was EURO 2012. Mea culpa!

Yes we were fairly solid and hard to beat in that campaign and I remember, in particular, Stephen Hunt being very effective from set pieces.
I think we've missed a winger who's been good from set pieces since the retirement of Duff and Hunt's dropping

ArdeeBhoy
08/10/2013, 1:14 AM
Step forward Mr.R.Brady?

08/10/2013, 7:08 AM
Even the Georgia home game: we had a good goal disallowed and a stonewall penno denied for a foul on Doyle. Ok, they then hit the post at 1-0, we got a soft penalty and Robbie scored with his shoulder!

Even despite the keeper howler in Mainz I thought we fully deserved that win.

LFCSixty/Eighty
08/10/2013, 8:15 AM
For a little bit of nostalgia, here is a thread about one of the last times Reid played for Ireland, which was coincidentally against Germany.

http://foot.ie/threads/73442-Ireland-0-0-Germany-Post-game-thread?highlight=ireland+v+germany

Makes you realize what a waste of talent the last 5 years have been, and for anybody that says it was because of Reids weight or being tactical etc they are completely wrong. It was all got to do with stubborn manager who wouldn't bury the hatchet for the good of the team.

When has someone last said of an Irish player 'Like watching Liam Brady in his prime. Brilliant performance from Reid' Noelys Guitar.

dr_peepee
08/10/2013, 9:00 AM
Lets reign it in a bit though.. He's undoubtably talented but there's been times over the course of his exclusion where he would have been of little use to us. When he looks back on his overall career he'll have to take more ownership than Trap over how it panned out for club and country. Im sure Trap was only thrilled with how his club career went after the furor of his exclusion from the media and fans. (Myself included)

DeLorean
08/10/2013, 9:13 AM
Reid is in far better form now than he has been for quite some time. I'm sure that Germany game stands out in everybody's mind when remembering his best contribution in green. However, it's not reflective of what he had contributed overall. I like Andy as much as the next man, and he probably would have had something to offer during the past few years. That said, using his relatively recent form and an isolated good performance in a dead rubber from six years ago, to emphasise what a monumental travesty his absence has been, is nonsense really I think. He had got himself into decent shape and was playing great stuff for Sunderland in the PL shortly after being dropped from the Irish setup. He managed to go from that point to a lack of first team football and ultimately to a lower division because he failed to maintain the high standards for very long. It's clearly an unwillingness to put in the hard graft as there's clearly no lack of ability. I'm not saying that he wasn't treated harshly but he didn't help himself one bit.

08/10/2013, 9:20 AM
Sure. Damien Duff was the automatic pick for A. Reid's position in the team. Plenty of good options for wide/ wing positions in the team since Duff's retirement - not sure if A. Reid is one of the better choices. You could play him behind a lone striker but Hoolahan is better suited for that position (and maybe even A. Keogh). Anyways will be interesting to see if King uses him against the Germans and how he uses him in the team.